• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Speak Dialects, you feel tribal ! Speak mandarin, it will break unity!

char_jig_kar

hey screwball, don't pretend that u are proud of chinese culture, talking about what hans chinese okay? you are all for Lee Kuan Yew's english language policy even though its 97% asian here, and 75% chinese. so drop the pretense.

char_jig_kar

Just to clarify, by saying "Chinese roots", do you mean Chinese as a whole or going into individual dialect group?

As a whole. You should ask scroobal that question. He's the one who get confuse with it. He assume when I say connecting to chinese roots i am just talking about connecting to one's dialect group using mandarin.

char_jig_kar

well said, dishonest and disgrace are the best words to describe si kar ghua, let me oso add....disingenuous and disturbing

u are the one disturbing. insisting that ONLY dialect could connect to chinese culture 1000 years ago. ANYBODY WITH SOME COMMON SENSE IN THEM WOULD SEE TATS BULLSHIT.

lnchwmn_only

like i said, it sounds fine to me in mandarin.

small boy , uncle is not asking asked you whether it sound fine to you, shit will oso taste fine to a roach... uncle is telling you it does not rhyme in mandarin , poem dun rhyme then call poem for wat. the essence of the poem is lost. just like the tao te ching is lost in mandarin translation...

that is the nuances that we are talking abt..... pls try and respond intelligently (i mean just try la)

關關雎鳩 在河之洲 窈窕淑女 君子好逑
參差荇菜 左右流之 窈窕淑女 寤寐求之
求之不得 寤寐思服 悠哉悠哉 輾轉反側
參差荇菜 左右采之 窈窕淑女 琴瑟友之
參差荇菜 左右芼之 窈窕淑女 鐘鼓樂之

char_jig_kar

denzuko,

u know, its funny. when i criticize about english language as first language policy in other thread, scroobal has no qualm to defend english as first language.

so, english language as first language, thats okay. but chinese upholding both mandarin and dialect, thats no no? i don't get the logic. the thread just expose all kind of weird thinking mode of the people here. especially scroobal and lancheowman.

char_jig_kar

small boy , uncle is not asking asked you whether it sound fine to you, shit will oso taste fine to a roach... uncle is telling you it does not rhyme in mandarin , poem dun rhyme then call poem for wat. the essence of the poem is lost. just like the tao te ching is lost in mandarin translation...

that is the nuances that we are talking abt..... pls try and respond intelligently (i mean just try la)

關關雎鳩 在河之洲 窈窕淑女 君子好逑
參差荇菜 左右流之 窈窕淑女 寤寐求之
求之不得 寤寐思服 悠哉悠哉 輾轉反側
參差荇菜 左右采之 窈窕淑女 琴瑟友之
參差荇菜 左右芼之 窈窕淑女 鐘鼓樂之

could u come up with an article which says that if chinese would wanna connect with chinese roots dating more than 1000 years ago, they should learn dialect first? would u show me something on that?

lnchwmn_only

u are the one disturbing. insisting that ONLY dialect could connect to chinese culture 1000 years ago. ANYBODY WITH SOME COMMON SENSE IN THEM WOULD SEE TATS BULLSHIT.

reading a 3000 year old chinese poem in mandarin with no rhymes and with an alien syntax but still can claims that it sounds fine .... (despite of historical evidence that the poem challenged and baffled scholars for generations) is called dishonest and disingenuous and purely shameless...

關關雎鳩 在河之洲 窈窕淑女 君子好逑
參差荇菜 左右流之 窈窕淑女 寤寐求之
求之不得 寤寐思服 悠哉悠哉 輾轉反側
參差荇菜 左右采之 窈窕淑女 琴瑟友之
參差荇菜 左右芼之 窈窕淑女 鐘鼓樂之

char_jig_kar

should we eradicate chinese dialect in spore? no. thats wrong.

should we uphold mandarin in spore? yes. because mandarin is the language chinese use to communicate with other dialect group. and also helps to connect to chinese culture.

so why is this thread still growing? whats the issue here?

yansen84

wow hats off to you guys messrs charjikar and lancheowman for going at each other all night and day!

