• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat m&d Girl Upset That Straits Time Stereotype m&d Parents As Poor And Can't Stand Their Own Loser Kids As Compared To Dedicated Chink Parents!

yah... I just mentioned in an earlier post, when I was younger, older Malays used to tell me to do things the opposite of what the current generation of Malays do. I wonder what changed...

btw, I've been wondering about the origin of satay for a while. nice-gook says it's mediterranean, but I see Chinese, Indian Persian and Japanese also similar... you have any info?

in the matter of satay whether malay origin or not ...my assertion is based on observation and guesstimate...no conclusive proof ...i shall explain

the malays we know are of riau origin ...i note the similarity of their habitat in part of sumatra ,southern malaya and sinkie of course ..if you take away ikan and kelapa everything else is foreign influenced in their eating habit i assess ....and being halal matters ,the very reason why i claim satay is meditarraanean by which i am talking about turkish and arabic way of cooking

now ,about the grilling and such ...the meditarranean cooks does it most to their food and hence most of such cooking origin can be traced to it ...even the indian briyani ,the so called tandoori method of cooking is not exactly indian but meditarranean ...there are records that the mogul empire who than ruled india brought such style of cooking from persia and arabia to india ...and 1 thing that goes without fail is that what ever meat that was grilled was and is mutton almost exclusively ....but malays whether here or in indonesia do not eat mutton if they can help it ...sapi (water buffalo ) or beef is their poison ...hence my conclusion satay which primarily was mutton in the past and being grilled over fire is not a malay cultural thingy

which brings us to the question of ikan bakar which is basically grilling fish over fire ...in my travel i noticed that Ujong Pandang, in Sulawesi -the birth place and the capital of Bugis has the greatest variety of ikan bakar anywhere in the Malay archipelago ....for the simple reason Bugis were the greatest sea farers of all time who landed in Aussie before anyone else and are speculated to have sailed up to the Americas....which explains why fish and grilling over a fire is the only options for sailors to eat

Malays love lamb if roasted. Mutton in buriyani or curry due to its rather akward aroma.need lots of spices to cover it.
Before Islam, it was babi, ayam and ikan panggang. Once in a while maybe pelanduk or rusa.
The satay marinate is similar to ayam Percik which is also babequed, but whole or bigger pieces and not in small pieces on skewers.
Malays, maybe from sulawesi are also in madagascar.
The ones in Sri Lanka and South Africa were political exiles taken there by the Dutch.

Malays love lamb if roasted. Mutton in buriyani or curry due to its rather akward aroma.need lots of spices to cover it.
Before Islam, it was babi, ayam and ikan panggang. Once in a while maybe pelanduk or rusa.
The satay marinate is similar to ayam Percik which is also babequed, but whole or bigger pieces and not in small pieces on skewers.
The ones in Sri Lanka and South Africa were political exiles taken there by the Dutch.
i would still contend that mutton to the malay world is introduced and not local...no question about the fish since the entire malay archipelago is surrounded by sea ...but once inland you hardly see much of sheep or goat ...but you will see water buffalo anywhere anytime...thus their diet ...in fact ,certain tribes in the malay archipelago still uses water buffalo as a measurement of ones wealth...the Toroja of Tanah Toroja in Sulawesi slaughter a few hundred water buffalos during celebrations as a show of wealth...till the indonesian govt banned it

even cows are hardly milked..
you will never get fresh milk in indonesia at all...the culture of milking never exist ..only canned milk ....not to mention though that indonesia grows coffee....their coffee making skills are yuky ..

i recall , in far flung places in indonesia we are expected to throw a feast every now and then ...the preference was ,of course sapi ,but we opt for a slaughter of a couple of goats ...recall having bought goats weighing about 9 to 12 kilos for S$12 or more ...no local market for goats the very reason being so cheap..moreover ,during their hari raya almost certain only cattle and water buffalo are slaughtered ...i am talking about wider context not only sinkiland

For Melayus, just need to do reasonably well in school, don't get sidetracked by drugs, join the PAP and angkat the right bola. You'll be elevated as a token Melayu MP, the PAP has a quota for them to showcase its 'meritocracy' generously bestowed upon the minorities. :wink:
hanor, and this has perpetuated and is pandering to a crutch mentality, for whatever pans out from their crotch :redface:

How to teach the curriculum through cooking
By Amanda Grant, in association with BBC Bitesize
Getting kids to help you cook is a great way to teach them Key Stage 2 English, maths, science, nutrition and French skills, straight from the curriculum. They won’t even realise they’re learning at the same time as having fun!
Of course, they'll also learn how to cook and eat a healthy, balanced diet. Show them what different fruits and vegetables look like and discuss how they’re grown and why they’re good for us.
We've included links to the recipes on BBC Food and to BBC Bitesize, a great resource for finding out more about the skills they've been learning.
p06kf1kh.jpg

When kids divide biscuit dough into batches they'll learn about simple fractions.
Learn fractions while making biscuits
Kids don’t all love learning about fractions and division, but most of them enjoy eating biscuits. Get them excited about these Key Stage 2 maths topics by weaving them into this chocolate chip biscuit recipe.
Once they’ve weighed and measured the ingredients, boosting their confidence with numbers, they can divide the biscuit dough into pieces. This recipe makes 24 biscuits, so the dough can easily be divided to make fewer or more cookies.
Once the biscuits are baked, you can chat about adding and subtracting fractions. So if I have 4 biscuits (4/24) and you have 4 biscuits, how many of the biscuits do we both have (8/24) and is there a way of making that fraction smaller (1/3)? Then if you gave 2 of your biscuits to a friend, how would you work out the new fraction (6/24 > 1/4)?
This will help them remember basic principles of Key Stage 2 – plus they get to enjoy 1/24 of the biscuits afterwards!
Learn ratios while making pancakes
A basic pancake recipe uses a golden ratio of ingredients – for every 100g of flour, you need 2 eggs and 300ml of milk. This makes this recipe ideal for helping to teach kids how ratios work. Explain that if the flour and milk are a 1:3 ratio, what is the ratio of flour to eggs (1:2)?
You could also use this opportunity to introduce kids to percentages. For instance, what percentage of the total mixture is flour?
Further learning: When weighing and measuring ingredients, children can learn that 100ml of milk doesn’t weigh the same as 100g of flour. Together, you can weigh different liquids measured out at 100ml, to see how volume doesn't equal weight.
Learn about solids and liquids while making ice cream
The principles of freezing and melting, and turning solids into liquids and then gases, are included in the Key Stage 2 curriculum and can be taught by making a simple ice cream.
Before freezing the mixture, heat a little of it (without the berries) until it evaporates. Explain that heating changes the liquid into a gas via a process called evaporation.
When you freeze the mixture explain that liquids can solidify when you apply cold temperatures to them. Tell them that water freezes at 0 degrees celcius, and that different liquids have different freezing points.
When the ice cream is ready to eat, remove a spoonful from the tub and allow it to melt. Explain why ice cream melts when it comes out of the freezer, relating it back to its state before it was frozen.
Further learning: you can also show children that when a liquid evaporates into gas, the mixture can be turned back into a liquid through cooling. This is called condensation. To do this, you can place a ruler over a pan of liquid that is turning into a gas (boiling) at an angle and place a cup at the bottom of the ruler; the liquid will condense into the cup.
Learn about healthy eating while making tacos
A veg-packed taco is a well-balanced dish and the perfect opportunity to talk about the 4 key food groups we need for a healthy diet: carbohydrates, protein, healthy fats and fibre. As kids help you assemble these tacos, you can link your cooking back to the Key Stage curriculum on eating a balanced diet.
Tell them which different foods they could swap in from each of the food groups. For instance, instead of beans, they could swap in chicken, beef, fish or tofu for protein; instead of taco shells, they could have rice, pasta or lentils for carbohydrate. Explain that the fats in some foods, like the avocado in these tacos, are healthier than others. You can also talk about the importance of eating lots of different coloured veg, including the sweetcorn and peas in this recipe. While you’re waiting for the tacos to cook, you can watch the films on BBC Bitesize about eating a balanced diet!
Learn English skills while writing a recipe
Writing a recipe, ordering ingredients and steps, is a great way to learn Key Stage 2 instruction writing skills. Explain to your kids that a recipe is, at heart, a set of precise, chronological instructions.
Offer children different types of bread, such as wholemeal wraps and a seeded loaf. Give them ingredients to make healthy fillings, for instance tinned tuna or sweetcorn, boiled egg, low-fat mayonnaise, hummus, grated carrot, sliced spring onions or tomatoes, cooked chicken or ham, and watercress. Ask them to choose two or three that they think will work together and build their own sandwich, weighing and measuring the amounts they’re using and writing them down.
Encourage the children to describe the ingredients using as many adjectives as they can: 'fresh' tomatoes, 'creamy' mayo, 'zingy' spring onions and 'crunchy' sweetcorn. Ask them to write down how to assemble their sandwich in a clear order, using bossy nouns such as 'pour' and 'stir'. Explain that the more detail they write down, the easier the instructions will be to follow next time. It's great for them to follow their own recipe to check they haven't missed anything out.
Click here to find a sandwich recipe kids can use as a model.
Learn French while making a salad
Most adults are familiar with using some French words to describe foods – baguettes, brioche, gateaux, courgette – and cooking is a fun way to learn vocabulary and grammar for Key Stage 2 French. Click here for a green salad recipe.
As you make this salad, you can talk about the French names for each ingredient. Explain how each French noun is either masculine, feminine or plural. 'Salade' is a feminine noun, so it would be called 'la' salade. Other ingredients include the plural, for example 'les herbes' (herbs), or the masculine, for example 'le vinaigre' (vinegar), or a noun beginning with a vowel, for instance 'l’ail' (garlic). Explain that because the colour green has an e on the end of the French word (‘verte’), which means you pronounce the ‘t’.
As you make the salad, you can ask what other French words the kids can think of – especially foods that would go well in this salad, such as lardons, saucisses or croutons. After cooking, expand your discussion into other English words that come from the French, such as café and cinema.

