• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Why Jamus Lim join Workers' Party ?

from theonlinecitizen.com:

WP’s Jamus Lim highlights noise issue at Anchorvale; encourages residents to be mindful of noises they make at home
1611248671868.png

The Workers’ Party (WP) Member of Parliament (MP) for Sengkang GRC took to Facebook on Friday (15 January) to draw attention to noise issues at Anchorvale after a resident highlighted to him during the party’s recent house visits.

He said that noise disturbances are one of the most common complaints raised by residents in the ward, adding that it is also the most difficult problem for an MP to solve.

“Noise disturbances are among the most prevalent complaints we receive in #Anchorvale. Unfortunately, they are the most intractable ones to solve for an MP,” Mr Lim said.

This is because it concerns two different residents, both of whom the party represents.

“For starters, they typically involve two resident families, both of whom we represent. What sounds like the pitter-patter of happy children’s feet for one household may turn out to be intolerably disruptive for another, who is trying to conduct an important work meeting from home.

“The grating sounds of furniture movement for a downstairs neighbor with medically-certified noise sensitivity may also be the regular sounds of living for those upstairs, who have a special-needs child that cannot fully understand how to quietly shift the dining room chairs,” he explained.

In the post, the MP then went on to inform on the methods that the party takes when they receive reports of persistent noise issue.

“When we receive reports of persistent noise issues, we typically begin by flagging the matter to the town council or HDB, who would follow up with a visit to the neighbors involved. Among the limited tool we have are mutually-agreed mediation by the Community Mediation Centre, falling which, escalation to the Community Dispute Resolution Tribunal,” Mr Lim said.

He also pointed out that, according to him, these methods provide solution to a certain extent, but they require a large amount of empathy and willing for both parties to accept that they living in shared spaces.

“In my experience, these offer some possibility of success, but they do require a significant degree of empathy, and a willingness by both sides to recognize the natural challenges of living in shared spaces—where the walls and ceilings of one family’s castle are (literally) the walls and floors of another’s palace.”

He also said that the best way to solve this issue is for everyone to act as good neighbours and be aware that we live in a community.

“Ultimately, it falls on every one of us to do our part as good neighbors, aware that we live together in a large urban #kampong, and that we all share an interest in making each others’ living environment a little bit better,” Mr Lim concluded.

Hypocrite-The

Poor Nicole,,,working hard to cover the duties of 2 WP MPs who are busy breeding,...and she is doing it without pay,,,I really feel sorry for her

Nicole Seah and team cover more than 100 units in Raeesah Khan’s division

WP leader Pritam Singh and volunteers stand in for MP He Ting Ru in a Meet-the-People Session
Photos: Nicole Seah IG

https://www.facebook.com/sharer.php...ore-than-100-units-in-raeesah-khans-division/
https://twitter.com/intent/tweet?te...-in-raeesah-khans-division/&via=Independentsg
https://www.linkedin.com/shareArtic...ore+than+100+units+in+Raeesah+Khan’s+division
https://telegram.me/share/url?url=h...ore+than+100+units+in+Raeesah+Khan’s+division
https://reddit.com/submit?url=https...ore+than+100+units+in+Raeesah+Khan’s+division
AUTHOR
Jewel Stolarchuk
DATE
January 24, 2021

- Advertisement -
Singapore — Workers’ Party politician Nicole Seah and a WP team covered more than 100 units in three hours on behalf of MP Raeesah Khan in the latter’s Compassvale division in Sengkang GRC on Thursday night (Jan 21).
Ms Khan, a first-term MP, gave birth to her second child – a daughter – on Jan 2. She also has a son. The birth was just two days after fellow Sengkang GRC MP He Ting Ru gave birth to her third son on Dec 31.
WP chief Pritam Singh had announced last month that a contingent of party politicians and members will support the MPs by standing in for their weekly Meet-the-People Sessions, house visits and estate walks, on a rotational basis and for as long as required.
The party politicians and members who will help take on the MPs’ duties include the remaining two Sengkang GRC MPs, Associate Professor Jamus Lim and Mr Louis Chua, Hougang SMC MP Dennis Tan, Mr Singh and his four fellow Aljunied GRC MPs: Ms Sylvia Lim, Mr Faisal Manap, Mr Gerald Giam and Mr Leon Perera.

