• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Satanic Verses

Bitch Lim "Temasek $$ Is Not Peasants $$" Hwee Hua ST 27 Mar 2009 on her promotion to Minister w/o real merits in PM orgy room :

"I hope this will signal that Singapore belongs equally to both men and women."

:oIo: Up yrs satanic bitch !!!! U mean b4 dat SG belongs to men only, women were all slaves n staples??? Wanna play the gender politics u focking whore of Satan ???? Try to divide society ????? Looks like evil PAP wanna tear SG social fabric to pieces, divide n conquor .... typical Satan Lee strategy !!!!

Spot the lie .......... ans next post .....

ST March 28, 2009
Seksun 'lays off more than 20 workers'
Some claim severance deal they received is short of industry norm
By Linette Lai & Joanna Seow

HIGH-PRECISION metal component maker Seksun International has laid off more than 20 workers at its Yishun plant, according to both some of the retrenched workers and another source.

Some of those retrenched are unhappy at what they allege is a severance deal that falls short of the industry norm.

The Straits Times understands it is the third round of retrenchments in two months for the company.

Seksun was sold a year or so ago by businessman Felix Ong for $295.1 million to a foreign fund, Supernova (Cayman).

Seksun declined to comment. It is believed the plant employs about 400 staff.

Most of those retrenched were in operator and technician positions.

Some workers alleged they received a severance package of one week's pay for each year of service, plus a month's pay, to compensate for the short notice.

The Straits Times understands that members of the Metal Industries Workers' Union (MIWU) are eligible for an extra two weeks of pay.

Some of the workers said they were upset at the overall payout, which they claimed was below the industry norm.

'I am dissatisfied with the severance pay,' one retrenched worker who asked to be known only as Mr Chen, 38, said in Mandarin. The Chinese national was a technician who had been with Seksun for five years.

He said that MIWU could have done more. The union could not be reached, but an NTUC spokesman said it understood from MIWU that the negotiations were confidential.

Mr Ong, Seksun's previous owner, said retrenchments seem to be the norm in this financial climate. 'If you want to survive, you have to reduce (costs) to the minimum.'

MP Halimah Yacob, deputy secretary-general of NTUC, said that companies typically offer retrenched workers a severance pay of between two weeks and a month's pay for each year of service.

'But it depends on the financial situation of the company,' she added. If the company is incurring heavy losses, she said that ' might justify a lower quantum'.

A Ministry of Manpower spokesman said: 'We don't have any guidelines. Employees' benefits are up to the company's discretion, depending on their financial position.'

Retrenched quality inspector Anand Rai, 29, said Seksun had told them that with the bad financial conditions, it could no longer manage so many workers.

'Previously, when the company was doing well, everyone had overtime work. The company was running 24 hours a day.' Now, some departments run only two shifts daily and none at all on weekends, said Mr Rai, who is from India.

One comfort for him is that the company will be covering the airfare home for all its foreign workers.

[email protected]

Spot the lie .......... ans next post .....

Some of those retrenched are unhappy at what they allege is a severance deal that falls short of the industry norm.

Some of the workers said they were upset at the overall payout, which they claimed was below the industry norm.

MP Halimah Yacob, deputy secretary-general of NTUC, said that companies typically offer retrenched workers a severance pay of between two weeks and a month's pay for each year of service.

'But it depends on the financial situation of the company,' she added. If the company is incurring heavy losses, she said that ' might justify a lower quantum'.

A Ministry of Manpower spokesman said: 'We don't have any guidelines. Employees' benefits are up to the company's discretion, depending on their financial position.'

Now check yr ans .... MOM say "NO GUIDELINE", satanic prostitute Halimah act blur to help coy ...... so tis thing below fr Ministar of Foreign Workers Import Gan Ni Na is wat ??? WAYANG lah !!!!!

Memo to: The Boss
Here’s what to do if you have too many workers

The Government, NTUC and employer groups issued these guidelines yesterday to help bosses figure out how to save the jobs or, if all else fails, let go of workers properly.

