• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Offer a $15,000 salary to work in Kuwait, should I take it up?

Just went for an interview for a Civil Project Manager position in a big consultancy company. The HR Manage call up to say the company would like to offer me me the job for $15K/month, plus free accommodation and tax equalization, and 2 return ticket back to Singapore every year. The condition is that I must base in Kuwait for 2 years until the project ends.

My wife don't want to follow, and my kid is still very young, only 3 years old.

I am now working as a civil engineer for a local construction company, earning $7 a month. Plus free handphone and $500 petrol allowance.

Should I take it up the job in Kuwait?

Who believe your shit??:oIo:
Kuwait companies only hire Caucasian expatriates. I was there last year and after stating there are very few Asians, a local friend stated that they don't hire Chinese/Asian because they want to hire the best Westerners.

Only dumb sinkie peasants here will believe your nonsense :rolleyes:

For $15K, they will rather hire a White American to do the job. Why hire an useless Sinkie Chinese who cannot even speak proper English?? :confused: The lowest they will go is a Japanese engineer with 1st world communication skills :oIo:

Only a mere SGD$15K for an expat package? That's an insult! I know of some PRC mei meis who earn more than that every month! Spending 2 yrs in a land surrounded by Muslims is no joke! If it's SGD30K and above, then can consider.

Here in Spore he would be surround by thousands & thousands of strangers from god knows where.

In Kuwait he might be another 3rd class citizen but in Spore he'd be a 4th class citizen penalized by CPF he can't touch, reservist liabilities, gst :)

Spending 2 yrs in a land surrounded by Muslims is no joke!

He should feel right at home then. Singapore is in exactly the same situation. :rolleyes:

muslim_map.gif

Just went for an interview for a Civil Project Manager position in a big consultancy company. The HR Manage call up to say the company would like to offer me me the job for $15K/month, plus free accommodation and tax equalization, and 2 return ticket back to Singapore every year. The condition is that I must base in Kuwait for 2 years until the project ends.

My wife don't want to follow, and my kid is still very young, only 3 years old.

I am now working as a civil engineer for a local construction company, earning $7 a month. Plus free handphone and $500 petrol allowance.

Should I take it up the job in Kuwait?

That depends on the nature of the job you are going to do there. The term they call it as civil project while what is the nature of the project?

To do consultancy, to train the locals/staff there or others?

Because there are many known cases where after you go overseas to train their people, impart your knowledge, after 2 years you will be posted back and subsequently be retrenched. This is a proven harsh truth.

However, the money at 15K is good and what are your chances of getting another job locally if in the event you are retrenched? How is the cost of living in Kuwait? You can earn in SG 7K and save 4K, but if you go there and earn 15K and only save 6K, then it doesn't make sense to go Kuwait anymore.

Lastly, lets say you manage to save $200K for 2 years, that's going to be a good kickstart for many good things in life to come if you know how to manage this money

T

Because there are many known cases where after you go overseas to train their people, impart your knowledge, after 2 years you will be posted back and subsequently be retrenched. This is a proven harsh truth.

Your comprehension skills are very poor.:eek:

He isn't being sent by his current employer. He's working for a local company and he's been offered a job by a bigger international company.

Originally Posted by (o)(o)
Just went for an interview for a Civil Project Manager position in a big consultancy company.
I am now working as a civil engineer for a local construction company

Do your family a favour and take your wife out of the kampong and show her abit of whats outside the pond. You can rent your sg home.

You don't have to worry so much ... Just pack your barang barang and go .. If your wife love you and this family , she should support your decision .. Remember opportunity do not knock on your door twice . Be a real man ....and do what is good for your family , and I believe that , deep inside your head you already know the answer . Go online and find a good school for your kid is the top priority now . Good luck .

Your comprehension skills are very poor.:eek:

He isn't being sent by his current employer. He's working for a local company and he's been offered a job by a bigger international company.

Whether you are an old staff or a new staff,
It doesn't hide the fact that you may be ditched after 2 years of service.

They offer him $15K not because he is a novice or a new kid who just graduate. He is already earning $7K in a local co. I supposed he has the knowledge and the experience.

Well, I didn't dispute the fact that the money is good, but he needs to decide that if after 2 years of svc and he really gets ditched, will he still be able to get another job which pays him 7K? Projects work this way. Currently they are in need of staff for projects which they got from new contracts. Once projects end, contracts end, no new ones, considered excess staff. What do you do with excess staff?

