• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Our Sinkie Food Heritage!

all sinkie chinkie food starting in the colonial era were cheap low ses food for peasants and coolies. only now that hdb flats are worth at least $696k and bungalows going for $6.9m, sinkies are glorifying their peasant and coolie origins, including the crap and swill that they feed on when they first arrive at the straits settlements. the rags to riches glorification process inevitably happens when children of peasant and coolie stock becum millionaires in 2 to 3 generations. it happens with tiongs in tiongcock too. money and wealth can glorify crap and swill in one genetation but can’t shake off the uncouth and uncultured behaviors and habits of lowly stock with 6.9k years and 696 generations of petty and small “hearts”.
It all summed up to familiarity

why do we Sinkies long for certain food whreas is quite horrid to others ?

I figure it’s simply cause we are just familiar , that’s it ...we can say the same for cheese to Ang Mohs , they grew with it and are familiar therefore seek it wherever they go

the Atas word is acquired taste

Hokkien Mee served in opeh leave and Hokkien Mee served on a normal plastic plate. What's the difference in taste? My dad always insists on getting his Hokkien Mee fix wrapped in opeh leave at the Original Serangoon Hokkien Mee at Serangoon Rd.
There is something about leaves adding flavour to food to which most Sinkies are ignorant

I had a minang driver in Indonesia , Minang are from Padang where Nasi Padang originated

he had this habit of buying nasi Padang bunkus in banana leaf but not eating at lest for half to one hour

on enquiry told me to let the flavour seep in , I didn’t bother much till I experimented myself ...true enough , it added a flavour and fragrance but I preferred mine steaming hot

pam balik, assorted buns, bak chor mee, beehoon (economic), beehoon (vegeterian), chapati, char kway tiao, chicken rice, chwee kueh, congee, dimsum, hokkien fried prawn mee, kaya toast, laksa, lontong, mee goreng, mee siam, naan, nasi briyani, nasi goreng, nasi kandar, nasi lemak, orh luak, peranakan dishes (assorted), prata (assorted), prawn mee, wanton mee, you tiao...

All night:
crab (black pepper), crab (chilli), dimsum, fish head curry, frog porridge, peranakan dishes (assorted), prata (assorted), TzeChar (assorted dishes)...

My food catering business sells nearly all of the food listed above. Should my catering business be given a UNESCO status too?

FYI , no such thing as mee goreng existing in the entire India , thus originally originated here where mamak found a way to use chinese fresh mee with their sambal ...and such sambal also does not exist in the entire India as well

Ah neh land eats rice, bread or pancakes. They didn't have the common sense to cook their dough in long pieces in boiling water.

As usual you are not only fucking stupid but arso a moron

if go by your logic ,chinks copy cat rice and it’s cultivation mah ? At least wet rice cultivation was introduced by kelings to this region

you surely know how to put your feet into your mouth , alright

Rice originated in India
Fresh evidence from dung of dinosaurs changes many conceptions
THE fight where and when rice originated has taken a new turn. An analysis of plant remains found in the dung of dinosaurs in Pisdura village of Chandrapur district in Maharashtra has revealed that dinosaurs had relished the staple much before humans added it to their diet. This pushes the origin of rice 35 million years back and raises the possibility that it had an Indian parent. Till now it was believed that rice originated about 30 million years ago in China.

It was previously thought that rice farming originally developed in China from where it came to India around 2000 BCE. But new finds at Rakhigarhi in Hissar district, Haryana show that local variety of rice was being cultivated more than 400 years before that.Nov 21, 2016

https://www.google.com.sg/amp/s/www...rice-to-only-6000-now/article3284453.ece/amp/

India had nearly 1,10,000 varieties of rice till 1970 and this diversity has been lost to posterity as a result of the green revolution with its emphasis on mono culture and hybrid crops. Now, only 6,000 species or varieties of rice survive. The destruction of the rice diversity of the country is a contribution of the green

Rice is grown in almost every province in China except for Qinghai. Three-quarters of the ricearea is planted with indica rice varieties and the rest with japonica rice varieties. Indica rice varietiesare generally grown in the south and japonicas in the north.

INDICA variety means from Indian variety mah ?

Singapore food culture is changing and not for the better. Old time foods like Indian Mee siam, Satay Beehoon, even Lontong is getting harder to find. The first 2 dishes are almost extinct.

I miss the satay beehoon at AngTengBehTao! Bedok 85 still serve it but the smokey taste in the kuah is lacking.
Indian mamak mee siam cannot find it for a long time already.

As usual you are not only fucking stupid but arso a moron

if go by your logic ,chinks copy cat rice and it’s cultivation mah ? At least wet rice cultivation was introduced by kelings to this region

you surely know how to put your feet into your mouth , alright

As usual, you are a fucking moron without the slightest ability to read. A pig has better reading skills than you have.

I made no mention about the origins of rice cultivation in my post. You went off-tangent on your own, ranting about rice cultivation because you were hallucinating.

