• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Offer a $15,000 salary to work in Kuwait, should I take it up?

Just went for an interview for a Civil Project Manager position in a big consultancy company. The HR Manage call up to say the company would like to offer me me the job for $15K/month, plus free accommodation and tax equalization, and 2 return ticket back to Singapore every year. The condition is that I must base in Kuwait for 2 years until the project ends.

My wife don't want to follow, and my kid is still very young, only 3 years old.

I am now working as a civil engineer for a local construction company, earning $7 a month. Plus free handphone and $500 petrol allowance.

Should I take it up the job in Kuwait?

Take it up.. After 6 months, you wife will follow you.

sigh! can become foreign talent, but dont want. want to stay here kena victimized! his wife also another idiot! follow and gain exposure lah! typical sinkie woman that become a man's dead weight to hold man down from letting him achieve higher limit. sigh! sigh! sigh! :(

this is not 退一步海阔天空,而是走去海阔天空!pls accept and make your wife go along!!! :oIo:

Money is not everything. Think of your wife and particularly your son. When you grow old. You will realize that money is not everything. So your family is your top priority.

Since when a world class Spore professional can be happy to leave a family for a mere $200,000 for two years?$200,000 is not enough to buy a run down old 3 room HDB!

That's an extremely myopic view of the situation.

$200,000 alone is no longer a king's ransom but it'll work wonders when it comes to starting an enterprise which can be nurtured and developed to the point where it is worth a six figure sum.

Money is not everything. Think of your wife and particularly your son. When you grow old. You will realize that money is not everything. So your family is your top priority.

It's an excellent attitude but it's a rather naive one to adopt in this day and age.

While money isn't everything, having sufficient wealth to be financially independent should be the goal of every family man. It buys freedom and releases one from the shackles of dependency on others.

Imagine the scenario where a family member develops a serious illness. A potential cure is available but it costs $150,000 and the expertise isn't available in Singapore. Suddenly, the value of $200,000 goes up 10 fold.

My advice is to make money the top priority till one reaches their early 40s. Aim as high as possible. With a few million lying around and with all debts paid off by 45, it is then time to relax, smell the roses with plenty of time (and money) to devote to family and friends.

I agree with Sam on this one, its important to confirm that this offer is true and with the tax issue sorted before you go. Your wife should go with you if she could so that you can rent out your SG house and make some money while you are away. Will they pay for your relocation or house rental in Kuwait? If so then please, this is a golden opportunity.

As i always tell my friends, go forth and multiply!! :)

Women like to think of family lah, work life balance and all those crap. But when you kanna retrenched and no money on the table, she will blame you for not taking up the Kuwait job. I think you should just take it.

That's an extremely myopic view of the situation.

$200,000 alone is no longer a king's ransom but it'll work wonders when it comes to starting an enterprise which can be nurtured and developed to the point where it is worth a six figure sum.
Sam,of course I do not dispute yr point that S$200,000 can start and multify 10 times with a successful enterprise.

But the fact is that we do not know the TS's actual circumstances.

I base my comment more on the fact that he is a professional engineer wanted by some internatioanl engineering consultants.

I know many PEs who worked in Middle East before and their actual experience,such as Ranking & Hill,PCR,etc

I must agree with PAP that East Asia is the growth area,the chances of making it is right here.

Not only PRC ,but also Indonesia,where we have complete overwhelming advantages, is turning into a huge opportunity.

It is up to the TS to size up his own situation and come to a good decision.

Of course should go... I work in Qatar for two years before if not for my eldery parents I wouldn't have come back... Good $$$!

have cake and eat it? go for one year then resign if the contract t n c allows it. coz 1 year is enough experience in resume and can command higher salary after that. don't see things in must go don't go. can do both one lah!

My wife don't want to follow, and my kid is still very young, only 3 years old.

Of course your wife doesn't want to go, what would she do without a maid:eek:

Just tell her it's her turn to do NS:)
Bet she will be able to find work, so it'll be a good oppurtunity for her to widen her experience & increase her value.

You'll be excused from doing NS & have more time to spend with wife & kids.

Life in Spore is getting tougher. Maybe tomorrow you or your wife will loose your job? Or maybe she'll ask for a divorce? There's are no guarantees & if you ignore the opportunities life presents you, you'll regret it.

You'll need at least a year before you adjust to any new home. The next time around will be easier, who knows maybe Aust, Canada,... :rolleyes:

2 years contract is considered relatively short posting lah....
you do the sum but should take in total annual package/benefits and relative costs of living.
also not sure if your wife is working in sing therefore has to consider her loss of income if she is going to follow u vs potential rental incomes.
Also after 2 years what is going to happen.
In life nothing is simple and straightforward anymore....

Kuwait is certainly no hardship posting like Siberia or Heilongqiang! Go for the enriching experience in every sense of the word. Pay and perks not bad and a vast improvement over what you are getting at present! Initial adjustments to a new environment for you and your family aside, there is no other drawback. Don't live life in regret!:D

take it bro. else u wld spend the rest of ur life wondering why u didnt take it up.

Only a mere SGD$15K for an expat package? That's an insult! I know of some PRC mei meis who earn more than that every month! Spending 2 yrs in a land surrounded by Muslims is no joke! If it's SGD30K and above, then can consider.