• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat m&d Girl Upset That Straits Time Stereotype m&d Parents As Poor And Can't Stand Their Own Loser Kids As Compared To Dedicated Chink Parents!

And the profiles of residents in Changi Resort too?

...this, no need to said lah....most time 50% or more is the m&d...i hear it from the person who was in for almost 5 years at the Cluster...
and there are also season residents too...like in out quite frequently type...most cases are due to weeds...

our dearest president halimah should raise a ruckus if its not true, heck POFMA SPH. So Nurin, how to setlle ?

Just do a research of the proportion of malay school going kids who receive public subsidies to other races, then the truth will be out. Atas Muslim generally don’t mix with common Malays folks. But Malays do generally have inferior complex. That why can always see Maciks deck out with gold jewelry when they go out. Men can spend hundreds on fake gold rolex. My ex malay colleague always said, no money never mind but must have style.
He too have 4 kids, every kid are on study subsidize of all kinds. He applied for every types, from free textbooks to uniforms, free tuition to ezlink top up. Can he afford with govt help, technically possible but tough. So since govt give freebies, don’t take is goondu.

Which is why Kan-ni-ma is happy being a scapegoat in Yistana, so that PAP can have every reason to throw stones at her race using her as shield. PAP propaganda is what it is. There are Malays who love it and there are malays who hated it. Who can judge what is racist, right? So the editor has to write what it is, even if the truth hurts. May be, the pro-PAP Malay family was VERY happy to be volunteered in the news. It happens everyday, from PAP newletter to public banner, depicting a Malay lifestyle for what it is. If a Cow won't want to drink, you can't bend its head, right? Come election, you will still see many Malays holding PAP banners and jaw gapping to give the government an unchallenged mandate again. They certainly are happy for what it is.

The problem as I see it is that we have all become overly politically sensitive when it comes to talking about race and religion. The gahmen comes down hard.
When a Malay (eg only hor) makes critical comment about Malays, it is not racist. But when an Indian says something not so complimentary about Malays, he is deemed racist. And vice-versa. Result - no one wants to talk about it. Except among close friends and family members.

THAT is where the stereotyping starts coming in, fed by years and years of suppression of open talk.

Just do a research of the proportion of malay school going kids who receive public subsidies to other races, then the truth will be out. Atas Muslim generally don’t mix with common Malays folks. But Malays do generally have inferior complex. That why can always see Maciks deck out with gold jewelry when they go out. Men can spend hundreds on fake gold rolex. My ex malay colleague always said, no money never mind but must have style.
He too have 4 kids, every kid are on study subsidize of all kinds. He applied for every types, from free textbooks to uniforms, free tuition to ezlink top up. Can he afford with govt help, technically possible but tough. So since govt give freebies, don’t take is goondu.
no lah ,who wears the most bling bling ?ah nehs lah ...its an inborn culture ...savings really...don't know our resident Burmese Sam knows or not ...there is an old Burmese saying ,earn like chinese and save like an indian

again this show off thingy ..its the chinks lah...they always show off that they had made it..most may not have made it but wearing lolex lah,mahceedi cars lah matters ..throwing money in night spots lah and etc

i had a drinking kaki Chinese who was working in the then jebssen and jessen ...they were the agent for National brand which now is Panasonic ...the guy received a lots lots of cash as ang paw ...what he did ?throws money buying drinks for each and every at
star hotels....because the rest of our kakis were towkays....if one throw a bottle of Martell than this guy will throw two and so on ....meanwhile ,his family lives in a 3rm flat

i had seen many ...in those days Alfa Romeo was the car to be seen with ...people i knew were driving them but no money to fill petrol and asking us to help...there was one chinese singaporean in sabah making a substantial amount ...come every CNY he gambles with the local tycoons and lose all...just for the sake of bragging to have been among the who and who

For Melayus, just need to do reasonably well in school, don't get sidetracked by drugs, join the PAP and angkat the right bola. You'll be elevated as a token Melayu MP, the PAP has a quota for them to showcase its 'meritocracy' generously bestowed upon the minorities. :wink:

This is what my daughter wrote to the writer and the senior editor pertaining to the attached article written by #158 press in the world....

