• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Speak Dialects, you feel tribal ! Speak mandarin, it will break unity!

char_jig_kar

i am not a natural unlike you who can do sommersault with double twist and still tum balek some more.

關關雎鳩 在河之洲 窈窕淑女 君子好逑
參差荇菜 左右流之 窈窕淑女 寤寐求之
求之不得 寤寐思服 悠哉悠哉 輾轉反側
參差荇菜 左右采之 窈窕淑女 琴瑟友之
參差荇菜 左右芼之 窈窕淑女 鐘鼓樂之

鳩 rhymes with 洲, 女and 逑?
菜 rhymes with 女 and 之?

It sounds fine to me. NO RED ALERT sounded. I don't know whats your problem with this poem reciting in mandarin.

lnchwmn_only

It sounds fine to me. NO RED ALERT sounded. I don't know whats your problem with this poem reciting in mandarin.

haizzz...how many times you wantto act blur act seow...

the quetino is ehre...eveyrbody can see, you can pretend pretend...even better everybody see

關關雎鳩 在河之洲 窈窕淑女 君子好逑
參差荇菜 左右流之 窈窕淑女 寤寐求之
求之不得 寤寐思服 悠哉悠哉 輾轉反側
參差荇菜 左右采之 窈窕淑女 琴瑟友之
參差荇菜 左右芼之 窈窕淑女 鐘鼓樂之

鳩 rhymes with 洲, 女and 逑?
菜 rhymes with 女 and 之?

u want to play red alert, you answer uncle's question properly first then uncel elt you play...

lnchwmn4

convulsion of your mind is too twisted for u to see clearly.

u get the dao de jing two versions. and use mandarin and dialect to read. where's the difference? no difference. only u insist it would make a difference to read in dialect to understand the content of dao de jing.

big difference lor ..... even you oso know got two versions...

道可道也,非恆道也。名可名也,非恆名也

道可道也, 非常道也。名可名也,非常名也

why leh?

Hakka Tiow

of course it does. come guai guai tell uncle

mandarin, hokkien, cantonese, teochew...in terms of preference..which one sound better?

wah mudskipper, steady man! biow yen for nimpeh see hor? Two subscribed lines? Eh sai! So who is it gonna be?

denzuko1

mother tongue is the language one learns from birth. my family use mandarin and teochew. so, what is surprising here, mandarin and teochew as my mother tongue???

I have recently been to a tour in GuangDong. I have always pride myself as a Cantonese and I was surprised to find that most of the Cantonese are not from the region.

The real Cantonese are relatively smaller, with darker complexion and small eyes. Most of us have ancestors from the Northern part of China. The fact is that our ancestors have merged into the society of Southern China.

One good example is the Hakkas. In Chinese means "guest". They migrated down south in the later stage and were normads, thus given the name "Hakka". Still Hakka is one of the 3 main dialects in the Guang Dong area other than Zhuang Zhu and Cantonese.

Even for Cantonese, there are a large variety. My ancester home is in Xin Hui and when I went to Kai Ping for instance, I have trouble understanding their Cantonese although they are speaking the same dialect. Same thing with Xin Ling, the Cantonese is again different. Singapore version is very similar to that from Hong Kong and Guang Zhou.

Similarly, the Hokkien also have different variations. I at least know 2, one of Singapore version from Fu Jian, the other Fu Zhou (unless I am mistaken). For those who have heard Fu Zhou version, they will think that Singaporean's
Hokkien is really gentle.

Just one more clarification, many here seem to have quote Guang Zhou as the province. In fact, Guang Zhou is the main city of Guang Dong, which is the province. West of Guang Dong is Guang Xi while East is Fu Zhou.

lnchwmn4

wah mudskipper, steady man! biow yen for nimpeh see hor? Two subscribed lines? Eh sai! So who is it gonna be?

you finsih your homework anot? just come back from school, you straightaway come and play issit.... you wanna play can but must osso learn from uncle understand anot?

Similarly, the Hokkien also have different variations. I at least know 2, one of Singapore version from Fu Jian, the other Fu Zhou (unless I am mistaken). For those who have heard Fu Zhou version, they will think that Singaporean's
Hokkien is really gentle.

There is a clear distinction between Penang Hokkein and Singapore Hokkein. It interesting how they evolve.

While we have our elderly folks with us, it might be good for authorities to be less harsh on dialects.

They can treat Mandarin like English. Good for commerce, legal, education etc and a bridge across society. No need for dialect to be included in school as we already tax the kids to much.

I suspect until Low thia Kiang and Hougang disappears, they will still put a lid on it.

Really funny isn't it. You can learn spanish, French , Japanese anywhere in Singapore but not dialects.

Hakka Tiow

you finsih your homework anot? just come back from school, you straightaway come and play issit.... you wanna play can but must osso learn from uncle understand anot?

