• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Speak Dialects, you feel tribal ! Speak mandarin, it will break unity!

char_jig_kar

it is not abt whether it sounds great to your mandarin ears but whether it sounded the way it should in our ancestor's tongue...

only si kar chua like you would laugh at your own heritage and think that it helps you win arguments

here is the shijing poem which i am reposting (nvm you act blur the first tim,e round)..... notice how dialect it sounds.... like li bai's poem in middle chinese...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZxhdW2yB-iQ&feature=channel_page

關關雎鳩 在河之洲 窈窕淑女 君子好逑
參差荇菜 左右流之 窈窕淑女 寤寐求之
求之不得 寤寐思服 悠哉悠哉 輾轉反側
參差荇菜 左右采之 窈窕淑女 琴瑟友之
參差荇菜 左右芼之 窈窕淑女 鐘鼓樂之

so how confucius sound too slurred and muddled to you too?

YES. It sounds slurred and muddled. Like a drunk speaking, the tongue get big after having too many alcoholic drink.

char_jig_kar

i ask you where does it rhyme in mandarin?
關關雎鳩 在河之洲 窈窕淑女 君子好逑
參差荇菜 左右流之 窈窕淑女 寤寐求之
求之不得 寤寐思服 悠哉悠哉 輾轉反側
參差荇菜 左右采之 窈窕淑女 琴瑟友之
參差荇菜 左右芼之 窈窕淑女 鐘鼓樂之

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zxhdw2yb-iq&feature=channel_page

haizzz...simple question osso dun dare to answer issit? You think uncle so stupid ask you for your opinion......got rhyme no rhyme oso dunno...you cannot even read chinese?

the whole poem is rhyming with zest in mandarin. I don't know why it sounds like shit when its in ancient chinese.

lnchwmn4

Trust me, I have been reading his and yours earlier postings(repeatedly). He did not slam Dialect, in fact he was against the slamming.

Anyway, I am curious, how did you got kick out? I kind of like your original nick "Lancheowman".

no he is not, not in his posts to me...he clearly advocate a mandarin only policy

char_jig_kar

Okay, this is the way to connect to Chinese roots 1000 years ago? You mean I could get connect to Chinese roots by listening to drunk slurring, and mumbling in pub???

<object width="425" height="344">

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/ZxhdW2yB-iQ&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></object>

lnchwmn4

the whole poem is rhyming with zest in mandarin. I don't know why it sounds like shit when its in ancient chinese.

issit ...rhyming with zest...sounds like you trying to speak with your mother tongue with your rear orifice

關關雎鳩 在河之洲 窈窕淑女 君子好逑
參差荇菜 左右流之 窈窕淑女 寤寐求之
求之不得 寤寐思服 悠哉悠哉 輾轉反側
參差荇菜 左右采之 窈窕淑女 琴瑟友之
參差荇菜 左右芼之 窈窕淑女 鐘鼓樂之

鳩 rhymes with 洲, 女and 逑?
菜 rhymes with 女 and 之?

lnchwmn4

drunk could do that too. mumble and slur in rhythm.

but i don't see why we should speak like a drunk in order to get connected to chinese roots.

maybe becasue you have two mother tongues or a forked tongue left is teochew, right is mandarin ....sometime this sometime that ....or maybe you just cannot read chinese...you tell ucnel which is which leh?

char_jig_kar

maybe becasue you have two mother tongues or a forked tongue left is teochew, right is mandarin ....sometime this sometime that ....or maybe you just cannot read chinese...you tell ucnel which is which leh?

you can hurl all kind of insult to me. but the youtube clip, the guy sound slurred and muddled. i stand by the claim.