Before cutting jobs, try this

1. TRAIN
Not enough work for employees? Send them for training. Details of a new initiative, the Skills Programme for Upgrading and Resilience (Spur), will be out tomorrow.

2. FLEXIBLE WORK
Shorter work-week
Operate a three- or four-day work week. Do this for up
to two months, then review.

Pay affected workers at least half their salary.

Temporary layoff
- Ask workers to clear up to half their annual leave.
- A temporary layoff period should not exceed one month at a time.
- Pay affected workers at least half their salary.

Other arrangements
Consider part-time work or other flexible work schedules for employees.

3. SALARY CHANGES
Senior management should take the lead by cutting salaries earlier or accepting similar or deeper cuts.

4. FLEXIBLE WORK
Shorter work-week
Operate a three- or four-day work week. Do this for up to two months, then review.

Pay affected workers at least half their salary.

Temporary layoff
- Ask workers to clear up to half their annual leave.
- A temporary layoff period should not exceed one month at a time.
- Pay affected workers at least half their salary.

Other arrangements
Consider part-time work or other flexible work schedules for employees.
Give lower or no bonus.
Give lower wage increments or freeze wages.
Reduce monthly pay
- Some companies already have a variable component in employees’ monthly pay. This can be reduced or cut.
- Companies without the monthly variable component should consult workers and unions before cutting pay.
Reduce or cut the 13th month pay.

But if you really must let go of employees, do this

1. TELL MOM
Informing the Manpower Ministry early means relevant agencies can swing into action to help laid-off workers find jobs or go for training.

2. TELL UNIONS
Consult them, and give advance notice of retrenchments.

3. TELL WORKERS
Break the bad news early.
One day in advance, for those who have worked less than 26 weeks.
One week for those who have worked under two years.
Two weeks for those with two to less than five years.
Four weeks for employees of five years or more.

4. PAY BENEFITS
Newer employees can be given an ex-gratia payment. For those with the company for more than three years, the prevailing practice is to pay between two weeks and one month’s salary for each year of employment.

PAY CUTS: BOSSES FIRST

"Where management leads by example, workers will know that the management is united with them in wanting to save the company and jobs, and will be more ready to accept changes and adjustments, and to keep up morale."
NTUC Deputy Secretary-General Heng Chee How

LAYOFFS: THE LAST OPTION
"We are asking workers to take five more days’ leave during Christmas. We have tightened business-class travel. We have eliminated overtime for three-quarters of the company. Some 10 per cent of workers’ salaries is in the Monthly Variable Component, but we won’t touch that for at least the next few months. We are very close to the union, so all that we will discuss with them."
German electronics company Epcos Singapore Chief Operating Officer Leong Sow Chun

########

Companies urged to consider retrenchment only as a last resort
By S Ramesh, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 19 November 2008 1400 hrs

NTUC's Deputy Secretary-General Heng Chee How said: "The union (NTUC) wants to partner the company in riding out these difficult times and we want to do it in the most sensible way - sensible not just for the workers, but also viable for the companies so that they can ride it out and survive.

"These set of guidelines will help both companies and unions do so in a way that is practical because you can go through some of those measures and see if... (you) can apply them in that situation.

"Critically ask (yourselves), which are the steps most appropriate for the company in order to avoid retrenchments."

#######

Nov 16, 2008
New guidelines for layoffs
New guidelines for employers to make sure any retrenchment is done responsibly
By Debbie Yong

Acting Minister for Manpower Gan Kim Yong announced this on the sidelines of a Chinese Development Assistance Council (CDAC) press meeting on Saturday.

He said the new guidelines will 'send a clear message to employers on the need to leverage on the tripartite framework' between the Government, employers and workers' unions, so that any retrenchment can be conducted in a 'responsible manner'.

This includes informing MOM well before a company sends out termination letters so that the Workforce Development Agency can find alternative jobs for affected employees.

