• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Offer a $15,000 salary to work in Kuwait, should I take it up?

no income tax, no GST,

Car cost less than COE, petrol less than 1USD/litre.. :D

if u are employee... just say so. Don't act garang !!!

High chance your business is polishing Sentosa cannon !! :D:D

:D:D:oIo:

Sinkie behavior #6 and #7 refers to you

6. A sinkie is one who cannot stand the success of others and try ways and means to talk and insult others down even if those are his friends.

7. A sinkie is always jealous of the success of others because it means their own ego is threatened.

Just went for an interview for a Civil Project Manager position in a big consultancy company. The HR Manage call up to say the company would like to offer me me the job for $15K/month, plus free accommodation and tax equalization, and 2 return ticket back to Singapore every year. The condition is that I must base in Kuwait for 2 years until the project ends.

My wife don't want to follow, and my kid is still very young, only 3 years old.

I am now working as a civil engineer for a local construction company, earning $7 a month. Plus free handphone and $500 petrol allowance.

Should I take it up the job in Kuwait?

No tax, everything paid 4, $15k a mth is only going 2 b ur pkt money. That works out 2 about $360k in 2 yrs. and even if u spend 1/2 of it, its going 2 be about $180k-$200k savings. I wudn think 2 2 b honest. I'll grab it if I were u.

It is not complacency,Sam,it is you who fail to understand the NEW age Singapore citizens,al the globetrotters.

Since when a world class Spore professional can be happy to leave a family for a mere $200,000 for two years?$200,000 is not enough to buy a run down old 3 room HDB!

Ok lah if u r so rich 4 $200k 2 b "mere" 2 u, then donate $200k 2 me lor. :rolleyes:

Thanks everyone from your comments. Looks like most people think I should go. I am indeed very tempted with this overseas opportunity.

I like the fact that I don't have to do IPPT and RT for the next 2 years.

But the minus point point is that Kuwait was invaded by Iraq sometimes back. And I hear there are still terrorist in Kuwait, wanting to create chaos. Safety is a big concern for my wife and kid.

Sori, didnt see the tax equalization.:D The guys are right, you dont have to pay tax.

Go for it, earn as much and as soon as you can. Remember buy more insurance since you got dependents.:)

Should ask for inducement payment also.

Two years is a short time. Time flies when you are there and busy.

But be prepared, wife call to complain if child gets sick because she feels that she is the only taking care of matters here.:(

Just went for an interview for a Civil Project Manager position in a big consultancy company. The HR Manage call up to say the company would like to offer me me the job for $15K/month, plus free accommodation and tax equalization, and 2 return ticket back to Singapore every year. The condition is that I must base in Kuwait for 2 years until the project ends.

My wife don't want to follow, and my kid is still very young, only 3 years old.

I am now working as a civil engineer for a local construction company, earning $7 a month. Plus free handphone and $500 petrol allowance.

Should I take it up the job in Kuwait?

Don't listen to these idiots here who tell you not to go. Whenever a good opportunity arises and you ask people whether to take it or not, almost everyone will tell you not to take it out of pure jealousy because they themselves will never have the same kind of opportunity!

But be prepared, wife call to complain if child gets sick because she feels that she is the only taking care of matters here.:(

I find it very very strange as to why his wife doesn't want to follow him to Kuwait. In most cases, the wife will follow with the husband if they get overseas. A double paycheck with accommodation and tax equalization and air tickets to come back, why is his wife objecting to following him there?

Is there something else we do not know?

All I am saying is that "what ifs" need to be viewed positively. "What ifs" should provide the impetus towards greater things.

"What ifs" should not be an excuse for inaction and resigning oneself to the status quo.

Single person have nothing to worry. Just pack a bag and go. A family man has loans, bills, family to take care.

What are the considerations of these 2 types? 1 has nothing to lose, the other somehow has something holding him back . That's the difference.

So putting his shoes into our feet, everyone will have different results. ;)

may be the wife is head of private banking of some prominent bank :D

If really so, he wouldn't be in a headache as to whether he should go and take up an overseas job with double pay. In fact, he would not even be looking for another job and instead stay put here. Wife head of private banking, mai play play hor.

I find it very very strange as to why his wife doesn't want to follow him to Kuwait. In most cases, the wife will follow with the husband if they get overseas. A double paycheck with accommodation and tax equalization and air tickets to come back, why is his wife objecting to following him there?

Is there something else we do not know?

Maybe the wife scared of new place. Women are most wary of changes. Kuwait kena invaded by Iraq until the USA chase them out, and maybe now still have terrrorists. And mother instinct will tell her to keep their only kid safe in Singapore.

Don't have NTUC fairprice at Kuwait. Don't know where to buy fish and vegetables. Somemore cannot speak arabic language. Not all women so gungho like men can cheong every where.

My wild guess.

Sori, didnt see the tax equalization.:D The guys are right, you dont have to pay tax.

Go for it, earn as much and as soon as you can. Remember buy more insurance since you got dependents.:)

Should ask for inducement payment also.

Two years is a short time. Time flies when you are there and busy.

I think tax equalization means still have to pay tax. The company just equalize it. For example, if he earns 200K while working in Kuwait, base on Singapore tax law, he is suppose to pay 25% (I assume). And if Kuwait tax of 200K is 30%, then the company will pay for him the 5% of tax. But if Kuwait tax is 20%, then he will have to pay 5% back to the company or the company will deduct 5% of his annual income from his salary.

Simple... Kuwait got No PORK . :D

you say so !

dubai-pork.jpg

Maybe the wife scared of new place. Women are most wary of changes. Kuwait kena invaded by Iraq until the USA chase them out, and maybe now still have terrrorists. And mother instinct will tell her to keep their only kid safe in Singapore.

Don't have NTUC fairprice at Kuwait. Don't know where to buy fish and vegetables. Somemore cannot speak arabic language. Not all women so gungho like men can cheong every where.

My wild guess.
If this situation is presented to me,
I am single, I will go. If I have a wife with kids, I will not go Kuwait. :D

I think tax equalization means still have to pay tax. The company just equalize it. For example, if he earns 200K while working in Kuwait, base on Singapore tax law, he is suppose to pay 25% (I assume). And if Kuwait tax of 200K is 30%, then the company will pay for him the 5% of tax. But if Kuwait tax is 20%, then he will have to pay 5% back to the company or the company will deduct 5% of his annual income from his salary.

Yes, tax equalization still have to pay tax. :o

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tax_equalization