BTW not taking sides or anything but mr char, apparently you mentioned that teochew and mandarin are both your mother tongues? unless your ancestors hail from Beijing or the north, which I assume is not the case, how can that be? other than that I see where you're coming from.

char_jig_kar

reading a 3000 year old chinese poem in mandarin with no rhymes and with an alien syntax but still can claims that it sounds fine .... (despite of historical evidence that the poem challenged and baffled scholars for generations) is called dishonest and disingenuous and purely shameless...

關關雎鳩 在河之洲 窈窕淑女 君子好逑
參差荇菜 左右流之 窈窕淑女 寤寐求之
求之不得 寤寐思服 悠哉悠哉 輾轉反側
參差荇菜 左右采之 窈窕淑女 琴瑟友之
參差荇菜 左右芼之 窈窕淑女 鐘鼓樂之

u had shown us the youtube clip, recitation of li bai's poem in anicent chinese/ middle chinese. how does it sound? it sounds muddled, and unclear. so what makes u think this poem from shijing, the recitation in ancient chinese would sound great then?

char_jig_kar

wow hats off to you guys messrs charjikar and lancheowman for going at each other all night and day!

BTW not taking sides or anything but mr char, apparently you mentioned that teochew and mandarin are both your mother tongues? unless your ancestors hail from Beijing or the north, which I assume is not the case, how can that be? other than that I see where you're coming from.

mother tongue is the language one learns from birth. my family use mandarin and teochew. so, what is surprising here, mandarin and teochew as my mother tongue???

char_jig_kar

Let us all hear for ourselves. The recitation of Li Bai's poem in middle chinese. The youtube take a while to load...

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/-RpngHAinng&hl=en&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/-RpngHAinng&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

char_jig_kar

Come on. Thats the way to connect to chinese culture 1000 years ago?? Sounds too nasal. Why would it help us Chinese in connecting to ancient chinese poem by reciting it with heavy nasal accent???

lnchwmn4

could u come up with an article which says that if chinese would wanna connect with chinese roots dating more than 1000 years ago, they should learn dialect first? would u show me something on that?

just an article...you are really a circus clown... somebody write an article is proof for you but you cannot use your brain to reason and think logically?

but chinese you can read anot...cannot read dun act blur hor?
http://epub.cnki.net/grid2008/Detai...ename=2003125343.nh&filetitle=汉语方言的语音差异对修辞的影响

http://cul.book.sina.com.cn/o/2007-07-20/1356169159.html

一部分方言现象如众多文化遗产一样,难免逐渐走上弱化或趋同的道路,为此,国家十分重视汉语方言 ...

lnchwmn4

Come on. Thats the way to connect to chinese culture 1000 years ago?? Sounds too nasal. Why would it help us Chinese in connecting to ancient chinese poem by reciting it with heavy nasal accent???

small boy....your statement is a reflectino of your ignorance that this is middle chinese or how your ancestors spoke.... and you have no idea is still okay but all the mandarin brainwashing has led you to laugh at your oww roots and heritage and you think this can help you win an argument. ,,,xia suay xia suay ...hope li bai come and find you tonight and help you recite qing ping diao through your other openings

BUT try this one...

關關雎鳩 在河之洲 窈窕淑女 君子好逑
參差荇菜 左右流之 窈窕淑女 寤寐求之
求之不得 寤寐思服 悠哉悠哉 輾轉反側
參差荇菜 左右采之 窈窕淑女 琴瑟友之
參差荇菜 左右芼之 窈窕淑女 鐘鼓樂之

where does the poem rhyme in mandarin?

char_jig_kar

see the contradiction. First you think that mandarin can connect one to their roots despite the fact that it is not their mother tongue. Now you change your mind.

i am rebutting lancheowman's claim tat only dialect could connect to chinese culture dating more than 1000 years ago. The roots we are talking about its chinese roots. Which is not just dialect roots.

Stop playing this kind of dirty trick in putting words in my mouth, twisting my words.

i really think you don't know what you are writing.

