• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Smoking

Many doctors who should know better smoke.

Many professors with bright minds smoke.

Even Lee Kuan Yew used to smoke.

No doubt about it smoking sharpens your mind and improves concentration. Look at Chow Yunn Fatt in God of Gamblers..smoking (and chocolates) keeps him at the top of his game.

To summarize, life is short la, people smoke just let them be. You think they dun know the risk meh? You take two or three breaths of second hand smoke must make a big fuss meh? BOH LIAO!
Is it really smoking that sharpens your mind or keeps you alert?
Or is it the fact that you are holding a cigarette in your hand and breathing in smoke and can't really doze off?

I just wonder whether it's like a hunger pang or a thirst. Or is it more like a drug addict needing a drug or someone suffering from intense pain needing a pain killer.
Whatever it feels like, what I'm saying is that eating too much, drinking too much or even taking drugs only have bad effects on the person himself, unless he does something later.
But the act of smoking itself causes discomfort to others who find cigarette smoke irritating.
smoking is like drinking beer or having sex. it might be bad for health but it gives you pleasure and relaxes you.

like one brother said it makes you feel shiok!!! ha ha....

smoking is like drinking beer or having sex. it might be bad for health but it gives you pleasure and relaxes you.

That may be so, but drinking or having sex doesn't have a detrimental effect on a third party, unless you do something later or there are other circumstances involved.
The moment you smoke near someone, you have a detrimental effect on him, especially if he cannot stand cigarette smoke.
Hence I urge all smokers to have more consideration and thought for others.

Having sex gives pleasure to both parties. Smoking can meh?
Drinking beer may cause pleasure albeit a different one. I would say most drinkers derive pleasure from beating up their wives & blame it on the beer!!!!!!

You know, you don't have to respond to any of the posts here. Actually I think I have the right to tell smokers not to smoke (especially smokers I care about).

The discussion in this thread is really not for you nor indeed for myself either. It is for others who, based on the content of the discussion, would think twice about picking up smoking. It is for others, who are currently smoking, who might consider stopping.

I have absolutely no problems at all if you smoke or get your happiness from doing whatever gets you off.

I asked about the other kinds of drugs because you kept saying cigarettes is unlike them. But I have shown you research that shows that cigarette smoking is actually more addictive than them and have considerable withdrawal syptoms. It is telling how you question research etc. Maybe that's why you can ignore the health warning signs on cigarette packs.

The fact that I chose to respond is I despise the the propaganda against smoking. Insofar I have not challenge your concern, good intention and right in telling others not to smoke.

As a smoker me too feel I had the right to do what am free to do. Current smokers considering stopping or anyone thinking of picking up the habit has no bearing on me whatsoever, they all have their choice, they decide.

I dont want to question what resarchers do but half the time I dismiss their findings as utter rubbish. We smokers knows the nicotine will just give us an urge, unlike narcotics it make you crave for it follow by physical withdrawal symptoms.

For the record, tobacco companies are enforced to print health warning signs on cigarette pack but does that serve any purpose, did their sales go down, you tell me.

The fact that I chose to respond is I despise the the propaganda against smoking. Insofar I have not challenge your concern, good intention and right in telling others not to smoke.

As a smoker me too feel I had the right to do what am free to do. Current smokers considering stopping or anyone thinking of picking up the habit has no bearing on me whatsoever, they all have their choice, they decide.

I dont want to question what resarchers do but half the time I dismiss their findings as utter rubbish. We smokers knows the nicotine will just give us an urge, unlike narcotics it make you crave for it follow by physical withdrawal symptoms.

For the record, tobacco companies are enforced to print health warning signs on cigarette pack but does that serve any purpose, did their sales go down, you tell me.

I actually don't disagree with most of the things that you've written here. Perhaps someday you might just decide not to smoke- for whatever reasons. ;)

That is precisely my bewilderment!!! If you dont even know what is the allure of smoking, then why pick up this filthy habit in the beginning??? Are you too weak will to quit at your stage of addiction now?

What makes you think there has to be an allure when picking up a smoking habit. I took a puff when I was little, I feel good, simple as that. Dont question my will, filthy habit may be to you but not to me and many others and I had no intention to quit yet.

aiyah .... some people drink themselves to death, some fuck themslves to death, some gamble themselves to death, some eat to their death, some bore themselves to death ... aiyah .. to each their own lah ... make a mountain out of mole hill !!:o

I actually don't disagree with most of the things that you've written here. Perhaps someday you might just decide not to smoke- for whatever reasons. ;)

Yo..brud, try and live life to the fullest. No individual lifestyles are the same. It's a free world and I always believe I deserve the right to live the way I choose.

