• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Our Sinkie Food Heritage!

I hate to tell you this

Tulang were originally rejects after all meat stripped away

So it was fucking cheap just to add flavour to soups

Than the fucking mamaks just figured a way to sell it

Just as they did with fish head , FYI no such thing as fish head in the entire india , been to every nook of South Asia
Yeah I read of this before when some foodie journalist interviewed the son whose dad created the Soup Tulang. But I think regularly eating this would send you to an early appointment with a heart specialist. LOL..

could be the late anthony bourdain who made famous the sinkie tulang soup to rest of planet. after going home he was so depressed and tulan that he could not enjoy it in nyc he decided to call it quits and set an early appointment with the afterlife. so yeah eating tulang will make you tulan and kill you.

Hokkien Mee served in opeh leave and Hokkien Mee served on a normal plastic plate. What's the difference in taste? My dad always insists on getting his Hokkien Mee fix wrapped in opeh leave at the Original Serangoon Hokkien Mee at Serangoon Rd.

opeh leaf gives it a woody fragrance and flavor. it’s like sucking warm bamboo juice out of steamed bamboo shoots when hot gravy of hkm steams up the dried up leaf.

could be the late anthony bourdain who made famous the sinkie tulang soup to rest of planet. after going home he was so depressed and tulan that he could not enjoy it in nyc he decided to call it quits and set an early appointment with the afterlife. so yeah eating tulang will make you tulan and kill you.

Anthony Bourdain epitomised everything a man should be with his cigs and beer. Another of my favourite is Nigella Lawson, the ultimate foodie porn sex Goddess MILF!

brits like nigella have a way of sexpressing their views on food. a couple that i like (they’re probably old and retired) appeared on tv like home cooks but they made fun of food with their creative language. “the naked chicken must have felt utterly molested and embarassed with a hand rub of oil and mineral salt.”

Actually bone marrow is one of the most nutrient rich animal parts to eat. The whole debate about animal cholesterol being good or bad for heart health is still changing as more and more research is debunking old diet myths. Our bodies make cholesterol all the time so it can't be bad, right?

Fuck.. posting this is making me crave for tulang. Maybe I should have it for lunch tomorrow

Helooo, stop your illusion lah

The kick in the mee goreng lies in adding a kind of mutton soup quite similar to Tulang kind of thingy

How I know ? In my free time I am quite Kaypoh , and actually stood next to the guy in the very kitchen lah

If donch believe ask the next time you buy mee goreng got add mutton or not ?if don’t just walk away

Blame yourself for this response.

The only illussion i have is go fuck youself and KNNBCJB.!!!

Dont bother to reply as the IGNORE button is very handy

:FU::FU::FU::FU::FU:.
:biggrin::roflmao::biggrin::roflmao::biggrin::roflmao::whistling::whistling::whistling::whistling:.

the penang style mee goreng at layang layang in milpitas is pretty good.
1605983953663.png

Fried carrot cake.
Main ingredient is Radish, not carrot.

You’re right.
Chai Tao, 菜頭 can be Ang Chai Tao or Pek Chai Tao.
Ang Chai Tao is our carrots, Pek Chai Tao is white radish.

This stall quietly opened in late 2016 at North Bridge Road Market and Food Centre and has slowly gained a modest following for having a killer soupy-style fried Hokkien mee.
View attachment 96585

I have this feeling it’s wet mainly because they used laksa beehoon instead of thin rice vermicelli. The prawn stock looks reduced after short period of stewing. I shall find out if the stock hits the sweet spot :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

PS, I believe it is the wanton mee in this NBR HC that I go to, the black sauce version tastes better when packed home, the noodles had more time to infuse the flavors.

the hitam version is KL Hokkien mee, a reduced darkened stew with plenty of pork lard to boot.
in malaysian restaurants where i am, they are starting to use yakisoba noodles instead of yellow noodles from asian suppliers and supermarkets. the jap made yakisoba noodles are more consistent, of better quality, taste better.

Singapore food culture is changing and not for the better. Old time foods like Indian Mee siam, Satay Beehoon, even Lontong is getting harder to find. The first 2 dishes are almost extinct. These foods were all invented and developed in singapore and not seen anywhere else in the world. Instead. we are getting in mainland china shit like mah lah hot pot. Stupid sinkies are flocking to all these mah la shit. as well, the quality of even standard foods like hokkien fried me has gone downhill due to other nationals cooking it.

yes, it's inevitable as more "pioneer" sinkie hawkers retire. young sinkies are not cut out like their parent hawkers. they pursue other interests such as upskirting, downblousing for boys and instagram, youtube, faecesbook, tiktok, telegram for girls. cheap foreign workers that these old hawkers hire to help will inevitably copy and take over with their fucked up methods. sinkie hawker food will never be the same again. it'll end up as shit and swill fit for swines.

Chwee kueh (known also as chwee kwee or chwee kweh) (Chinese: 粿; pinyin: shuǐguǒ; Pe̍h-ōe-jī: chúi-kóe; lit.: 'water rice cake') is a type of steamed rice cake served with preserved radish. Chwee kueh is a popular breakfast item in Singapore, Thailand and Johor. It is a part of Teochew cuisine, eaten in China, Singapore, Thailand, Johor, Malaysia and certain parts of Southeast Asia.
i have never seen CK in malaysia or thialand nor china
haaaa
maybe our CK have evolved to a distinct version

there's currently a craze about paofun in singapore now
go to any paofun stall at jalan besar area or kwaninn temple area all long queues...
is paofun uniquely singaporean dish?