紅糟雞麵線 aka Ang Zao Kway Mee Sua siboh?
No...it is a thickish and soupish clear broth with eggs and mushroom and chicken bits served with noodles that look like ee fu or yee mein..always at weddings in the 90s before they introduced the duck and garlic greens fried yee mein or mee pok

I miss the satay beehoon at AngTengBehTao! Bedok 85 still serve it but the smokey taste in the kuah is lacking.
Indian mamak mee siam cannot find it for a long time already.
Talking about Indian mamak mee siam , my fond memories of mee siam in tuck shop in primary school , think the plate was 5 cents or a something ..after which practically extinct ..couldn’t find anywhere

funny , you cannot find much of mee siam across the causeway , and if there is usually no Kuah...and since siam is Thailand and in its very name never found anyone selling mee siam in Thailand either , unless some one knows better

Learn to cook it yourself.

Did my bastardised version of satay beehoon before, got the ready-made kuah from City Satay, parboil the beehoon, cuttle fish, kangkong and pork. Drizzled some pureed pineapple on top.

I think I need to roast some of my own peanuts next time.

in malaysian restaurants where i am, they are starting to use yakisoba noodles instead of yellow noodles from asian suppliers and supermarkets. the jap made yakisoba noodles are more consistent, of better quality, taste better.
the hitam version is KL Hokkien mee, a reduced darkened stew with plenty of pork lard to boot.
KL hokkien mee is a total different do, and noodles are not your typical sinkie yellow noodles.
Best over a wood fire, with a dollop of sambal.. sinfully lard laden, but shiokadoo :cool:

@Froggy

can help shed some light?

KNN, mee siam mai hum, we all know where it originates from.:biggrin:.

Anyway, from our National Library Archives.::

History
The word mee siam is Malay for “Thai noodles”, where Siam was the term used for pre-World War II Thailand.5 The Singapore Free Press, in 1950, mentioned that mee siam was one of the foods sold by hawkers at the Esplanade to the hungry crowds out for a stroll.6

There is disagreement, however, over whether it is a local adaptation of an actual dish from Thailand or if the name arose out of a Malayan innovation that drew inspiration from Thai flavours.7 A Thai coconut rice noodle dish (kanom jeen numprick) that uses similar ingredients as mee siam, and the Bangkok rice noodle (sen mee krungthep) have been mentioned as the Thai inspiration for the dish. Mee kati is yet another Thai dish with similar ingredients as mee siam.8 Others indicate that the vermicelli used in the dish was originally manufactured and imported from Siam in the early 20th century, thus lending the name to the dish.9

Local food critic Sylvia Tan suggests that the dish is of Malay origin, while academic and anthropologist Tan Chee Beng thinks that the dish is wholly Peranakan, being an innovation of the Straits Chinese nyonyas.10 On the other hand, Mrs Lee Chin Koon, a well-known nyonya, identified it as originating from Thailand.11 Chef, author and food critic, Terry Tan and Tan Chee Beng argue that locally, its association with Thailand has long faded and those who consume the dish relate it to the Peranakans instead, with primarily the Singapore nyonyas given credit for its current taste. A concurring view is held by local sociologist Chua Beng Huat, who asserts that the dish is an example of hybridity in Singapore hawker food, incorporating flavours from Chinese, Malay, Peranakan and Thai cuisines.12

Did my bastardised version of satay beehoon before, got the ready-made kuah from City Satay, parboil the beehoon, cuttle fish, kangkong and pork. Drizzled some pureed pineapple on top.

I think I need to roast some of my own peanuts next time.

KNN,

You never add COCK-LES???
:thumbsdown::laugh:

all sinkie chinkie food starting in the colonial era were cheap low ses food for peasants and coolies. only now that hdb flats are worth at least $696k and bungalows going for $6.9m, sinkies are glorifying their peasant and coolie origins, including the crap and swill that they feed on when they first arrive at the straits settlements. the rags to riches glorification process inevitably happens when children of peasant and coolie stock becum millionaires in 2 to 3 generations. it happens with tiongs in tiongcock too. money and wealth can glorify crap and swill in one genetation but can’t shake off the uncouth and uncultured behaviors and habits of lowly stock with 6.9k years and 696 generations of petty and small mindedness.

KNN,

My time, the mama ride bicycle to sell guyu-kaya bread.
We plead with him for the chau-tah end pieces to eat plain.

KNN, now, High SES brats don't even eat the end pieces of Gardenia or Sunshine bread.
McDonald still their "die, die, must swallow".

KNN,

My time, the mama ride bicycle to sell guyu-kaya bread.
We plead with him for the chau-tah end pieces to eat plain.

KNN, now, High SES brats don't even eat the end pieces of Gardenia or Sunshine bread.
McDonald still their "die, die, must swallow".
i love ends of a loaf. hardy, tough, and when toasted, very crunchy. now you know i'm super low ses.