Like i said all along, nobody is denying the value of mandarin. Only you and old man has ever suggested that mandarin can replace mother tongue in connecting with the roots.
fuck you scroobal. How many times must i repeat myself?? I didn't ever say that mandarin could replace mother tongue to connect to the dialect roots.

such a dishonest person you are and a disgrace to all han chinese. Bear in mind, its a direct quote from you. When you tell lies, you must have a memory the size of an elephant to keep track of your lies.

This discussion ends here.
you are the most dishonest person here which keep on twisting and turning my words. You are a disgrace to yourself.

char_jig_kar

just an article...you are really a circus clown... somebody write an article is proof for you but you cannot use your brain to reason and think logically?

but chinese you can read anot...cannot read dun act blur hor?
http://epub.cnki.net/grid2008/Detai...ename=2003125343.nh&filetitle=汉语方言的语音差异对修辞的影响

http://cul.book.sina.com.cn/o/2007-07-20/1356169159.html

一部分方言现象如众多文化遗产一样,难免逐渐走上弱化或趋同的道路,为此,国家十分重视汉语方言 ...

I did not deny the value of dialect. But to say that dialect is the only way to connect to chinese culture 1000 years ago, thats BULLSHIT.

YOU DON'T HAVE TO TASTE SHIT TO UNDERSTAND ITS SHIT. JUST A WHIFF OF THE SMELL, ONE WOULD KNOW THATS SHIT.

char_jig_kar

small boy....your statement is a reflectino of your ignorance that this is middle chinese or how your ancestors spoke.... and you have no idea is still okay but all the mandarin brainwashing has led you to laugh at your oww roots and heritage and you think this can help you win an argument. ,,,xia suay xia suay ...hope li bai come and find you tonight and help you recite qing ping diao through your other openings

BUT try this one...

關關雎鳩 在河之洲 窈窕淑女 君子好逑
參差荇菜 左右流之 窈窕淑女 寤寐求之
求之不得 寤寐思服 悠哉悠哉 輾轉反側
參差荇菜 左右采之 窈窕淑女 琴瑟友之
參差荇菜 左右芼之 窈窕淑女 鐘鼓樂之

where does the poem rhyme in mandarin?

fucking hell. IT SOUNDS OKAY TO ME! HOW MANY TIMES DO I HAVE TO REPEAT MYSELF???

lnchwmn4

u had shown us the youtube clip, recitation of li bai's poem in anicent chinese/ middle chinese. how does it sound? it sounds muddled, and unclear. so what makes u think this poem from shijing, the recitation in ancient chinese would sound great then?

it is not abt whether it sounds great to your mandarin ears but whether it sounded the way it should in our ancestor's tongue...

only si kar chua like you would laugh at your own heritage and think that it helps you win arguments

here is the shijing poem which i am reposting (nvm you act blur the first tim,e round)..... notice how dialect it sounds.... like li bai's poem in middle chinese...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZxhdW2yB-iQ&feature=channel_page

關關雎鳩 在河之洲 窈窕淑女 君子好逑
參差荇菜 左右流之 窈窕淑女 寤寐求之
求之不得 寤寐思服 悠哉悠哉 輾轉反側
參差荇菜 左右采之 窈窕淑女 琴瑟友之
參差荇菜 左右芼之 窈窕淑女 鐘鼓樂之

so how confucius sound too slurred and muddled to you too?

lnchwmn4

fucking hell. IT SOUNDS OKAY TO ME! HOW MANY TIMES DO I HAVE TO REPEAT MYSELF???

i ask you where does it rhyme in mandarin?
關關雎鳩 在河之洲 窈窕淑女 君子好逑
參差荇菜 左右流之 窈窕淑女 寤寐求之
求之不得 寤寐思服 悠哉悠哉 輾轉反側
參差荇菜 左右采之 窈窕淑女 琴瑟友之
參差荇菜 左右芼之 窈窕淑女 鐘鼓樂之

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZxhdW2yB-iQ&feature=channel_page

haizzz...simple question osso dun dare to answer issit? you think uncle so stupid ask you for your opinion......got rhyme no rhyme oso dunno...you cannot even read chinese?