• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat m&d Girl Upset That Straits Time Stereotype m&d Parents As Poor And Can't Stand Their Own Loser Kids As Compared To Dedicated Chink Parents!

Ask the m&d go indon and chinese indon come to sg. Ah neh also go back to india then sg has 90% chinese, 9% ang mo then the rest is ah neh and m&d. It would make the world more peaceful!

ST should now do a study on profile of a typical Courts customer....Hire Purchase vs Cash vs Credit Cards customers.

My m&d frien also even admit that they are inferior race leh! He say chinese is smart can do business very well! He say his m&d friends always go jail in and out!

If these m&ds are poor, jolly well work hard. In Singapore, we are blessed by PAP with a visionary like Tharman moving escalator. The escalator will not stop moving. Eventually the poorer kids will become better as a result of this policy to give the best resources to all, races religion poor or rich.

Education is the key to bridge social divide and between poor and rich.

Yes. So straits times should report good things when it comes to minority races.

It is about being smart lah.

Problem is sinkies are soooooo racist that they are totally blind and deaf to it. And the national newspaper also.

Many of the dr bashing that salma Khalik does is bordering on hate crimes.
the fact lies in asians being more racist than ang mor but are hypocrties

the chinks including japun and koreans are belly belly racist and so are the ah nehs whose religion itself is fuken apex of bigotry and racism....among our lot the m&ds are far less racist than most of us

The hard truth is that a disproportionate number of the poor and unhealthy in Singapore are the minority races. While there are various reasons for being stuck in a poverty cycle, there are only a few reasons for being unhealthy, such as overeating, a diet rich in sweet foods and sugar and insufficient physical activity like walking.

In my grassroots work, a disproportionate number of the people with chronic illnesses like obesity, kidney problems, stroke, heart disease, are m&ds and kelings. This has a direct impact on their family finances.

When somebody has nothing going for them in life, the last chance to feel good is from sugar. Lots of it.

Impose a health tax. Higher rates at the hospitals for fat fucks.

there is a correlation between poverty and health issues ..particularly being obese...contrary to the common belief that the rich with luxurious life style would be unfit and obesse the study in US found the poverty stricken niggers and Latinos are the fat ones..
if my memory serves right it was due to cheap food avilable to them ....what a vicious cycle !

This is what my daughter wrote to the writer and the senior editor pertaining to the attached article written by #158 press in the world....

Dear Ms Yeo and Ms Lee,

I am Nurin Nazurah. I am writing to you to raise a major concern regarding your recent article entitled “How home-based learning shows up inequality in Singapore - a look at three homes” posted on April 18 2020.

While the main premise of your article was supposedly about digital divide and the exacerbation of inequality brought about by the HBL and coronavirus situation, what profoundly stood out to me was the blatant racial stereotyping present at every juncture of your article. I feel like I need not outline to you what harms racial stereotyping brings to minority communities, but with this article being published in good faith, I gather that you have internalised such stereotypes and do not realize what messages you are sending out to your readers – who I assume, are majority Chinese.

Firstly, your article’s images depict 3 different households and how they are affected by the COVID-19 situation. This picture depicting the Malay family is captioned “Making do with devices on loan with patchy WiFi”. Along with it is a family in a run-down rental flat, cramped in one living space while the children are trying to do their schoolwork. In stark contrast, the Chinese family is depicted to be in a clean, well furnished house, with their photo captioned as “Taking the chance to impart life skills and values to their children”.

From the get-go, the stark contrast in your choice of photos and captions already perpetuate the narrative that the Malay race are of low income, live in rental flats, and struggle to provide a conducive learning environment for their children while the Chinese family, presumably of high income by the likes of their crisp and clean home, are wealthy, have resources and are able to provide a good educational environment for their children.

You are complicit in perpetuating and reinforcing long-held racial stereotypes in Singapore that Malays are usually poor and struggle to make ends meet while Chinese families are usually better off and more adept at providing good quality education and resources for their children. Malays, Indians, and Chinese have always been categorised into these labels and more often than not, it is always the Malays and Indians who are given such disparaging and degrading labels, making people think that they are inferior to the Chinese race.

Your article does exactly that, in a public newspaper no less, and I assert that while your article seems a harmless piece on inequality in Singapore, you have just reinforced disparaging and harmful stereotypes towards racial minorities who already suffer from discrimination due to these long held stereotypes that are not even true in the first place.

To make my point clearer, your choice of narrative also further betrays this stereotypical mindset. Ms Chu, who runs a consultancy company, is described to be a dedicated parent, going out of her way to draw ‘detailed schedules’ for her children to ensure they have a balance of play and study time. She is depicted to be in a productive partnership with her husband, a dentist, who also pulls his weight in helping his children with schoolwork, tasked with helping them in mathematics. In contrast, Mr Hashim is currently jobless, while his wife’s highest education level is N Levels, showing a stark difference in the educational qualifications and capabilities of the Chinese parents relative to the Malays.

Furthermore, Mr Hashim is being depicted as a lot less dedicated and devoted to spending time with his children.
Quoting you: “Mr Hashim, who has been cooking more, is not used to being around his four children 24/7. He recently asked his wife how she could tahan (Malay for tolerate) being with the children all day long.”

This further reinforces the stereotype that Chinese parents, on top of juggling their prestigious full time jobs, are still able to be devoted parents and be involved in their children’s lives, while Malay parents, working menial, low wage jobs like Mr Hashim, are less devoted to their children and have less parental attachment towards them, to the point of not being to “tolerate” being with the children all day long.