Minister in the Prime Minister's Office and NTUC chief, Mr Lim Swee Say, who was at the event, agreed with Mr Gan that retrenchment should be conducted in a 'socially responsible' manner.

Minister in the Prime Minister's Office and NTUC chief Lim

Swee Say, who was at the event, agreed with Mr Gan that retrenchment should be conducted in a 'socially responsible' manner.

On Friday, he chastised the way DBS Bank axed 900 of its staff without first consulting its union.

Still, Mr Lim emphasised that workers must understand that 'losing your job in Singapore is not a no-hope situation'. Citing labour demand in the childcare and service sectors as examples, he said the slowdown over the next two to three years should be viewed 'as an opportunity to upgrade ourselves rather than as a crisis'.

'Over the last three years, we've been running very fast, but there are also areas in our foundation that we have overlooked. Now is the time to focus on these areas.'

He also encouraged those at risk of retrenchment to adapt to career conversion by attending training courses to pick up expertise in fields outside their current ones.

'Don't focus only on looking for the same job and the same pay,' he said.

Bitch Lim "Temasek $$ Is Not Peasants $$" Hwee Hua ST 27 Mar 2009 on her promotion to Minister w/o real merits in PM orgy room :

"I hope this will signal that Singapore belongs equally to both men and women."

:oIo: Up yrs satanic bitch !!!! U mean b4 dat SG belongs to men only, women were all slaves n staples??? Wanna play the gender politics u focking whore of Satan ???? Try to divide society ????? Looks like evil PAP wanna tear SG social fabric to pieces, divide n conquor .... typical Satan Lee strategy !!!!

ST 29 Mar 2009 :

"I think it's demeaning to women to have quotas, so I would rather that women get selected as men do, on the basis of merit. I think it is very positive and encouraging to women but more importantly, to signal to the men that you are wasting the talent of the women if you don't give them opportunities."

:oIo: Satanic prostitute again saying in SG women kena discriminated. Worst, now contradict her satan master to implyin SG got no real meritocracy dat's Y women wif merits oso kena treated like dirt class whore!!!!

Evil .... very evil tis focking fake buddhist Cow Dung from Malaysia .... ST 30 Mar 2009 :

"If you are a little bit overweight, please think about slimming down. Honestly, if you are obese and you have a poor work attitude, and I'm an employer and I have so many people applying for jobs, you think I will pick you unless you have some special skills that nobody has? If your skills are just like anybody else and there are 10 of them and the rest are slim, look young and energetic, whereas you are obese or smoking - which is worse - that will be tough, right?"

:oIo: Discriminating against non-slim people !!! Watch out man !! I know his type, he'll focking send any one who dun conform to his vision of a fit n healthy person to the gas chamber ... just like Hitler did !!!

"Most patients who are terminally ill say they want to die at home, but in reality the majority do not."

:oIo: Again selling idea of people die at home than hospitals
so he can free more beds n docs fer his pet rich foreign patients !!!!

"At some stage, we will want to restore the CPF contribution rate. At that time, I will make a strong case for funds to (go into Medisave so it can) be used for nursing homes."

:oIo: Which means never lah !!! The evil satanic PAP oredy say no way they gonna restore CPF to its fullest !!!!!!!

"Quite inexpensive. It was just an extra few dollars a month...Pay a few dollars more a month, you have peace of mind."

:oIo: Dats evil Cow Dung suggesting compulsory insurance for all maids, quoting his own premium increase to cover up to $20,000 for his own maid as "inexpensive" !!! Fer a focker who earns millions ea yr just telling people to send their elderly n sick to JB, a few extra hundreds more in premium is nothing. But the majority who get maid R struggling !!!!

Fock the evil Cow Dung !!! Go to 18th level Hell u mother focker !!!

