• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Teachers to pay for parking, and all that whining that followed.

Even school parking lots for staff also want to collect money? Is the government's coffer in such a bad shape?

It is. All the signs are there. Raise water price. (that is already a form of tax no one can escape from). Medishield Life (a means to write off billions from Medisave accounts every year to reduce the interest payment burden NOTE: all on paper). Raise HDB parking charges. Teachers and SAF to pay for parking. If not for the media reminding the govt GST would have been raised to 9% a 28% increase in GST (2/7 x 100) 2 being the increase itself from 7 to 9. Then divide by original 7 then times 100 to get % change.

Singapore coffers are in bad shape. Evidence is there.

Billions lost with India Telecom debacle. NOL. SPH. Standard Chartered. Uber.

Sinkies are oblivious. Sheep. Ignorant. Can't care less.

Good luck.

There is no LKY to bash them ...the teachers should go on strike or at least, work to rule.

Guys, I hate to buck the trend, but why the hostility towards teachers? We all have had numerous teachers/lecturers educate us through the years. I am thankful for them, I had some very inspiring ones and some duds. But most are decent folks, and I remember my primary and secondary school teachers fondly. We were a bunch of little bastards, but they took it in their stride. Most kids these days are fucking assholes, and teachers have their hands tied behind their backs due to the changed times. You whack an obnoxious and spoiled brat, the whole world will have your ass for it. Dealing with children all day is not an easy job. Yes, there are pedos and perverts in the teaching profession. But they make up a very tiny minority.

Many grads are available to be teachers, but how long can they stay? I know so many who have tried and quit after a few years. Those who stay on treat it as a vocation. That in itself, calls for my respect. And those who have been teachers for decades, I think they are amazing. Hence I oppose this move by this greedy government. They will find whatever ways they can to milk all sinkies. I urge you to get behind teachers in this instance and fuck this government.

Your argument is not sound. Doctors and nurses in public hospitals also very sacrifice yes? Shift work to save babies and treat emergencies. Should they have free parking too? Because you don’t know them by name means they don’t deserve your respect or some small recognition from the state? o_O

I has nothing to do with respect for teachers or not.

It is just that Singapore govt is so desperate for money they are trying to get it from anywhere they can. You guys are missing the point. It is not too far away when Singapore will declare bankruptcy.

I has nothing to do with respect for teachers or not.

It is just that Singapore govt is so desperate for money they are trying to get it from anywhere they can. You guys are missing the point. It is not too far away when Singapore will declare bankruptcy.

Hahaha aiya nays, you ever heard of people say they make too much money, wish they made less? Want to make even more moneys must be because going broke soon? o_O

The teachers never complained, when election is coming, they were made to volunteer at polling stations helping out the election department.They voted for these people who will continually screw them & now, they have to pay for parking in the school(s) they teach in...they COMPLAIN.

The teachers deserve it....

Hahaha aiya nays, you ever heard of people say they make too much money, wish they made less? Want to make even more moneys must be because going broke soon? o_O

I have heard people says they make too much money & wish they could earn less. It is fake news to say that the government is going broke, they made a profit last year, you didn't read , that is why they are giving a $300 BONUS. The teachers should be happy, they are getting $300 to park their cars...wait!...they are not eligible, they earn more than the "means testing" amount..ha ha ha ha

You have to come out with concrete figures that they are going bankrupt or anything you utter is fake news...

$69 + $6.90 per month are very good numbers. i thank the planners of such a policy for being deliberate with numbers and highly considerate.

I have heard people says they make too much money & wish they could earn less. It is fake news to say that the government is going broke, they made a profit last year, you didn't read , that is why they are giving a $300 BONUS. The teachers should be happy, they are getting $300 to park their cars...wait!...they are not eligible, they earn more than the "means testing" amount..ha ha ha ha

You have to come out with concrete figures that they are going bankrupt or anything you utter is fake news...

Precisely. Charging for car park everywhere, asking teachers to pay car park, raising gst in 2020 all these make many moneys! Must be we are going broke? Cannot be because make a lot of money want to make much more? Not convincing! :rolleyes:

just passed by a school, and noticed that there are not many farking spaces, oops parking spaces. all full of (teachers' and staff) cars. now that sinkies are so rich and teachers can afford to drive $169k cars, life must be good, thanks to pap. so many cars among teachers that moe has to do something without building extra farking lots or multi-story farking in schools. also, as typical of complain king sinkies, teachers kpkb about other teachers and school staff taking up their entitled spots and very buay kuay yen. if moe doesn't do something civil war will erupt soon on school grounds with teachers pulling teachers' hair. every weekday morning traffic ushers and security personnel in school have very tough and difficult jobs. instead of concentrating their efforts keeping children safe while they show up in school in platinum plated buses and posh cars (or with maids carrying their backpacks and umbrellas) these ushers have to direct traffic for staff and teachers (and sometimes being scolded by them) who drive into school compound with long faces, inconsiderate farking behavior and poor driving skills.

No more different than paying for your car park despite you being the "owner" of your HDB flat.

It's important that grassroots leaders continue to enjoy their free parking privileges. It's the least Singapore can do for its grasroots leaders, given our contributions to community work.

It is. All the signs are there. Raise water price. (that is already a form of tax no one can escape from). Medishield Life (a means to write off billions from Medisave accounts every year to reduce the interest payment burden NOTE: all on paper). Raise HDB parking charges. Teachers and SAF to pay for parking. If not for the media reminding the govt GST would have been raised to 9% a 28% increase in GST (2/7 x 100) 2 being the increase itself from 7 to 9. Then divide by original 7 then times 100 to get % change.

Singapore coffers are in bad shape. Evidence is there.

Billions lost with India Telecom debacle. NOL. SPH. Standard Chartered. Uber.

Sinkies are oblivious. Sheep. Ignorant. Can't care less.

Good luck.

It is bcos gst was not raised that y pap start raising all these peripheral costs..so thanks to the 70%. All Lan Lan have to pay. N pap ultimate goal is to raise GST till 10%. N more. So sick it up Singkies.