• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Why Jamus Lim join Workers' Party ?

from theindependent:

Jamus Lim reiterates call to lower CPF payout eligibility age to 60

1607522019935.png

Workers’ Party (WP) MP reiterated his party’s proposal to lower the Central Provident Fund (CPF) payout eligibility age (PEA) from 65 to 60, in a social media post published on Friday (4 Dec).

Associate Professor Jamus Lim visited some of his constituents at the Anchorvale division of Sengkang GRC on Thursday night (3 Dec) and was particularly struck by his conversation with the Wong family, who discussed the hot button CPF savings topic with the first-term MP among other issues.

Calling the matter of CPF savings a “topic that appears to cut across generations,” Prof Lim said: “For the older generation, there are questions about whether existing limits for Medisave utilization are adequate, especially in light of rising medical costs.

“With CPF often tapped on to purchase flats, those still in the workforce increasingly worry about retirement adequacy, especially as rising house prices means that a larger share of incomes are now devoted just to securing a roof over their heads, rather than contributing toward retirement.”

He added: “And for the youngest generation, their parents’ CPF is sometimes tapped on to help with school fees, which even further chips away at their parents’ retirement pot.”

Prof Lim, an economist, went on to draw attention to the suggestions the WP has put forth with regards to CPF usage in its manifesto. He specifically mentioned the party’s proposals to lower the PEA to 60, enable easier withdrawal of excess balances during crisis times, allow easier extended-family transfer of CPF balances, and widen Medisave uses for the elderly.

The WP has been calling on the authorities to lower the PEA for several years now. Back in 2015, then-Deputy Prime Minister and Finance Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam called the opposition party’s proposal to lower the PEA from 65 to 60 “unwise”.

Mr Tharman, who now serves as Senior Minister, said then that it is human nature to focus on current needs rather than plan for the future but countries that have introduced earlier payouts for their retirement saving schemes have found them unsustainable:

“It has been tried in other countries and, everywhere it has been tried, the result has been that those who take up this option of early payouts end up less prepared for retirement.”

Citing Denmark as an example, Mr Tharman said the country implemented earlier payouts more than 30 years ago, but the pressures of an ageing population have led the Danish to phase out this option. He said:

“We will all place greater priority on…the benefits we can get today… than what we will get well into the future. We all underestimate how long we will live…that is the human predicament.”

Claiming that the outcome of earlier payouts to some is that the rest of society eventually has to support them, Mr Tharman suggested that the pension and retirement age is automatically linked with rising life expectancies in many countries. He added:

“We should recognise these challenges honestly and not take positions for their populist appeal, when we know fully that putting such proposals into practice will merely set us back in tackling the larger challenge of ensuring adequate income throughout the retirement years.”

Mr Tharman had also said that the government is compassionate towards those who need to withdraw CPF funds earlier and is looking to inject more flexibility into the scheme by allowing Singaporeans to make lump-sum withdrawals of up to 20 percent of retirement savings at the payout eligibility age.

He said: “(The CPF system) is not a perfect system…(but) it is fair, it is sustainable and it takes risk away from individuals who cannot bear that risk.”

Defending his party’s proposal, then-WP Non-Constituency MP Gerald Giam responded in Parliament that the suggestion to start payouts earlier is not the same as asking for a full lump-sum withdrawal at the age of 60. The idea is to extend the period in which CPF payouts are given to members, he said, adding that it is optional.

Mr Giam, who is now an elected MP, said: “Our main point is life is unpredictable and we cannot presume to know the financial situation of every person at age 60. There may be some members who really have a need and we should give them that flexibility.”

Responding, Mr Tharman reiterated that other countries’ experiences have shown that it is human nature to “take advantage of the option to get something early, even if it is at the expense of what we need later on.” He added: “When it comes to flexibility and choice, we should make haste slowly.”

Five years on, the WP has won more support among Singaporeans and clinched an unprecedented 10 seats in Parliament while the CPF PEA remains. /TISG

from theindependent:

Mrs Jamus Lim helps keep a close eye on Anchorvale ward of Sengkang GRC

1607615643970.png

Singapore — Workers’ Party MP Jamus Lim was accompanied by his wife and young daughter during a walkabout in his Anchorvale ward of Sengkang GRC on Saturday (Dec 5).