Leech in PMO Lim "ChoBoLan" Boon Heng ST 5 Apr 2009 :

"Nowadays, the word 'bonus' is almost a dirty word. There has been great misunderstanding over what the word 'bonus' entails. You have to understand that in today's context, companies' bonuses are part and parcel of the overall wage package. We now operate differently from the past. So, let us not get overexcited whenever we see the word 'bonus' being used."

:oIo: Wat he wanna say? EZ !! 1st, Peasants shld not think bonus is a big deal. If u dun get it, it's like a pay cut, forget it, dun kow pei kow bu !! However, peasants shld expect satanic evil PAP scum ministars n MPs to get a bonus even if the reserve got $0 left bcus fer PAP, bonus is a right, not a privilege !!!!

Fock U shit head !!!!

Denise Phua "Who dares threaten me I sue" Pu Bor ST 8 Apr 2009 :

"If there are children who should be in school and are not, the CE (Compulsory Education Act) law and spirit must be strictly enforced. Errant families must be taken to task."

:oIo: Wah !!! So blood thirsty !!! If can't convince 'em, whack 'em !! Now we noe Y people wanna whack tis bitch who's really only interested in policies dat favor her autistic child !! Now we oso noe Y the Oppo rejected her when she apply, n she then decide to join PAP (again to push fer policies to help her autistiuc son !!). I hope there soon got Q of residents who wanna whack her !!!

Zainudin "I m a rascist" Nordin ST 8 Apr 2009 :

"I think we are doing quite well. This recession is a tougher challenge compared to the previous two. But we have better weapons, in the form of training capacities and strategies, that place us in a better situation than most other countries."

:oIo: Huh ?? "We" r doing well? Which "We"? The evil PAP cult n their cronies who gets richer by robbing the piggy bank? N wat "other countries" we compare against, Zimbabwe, Rwanda, Paupa New Guinea? N wat "training n strategies", like trainings fer the horde of foreign laborers tsunami coming to take jobs in casino, hospitals, retail, service, public tpt, IT, teaching, even politics? Fock U fascist PAP racist !!!

Lui "I dun watch porn only garden snail fetish" Fuck You ST 8 Apr 2009 on new media :

"I am certainly hopeful that over the next few years, we will consider other ways that we can reconsider the policies and regulations that we still have today (on new media)."

:oIo: Read carefully !!! The focker said "can reconsider", not "will deregulate", not "will ease", not "will lighten" !!!!

ST 27 Apr 2009 Vivian "Poor people should not eat at restaurant" Balakissass on formation of National Integration Council head by 7 evil PAP ministars :

"Right now, too many of our initiatives are top-down, government initiatives or government programmes. I want to encourage a bottoms-up approach."

"Singapore has to continue to change; this is our karma - to be an open global city constantly attracting talent."

Huh ?!?!?! 7 ministars in a focking wayang council n tis cock-head call it bottoms-up? Then wat's top-down, the whole PAP plus the SAF tanks n Apaches? Go back to HELL n cut ur cock lah Vicious KissAss !!!! Dat's ur focking karma !!!

Zaqy "well-educated people R not more rational" Mohamad ST 27 Apr 2009 :

"In this downturn, we're seeing a lot of PMETs who are being displaced. The question is whether PMETs want to take a step down ... previously in their job, they were paid $8,000, but now they would be paid $3,000 - that's all the SME can afford. It's a tough challenge, but such is ... life, we just have to be prepared for such things. If you're good at spotting trends, you can probably find another niche to start your own business. The opportunities are there ... (it's) whether or not you are willing to take that risk (of entering a new industry)."

Like all his focking cultist in PAP, sit at ivory dome, collect fat pay, tock cock abt peasants like tocking abt ants !!!! Tock so much cock focking shit mouth, Y not quit yr posh MP job, come work in service industry as cleaner n croupier, take pay cut, start ur own focking biz in niche area n show us how it's done !!! Burn in Hell bastard !!!

Evil PAP Satan minions say SG peasants r no help stupid useless bugger in MSK arrest ....