Fuck your cheebai mouth lah mudskipper! Your Father I observing your mudskipping antics the whole morning lah! Waiting for my turn to have a go at your sweet ass!:p

lnchwmn4

Fuck your cheebai mouth lah mudskipper! Your Father I observing your mudskipping antics the whole morning lah! Waiting for my turn to have a go at your sweet ass!:p

boy cannot anyhow use f word hor....xia suay xia suay ....i beat your little backside then you know

char_jig_kar

haizzz...how many times you wantto act blur act seow...

the quetino is ehre...eveyrbody can see, you can pretend pretend...even better everybody see

關關雎鳩 在河之洲 窈窕淑女 君子好逑
參差荇菜 左右流之 窈窕淑女 寤寐求之
求之不得 寤寐思服 悠哉悠哉 輾轉反側
參差荇菜 左右采之 窈窕淑女 琴瑟友之
參差荇菜 左右芼之 窈窕淑女 鐘鼓樂之

鳩 rhymes with 洲, 女and 逑?
菜 rhymes with 女 and 之?

u want to play red alert, you answer uncle's question properly first then uncel elt you play...

Go download it and listen it for yourself. WHERE'S THE PROBLEM?? WHERE'S THE PROBLEM WITH THE RECITATION IN MANDARIN??? U STUPID OR WHAT???

http://www.5156edu.com/showzipdown.php?id=31323

Hakka Tiow

boy cannot anyhow use f word hor....xia suay xia suay ....i beat your little backside then you know

Ah POndan cheebye mudskipper, rude to your daddy hor? how about be a good ladyboy and suck daddy's cock? Daddy will be watching hah? you rude to all the uncles here again Daddy will shaft my big thick cock into your mudskipper mouth , understand chee bye kiah?:smile:

char_jig_kar

there is a clear distinction between penang hokkein and singapore hokkein. It interesting how they evolve.

While we have our elderly folks with us, it might be good for authorities to be less harsh on dialects.

They can treat mandarin like english. Good for commerce, legal, education etc and a bridge across society. No need for dialect to be included in school as we already tax the kids to much.

I suspect until low thia kiang and hougang disappears, they will still put a lid on it.

Really funny isn't it. You can learn spanish, french , japanese anywhere in singapore but not dialects.

bunch of wp clowns. Harlo? Treat mandarin like english, good for commerce and legal and bridge across society blah blah, and then no need to include dialect in school, then where the fuck do we stand in our culture?? Just commerce everything else is shit??? Think before u open your silly mouth.

char_jig_kar

Bunch of dumbfuck those WP supporters. THEY DON'T KNOW WHAT THE FUCK THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT AND YET THEY KEEP ON BABBLING HERE AND THINK THEY KNOW IT ALL.

Hakka Tiow

They are playing the wear you down game> Must go for the long haul if you don't want them to shut you up! Sama sama PAPIB

Wah chee bai kiah show his chee bai power liao, can see two nicks or not. Two subscribed lines woh. Don't want to lose face mah:biggrin:
Okay which one coming for me?:p

denzuko1

There is a clear distinction between Penang Hokkein and Singapore Hokkein. It interesting how they evolve.

They can treat Mandarin like English. Good for commerce, legal, education etc and a bridge across society. No need for dialect to be included in school as we already tax the kids to much.......

Even for Mandarin, it is different from province to province. Those spoken in shanghai is different from that in Beijing. I have ever once listen to a speech by Mao Tze Dong, he was speaking in Mandarin, but the Shan Dong slang is so strong that it is almost indistinguishable.

An interesting find is the Cantonese in Hong Kong, those spoken by present and the earlier generation is different. The earlier generation is richer and have more depth. The younger generation on the other hand is so much more dilute. It gives me the feeling that they have not grown out of their teenage years.

What I have found is that learning of dialects are not very taxing for our kids. My daughter of 4-5 years old can switch from Cantonese to English then Mandarin, just last night I was having a playful wit with my wife and my daughter just told us, " Ni3 Men2 Bu4 Yao4 Chao3!"

lnchwmn_only

Go download it and listen it for yourself. WHERE'S THE PROBLEM?? WHERE'S THE PROBLEM WITH THE RECITATION IN MANDARIN??? U STUPID OR WHAT???

http://www.5156edu.com/showzipdown.php?id=31323

uncle can read chinese so i dun have to download something which i can read myself... you cannto so must download

dun need to act blur act seow, whats the problem whats the problem wohhhh... u stupid i stupid he stupid they stupid...:biggrin:

uncle just ask you simple question:

關關雎鳩 在河之洲 窈窕淑女 君子好逑
參差荇菜 左右流之 窈窕淑女 寤寐求之
求之不得 寤寐思服 悠哉悠哉 輾轉反側
參差荇菜 左右采之 窈窕淑女 琴瑟友之
參差荇菜 左右芼之 窈窕淑女 鐘鼓樂之

鳩 rhymes with 洲, 女and 逑?
菜 rhymes with 女 and 之?

u wanna play your red alert anot?

char_jig_kar

They are playing the wear you down game> Must go for the long haul if you don't want them to shut you up! Sama sama PAPIB

Wah chee bai kiah show his chee bai power liao, can see two nicks or not. Two subscribed lines woh. Don't want to lose face mah:biggrin:
Okay which one coming for me?:p

yeah, gotta to take break when comes to dealing with those bunch of PAP apologist clowns here.