- Advertisement -
A group of the WP’s former electoral candidates will also aid in the effort, including Ms Seah, Ms He’s husband Terence Tan, Mr Kenneth Foo, Mr Yee Jenn Jong and Mr Ron Tan. The team also includes former MPs Low Thia Khiang, Png Eng Huat and Lee Li Lian.
After a busy night of house visits, Ms Seah updated her followers that her team managed to visit more than 100 homes in Ms Khan’s ward in just three hours. Sharing that residents conveyed their well-wishes for Ms Khan’s new bundle of joy, Ms Seah wrote:
“The team covered 100+ units this evening across 3 hours on behalf of Compassvale MP @raeesahfaridkhan. Grateful for the well wishes conveyed by residents on Rae’s bundle of joy, and positive feedback on estate matters.”
Using A/Prof Lim’s famous “cockles of my heart” comment before the General Election last year, she added: “Thank you to residents for the lovely gifts of Potong ice cream, Yakult and several other beverages, it was a lovely gesture to warm the cockles of our hearts.”
A day earlier, on Wednesday (Jan 20), Mr Singh himself had stood in for Ms He at her Meet-the-People Session in her Buangkok division. Noting that Ms He still has her finger on the pulse of her estate, he wrote on Facebook on Thursday:
“A cool evening last night in Sengkang GRC with MP He Ting Ru’s Meet-the-People Session team. She has got a good team of volunteers — thank you for rendering your time to help residents in need of some assistance and support.
“There were a broad range of cases not too dissimilar with the types of issues other Workers’ Party MPs see — although there was one interesting appeal on the Jobs Growth Incentive which has some merit in my view and I hope is seen that way by the authorities — on which I will brief MP He separately (she is actively monitoring things!).”

140322779_3840063256015959_4367948950256416886_o.jpg
Photo: Pritam Singh FB
/TISG

Poor Nicole,,,working hard to cover the duties of 2 WP MPs who are busy breeding,...and she is doing it without pay,,,I really feel sorry for her

WP leader Pritam Singh and volunteers stand in for MP He Ting Ru in a Meet-the-People Session

https://www.facebook.com/sharer.php?u=https://theindependent.sg/nicole-seah-and-team-cover-more-than-100-units-in-raeesah-khans-division/
https://twitter.com/intent/tweet?text=Nicole+Seah+and+team+cover+more+than+100+units+in+Raeesah+Khan’s+division&url=https://theindependent.sg/nicole-seah-and-team-cover-more-than-100-units-in-raeesah-khans-division/&via=Independentsg
https://www.linkedin.com/shareArticle?mini=true&url=https://theindependent.sg/nicole-seah-and-team-cover-more-than-100-units-in-raeesah-khans-division/&title=Nicole+Seah+and+team+cover+more+than+100+units+in+Raeesah+Khan’s+division
https://telegram.me/share/url?url=https://theindependent.sg/nicole-seah-and-team-cover-more-than-100-units-in-raeesah-khans-division/&text=Nicole+Seah+and+team+cover+more+than+100+units+in+Raeesah+Khan’s+division
https://reddit.com/submit?url=https://theindependent.sg/nicole-seah-and-team-cover-more-than-100-units-in-raeesah-khans-division/&title=Nicole+Seah+and+team+cover+more+than+100+units+in+Raeesah+Khan’s+division
AUTHOR
Jewel Stolarchuk
DATE
January 24, 2021

- Advertisement -
Singapore — Workers’ Party politician Nicole Seah and a WP team covered more than 100 units in three hours on behalf of MP Raeesah Khan in the latter’s Compassvale division in Sengkang GRC on Thursday night (Jan 21).
Ms Khan, a first-term MP, gave birth to her second child – a daughter – on Jan 2. She also has a son. The birth was just two days after fellow Sengkang GRC MP He Ting Ru gave birth to her third son on Dec 31.
WP chief Pritam Singh had announced last month that a contingent of party politicians and members will support the MPs by standing in for their weekly Meet-the-People Sessions, house visits and estate walks, on a rotational basis and for as long as required.
The party politicians and members who will help take on the MPs’ duties include the remaining two Sengkang GRC MPs, Associate Professor Jamus Lim and Mr Louis Chua, Hougang SMC MP Dennis Tan, Mr Singh and his four fellow Aljunied GRC MPs: Ms Sylvia Lim, Mr Faisal Manap, Mr Gerald Giam and Mr Leon Perera.