Wong Cunt Head ST 9 May 2009 praising ISD n dismissing peasants :

... Replying to a question about the role of the Singapore public, he said a lot of information was provided but none proved credible, and it was ISD's own information that led to the breakthrough.

Dark Sorcerer K Shaman add to insult saying peasants too dumb to understand effort of ISD ST 10 May 2009 :

... Praising all those involved in the terrorist's search and capture, he said: 'It will never be fully understood by people who were not involved.'

i guess the satanic fascist PAP will not need peasants help in any way fr now on ... bcus they r soooooooooooo gd !!!!!!!!!!

:oIo: Fock me !! U mean SG Parasite actually know how long the recession will last n has the power to upturn the downturn, n all tis while peasants tot Joker Train Mechanics Lim Shee Shee was gonna do the miracle in a dark tunnel wif a oncoming train headlight !!!!

President Nathan to chart challenges facing govt in downturn
By S Ramesh, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 15 May 2009 1845 hrs

SINGAPORE: Singapore's 11th Parliament will open its Second Session with the President's Address on Monday.

President S R Nathan, in his address, will announce the priorities, policies and programmes of the government for the remainder of its current term of office.

MPs said Singaporeans want to hear about measures the government will take to put the country back on the growth trajectory.

Christopher de Souza, MP for Holland-Bukit Timah GRC, said: "What I think citizens want to hear from the President's address is how long the bottom of the U curve is going to be before we see an upward gradient. This will be a key point Singaporeans will be looking at.

These issues will be discussed by MPs when they debate the President's address.

Channel NewsAsia will broadcast 'live' the opening of the Second Session of the 11th Parliament at 8.30pm.

- CNA/ir

Vivian "Attracting FT is our Karma" Balanjiaococksucker Parl 28 May 2009 :

"No matter how tough times get, there will be assistance available - not as the first line, because we still expect people to go to their families and to use their own savings first - but as a last resort; the Government is there and we will provide for you."

:oIo: I pay my tax oso as a last resort u focking satanic evil genetic rojak !!

Vivian "No apologies fer PAP dictatorship" Balanjiaococksucker Parl 28 May 2009 :

"The next spouse at least will know what sort of man she's marrying. She'll know whether he has discharged his responsibilities and realise that MEN DON'T CHANGE THEIR SPOTS and make an informed decision before they proceed."

:oIo: therefore .... "How much do you want? Do you want three meals in a hawker centre, food court or restaurant?" (focker's ans to poor asking fer a little more $$) ... wat can i say, men dun change their spots !!!

Vivian "Men dun change their spots" BalacrispNun parl 29 May 2009 :

Rhetoric ....

"Whilst we (the gov) provide funding to the national sports associations, I think we have, as a matter of discipline, learnt not to micro-manage and not to get involved with the details of operations and in fact even with the details of selection."

Reality ...

ST July 13, 2008
MP Lee is STTA's first woman boss

The Singapore Table Tennis Association's first woman president, Lee Bee Wah, is hoping to bring 'lady luck' to the Republic's Olympic-bound paddlers.

'Maybe that's what we need this time,' joked the Ang Mo Kio GRC MP, who was elected yesterday at the association's biennial general meeting after former president Choo Wee Khiang stepped down.

ST Aug 24, 2008
OUT
Singapore's table tennis team manager told to leave
Fate of head coach also hangs in the balance in shock move by STTA chief

Beijing - Barely a week after helping Singapore win an Olympic silver medal, the country's table tennis team manager has been told he is no longer needed.

The head coach's fate also hangs in the balance, with a committee due to deliberate on his future.

Singapore Table Tennis Association (STTA) president Lee Bee Wah told The Sunday Times yesterday that the services of team manager Antony Lee are not needed anymore.

:oIo: Fock u evil Satan's cock sucker !!!!!