i would still contend that mutton to the malay world is introduced and not local...no question about the fish since the entire malay archipelago is surrounded by sea ...but once inland you hardly see much of sheep or goat ...but you will see water buffalo anywhere anytime...thus their diet ...in fact ,certain tribes in the malay archipelago still uses water buffalo as a measurement of ones wealth...the Toroja of Tanah Toroja in Sulawesi slaughter a few hundred water buffalos during celebrations as a show of wealth...till the indonesian govt banned it

even cows are hardly milked..
you will never get fresh milk in indonesia at all...the culture of milking never exist ..only canned milk ....not to mention though that indonesia grows coffee....their coffee making skills are yuky ..

i recall , in far flung places in indonesia we are expected to throw a feast every now and then ...the preference was ,of course sapi ,but we opt for a slaughter of a couple of goats ...recall having bought goats weighing about 9 to 12 kilos for S$12 or more ...no local market for goats the very reason being so cheap..moreover ,during their hari raya almost certain only cattle and water buffalo are slaughtered ...i am talking about wider context not only sinkiland
Yes. Lamb and goats are not local species. Its rusa and pelanduk. But these are protected animals.its weird the jiu hu or Indonesian gahmen never bothered to try breed these for protein. Buffalo for some reason not fashionable anymore. Replaced by Sapi, mostly imported. Drinking animal milk i would think is disgusting to malays in the old days.
Coffee you have to pass it to Chinese to roast. With their blend of margarine etc. Given the enormous amount of highland in Indonesia, I am surprise they have not seek Dutch expertise to grow vegetable and flowers for export.like what they are currently doing in Kenya,

hmmm... ayam percik looks like it has hindustani influence leh... why don't you take credit?

I'm also with @Nice-Gook on this. Mutton seems introduced. whether through india or through muslim traders I don't know. But his sapi contention actually rings true.

in the matter of satay whether malay origin or not ...my assertion is based on observation and guesstimate...no conclusive proof ...i shall explain

the malays we know are of riau origin ...i note the similarity of their habitat in part of sumatra ,southern malaya and sinkie of course ..if you take away ikan and kelapa everything else is foreign influenced in their eating habit i assess ....and being halal matters ,the very reason why i claim satay is meditarraanean by which i am talking about turkish and arabic way of cooking

now ,about the grilling and such ...the meditarranean cooks does it most to their food and hence most of such cooking origin can be traced to it ...even the indian briyani ,the so called tandoori method of cooking is not exactly indian but meditarranean ...there are records that the mogul empire who than ruled india brought such style of cooking from persia and arabia to india ...and 1 thing that goes without fail is that what ever meat that was grilled was and is mutton almost exclusively ....but malays whether here or in indonesia do not eat mutton if they can help it ...sapi (water buffalo ) or beef is their poison ...hence my conclusion satay which primarily was mutton in the past and being grilled over fire is not a malay cultural thingy

which brings us to the question of ikan bakar which is basically grilling fish over fire ...in my travel i noticed that Ujong Pandang, in Sulawesi -the birth place and the capital of Bugis has the greatest variety of ikan bakar anywhere in the Malay archipelago ....for the simple reason Bugis were the greatest sea farers of all time who landed in Aussie before anyone else and are speculated to have sailed up to the Americas....which explains why fish and grilling over a fire is the only options for sailors to eat
ah. ok.