In an Instagram post, Associate Professor Lim highlighted his wife’s work experience and how she had a keen eye for things that needed more attention in the estate.

He said: “Today, I had unusual company on my weekend estate walk. Since we were together at our prior appointment, my wife and daughter accompanied me for my rounds around the 355/6 Anchorvale cluster.

“As it turns out, my wife used to do site inspections when she was in the Peace Corps in Bolivia, and she has a keen eye for things that look awry.”

Their daughter, who is just over a year old, appeared to enjoy being out and about with mummy and daddy.

A/Prof oted: “My daughter, in contrast, was mainly entertained by being out and about in a new space, and making her usual baby gurgling and cooing noises. So in addition to a little family time, they also got a glimpse of what keeps me busy on weekends!”

Although A/Prof Lim likes to keep his personal life private, he has publicly shared his love for his young family on several occasions.

During the General Election this year, he said that all that he was doing was for his baby girl. On the day he was sworn in as an MP, he said that he was able to do what he did because he had his wife’s “mental, emotional, and physical support”.

In a tribute to his wife, whom he has been with for a decade, he added: “I am reminded, daily, of her unassuming and tireless sacrifices she makes so that I may serve the people of Anchorvale and Singapore, and I hope I have likewise been a bulwark for her as she pursues her dreams.” /TISG

Chan Chun Sing, Heng Swee Keat, Lim Swee Say, Goh Meng Seng, Tan Cheng Bock, Tan Jee Say, Chee Soon Juan, Foo Mee Har, Tin Pei Ling, Tan Bee Lian, He Ting Ru

vs

Lawrence Wong, Josephine Teo, Amy Khor, Jamus Lim, Nicole Seah, Raymond Lim,

I think the name doesn't really make a difference

Names don't really make a difference. :coffee:

Chan Chun Sing, Heng Swee Keat, Lim Swee Say, Goh Meng Seng, Tan Cheng Bock, Tan Jee Say, Chee Soon Juan, Foo Mee Har, Tin Pei Ling, Tan Bee Lian, He Ting Ru

vs

Lawrence Wong, Josephine Teo, Amy Khor, Jamus Lim, Nicole Seah, Raymond Lim,

I think the name doesn't really make a difference

Don't forget Jamus Jerome Lim. :wink:

From Jamus Lim's facebook:

At last night’s house visits, we bumped into Mani and his family, who had moved into their flat not too long ago, and had installed—get this—and entire swing bench in his living room. Mani explained that things were generally going well, and that he enjoyed his new place. Looking at the work they had put into their flat, I understood why.

1607866858853.png

At last night’s house visits, we bumped into Mani and his family, who had moved into their flat not too long ago, and had installed—get this—and entire swing bench in his living room. Mani explained that things were generally going well, and that he enjoyed his new place. Looking at the work they had put into their flat, I understood why.

View attachment 98619

This swing looks more comfortable. :biggrin:

1607959611773.png

View attachment 98619

This swing can be used as a bed. :biggrin:

1608045304643.png

from theindependent:

Jamus Lim helps a resident get a fridge through a lightning storm

In the middle of a lightning storm, Jamus Lim managed to help a resident get a refrigerator.

In a Facebook post on Monday (Dec 14), the Associate Professor and Member of Parliament (MP) for Sengkang GRC said that “Sometimes helping residents can involve a scramble, but when things work out, it is extremely satisfying”.

He said that an Anchorvale resident got in touch with him and his team of volunteers on Sunday (Dec 13), urgently requesting a refrigerator, as hers had broken down and she was worried about losing her childrens’ milk, and the family food.

He wrote: “We were able to hustle together a used fridge from a volunteer donor, a truck and driver, and some WP Community Fund #Bluecycle muscle at short notice”.`

Prof Lim added that the volunteers braved the lightning storm and made the delivery to a grateful Madam Nuraidah and her kids.

“As always, the dedication of our volunteers never fails to amaze me”, Prof Lim wrote.

