• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Offer a $15,000 salary to work in Kuwait, should I take it up?

Just went for an interview for a Civil Project Manager position in a big consultancy company. The HR Manage call up to say the company would like to offer me me the job for $15K/month, plus free accommodation and tax equalization, and 2 return ticket back to Singapore every year. The condition is that I must base in Kuwait for 2 years until the project ends.

My wife don't want to follow, and my kid is still very young, only 3 years old.

I am now working as a civil engineer for a local construction company, earning $7 a month. Plus free handphone and $500 petrol allowance.

Should I take it up the job in Kuwait?

leave your wife behind for ramseth to jaga and go.

Only a mere SGD$15K for an expat package? That's an insult! I know of some PRC mei meis who earn more than that every month! Spending 2 yrs in a land surrounded by Muslims is no joke! If it's SGD30K and above, then can consider.
Civil/Structural engineering jobs will come scarce in another 10 years' time on this "little red dot", can't go far except land re-claimation, roads repair n some hdb blocks re-build projects! Foreign companies usually hve their own head engineers with wealth of experience so local engineers are just 2nd-tier to them! Nothing to cheer abt...remember the world is your oyster! Hahaha...try it n thou shall not regret!

No job is ever permanent in this day and age. All jobs are short term. Most "permanent" jobs are actually 30 day or 60 day contracts at most. A 2 year contract offers a lot more certainty.

civil engineering projects got so short one meh... like that our orchard rd flooding would have been resolved many months ago liao..:D

but one civil engineer told me the same thing 20 years ago.. :D
Haha..he might be right too as the plot ratio of this island country is too damn small! Next phase might be the developing of the 2 bigger Pulaus into HDB new towns...hahaha!

Its money vs family.

Can you live missing out on your kid growing up?

Some can some can't.

I agree. I suspect that Singaporeans besides speaking English are basically not worldly. Their grasp of the what is outside Singapore is really poor. That's a serious offer and the posting to Kuwait and the middle east can be excellent experience. The expat community are living like Dukes there. The professional contacts to further one's career is immense.

I seldom hear of people wanting to return as the money is good and the perks excellent not to mention there is no personal income tax and no GST.

The fact that he applied for it and is considering it is already a great step forward.

An expat posting is great entry in one's CV. It tells alot about the person. It means the ability to step outside one's comfort zone, the mindset to make decisions on important matters and the exposure of working in an international setting.

This is more than money.

Kuwait is certainly no hardship posting like Siberia or Heilongqiang! Go for the enriching experience in every sense of the word. Pay and perks not bad and a vast improvement over what you are getting at present! Initial adjustments to a new environment for you and your family aside, there is no other drawback. Don't live life in regret!:D

Take. No income tax in kuwait. After 2 years, you are probably S$360k better off. Plus added bonus of continuation in gulf state for more jobs.

Alot went over to UAE and middle-east .
Never heard from them since .
Next of kin will probably declared unknown status
under mysteriously circumstances soon .

yes this is true also.
I had ex-colleague posted to Dubai to head a small office there.
He is German PR.
Few weeks later he went missing.
Somebody used his credit card.
Was caught and found that they had murdered him and dump his body.
You have to be extra careful and cannot be too trustworthy.

So he turns the offer down and sticks to his local 7k job. 2 months down the road, he's fired and replaced with foreign talent. He ends up in the same state ie jobless but also $200k poorer.

We can't let "what ifs" rule the decision making process. Nothing ever happens to those who don't take risks and venture forth.

No job is ever permanent in this day and age. All jobs are short term. Most "permanent" jobs are actually 30 day or 60 day contracts at most. A 2 year contract offers a lot more certainty.

You said my analysis is with "what ifs" but your analysis above is also with "what ifs" except the difference is you did not put it in. ;)

So he turns the offer down and sticks to his local 7k job. "what if" 2 months down the road, he's fired and replaced with foreign talent. He ends up in the same state ie jobless but also $200k poorer.

Anyway its just a hypothesis without the "what ifs" :p

I believe there must be a catch. Why would his wife refuse to follow him since his pay is more than doubled?

You said my analysis is with "what ifs" but your analysis above is also with "what ifs" except the difference is you did not put it in. ;)

All I am saying is that "what ifs" need to be viewed positively. "What ifs" should provide the impetus towards greater things.

"What ifs" should not be an excuse for inaction and resigning oneself to the status quo.

This guy is give a 2 year job of 15k a month. when the contract finished, what will he do?

I suggest he learn to be creative and use the money he earn to start up something useful to the society. Be an employee is kind of a losing situation nowadays.

tonychat,

what business are u in ? Wanna share.. :)

Just went for an interview for a Civil Project Manager position in a big consultancy company. The HR Manage call up to say the company would like to offer me me the job for $15K/month, plus free accommodation and tax equalization, and 2 return ticket back to Singapore every year. The condition is that I must base in Kuwait for 2 years until the project ends.

My wife don't want to follow, and my kid is still very young, only 3 years old.

I am now working as a civil engineer for a local construction company, earning $7 a month. Plus free handphone and $500 petrol allowance.

Should I take it up the job in Kuwait?

If I am you I will quickly take up the job u earn $7 a month now, you'll be
getting $15,000.00 a month a world of differences u know!!!

tonychat,

what business are u in ? Wanna share.. :)

Yeah, how about i share with you this

middle_finger.jpg

How come he wont kenna tax? Is there no tax on his income in kuwait?

I agree. I suspect that Singaporeans besides speaking English are basically not worldly. Their grasp of the what is outside Singapore is really poor. That's a serious offer and the posting to Kuwait and the middle east can be excellent experience. The expat community are living like Dukes there. The professional contacts to further one's career is immense.

I seldom hear of people wanting to return as the money is good and the perks excellent not to mention there is no personal income tax and no GST.

The fact that he applied for it and is considering it is already a great step forward.

An expat posting is great entry in one's CV. It tells alot about the person. It means the ability to step outside one's comfort zone, the mindset to make decisions on important matters and the exposure of working in an international setting.

This is more than money.

This guy might find some lucrative opportunities in Kuwait after he network his way around. Be positive!!!!