Dear Ms Yeo and Ms Lee,

I am Nurin Nazurah. I am writing to you to raise a major concern regarding your recent article entitled “How home-based learning shows up inequality in Singapore - a look at three homes” posted on April 18 2020.

While the main premise of your article was supposedly about digital divide and the exacerbation of inequality brought about by the HBL and coronavirus situation, what profoundly stood out to me was the blatant racial stereotyping present at every juncture of your article. I feel like I need not outline to you what harms racial stereotyping brings to minority communities, but with this article being published in good faith, I gather that you have internalised such stereotypes and do not realize what messages you are sending out to your readers – who I assume, are majority Chinese.

Firstly, your article’s images depict 3 different households and how they are affected by the COVID-19 situation. This picture depicting the Malay family is captioned “Making do with devices on loan with patchy WiFi”. Along with it is a family in a run-down rental flat, cramped in one living space while the children are trying to do their schoolwork. In stark contrast, the Chinese family is depicted to be in a clean, well furnished house, with their photo captioned as “Taking the chance to impart life skills and values to their children”.

From the get-go, the stark contrast in your choice of photos and captions already perpetuate the narrative that the Malay race are of low income, live in rental flats, and struggle to provide a conducive learning environment for their children while the Chinese family, presumably of high income by the likes of their crisp and clean home, are wealthy, have resources and are able to provide a good educational environment for their children.

You are complicit in perpetuating and reinforcing long-held racial stereotypes in Singapore that Malays are usually poor and struggle to make ends meet while Chinese families are usually better off and more adept at providing good quality education and resources for their children. Malays, Indians, and Chinese have always been categorised into these labels and more often than not, it is always the Malays and Indians who are given such disparaging and degrading labels, making people think that they are inferior to the Chinese race.

Your article does exactly that, in a public newspaper no less, and I assert that while your article seems a harmless piece on inequality in Singapore, you have just reinforced disparaging and harmful stereotypes towards racial minorities who already suffer from discrimination due to these long held stereotypes that are not even true in the first place.

To make my point clearer, your choice of narrative also further betrays this stereotypical mindset. Ms Chu, who runs a consultancy company, is described to be a dedicated parent, going out of her way to draw ‘detailed schedules’ for her children to ensure they have a balance of play and study time. She is depicted to be in a productive partnership with her husband, a dentist, who also pulls his weight in helping his children with schoolwork, tasked with helping them in mathematics. In contrast, Mr Hashim is currently jobless, while his wife’s highest education level is N Levels, showing a stark difference in the educational qualifications and capabilities of the Chinese parents relative to the Malays.

Furthermore, Mr Hashim is being depicted as a lot less dedicated and devoted to spending time with his children.
Quoting you: “Mr Hashim, who has been cooking more, is not used to being around his four children 24/7. He recently asked his wife how she could tahan (Malay for tolerate) being with the children all day long.”

This further reinforces the stereotype that Chinese parents, on top of juggling their prestigious full time jobs, are still able to be devoted parents and be involved in their children’s lives, while Malay parents, working menial, low wage jobs like Mr Hashim, are less devoted to their children and have less parental attachment towards them, to the point of not being to “tolerate” being with the children all day long.

On top of perpetuating the stereotypes regarding the types of jobs that each race category holds, you are also depicting Chinese parents to be superior to Malay parents with your choice of words and portrayal of these people, making it clear the internalised stereotypes you have regarding the familial interactions and parenting methods of each race, which is stated so blatantly in your article.

You could have chosen any family to portray the inequalities present in Singapore - Chinese families in rental flats, wealthy Malay or Indian families etc – but your choice of depiction reflects the racial segregation and stereotypes that have long hurt and caused discrimination towards racial minorities in Singapore.

These harmful stereotypes have in fact, perpetuated inequalities in both the treatment and job prospects of these minorities. According to an IPS Survey in 2018, 52% of Malay respondents and 47% of Indian respondents stated that they faced racial discrimination when applying for a job, highlighting a dire reality that both of you, being Chinese and of the privileged race, may not be able to comprehend.

Thus for lack of better words, your article regarding inequality (which I must say, is lacking a larger argument about inequality itself besides pointing out the existence of inequality) is complicit in perpetuating further racial inequality.