We both agree Persian then, I don't really see much Arab good cooking. Except I consider Persians Central Asian, not mediterranean. I give you another piece of evidence to support your hypothesis. Malays everywhere call beef/sapi daging (meat). They always call lamb/mutton kambing. It points to the fact that meat = from cow/water buffalo. And kambing is unusual.

Barbecued meat is also available in China. Its just that it's simple to cook.the marinated are different.i think each area just evolved on its own. In Iran and middle East, they use steel spikes. In Asia, it's bamboo.
that's what most food historians say. I just wonder which way the idea flowed or whether they all came up with it independently.

btw, you should be proud of how your people integrated mughal cooking with imported spices and your own indigenous and might I say ingenious cooking methods.

Yes. Lamb and goats are not local species. Its rusa and pelanduk. But these are protected animals.its weird the jiu hu or Indonesian gahmen never bothered to try breed these for protein.
rusa and pelanduk not productive enough. how many countries tried rearing elk and deer for main source of protein? chicken far more efficient.

With their blend of margarine etc. Given the enormous amount of highland in Indonesia, I am surprise they have not seek Dutch expertise to grow vegetable and flowers for export.like what they are currently doing in Kenya,
The Dutch instigated everything there. Coffee growing, spice growing. No money in vegetable growing for the Dutch. They couldn't bring it to Europe for a profit. Also they didn't desire tropical flowers at that particular time. They were too busy dealing with the glut of tulips.

ah. ok.

We both agree Persian then, I don't really see much Arab good cooking. Except I consider Persians Central Asian, not mediterranean. I give you another piece of evidence to support your hypothesis. Malays everywhere call beef/sapi daging (meat). They always call lamb/mutton kambing. It points to the fact that meat = from cow/water buffalo. And kambing is unusual.

see the video please ,just the last part if you may ...that's briyani ..the original and the authentic version ....not the mamak shit called briyani we all know of ....the real version is totally and truly Arabic cooking ...this is how it was done in the past but impossible these days as such cooking has to be done overnights and commercially impractical ...but understand royalties are served in this manner ....think ,you should reconsider arabic cooking as one of the best in the world ...i had tasted meat from such an oven ...its simply heaven and could not be compared to other method of cooking ...it retains the original juice of the lamb thats impossible in other manner and method of cooking

moreover ,suggest you google the glory of Lebanese food and its cooking ...was told its world class and its Arabic too

see the video please ,just the last part if you may ...that's briyani ..the original and the authentic version ....not the mamak shit called briyani we all know of ....the real version is totally and truly Arabic cooking ...this is how it was done in the past but impossible these days as such cooking has to be done overnights and commercially impractical ...but understand royalties are served in this manner ....think ,you should reconsider arabic cooking as one of the best in the world ...i had tasted meat from such an oven ...its simply heaven and could not be compared to other method of cooking ...it retains the original juice of the lamb thats impossible in other manner and method of cooking

thanks for the video. it's just that I'm not sure which way that oven and the cooking went. Did it go from Persia to Arabia or from Arabia to Persia. I've most often heard that it originated in NE Persia. The Arabs call their traditional oven a tabun, the Persians a tanoor. I've also eaten rice dishes done in that way and even my (neutral) Middle Eastern friends tell me that Persian ones are the best. The Arab ones are just so-so.

In my experience with Middle Eastern foods, Persian/Iranian food is the finest. A good example is one of my favourite breads is sangak. This is what a naan hopes to be. When I compare it with Palestinian laffa. It's like the baker fail then can only make laffa. If you get a chance, try it. I can eat it plain all day long.

Actually speaking of indian briyani, I actually like it more because it's more spicy, but then again, it's just not as fine/good as the Persian one.

One of my friends brought up this point to me some time ago. You need some kind of stable empire with excess money to get really good at cooking. The Turkish were Ottomans, the Persians had many. The Arabs in comparison were always poor and marginal historically. Only after oil, did they start to have money. Chinese, Japanese. Roman all had stable landholdings. The only aberration is the UK! :laugh:

moreover ,suggest you google the glory of Lebanese food and its cooking ...was told its world class and its Arabic too
I've eaten Lebanese quite often in the past. I find it good but not super. Very basic. Maybe it's glorious how they eat with their families, but the food itself is not very spectacular. The highpoint for me is how Lebanese make their hummus. So simple but so tasty just basic crushed peas. One of the most famous but I find cmi is tabbouleh. Falafels meh... Even Ethiopian food kicks Arabic food. Actually now that I think about it, Persian food is the finest, Turkish is the tastiest, but Arab... meh again... good but not great.