- Advertisement -
A group of the WP’s former electoral candidates will also aid in the effort, including Ms Seah, Ms He’s husband Terence Tan, Mr Kenneth Foo, Mr Yee Jenn Jong and Mr Ron Tan. The team also includes former MPs Low Thia Khiang, Png Eng Huat and Lee Li Lian.
After a busy night of house visits, Ms Seah updated her followers that her team managed to visit more than 100 homes in Ms Khan’s ward in just three hours. Sharing that residents conveyed their well-wishes for Ms Khan’s new bundle of joy, Ms Seah wrote:
“The team covered 100+ units this evening across 3 hours on behalf of Compassvale MP @raeesahfaridkhan. Grateful for the well wishes conveyed by residents on Rae’s bundle of joy, and positive feedback on estate matters.”
Using A/Prof Lim’s famous “cockles of my heart” comment before the General Election last year, she added: “Thank you to residents for the lovely gifts of Potong ice cream, Yakult and several other beverages, it was a lovely gesture to warm the cockles of our hearts.”
A day earlier, on Wednesday (Jan 20), Mr Singh himself had stood in for Ms He at her Meet-the-People Session in her Buangkok division. Noting that Ms He still has her finger on the pulse of her estate, he wrote on Facebook on Thursday:
“A cool evening last night in Sengkang GRC with MP He Ting Ru’s Meet-the-People Session team. She has got a good team of volunteers — thank you for rendering your time to help residents in need of some assistance and support.
“There were a broad range of cases not too dissimilar with the types of issues other Workers’ Party MPs see — although there was one interesting appeal on the Jobs Growth Incentive which has some merit in my view and I hope is seen that way by the authorities — on which I will brief MP He separately (she is actively monitoring things!).”

140322779_3840063256015959_4367948950256416886_o.jpg
Photo: Pritam Singh FB
/TISG

No need to feel sorry for her if she enjoys meeting residents. :wink:

Not bad, visit by standin MP got biscuits to eat. :biggrin:

from toc.com:

WP’s Jamus Lim assures residents there is no change in Sengkang Town Council’s standards

1612188887280.png

The Workers’ Party (WP) Member of Parliament (MP) for Sengkang GRC Jamus Lim has given his assurance to residents that the Sengkang Town Council will continue to uphold the same standards in serving everyone.

In a Facebook post on Sunday (31 Jan), Assoc Prof Lim shared that a number of residents at Anchorvale have expressed their concerns over how the newly-formed town council is being run.

“We recognize that we are a newly-formed town council, and so there is a very human fear of the untried and untested. This is further compounded by the myths and stories about what transpires in opposition-held wards,” he wrote.

Nonetheless, Assoc Prof Lim assured that there should not be any “systematic change in standards” as the town council has opted to retain the same conservancy contractors.

“We take such feedback very seriously, of course, not least because it affects the day-to-day of our residents,” he stressed.

Assoc Prof Lim went on to say that the majority of residents have shared that they have “not experienced any perceptible declines” since Sengkang Town Council took the helm.

However, he conceded that there might be “genuine lapses” every now and then.

In any case, Assoc Prof Lim noted that his team will investigate and address these lapses as expeditiously as they can, adding that they will hold their contractors to account if necessary.

“That’s why we conduct our weekly estate walks, actively listen to resident feedback (on all our channels, including our meet-the-people sessions), and also roll in area spot-checks into our house visits,” he added.

Assoc Prof Lim concluded his post saying, “Residents expect no less, and we hold ourselves to that standard.”

Hypocrite-The

from toc.com:

WP’s Jamus Lim assures residents there is no change in Sengkang Town Council’s standards

View attachment 103100

The Workers’ Party (WP) Member of Parliament (MP) for Sengkang GRC Jamus Lim has given his assurance to residents that the Sengkang Town Council will continue to uphold the same standards in serving everyone.

In a Facebook post on Sunday (31 Jan), Assoc Prof Lim shared that a number of residents at Anchorvale have expressed their concerns over how the newly-formed town council is being run.

“We recognize that we are a newly-formed town council, and so there is a very human fear of the untried and untested. This is further compounded by the myths and stories about what transpires in opposition-held wards,” he wrote.