Mah "Pls love ur city" Bowel Dung Parl 29 May 2009 :

"If members (of Parliament) wish to rely on third-person reports or hearsay (in Parliament), they should first take steps to verify the identity of the authors and the accuracy of the statements. Members should not rely on such statements if they have not verified them. Not even if they so inform the House. ... They should exercise due care and diligence when using unverified third-person remarks, reports or hearsay."

but ...

Tuesday • May 17, 2005
TODAY
Tor Ching Li
chingli@...

A RAW nerve was struck amongst the three Opposition MPs in Parliament yesterday as Minister for Home Affairs Wong Kan Seng read out the amendments to the Parliamentary and Presidential Elections Bill, which was passed yesterday.

Mr Wong said the amendments were intended to "help aspiring candidates" by simplifying the nomination process, while preventing cases of forgery of signatories in the nomination form.

The changes include allowing the use of one's IC number on the nomination form instead of a registration number, and merging the nomination form with the statutory declaration paper. These fine tunings may reduce the number of submissions declared void due to clerical errors on the form and lessen the paperwork required.

But opposition MPs cried foul at the amendment which stated that the candidate must submit his nomination papers "accompanied by his proposer, seconder and at least four assenters" in person at the nomination centre, between 11am to 12 noon on nomination day. This was to prevent any forgery where people were put down as assenters to a candidate without their knowledge, Mr Wong said.

But the longest-serving opposition MP, Mr Chiam See Tong, who was the first to rebut, pointed out that he has not heard of any case of electoral fraud in his 40 years of electoral participation.

"I don't think anyone in his right mind would ever commit an election offence because the price is too high," he said.

Mr Wong countered that the People's Action Party's (PAP) candidates always bring along their proposers and seconders to the nomination centre so that "they know what the nomination process is about".

He added that while he had no evidence and that the scenario was a "hypothetical" one, he had heard "a story told by a colleague" where "in one election, one of the PAP supporters turned up at the nomination centre and saw his name on the opposition candidate's list of assenters".

Non-constituency MP Steve Chia argued that there were already sufficient checks in the law to deal with election fraud. Why, then, does the Government need to make it so troublesome for the nominee's supporters?

To that, Mr Wong said that there is no more straightforward way than what is being proposed, and if the candidate is serious enough, he should be able to get enough support.

But Mr Chia pointed out that requiring the physical presence of non-PAP candidates' supporters was "akin to asking these concerned citizens to be physically identified by the PAP and its grassroots activists in that constituency for target practice". "There are only a few garang and brave souls willing to do that, sir," he stressed.

Taking a more stoic stance, Mr Low Thia Khiang said he was "not as pessimistic" as his counterparts. "I think there are enough courageous Singaporean voters who are willing to go to the nomination centre with their candidates."

Nevertheless, Mr Low asked if it was necessary to inconvenience people by compelling them to go to nomination centres when "nomination day, unlike polling day, is not a public holiday".

Bringing up other bugbears in the electoral system to the opposition, Mr Chia called for the elections deposit of $13,000 — or 8 per cent of an MP's allowance in the preceding year — to be reduced to "half or less than half" the amount.

He also asked that more "Single Member Constituencies" be reinstated instead of the "super-sized Group Representation Constituencies (GRC)", and for four months' notice to be given before an election.

Mr Wong defended the election deposit sum as necessary as "an election is a serious business" and debunked "Mr Chia's perennial complaint on the GRC", saying as long as the candidate has "worked the ground hard enough", he should be able to find enough people to support him.

As for the current notice period before the elections — which can technically run from about 2 weeks to 3 months — Mr Wong said: "This is something that we've had for so long, and that works well."

:oIo: Clean n honest gov indeed !!!! Fock the Satanic PAP cult !!!!

Cow "banish ur sick mother to JB" Dung TODAY 30 May 2009 :

"If you have sufficient scientific evidence to give us the confidence that this is just like seasonal flu, then it will be Green … But if instead, bad luck, the virus mutates in a strange way in Singapore and becomes lethal, then of course it becomes ‘Orange’. So we will see."