Dont bother about that someday my decison will be, reasons, whatever reaons, life goes no. Until that day comes, the answers will be there.

may i know the source of the report? looks like bullshit to me. Kid278 is more or less correct. There is craving intially, but pratically no _physical_ withdrawal symptoms at all. To compare smoking to heroin is a joke really.

Once ive made up my mind quitting is not difficult at all. Dont have the wrong impression that smokers smoke because they are addicted and cant get out.

Some are, but many smoke out of choice and enjoyment.

Do respect other's freedom to smoke. I dont drink, but i wouldnt call a drinker a moron.

The report says smoking is more addictive than heroin (i.e. success rate of smokers quitting is lower than heroin users). The report says that withdrawal symptoms form heroin is higher than smoking though. The latter point is to show that what that forummer claims about smoking having no withdrawal sympton is not correct.

As someone who successfully stopped smoking (congratulations!), did you not feel any withdrawal symptoms at all? Both physical and mental?

may i know the source of the report? looks like bullshit to me. Kid278 is more or less correct. There is craving intially, but pratically no _physical_ withdrawal symptoms at all. To compare smoking to heroin is a joke really.

Once ive made up my mind quitting is not difficult at all. Dont have the wrong impression that smokers smoke because they are addicted and cant get out.

Some are, but many smoke out of choice and enjoyment.

Do respect other's freedom to smoke. I dont drink, but i wouldnt call a drinker a moron.

As ex-smoker (for 22 years, 15-20 sticks a day) who quit a year ago. Let me tell you (smoker) something that you may not want to heard or like to hear. Smoker initially smoke out of choice but eventually smoke out of addiction. It is truth smoking (cigarette) is "more" addictive than heroine because of ease-of-access to cigarette. But the "high" and "shoik" derived from smoking tobacco-cigarette is maybe just 1% or less compared with heroine or lesser extent - opium. I smoked both H and O before for few weeks many many many years ago when I was deployed near the Myanmar border side of the Golden Triangle for a 2 months project. After back in sg, I continued to smoke cigarette but not H or O (reason: lack of ease-of-access), hence not "addicted". The physical and mental toil of the H on the human body is much greater & obvious than tobacco-cigarette.
During my smoking days, tobacco-cigarette's nicotine & chemical masked up a lot of things inside me. It masked up:
1. Increased metabolism rate - do not feel hungry syndrome (caused by nicotine) - smoker are mostly skinny.
2. Feeling "shiok" or "relax" or whatever good feeling you named it!(due to anti-depressant agent additives inside the cigarette).
3. Coffee + Cigarette combination (caffeine + nicotine: the best anti-depressant agents combination in the world! Drawbacks- slow death due to heart-disease forming capability).
4. Taste and Smell (that is why smoker are less particular about food quality and tend to eat lesser)
5.Cigarette + Life arrangement (Smoker tends to arrange: Cigarette + Sport, Cigarette + Dinner, Cigarette + Meetings, Cigarette + Holiday, Cigarette + Football, Cigarette + etc..., )

Like it or not. As long as your dependence on tobacco-cigarette is NOT stop. Your are always on the : Cigarette + Life combinations.

Also I used to tell myself before many times the "tomorrow is my last pack" verse, many times since 22 years ago though at that time I never admit to myself that I was addicted. Self denial days really.

Why I know so much? Simple because I am an ex-smoker.

i tried smoking during school days, but drop it due to financial reason (poor student, pocket money only 50cent per day:D ). stop since and no urge to pick up again although financially doing well.

i personally believe that tobacco is a herb like any other Chinese herbs. it can be useful if use it safely.

but i think that cigarette companies add a lot of junk in the cigarettes to make it more addictive and harmful. its not the nicotine that kill you, but those other things in the smoke that you inhale. so end of the day, smoking is still bad for your health. i cannot understand when i see parents lighting a cigarette when their children around, some even smoking with their baby around!

last but not least, i personally hate those smoke when someone smoking. i do not feel high after i inhale it. but feel choke and i hate it!!! i believe the smoke is toxic and smokers are killing other non smoker slowly too!!! gov love smokers because of the duty paid and huge bill by the sickness caused by the toxic smoke!!! ICA and MOH is laughing their way to the bank due to cigarettes!!!

PS. i want to stress that i got nothing against tobacco as i think its a herb and nicotine is a kind of medication.

If you want to quit smoking. try Chantix. It comes in a pill form and a 2 month worth of medications will more or less ensure that you stay away from the ciggies. The only problem is that it is expensive! Ask about it when you see your GP the next time.