Nonetheless, Assoc Prof Lim assured that there should not be any “systematic change in standards” as the town council has opted to retain the same conservancy contractors.

“We take such feedback very seriously, of course, not least because it affects the day-to-day of our residents,” he stressed.

Assoc Prof Lim went on to say that the majority of residents have shared that they have “not experienced any perceptible declines” since Sengkang Town Council took the helm.

However, he conceded that there might be “genuine lapses” every now and then.

In any case, Assoc Prof Lim noted that his team will investigate and address these lapses as expeditiously as they can, adding that they will hold their contractors to account if necessary.

“That’s why we conduct our weekly estate walks, actively listen to resident feedback (on all our channels, including our meet-the-people sessions), and also roll in area spot-checks into our house visits,” he added.

Assoc Prof Lim concluded his post saying, “Residents expect no less, and we hold ourselves to that standard.”
Looks like Jamus is the only one holding up Shitkang GRC w help from Nicole. Where are the other 4?

He MP of Sengkang GRC. :biggrin:

from wikipedia:

Louis Chua Kheng Wee (born 1987), also known as Chua Kheng Wee, is the vice president and equity research analyst at the global investment company, Credit Suisse AG.[1] In June 2020, he was announced as a Workers’ Party (WP) candidate for the 2020 General Elections and contested in Sengkang GRC.[2] As of 10 July 2020, he is an elected Member of Parliament.

Hypocrite-The

He MP of Sengkang GRC. :biggrin:

from wikipedia:

Louis Chua Kheng Wee (born 1987), also known as Chua Kheng Wee, is the vice president and equity research analyst at the global investment company, Credit Suisse AG.[1] In June 2020, he was announced as a Workers’ Party (WP) candidate for the 2020 General Elections and contested in Sengkang GRC.[2] As of 10 July 2020, he is an elected Member of Parliament.
I meant what has he done for his constituents? Shitkang GRC really got a group of Dud MPs....out of 4,,,2 are chao keng, 1 is practically invisible,,,,no wonder the residents are starting to KPKB,,,,I cant wait to for these WP duds to be 1 term MPs,,,like that Lee Ah Lian,,,get preggy after erection and disappear,,,no wonder cannot even hold onto the seat

In my opinion, it is still better for SG to have these WP MPs in parliament than to have more PAP MPs. :wink:

Useless wp MPs makes things worst as it will entrenched the pap even more? N u agree that WP is useless?

WP are not useless, but they can be much more useful. I think Jamus has done well so far. Most of the things he has highlighted and the way he has gone about them, have been positive. :thumbsup:
More opposition MPs (useful or useless) may or may not entrench the pap even more. But it is 100% certain that more PAP MPs will entrench the pap even more. :coffee:

from theindependent.sg:

WP’s Jamus Lim reassures Sengkang residents that standards will be upheld

1612455791761.png

Singapore — One of the four Workers’ Party MPs in Sengkang GRC, Associate Professor Jamus Lim, reassured residents on Sunday (Jan 31) that town council standards will be upheld even with the change in leadership.

The change in representation to the WP in last year’s General Election has led residents to doubt if the WP would be able to live up to the standards previously set by the People’s Action Party since 2015.

A/Prof Lim made it a point to reassure residents on the matter during his engagement session over the weekend. As part of their outreach efforts, the MPs try to visit residents in the GRC weekly.

According to the Facebook post he made on Sunday night, many residents had similar concerns. “One common theme was concern over how the town council was being run.” He also stated that since this was a newly-formed town council, it was understandable that residents would have concerns. He also addressed the myths that opposition-held wards seem to be less taken care of.

He said the town council has continued to retain the contractors from before the handover. Thus, there should be no unexpected change in the standards unless it is to improve the current one. This is evident in how most residents did not experience much change in the town council standards since the elections last year.

A/Prof Lim admits that there have been some “genuine lapses” but added that the WP MPs are doing their best to look into such issues and address them. The weekly estate walks, and active listening of feedback through multiple platforms are all ways to ensure that the standards remain, and improve.

Sengkang GRC comprises four divisions, each of which is the responsibility of one of the four WP MPs elected there: Anchorvale (A/Prof Jamus Lim), Rivervale (Mr Louis Chua), Compassvale (Ms Raeesah Khan) and Buangkok (Ms He Ting Ru).