Jamus Lim is known for his presence and relationship with residents of Anchorvale. /TISG

from goodyfeed.com:

The Top Trending Person in Google for 2020 is Jamus Lim

1608218137078.png

from yahoo news:

Year In Review 2020: The top 10 key figures of GE2020

1. Workers' Party Sengkang team

SINGAPORE - JULY 07:  Sengkang Group Representation Constituency Workers' Party candidates, He Tingru (R), Jamus Lim (C) and Louis Chua (L) chat with a resident during a campaign walkabout ahead of the general election on July 7, 2020 in Singapore.

Sengkang Group Representation Constituency Workers' Party candidates, He Tingru (R), Jamus Lim (C) and Louis Chua (L) chat with a resident during a campaign walkabout ahead of the general election on July 7, 2020 in Singapore. (Photo by Suhaimi Abdullah/Getty Images)

Few could have predicted the fall of Sengkang, only the second Group Representation Constituency (GRC) won by the opposition since the scheme’s inception in 1988. After all, the odds were stacked against the four-man team of He Ting Ru, Dr Jamus Lim, Raeesah Khan and Chua Kheng Wee from the start.

Competing in a brand new GRC, with a team including three first-time candidates, they were up against a People’s Action Party (PAP) team with three political office-holders. Singapore was in the midst of a global pandemic, with weary voters anxious about the future. Then came the bombshell: police reports were filed against Raeesah for alleged racially divisive comments she had made on social media.

But on Polling Night, a stunning upset unfolded with the WP team scoring 52.13 per cent of the votes. Pundits credited, among other factors, Lim’s popularity on social media following a TV debate, and voter distaste at what was perceived as bullying tactics by the PAP.

from theindependent.sg:

Jamus Lim, K Shanmugam send Winter Solstice greetings and talk about tangyuan

1608563351376.png

Singapore — Both Jamus Lim and K Shanmugam wished those celebrating the occasion a Happy Winter Solstice on Monday (Dec 21).

The winter solstice, hiemal solstice or hibernal solstice occurs when one of the Earth’s poles has its maximum tilt away from the Sun. It happens twice yearly, once in each hemisphere.

The Dongzhì Festival or Winter Solstice Festival is one of the more important Chinese and East Asian festivals celebrated on or around Dec 22 (according to East Asia time).

Traditionally, the Dongzhi Festival is also a time for the family to get together. One activity that occurs during these get-togethers is the making and eating of tangyuan (湯圓) or balls of glutinous rice, which symbolise reunion.

In his post, Sengkang GRC MP Associate Professor Lim said: “As a child, I grew up loving the unfilled 汤圆 most (I know, I was a strange kid), although I’ve since gravitated toward the sweeter versions.”

He added that he should eat the same number of glutinous rice balls as his age but joked that he will cheat and call the large one a multiple of 40.

“Our little one is still a tad too young to partake, but my better half definitely enjoyed her share,” he said.

On his own page, Law and Home Affairs Minister K Shanmugam wrote: “Today is the winter solstice, the day with the shortest period of daylight.”

He said that “many Chinese friends celebrate Dongzhi on this day”. He added a photo of tangyuan (glutinous rice balls) and noted that “they are eaten to symbolise unity and togetherness”. Mr Shanmugam wished everyone “Happy Dongzhi”. /TISG

from theindependent.sg:

Jamus Lim, K Shanmugam send Winter Solstice greetings and talk about tangyuan

View attachment 99343

Singapore — Both Jamus Lim and K Shanmugam wished those celebrating the occasion a Happy Winter Solstice on Monday (Dec 21).

The winter solstice, hiemal solstice or hibernal solstice occurs when one of the Earth’s poles has its maximum tilt away from the Sun. It happens twice yearly, once in each hemisphere.

The Dongzhì Festival or Winter Solstice Festival is one of the more important Chinese and East Asian festivals celebrated on or around Dec 22 (according to East Asia time).

Traditionally, the Dongzhi Festival is also a time for the family to get together. One activity that occurs during these get-togethers is the making and eating of tangyuan (湯圓) or balls of glutinous rice, which symbolise reunion.