On top of perpetuating the stereotypes regarding the types of jobs that each race category holds, you are also depicting Chinese parents to be superior to Malay parents with your choice of words and portrayal of these people, making it clear the internalised stereotypes you have regarding the familial interactions and parenting methods of each race, which is stated so blatantly in your article.

You could have chosen any family to portray the inequalities present in Singapore - Chinese families in rental flats, wealthy Malay or Indian families etc – but your choice of depiction reflects the racial segregation and stereotypes that have long hurt and caused discrimination towards racial minorities in Singapore.

These harmful stereotypes have in fact, perpetuated inequalities in both the treatment and job prospects of these minorities. According to an IPS Survey in 2018, 52% of Malay respondents and 47% of Indian respondents stated that they faced racial discrimination when applying for a job, highlighting a dire reality that both of you, being Chinese and of the privileged race, may not be able to comprehend.

Thus for lack of better words, your article regarding inequality (which I must say, is lacking a larger argument about inequality itself besides pointing out the existence of inequality) is complicit in perpetuating further racial inequality.

While this might not have been your intention, I find it imperative to point this out to you because this article is damaging and hurtful to racial minorities like myself, who do not fall into these categorisations and stereotypes, and do not appreciate being reduced into such a belittling and inaccurate labelling of our race.

Thank you for your attention and I hope that you will respond to this.
Regards,
Nurin

GASP!

JOHNTAN!

YOU TURNCOAT AND TRAITOR TO THE GLORIOUS RULE AND CONTROL OF PAP !

THEY WILL CUM WITH MIDNIGHT KNOCK ON YOUR DOOR AND TAKE YOU AWAY FOR WATERBOARDING AND REEDUCATION AND KICK YOU OUT FROM THE PA

Emoji Laugh GIF - Emoji Laugh Laughing - Discover & Share GIFs

If these m&ds are poor, jolly well work hard. In Singapore, we are blessed by PAP with a visionary like Tharman moving escalator. The escalator will not stop moving. Eventually the poorer kids will become better as a result of this policy to give the best resources to all, races religion poor or rich.

Education is the key to bridge social divide and between poor and rich.
hanor, that's where the spf and scdf (and previously the saf) comes in to provide a helping hand and leg up for them, as many of the "smarter" ones will become regulars for a more comfortable and respectable life instead of delivering food etc - if not for these govt orgns. it will take time but they're getting there to bridge the divide - no more their older generation's mindset where having more kids is a precursor to one having many to provide for them in old age, save for some that still practice irresponsible parenthood :redface:

there is a correlation between poverty and health issues ..particularly being obese...contrary to the common belief that the rich with luxurious life style would be unfit and obesse the study in US found the poverty stricken niggers and Latinos are the fat ones..
if my memory serves right it was due to cheap food avilable to them ....what a vicious cycle !

There is no link between poverty and health issues.

There is a link between filling your face with excessive amounts of food and health issues.

And if you can afford to each way more than you need you obviously don't live in poverty.

This is the face of poverty.

1587795671388.png

This is the face of too many burgers and french fries.

1587795907344.png

I want to say something fair, it is not about which race is richer or poorer. some friends shared in my chatgroup that HBL caught most parents unprepared.

A month ago, which household got 1 webcam, 1 headset, 1 table, 1PC/Laptop per kid? Overnight, Laptops were sold out, monitors were sold out, webcams, headsets and even IKEA tables were sold out.

When MOE said one household needs one computer, it's not true for those with more kids. Schools require most of these kids to login concurrently for zoom or Google meet (for higher levels, or richer schools). Most homeworks were also web-based. It is very hard to share.

To be honest, the article did not intend to stereotype a particular race. It is just that the journalist didn't cover beyond the skin-deeps.

Malay girl will be doing the parents a big favour if she gets decent results in school. And to get thst, you need to sit on the front row. I suggest minority students are given seats in front for teachers to manage them easily.

To be honest, the article did not intend to stereotype a particular race. It is just that the journalist didn't cover beyond the skin-deeps.

I thought the minorities are hyper sensitive towards stereotyping.

I know that in their own circles, the minorities make racist and insulting remarks about other people who are of a different race, caste or religion often. I don't see them being pro-active to police their own community as long as the racist remarks are directed towards other groups or faiths.

there is a correlation between poverty and health issues ..particularly being obese...contrary to the common belief
Malay are obese because they follow their religion teaching that food is a blessing, don't save on eating since everyone will die someday. I think one of the Malay MP (not sure it was Maliki Osman) criticised the malay community for adopting that mindset, making the Malay one of the most unhealthy and obese citizens here. I am racist? It was from their own people who said the same thing.

Eucation is the key to bridge social divide and between poor and rich.
Not in Singapore context. Education no longer a guarantee for success, if we have too many bosses eyeing for cheap foreign labour (with fake degree) to replace local talented & well educated Singaporeans.

Malay are obese because they follow their religion teaching that food is a blessing, don't save on eating since everyone will die someday. I think one of the Malay MP (not sure it was Maliki Osman) criticised the malay community for adopting that mindset, making the Malay one of the most unhealthy and obese citizens here. I am racist, it was from their own people who said the same thing.

I know of many lovely m&d girls who became obese during and after their pregnancies, and they stayed obese. In my grassroots work, a lot of my m&d residents are obsese because of their diet and smoking. They seem to okay with all these as long they do not eat pork.

Stereotypes exist for a reason. It isn't an exact science, but it's like predicting the weather using your observations. For example, if you see dark clouds, chances are it's going to rain... although there's a small chance you might be wrong.

We do not need political correctness or pandering to the bleeding heart SJWs. Banning plastic straws over a non-issue and raising a shitstorm over the 'blackface' ad were already new lows for the country. No one has a sacrosanct right to not be offended.