Try Chantix before long. Does not work for me. Heavy side effect - depressive, panic-attacks, extreme nausea, fast heart-beats and thirsty. 2 months supply cost me $500+. No Hand-To-Mouth replacement therapy. Just a hype-advertising by Giant Pharmaceutical. In the end, only e-cigarette help me to quit.

As ex-smoker (for 22 years, 15-20 sticks a day) who quit a year ago. Let me tell you (smoker) something that you may not want to heard or like to hear. Smoker initially smoke out of choice but eventually smoke out of addiction. It is truth smoking (cigarette) is "more" addictive than heroine because of ease-of-access to cigarette. But the "high" and "shoik" derived from smoking tobacco-cigarette is maybe just 1% or less compared with heroine or lesser extent - opium. I smoked both H and O before for few weeks many many many years ago when I was deployed near the Myanmar border side of the Golden Triangle for a 2 months project. After back in sg, I continued to smoke cigarette but not H or O (reason: lack of ease-of-access), hence not "addicted". The physical and mental toil of the H on the human body is much greater & obvious than tobacco-cigarette.
During my smoking days, tobacco-cigarette's nicotine & chemical masked up a lot of things inside me. It masked up:
1. Increased metabolism rate - do not feel hungry syndrome (caused by nicotine) - smoker are mostly skinny.
2. Feeling "shiok" or "relax" or whatever good feeling you named it!(due to anti-depressant agent additives inside the cigarette).
3. Coffee + Cigarette combination (caffeine + nicotine: the best anti-depressant agents combination in the world! Drawbacks- slow death due to heart-disease forming capability).
4. Taste and Smell (that is why smoker are less particular about food quality and tend to eat lesser)
5.Cigarette + Life arrangement (Smoker tends to arrange: Cigarette + Sport, Cigarette + Dinner, Cigarette + Meetings, Cigarette + Holiday, Cigarette + Football, Cigarette + etc..., )

Like it or not. As long as your dependence on tobacco-cigarette is NOT stop. Your are always on the : Cigarette + Life combinations.

Also I used to tell myself before many times the "tomorrow is my last pack" verse, many times since 22 years ago though at that time I never admit to myself that I was addicted. Self denial days really.

Clap! Clap! One of the best posts I have seen in this forum this year. Up your reputation (if you dig this kind of games) :):):):):)

At least, you quit out of free choice & will power.

For me, I have just stopped for about 3 months or so now.

I agree it is the addiction - psychological addiction more than the physical.

Some claim willpower is everything.

I never tried what patch, what gum, what sweets.

In my case, very simple : boh lui leow ! $$$$$$

From Marlboro, Dunhill, Consulate, to Texas, Centurion ... M'sian ciggies (kenna fined twice !) & finally downgrade to LD (cheapest in mkt),

oh, health reasons of course play a small part, shiok feeling not as great as before, get dizzy & heart palpitations if drag too deep too long ..... still smoke on....

Until, realize no money ... or money not enough, automatically stop !

I must say, no withdrawal effects eventually....

Don't miss it ....

Truth is, b4 the final break, a few times, go back to buy another 'last' pack again.

Then the decisive moment - tak shiok oredy.

That was my last stick - last pack.

I agree with 'kid' though - it is individual right.
Love that show - 'Thanking you for smoking'.

Eventually, kid will quit or not quit for whatever reason. It is his life - his life to live.

I agree with 'kid' though - it is individual right.
Love that show - 'Thanking you for smoking'.

Eventually, kid will quit or not quit for whatever reason. It is his life - his life to live.

Wahahah "Thank You for smoking" ! That is one great movie all smokers should watch. I especially love the opening scene, "Do you think the big tobacco company wants their customer to die!? Funny thing about the show is, the main character is never shown smoking. In fact, I don't think anyone was shown smoking in the show. Just implied.

thank_you_for_smoking.jpg

Man, I wish I can put this poster up at the smoking area here.

That is a good show. After watching, felt i should make an effort to quit.
but sadly i'm still a smoker.

At least, you quit out of free choice & will power.

For me, I have just stopped for about 3 months or so now.

I agree it is the addiction - psychological addiction more than the physical.

Some claim willpower is everything.

I never tried what patch, what gum, what sweets.

Keep it going. Until you can actually smell cigarette smoke one miles away and find it disgusting. Then you are success in your quitting process. 3 months is already a great mile-stone. Your pure-cold-turkey way of quitting is indeed remarkable.! I would never succeed using this method. Indeed strong will needed.