In his post, Sengkang GRC MP Associate Professor Lim said: “As a child, I grew up loving the unfilled 汤圆 most (I know, I was a strange kid), although I’ve since gravitated toward the sweeter versions.”

He added that he should eat the same number of glutinous rice balls as his age but joked that he will cheat and call the large one a multiple of 40.

“Our little one is still a tad too young to partake, but my better half definitely enjoyed her share,” he said.

On his own page, Law and Home Affairs Minister K Shanmugam wrote: “Today is the winter solstice, the day with the shortest period of daylight.”

He said that “many Chinese friends celebrate Dongzhi on this day”. He added a photo of tangyuan (glutinous rice balls) and noted that “they are eaten to symbolise unity and togetherness”. Mr Shanmugam wished everyone “Happy Dongzhi”. /TISG

Happy Winter Solstice to Jamus and Shanmugam. :biggrin:

1608641882412.png

from theindependent.sg:

Resident’s panettone gift: Pritam Singh remembers Jamus Lim’s post on the Italian sweet bread

1608739194372.png

Singapore — It’s the time of the year for panettone! Workers’ Party leader Pritam Singh has shared that a resident from his Eunos ward of Aljunied GRC dropped-off the sweet bread for the volunteer team at a Meet-the-People Session (MPS).

In a Facebook post on Monday (Dec 21), Mr Singh said: “Until Jamus Lim introduced panettone into the political lexicon of Singapore on 11 Nov 2020, I, like a fair few Singaporeans I hazard, had no idea what it was.”

In November, Associate Professor Jamus Lim had introduced it to Singaporeans by way of a Facebook post. He said that one of the seasonal treats his family enjoyed was when panettone — an Italian sweet bread enjoyed during Christmas and the New Year, and commonly found across Latin America — became available.

Mr Singh said: “But word is spreading.”

He added: “In between thanking the resident for her generosity and thoughtfulness, I smiled. And yes, I thought of Jamus. Some thanks are probably due to him too!!”

A/Prof Lim’s post on panettone went viral but it also drew flak from former Nominated Member of Parliament (NMP) Calvin Cheng.

Mr Cheng’s post, titled “CHAMPAGNE SOCIALISTS AND KOPITIAM CAPITALISTS”, was about his earlier comments on those he called “Workers’ Party celebrity MPs”.

On A/Prof Lim, Mr Cheng wrote on Thursday (Nov 12): “WORKERS’ Party celebrity MP shares with his fans the joys of Italian sweetbread panettone, with a designer espresso, lovingly shot with his latest iPhone 12.
A well-deserved treat after his tireless fighting for the proletariat.”

In his post on Saturday (Nov 14), he asked: “It is ok to post pictures of nice cakes that most heartlanders have never heard of, but if Chan Chun Sing wears a Casio watch, it is being fake? Are we headed down the path of superficial Western politics where packaging is more important than substance?”

Mr Cheng, who is known to be aligned with the People’s Action Party, said that he published the posts because he “needed to draw in the hypocrites and the self-righteous, mark them (thank you for being my fan!), and then drop this on them when they are at their most furious”.

However, many of those who responded to his comments were not too pleased, with several calling him petty. /TISG

Have panettone for Christmas and New Year. :coffee:

View attachment 99570

"One of the seasonal treats we thoroughly enjoy is when panettone—an Italian sweet bread enjoyed during Christmas and the New Year, and commonly found across Latin America—becomes available. It always reminds us of the traditions we hold dear this time of the year: bonding with family, catching up with friends, and reflecting on the year gone by. This has been a difficult year for many, us included. But we are always mindful of the silver linings behind all the challenges, much like the sweet little pieces of candied fruit that are interspersed throughout this special bread."

-- Jamus Lim --

from yahoo news:

Workers' Party Sengkang MPs, plus Nicole Seah and Kenneth Foo, elected to party CEC

1609082402605.png

SINGAPORE — Sengkang Members of Parliament He Ting Ru, Jamus Lim, Louis Chua and Raeesah Khan have been elected to the Workers’ Party’s central executive committee (CEC), following the party’s elections on Sunday (27 December).