While this might not have been your intention, I find it imperative to point this out to you because this article is damaging and hurtful to racial minorities like myself, who do not fall into these categorisations and stereotypes, and do not appreciate being reduced into such a belittling and inaccurate labelling of our race.

Thank you for your attention and I hope that you will respond to this.
Regards,
Nurin

I can't find the link. Very good English!

Chan Rasjid

tenor.gif

The hard truth is that a disproportionate number of the poor and unhealthy in Singapore are the minority races. While there are various reasons for being stuck in a poverty cycle, there are only a few reasons for being unhealthy, such as overeating, a diet rich in sweet foods and sugar and insufficient physical activity like walking.

In my grassroots work, a disproportionate number of the people with chronic illnesses like obesity, kidney problems, stroke, heart disease, are m&ds and kelings. This has a direct impact on their family finances.
Their diet consist of too much rice. Two helpings. And not enough protein.plus syrup.
They eat rice for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Satay maybe once every 6 months.

Their diet consist of too much rice. Two helpings. And not enough protein.plus syrup.
They eat rice for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Satay maybe once every 6 months.
chinks too thrive on rice ...in fact scientists and anthrpoligsts from the Gnome Institute based in Singapore cite the abundance of rice avilablity as the major reason for chinese poulation explosion ..at least malays here eat far less rice for breakfast but ethnic indonesians eat rice for breskfast as we do for lunch,particularly from riau province

Chinese diet filled the stomach with soup. That helps a lot.
Malays and Indians it's just filled with rice till they are full..

Chinese diet filled the stomach with soup. That helps a lot.
Malays and Indians it's just filled with rice till they are full..
Wat u mean? Malay also have soup etc. However m&ds have a strong attraction to fast food. They make up a huge chuck of customers for KFC, pizza hut etc. They seem to favour western food more than malay food

the gist is the m&ds of our region has very very poor culinary skills compared to chinks or kelings ...their authentic nasi lemak is no big deal...evemn their satay is of medtarranean origin ..but indo m&ds have far greater varieties ,..each region with each specialities ...love them ...eg ,choto madura ,sort of kambing soup but of beef offfals...the taste is heaven our kambing soup is no fight ...likewise each region has its version of soto or soup...

quite sure all here know of nasi padang ..its keling copied ...from the minagkabau people ...but the best nasi padang in padang itself is. operated by the lical chinks...now the local chinks in padang are called totaks ..they eat by hand and speak zero chink lingo of any dialect...

the most enterprising m&d who can take the chinks are Minang m&ds..not my words but George Yeo said so one .

the indo m&ds have greater variety of foods and taste good too and different from one region to another ...even the kuey teow for instance varies in size and thickness from the same coast in sumatra ..one type in palembang and another type in jambi

Yes. So straits times should report good things when it comes to minority races.

It is about being smart lah.

Problem is sinkies are soooooo racist that they are totally blind and deaf to it. And the national newspaper also.

Many of the dr bashing that salma Khalik does is bordering on hate crimes.
just a rider though i quite agree with you

almost all of us can be quite a rscist but what is critical is how racism is instititionalised or not

sinkieland land had institutionalised racism and our medias sort of publicise it covertly

I know of many lovely m&d girls who became obese during and after their pregnancies, and they stayed obese. In my grassroots work, a lot of my m&d residents are obsese because of their diet and smoking. They seem to okay with all these as long they do not eat pork.
our dearest president halimah should raise a ruckus if its not true, heck POFMA SPH. So Nurin, how to setlle ?
Halima and SPH report to the same boss.

The problem as I see it is that we have all become overly politically sensitive when it comes to talking about race and religion. The gahmen comes down hard.
When a Malay (eg only hor) makes critical comment about Malays, it is not racist. But when an Indian says something not so complimentary about Malays, he is deemed racist. And vice-versa. Result - no one wants to talk about it. Except among close friends and family members.

THAT is where the stereotyping starts coming in, fed by years and years of suppression of open talk.
Unlike LHL, LKY was very opened about it in his memoires. We need leaders to be opened, talked about it, get people to debate and Malay to admit the worries, fears and why people felt the way they do about certain races, backed by statistics, experiences and unseen terror. Unforuntately LHL used race for political reason which deepened the divide. That is the real source of discrimination, racism.