• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Smoking

The smokers, more often than not, will trawl in other vices eg gambling, drinking etc for comparison & presto, smoking isnt a bad thing after all. The point Im bringing is, why dont smokers deal with their problems instead of making bias comparison to other vices.

the quitter of life, quits everything except his ego.:D

Infact gambling is does not harm anybody if you just bet 10 cents for each round for black jack.

Whereas anything tht enters your body is another matter.

The smokers, more often than not, will trawl in other vices eg gambling, drinking etc for comparison & presto, smoking isnt a bad thing after all. The point Im bringing is, why dont smokers deal with their problems instead of making bias comparison to other vices.

exactly the point. as a former smoker my experience during the "hazy" days I too built a wall of comfort and avoided any "Dont smoke" lectures cos I knew I was a downer. But never denial. I may be a downer once but never a faker.

"I would not say no different, drugs and alcohol dependency is of a higher severity. It's not just the urge on the mind alone but also physical withdrawal symtoms. While tobacco, it's just the urge on the mind, hardly any withdrawal at all."

Has smoking made you lost track what you just posted earlier? Why smokers like to pin other vices (in your case drugs & alcohol) yet do not address the real problems of smoking?
I do not have to prove anything or "overestimate myself", whatever that means. Just want to know what is the allure of this habit of smoking. The majority smokers voted "pressure" & "shiok". Whats yours?

No, infact smoking made me keep track all the more. You dont seem to read too well, what I said earlier on was drugs and alcohol has higher severity with regards to dependency, hence the physical withdrawal symptoms.

I just enjoy smoking and it's me, I am happy, what makes you think I have a problem that keep you harping on the contention that smokers pins other vices and yet dont address the real problems of smoking. You dont deal with problem when there isnt any, is that so difficult to understand.

No individuals are the same, dont bother wondering why or what is the allure of this habit of smoking and people gets out of it, there is no straight answers for you.

No, infact smoking made me keep track all the more. You dont seem to read too well, what I said earlier on was drugs and alcohol has higher severity with regards to dependency, hence the physical withdrawal symptoms.

Research has shown that nicotine addiction is more serious than heroin and cocaine as well as exhibiting high levels of withdrawal systems too. Continue to kid yourself that your smoking is a "choice" and you are "happy". More like you forgot how to be happy without your addiction.

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_D3qTGLAWRbg/RrxLwyzCPvI/AAAAAAAAA7U/tzh-rM2Hq-4/s1600-h/drugs.gif

drugs.gif

how do you know the quality of the cigarette if they don't declare fully the contents?

Your line of thought opens up the notion that even the taste of urine or earwax is quality to you if it mixes well with other chemicals and end up tasting good. So I shall not argue with you as someone convinced of such mindset is lower than a clean animal but no different than a scavenger animal, except maybe a scavenger animal was norm that way but you on the other hand found a spirit of denial at some point in life.

A consumer cant sense and taste the products he's getting. Or you want the tobacco company to issue a CoC of some sort. If you dont have common sense use your intelligence. I wont gibber on those garbage about animals, scavenger whatever. Whose in denial, you decide.

Research has shown that nicotine addiction is more serious than heroin and cocaine as well as exhibiting high levels of withdrawal systems too. Continue to kid yourself that your smoking is a "choice" and you are "happy". More like you forgot how to be happy without your addiction.

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_D3qTGLAWRbg/RrxLwyzCPvI/AAAAAAAAA7U/tzh-rM2Hq-4/s1600-h/drugs.gif

drugs.gif

Come on, spare me those research garbages. I know myself better than anyone else. When I travel long distance I eat well, sleep well and happy. Besides a little bit of urge in the mind I dont have physical withdrawal the likes of drugs.

Research is garbage? You can argue that you are the exception to the rule but to say that the research is garbage just shows how defensive you are about smoking.

Have you lost your mind?

By the way, you sound as if you've tried heroine, cocaine, mirijuana, etc on a regular basis...or else what is your basis for comparison and for calling research on addiction garbage?

Research is garbage? You can argue that you are the exception to the rule but to say that the research is garbage just shows how defensive you are about smoking.

Have you lost your mind?

By the way, you sound as if you've tried heroine, cocaine, mirijuana, etc on a regular basis...or else what is your basis for comparison and for calling research on addiction garbage?

No, I am as sane as anyone else if not better. I am not interested in what the researhers has to say. They are the experts but what purpose does those garbage serves. They are not even sure of it themselves.

Sorry, I only enjoy tobacco and I am happy with the habit. I had no interest in narcotics so dont try making assumptions that I had tried narcotics for a basis to gibber foolishly about silly tobacco addiction with you.

Fir the record, addiction or no addiction, smokers have their joy, funs and rights. Non smokers like yourself I dont know what' joy or fun you have and I dont care but you dont have the rights to tell smokers not to smoker, so stay way, simple as that.