lnchwmn4

tao de jing is written in chinese language. as long as we could read and understand the meaning of the chinese characters, we could read it.
could the jap or korean understand the chinese characters? if they could they could read it too.
so whats the problem, issue here? the issue is you, insist that only dialect could do the job in linking to chinese roots thousand of years ago. and mandarin cant do the job.
but i had stated, people could read and recite the dao de jing (chinese classic written thousand of years ago) in mandarin.
what is the problem then? no more problem. mandarin could be use to connect to chinese roots thousand of years ago.

an angmo can osos read and understand the same thing like a korean or jepun...you a twoi headed creature can oso understand if somebody gives you a translation....mandarin, englishm koran or japanese .... but you are missing on the original syntax and tones when you read in your foreign language ..... at least if you know dialect, you can still appreciat some but not all of this.... understand anot? you dunno answer uncle teach you

char_jig_kar

everwhere lor.... mandarin sounds best mah you neber say meh?

its not mandarin sound best. your youtube clip, those recitation of ancient poem in so call ancient chinese, they sound terrible.

i am sure other dialect such as hokkien, cantonese, teochew, etc, sound fine, just like the mandarin, reciting the ancient poem.

char_jig_kar

an angmo can osos read and understand the same thing like a korean or jepun...you a twoi headed creature can oso understand if somebody gives you a translation....mandarin, englishm koran or japanese .... but you are missing on the original syntax and tones when you read in your foreign language ..... at least if you know dialect, you can still appreciat some but not all of this.... understand anot? you dunno answer uncle teach you

convulsion of your mind is too twisted for u to see clearly.

u get the dao de jing two versions. and use mandarin and dialect to read. where's the difference? no difference. only u insist it would make a difference to read in dialect to understand the content of dao de jing.

lnchwmn4

you can hurl all kind of insult to me. but the youtube clip, the guy sound slurred and muddled. i stand by the claim.

so you admit you cannot read chinese? are you standing by that as well? since you did not respond that part of my post suggesting this, you impliedly accepts that you do not read chinese:wink:

char_jig_kar

so you admit you cannot read chinese? are you standing by that as well? since you did not respond that part of my post suggesting this, you impliedly accepts that you do not read chinese:wink:

here goes. WP supporters MO. doing their move. turning and twisting. maneuvering.

i tot we had settled this issue already?

lnchwmn4

its not mandarin sound best. your youtube clip, those recitation of ancient poem in so call ancient chinese, they sound terrible.

i am sure other dialect such as hokkien, cantonese, teochew, etc, sound fine, just like the mandarin, reciting the ancient poem.

ok ok swee liao swee liao....so now in terms of preference, tell uncle in which dialect or language do ancient poems sound the best in?

mandarin.
hoikkien
cantoinese
teochew
old/middle chinese

let uncle indulge your folly for a while...

char_jig_kar

ok ok swee liao swee liao....so now in terms of preference, tell uncle in which dialect or language do ancient poems sound the best in?

mandarin.
hoikkien
cantoinese
teochew
old/middle chinese

let uncle indulge your folly for a while...

all i know is old/ middle chinese is definitely out. sounds lousy.

mandarin, hokkien, cantonese, teochew, they all sound fine to me.

lnchwmn4

here goes. WP supporters MO. doing their move. turning and twisting. maneuvering.

i tot we had settled this issue already?

i am not a natural unlike you who can do sommersault with double twist and still tum balek some more.

關關雎鳩 在河之洲 窈窕淑女 君子好逑
參差荇菜 左右流之 窈窕淑女 寤寐求之
求之不得 寤寐思服 悠哉悠哉 輾轉反側
參差荇菜 左右采之 窈窕淑女 琴瑟友之
參差荇菜 左右芼之 窈窕淑女 鐘鼓樂之

鳩 rhymes with 洲, 女and 逑?
菜 rhymes with 女 and 之?

lnchwmn4

all i know is old/ middle chinese is definitely out. sounds lousy.

mandarin, hokkien, cantonese, teochew, they all sound fine to me.

ok ok dun be scared ,uncle joknig only

mandarin, hokkien, cantonese, teochew...in terms of preference..which one sound better?