The quartet are among six new members elected to the WP CEC. The remaining two are Nicole Seah and Kenneth Foo, who both contested unsuccessfully in East Coast GRC during the July general election.

Pritam Singh and Sylvia Lim, both MPs for Aljunied GRC, retained their positions as party chief and party chair respectively. Singh’s predecessor Low Thia Khiang and former Hougang MP Png Eng Huat remain on the CEC.

Meanwhile, the six CEC members who have been replaced are: former Aljunied MP Chen Show Mao; former Non-Constituency MP Daniel Goh, who stepped down from the CEC in April due to ill health; East Coast candidate Terence Tan; John Yam; and Firuz Khan.

The CEC elections were held at Huone Singapore in Clarke Quay rather than the party HQ in Geylang Road due to the requirements of safe management measures. While the party would not disclose the number of cadres who voted, WP member and former NCMP Yee Jenn Jong had said in his recent book "Journey In Blue: A Peek Into The Workers' Party Of Singapore" that more than 100 party cadres voted in the 2016 CEC elections.

Continuity and renewal
Addressing reporters on Sunday evening, Singh would not be drawn on whether there were any challenges to his and Lim’s positions. He also declined to comment on whether other party members will be co-opted into the CEC.

Given that Singh, Lim and Low all retained their CEC positions, the party chief was asked what this meant for leadership renewal. Singh replied that this showed the party cadres recognise the importance of continuity as well as renewal.

“I also have to thank the cadre membership actually for recognising how important renewal is, while at the same time having to balance this reality that you want a party that is not suddenly in the deep end of the pool. There also has to be a trajectory for renewal.”

He added, “I think it's very important that some of our most experienced members continue to be a central part of the party.”

Noting that the Sengkang quartet’s - three of whom were contesting elections for the first time - status as MPs means they are senior party leaders, Singh said their ascension to the CEC reflects the “burden of leadership”.

The shadow cast by Low
Asked how Low’s role in the party will evolve, Singh said of the 64-year-old, “A large part of the shape of the party has been down to him and his personality, and the character that he infused into the party by example (and) by discipline.”

He added that the party will be tapping on the experience of Low, who was an opposition MP for 32 years. “He has got a rich and long history of political contest in Singapore, what are the realities of an opposition party.”

The WP recently announced that as He and Raeesah will soon be going on maternity leave, party members such as Low will be stepping up to help out the duo with their duties in their respective constituencies.

Singh was also asked about the status of Chen and Goh, who were reportedly absent from Sunday’s conference. Chen launched an unsuccessful bid for the party leadership in 2016 and did not contest the July GE. “Both of them have made their contributions towards the party. We are very grateful for their contributions, and I hope to see them in the next cadre conference,” said the 43-year-old, who noted that the pair are still party members.

At the party’s last CEC elections in 2018, Singh was elected unopposed as the Secretary-General, succeeding Low who had held the post for 17 years. Low said at the time that Singh’s election meant the WP’s leadership renewal was now complete for the current development phase.

Low has since stepped down as a Member of Parliament and did not contest the GE.

Last month, the ruling People’s Action Party (PAP) also held its CEC elections. In the process, it co-opted four new members, including Minister for Culture, Community and Youth Edwin Tong and Marsiling-Yew Tee GRC MP Alex Yam. The other two are NTUC chief Ng Chee Meng and Victor Lye, who contested unsuccessfully in Sengkang and Aljunied, respectively.

New WP CEC members
The following 12 members were elected to the Workers’ Party Central Executive Committee:

Chair: Sylvia Lim Swee Lian, 55

Secretary-General: Pritam Singh, 44

Chua Kheng Wee Louis, 33

Foo Seck Guan Kenneth, 43

Gerald Giam Yean Song, 43

He Ting Ru, 37

Raeesah Khan, 27

Dr Jamus Jerome Lim, 44

Low Thia Khiang, 64

Muhamad Faisal Bin Abdul Manap, 45

Leon Perera, 50

Png Eng Huat, 59