:oIo: Wait fer bad luck H1N1 mutate then take action ... Peasants really bad luck to hv tis evil fascist focker as ministar of Hell !!!!!

June 1, 2009
Singapore's fifth H1N1 case 'took a chance'
US trip ends in infection; public told again to avoid non-essential travel
By Carolyn Quek & Jessica Jaganathan

THE 22-year-old Singaporean went ahead with her trip to visit her cousin in Vermont, a state near New York, even though she knew the Influenza A (H1N1) virus was spreading in the United States.

:oIo: Propaganda start to blame peasants ............

It was her first visit to the US, and she was 'too far in' on the planning to give it up. On Saturday evening, a day after she returned home from her 16-day holiday, the student tested positive for the virus, becoming Singapore's fifth patient.

'I guess you can call this a rude awakening,' she said.

The Health Ministry (MOH) said yesterday that three of the earlier four patients were discharged yesterday after being cleared of the virus. The first patient, a 22-year-old Singapore Management University undergraduate, remains in the Communicable Disease Centre. Yesterday was her fifth day of Tamiflu treatment. She is well and stable.

To date, MOH has served 82 home quarantine orders to close contacts of the five patients, including 20 linked to the latest patient.

She arrived at Changi Airport at 11.30pm on Friday on All Nippon Airways Flight NH901 from New York via Tokyo.

She cleared the thermal scanner and went home in a family car. The student developed a fever the next morning, and was taken to Tan Tock Seng Hospital's emergency department by her mother. 'I called my GP, but was told to go straight to the hospital...My mum thought she might as well take me there as she had already been exposed,' she said.

Prior to her flight home, the student stayed for two days in Manhattan, New York. Most of her holiday was spent in Vermont. She had packed an N95 mask and also a hand sanitiser as precautions, but did not wear the mask during her trip as 'no one there was wearing it'.

She developed a cough only on the first leg of her flight home from New York. Worried when it worsened from Tokyo, she put on her mask on the plane.

MOH said there were about 15 passengers seated at or near row 36 of the plane, where the student sat. Four have been contacted so far, and quarantine orders will be served on them. Five others are believed to be out of the country.

Five of the student's relatives who had been in close contact with her also have to be quarantined at home until Saturday.

Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan yesterday again urged Singaporeans to avoid non-essential travel to North America.

Speaking at a Health Promotion Board event at Plaza Singapura, he said community spread of the disease was inevitable. 'All our containment measures will help for about two-thirds of those patients, and that is still useful...but eventually, it will be very hard to avoid a wildfire because one-third have no symptoms,' he said. 'So I think we have to be mentally prepared when it is a matter of time when it will be all over Singapore.'

:oIo: Ministar of Hell give up oredy ??? Leadership in toilet bowl !!!!

When such a situation occurs, the focus will be on high-risk groups - pregnant women, those with asthma and underlying diseases, the minister said.

As long as there are imported cases, then every case will be nailed down, but once it spreads to the community, MOH will then 'change tact', added Mr Khaw.

He is also worried about hospital beds.

'If every H1N1 patient has to be hospitalised as a rule when it is not necessary, then you will be chewing up a lot of hospital beds when I have to look after cancer patients, heart patients, heart attacks and so on...so let's focus on the nature of the virus rather than numbers.'

:oIo: 5th victim n cant take heat oredy evil Cow Dung Want !????? The numbers will show how gd ur focking leadership is .... n clearly there isn't any !!!! Go burn in Hell satanic minion !!!!

MOH will study the virus to monitor if it stays mild and non-lethal.

[email protected]

Heng "I do fock off" Chee Bye CNA 1 Jun 2009 :

"As the recession wears on, workers across all sectors realise that this is for real, (is) serious and can last quite long."

:oIo: Wat words of wisdom !!! Stating the bloooody obvious !!! Another evil focker just woke up fr his long beauty hibernation in ivory tower !!!