No, I am as sane as anyone else if not better. I am not interested in what the researhers has to say. They are the experts but what purpose does those garbage serves. They are not even sure of it themselves.

Sorry, I only enjoy tobacco and I am happy with the habit. I had no interest in narcotics so dont try making assumptions that I had tried narcotics for a basis to gibber foolishly about silly tobacco addiction with you.

Fir the record, addiction or no addiction, smokers have their joy, funs and rights. Non smokers like yourself I dont know what' joy or fun you have and I dont care but you dont have the rights to tell smokers not to smoker, so stay way, simple as that.

You know, you don't have to respond to any of the posts here. Actually I think I have the right to tell smokers not to smoke (especially smokers I care about).

The discussion in this thread is really not for you nor indeed for myself either. It is for others who, based on the content of the discussion, would think twice about picking up smoking. It is for others, who are currently smoking, who might consider stopping.

I have absolutely no problems at all if you smoke or get your happiness from doing whatever gets you off.

I asked about the other kinds of drugs because you kept saying cigarettes is unlike them. But I have shown you research that shows that cigarette smoking is actually more addictive than them and have considerable withdrawal syptoms. It is telling how you question research etc. Maybe that's why you can ignore the health warning signs on cigarette packs.

as an ex-smoker, i can readily say the report is rubbish. Anyway i dont need to be an ex-smoker to know how terrifying heroin withdrawal can be. Quiting smoking is a piece of cake in comparison.

The report says smoking is more addictive than heroin (i.e. success rate of smokers quitting is lower than heroin users). The report says that withdrawal symptoms form heroin is higher than smoking though. The latter point is to show that what that forummer claims about smoking having no withdrawal sympton is not correct.

As someone who successfully stopped smoking (congratulations!), did you not feel any withdrawal symptoms at all? Both physical and mental?

No individuals are the same, dont bother wondering why or what is the allure of this habit of smoking and people gets out of it, there is no straight answers for you.

That is precisely my bewilderment!!! If you dont even know what is the allure of smoking, then why pick up this filthy habit in the beginning??? Are you too weak will to quit at your stage of addiction now?

As an ex-smoker who quit 1 year ago. Here is what I feel about. I smoked 22 years before quitting.

Reasons that keep smokers from quitting:
1. Addiction to : nicotine + 3-4k chemicals inside the tobacco cigie.
2. "Calming effect" of nicotine & ++. When "stressed", you smoked you "calmed"down. When "bored", you smoked you "stimulated". This is due to the anti-depressant agents inside the cigie.
3. Hand-To-Mouth (HTM) action. Smokers need such HTM to keep them "busy" and "occupied".
4. Withdrawal syndrome due to when lack of above 1. 2. & 3. Smokers best cigie of the day is the first-one upon wake-up. Why? Because when asleep, smokers' body is deprived of above-mentioned 1. 2. & 3., therefore during the sleep period the body is "suffocated" with such deficiency.

*** The HARMFUL part of the cigie is not 'really' the nicotine that are found inside the tobacco-leaves but the burning-smoke of the tobacco-leaves & the unknown 3/4k chemicals added into the cigie by Tobacco-Company to "enhance" taste and addiction. But you need the burning-smoke to effectively carried the nicotine to your lungs to provide 2.

During my battle-fighting initial 3-month quitting process. 1. & 2. was conquered. 3. was conquered on the 5th month. Aftermath, my sense of taste & smell came back (3 weeks after stopped smoking). Did not know cigie is taste so HORRIBLE until 3-weeks ago I tried 2 mouth-ful from a smoker-friend cigie. So glad to have quit cigie.

Many doctors who should know better smoke.

Many professors with bright minds smoke.

Even Lee Kuan Yew used to smoke.

No doubt about it smoking sharpens your mind and improves concentration. Look at Chow Yunn Fatt in God of Gamblers..smoking (and chocolates) keeps him at the top of his game.

To summarize, life is short la, people smoke just let them be. You think they dun know the risk meh? You take two or three breaths of second hand smoke must make a big fuss meh? BOH LIAO!

As an ex-smoker who quit 1 year ago. Here is what I feel about. I smoked 22 years before quitting.

2. "Calming effect" of nicotine & ++. When "stressed", you smoked you "calmed"down. When "bored", you smoked you "stimulated". This is due to the anti-depressant agents inside the cigie.
3. Hand-To-Mouth (HTM) action. Smokers need such HTM to keep them "busy" and "occupied".
4. Withdrawal syndrome due to when lack of above 1. 2. & 3. Smokers best cigie of the day is the first-one upon wake-up. Why? Because when asleep, smokers' body is deprived of above-mentioned 1. 2. & 3., therefore during the sleep period the body is "suffocated" with such deficiency.