You don't have to worry so much ... Just pack your barang barang and go .. If your wife love you and this family , she should support your decision .. Remember opportunity do not knock on your door twice . Be a real man ....and do what is good for your family , and I believe that , deep inside your head you already know the answer . Go online and find a good school for your kid is the top priority now . Good luck .

He is only going for 2 years and not for long term, so uprooting for his kid studying 2 years in kuwait and then come back again may not be a good idea. It will be a transition period not only for him(adults take it easier) but not that easy for young children.

Like recently I saw a book cover. Why women want love, and men wants sex. :D

Whether you are an old staff or a new staff,
It doesn't hide the fact that you may be ditched after 2 years of service.

They offer him $15K not because he is a novice or a new kid who just graduate. He is already earning $7K in a local co. I supposed he has the knowledge and the experience.

Well, I didn't dispute the fact that the money is good, but he needs to decide that if after 2 years of svc and he really gets ditched, will he still be able to get another job which pays him 7K?

" if " is the word that stop alot of ppl from reaching out their dreams ...we only live once ... No harm trying new things in life ... It won't cost a life ..

frankly, i sounded abit sour in my previous post on your wife's refusal to go with you. Look! i strongly feel it's advisable to go, try out,if it doesn't turn out what you expected, you still can come back. why fret? it's not as if you are not coming back.tio bor?:rolleyes:

" if " is the word that stop alot of ppl from reaching out their dreams ...we only live once ... No harm trying new things in life ... It won't cost a life ..

Well, the scenario he painted to us is not a very detailed one. So we can't really do much judging for him. Have to weigh the career prospects and salary before he makes a decision.

I supposed going to Kuwait to work for 2 years is not a dream, but I think the money is. :D

If I am 20, I have nothing to lose. I can pack my bags and see the world.
If I am 30, I am at my peak, I have that critical 5 years to make or break.
If I am 35, I have a family, what should I do?

When we get older, every decision we make becomes even more critical when we are younger. :o

He is only going for 2 years and not for long term, so uprooting for his kid studying 2 years in kuwait and then come back again may not be a good idea. It will be a transition period not only for him(adults take it easier) but not that easy for young children.

Like recently I saw a book cover. Why women want love, and men wants sex. :D

Not really bro , he's kids will turn out to be more mature and tough . He will see things in good and bad perspective view .

Well, the scenario he painted to us is not a very detailed one. So we can't really do much judging for him. Have to weigh the career prospects and salary before he makes a decision.

I supposed going to Kuwait to work for 2 years is not a dream, but I think the money is. :D

If I am 20, I have nothing to lose. I can pack my bags and see the world.
If I am 30, I am at my peak, I have that critical 5 years to make or break.
If I am 35, I have a family, what should I do?

When we get older, every decision we make becomes even more critical when we are younger. :o

Bro, being old is not an excuse for us not not to try new things in life .. What you said , I do agreed , cause we have little infor about his situation here . But I believe that since he is a married man and have kid , he need to make more money for his family ..., unless he got alot of $ in his bank ....

Well, I didn't dispute the fact that the money is good, but he needs to decide that if after 2 years of svc and he really gets ditched,

So he turns the offer down and sticks to his local 7k job. 2 months down the road, he's fired and replaced with foreign talent. He ends up in the same state ie jobless but also $200k poorer.

We can't let "what ifs" rule the decision making process. Nothing ever happens to those who don't take risks and venture forth.

No job is ever permanent in this day and age. All jobs are short term. Most "permanent" jobs are actually 30 day or 60 day contracts at most. A 2 year contract offers a lot more certainty.

So he turns the offer down and sticks to his local 7k job. 2 months down the road, he's fired and replaced with foreign talent. He ends up in the same state ie jobless but also $200k poorer.

We can't let "what ifs" rule the decision making process. Nothing ever happens to those who don't take risks and venture forth.

No job is ever permanent in this day and age. All jobs are short term. Most "permanent" jobs are actually 30 day or 60 day contracts at most. A 2 year contract offers a lot more certainty.

Well said .....clap clap

Alot went over to UAE and middle-east .
Never heard from them since .
Next of kin will probably declared unknown status
under mysteriously circumstances soon .
Most likely they provide a full body check up and
medical profiling under company recruitment.
There after match you to recipent .
Overcome and Sedate you and havest your organs .
For you have sold yourself to oblivion .

Now this is what I called a very good advice from Mr.Sammy! :)

Best quote of the day! "u dunno wat's in the box of chocolate"-Forrest Gump! Hahaha...