*** The HARMFUL part of the cigie is not 'really' the nicotine that are found inside the tobacco-leaves but the burning-smoke of the tobacco-leaves & the unknown 3/4k chemicals added into the cigie by Tobacco-Company to "enhance" taste and addiction. But you need the burning-smoke to effectively carried the nicotine to your lungs to provide 2.

During my battle-fighting initial 3-month quitting process. 1. & 2. was conquered. 3. was conquered on the 5th month. Aftermath, my sense of taste & smell came back (3 weeks after stopped smoking). Did not know cigie is taste so HORRIBLE until 3-weeks ago I tried 2 mouth-ful from a smoker-friend cigie. So glad to have quit cigie.

My reasons for quitting is very SIMPLE:
I WANTED to, that is all. The rest like ciggie-cost, health, smelling etc... is just secondary.
As a smoker if you never seriously thought about quitting. All external factors are useless.

Congratulations to u!!!! At least youre someone courageous enough to quit this filthy habit, have to balls to admit it & finally get to see things clearly now.
I fear for those still trapped in this addiction when they dont even know whats the allurement of smoking to begin with.

please help abang to quit smoking..:D

http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v5/newsgeneral.php?id=468131

Singapore Malays Greater Smokers

By Zakaria Abdul Wahab

SINGAPORE, Jan 13 (Bernama) -- The Singapore Malays are greater smokers than the Chinese and Indians in the island republic, the government said.

The health ministry said Malays' smoking prevalence was more than double that of Chinese or Indians.

Malay men aged between 30 and 39, had the highest smoking prevalence of 49 per cent as compared to 19 per cent for Chinese and 12 per cent for Indians, the ministry told the Singapore Parliament.

In a written reply to oral questions released Wednesday, the ministry however said Singapore women smoking prevalence was low at single digit percentage, except for young Malay women recording 14 per cent.

The ministry said, more than half of women smokers were below 29 years old and their smoking rate had risen sharply from five per cent in 1998 to nine per cent in 2007.

Saying Singapore's smoking prevalence was among the lowest in the world, the ministry said concerted efforts by the National Smoking Control Programme since the 1970s, had reduced the smoking prevalence in the city-state from above 25 per cent to below 14 per cent currently.

However, there were still about 360,000 Singaporeans who smoked, the ministry added.

Due to that, it said the government must not be complacent in its anti-smoking drive such as keeping tobacco taxation high, frequent reviews and timely update of tobacco control legislation, banning smoking in public places, providing effective smoking cessation services and actively educating Singaporeans on the dangers of smoking.

It added that it also conducted ongoing campaigns targeting Malay men, which was in its sixth year, with reasonable success among its participants.

The ministry admitted that it was not easy to change the smokers' habit although they knew that cigarettes were harmful to them.

-- BERNAMA

now pple talking of third hand smoke.... smoke particles that stuck on the surrounding like walls n shirts.....

Congratulations to u!!!! At least youre someone courageous enough to quit this filthy habit, have to balls to admit it & finally get to see things clearly now.
I fear for those still trapped in this addiction when they dont even know whats the allurement of smoking to begin with.

Cannot BLAMED them (smokers) in this consumer-capitalist society. It is a demand and supply world. You just need to be more self-informed about things around you. They (smokers) are just less self-informed about this particular interesting product that they have been using all this while - Tobacco-Cigarette.

This is the ONLY product in the world that WILL caused proven: DEATH/ILLNESS/HEALTH-ISSUEs when used properly as prescribed by its producer(s) in the long-term medically. And yet why so many people still used and gov did not illegalised this, and producers still exist?
The ANSWERS is BENEFIT and INTEREST.

BENEFIT: to the Tobacco-Company as pure-addiction drive smokers to come-back and buy their product. They NEED NOT even need advertising. This more like Supply-Addiction cycle rather than normal Supply-Demand economics cycle. Marlborough (Philips Morris) is one good example - Coca-Cola / McDonald / Nike equivalent. Yet Coke/McDonald/Nike advertised like hell. But they keep adding more additives to enhance hidden addictive.

INTEREST: The greatest interest goes to the gov. 600%+ tax-levied ciggie made them laugh to the bank. Imagined doing nothing yet collect 600%+. Local such equivalent is Sg Pools. Next, is the Pharmaceutical Giants that forever churning out high-cost anti-smoking product that do not work. California gym is such equivalent (Load yourself with high calories fast-foods to burn in gym-club later).

So this is just a consumer-capitalist society.

Cannot BLAMED them (smokers) in this consumer-capitalist society. It is a demand and supply world. You just need to be more self-informed about things around you. They (smokers) are just less self-informed about this particular interesting product that they have been using all this while - Tobacco-Cigarette.

Im sure the smokers will be MORE INFORMED if they take an instant to cut the urge & comprehend the words on the ciggie pack that reads loudly "SMOKING KILLS".
If that's not much informed, then it has got to do with the excessive smoke in the smokers brains.