$9 Seafood Soup With Rice At Jumbo’s New Teochew ‘Hawker Stall’ Like Atas Prawn Bisque
[IMG alt="
This pao fan (don’t call it porridge) is worth every cent.
"]https://www.todayonline.com/sites/d...ic/8days-images/m1b_1.jpg?itok=9NSpX06D[/IMG]
Chao TingThis pao fan (don’t call it porridge) is worth every cent.
It might have opened just last month with no fanfare, but Chao Ting has managed to win itself a good crowd. The no-frills stall located beside Zui Yu Xuan Teochew Cuisine — the newer, more glamorous sister of popular Teochew makan institution Chui Huay Lim Teochew Cuisine — is a fast-casual dining concept by the folks behind the two fine-dining Teochew restaurants owned by the Jumbo Group. And the stall sells pretty much just one thing: Teochew ‘pao fan’.
  • What is pao fan?
    1 of 12What is pao fan?
    “Pao” means “to submerge” and “fan” refers to rice in mandarin. It's a Teochew dish of cooked rice served in a broth. The key difference between porridge and pao fan is: porridges are rice grains simmered in a liquid until a soft, watery consistency is achieved; while in pao fan, the rice grains are steamed as per the usual rice you eat, then drenched in broth to serve. The traditional Chinese dish can be found from Shanghai to Hong Kong with slight variations. In the Cantonese restaurants of Hong Kong and Macau, you’re likely to find it served with a rich lobster broth (which you can also find at Summer Pavilion restaurant in Ritz-Carlton Millenia Singapore); while in Shanghai it's largely eaten as a home-style dish, with a vegetable broth. The Teochew style pao fan is known for its light broth (usually seafood based) and is what the offerings at Chao Ting are inspired by.
  • Luxed up rendition
    2 of 12Luxed up rendition
    Chao Ting says its rendition of the classic Teochew pao fan is one that is “presented with a touch of modernity and luxe”. The luxe element is apparent: unlike the usual fish soup base used in Teochew-style pao fan (such as the version here), served with pomfret slices and a fish stock broth — this incorporates pork, chicken and fish bones, and whole prawns. Whoa. The recipe apparently took the chefs of the Jumbo group some four months to perfect — they had previously tried using just plain fish stock but found it too light, and had also experimented with upping the ratio of the prawns but found it too overwhelmingly rich.
  • Boiled for over five hours
    3 of 12Boiled for over five hours
    The ingredients for the broth are boiled over five hours to achieve an attractive orange-hued soup. And while the Jumbo group has a central kitchen where most things are prepared, this broth is actually made fresh daily, onsite. Which means that some poor guy has to start cooking at about 6am each morning for the stall to start doling out the bowls by 11.30am.
  • One broth to rule them all
    4 of 12One broth to rule them all
    This broth is the backbone of the offerings at Chao Ting, which has a very compact menu of just three pao fans (big prawn, sliced fish, fried fish) — each with the same broth but with different toppings; and a side dish of crispy eel skin. The crowds here don’t seem to mind the small selection though: when we visited at noon on a Tuesday, there was already a snaking queue in front of the stall. The customers all look like office workers from the area, and while a few of them dined at the tables set out at the sheltered air-conditioned area in front of the stall, we saw quite a number cart back big tapow orders.
  • The look and vibe
    5 of 12The look and vibe
    The eatery is situated along one of the covered promenades within Far East Square. It's essentially a kiosk with chairs and tables placed in front of it — kinda like a very atas hawker stall. The sheltered dining area accommodates around 80 people.
  • How it works
    6 of 12How it works
    Thankfully, it’s a fast-moving queue. The average waiting time from queueing in line to getting your food is about 15 minutes. The stall is manned by three people who work pretty seamlessly: while one takes orders, the other two give the cooked rice and raw prawns or fish slices a quick boil in the prawn broth before proceeding to assemble the bowl which comes with fried egg floss and a side serving of crispy rice pops. Order, get yourself a buzzer, and collect your food when it buzzes. You can also help yourself to the condiments like chilli padi in soy sauce, and garnishes like fresh coriander.
  • Come early or risk being disappointed
    7 of 12Come early or risk being disappointed
    There was such a steady stream of customers at Chao Ting that by the time we were with our photo shoot around 1pm and were ready to eat, the Fried Fish Pao Fan ($9) was sold out. Hmph. A shame, as the golden-brown dory pieces looked nicely thick-cut and fleshy, unlike the thin, rubbery, fried-to-death fried fish found at some fish soup hawker stalls. Well, clearly the customers here know a good thing when they see one. According to Chao Ting’s PR rep, the most they’ve sold in a day is 130 bowls — and that’s all within the 3.5 hours that they are open. Why only open a miserable 3.5 hours? “We are very humbled by the overwhelming response so far and will definitely consider extending our operating hours should there be a demand from our customers. Jumbo is also always on the lookout for other suitable locations to bring our concepts closer to everyone,” says the PR rep politely.
  • Sliced Fish Pao Fan, $9 (8 DAYS Pick!)
    8 of 12Sliced Fish Pao Fan, $9 (8 DAYS Pick!)
    This offers a nice middle ground between the light homestyle Teochew pao fan, and the pricey lobster-broth variety served at fine Cantonese restaurants. The broth resembles a cross between an angmoh prawn bisque and Chinese prawn noodle soup, and offers the best of both. Delightfully sweet from the use of whole prawns, its flavours are rounded by a tonkotsu-like creaminess achieved through cooking down the pork and chicken bones. The four large slices of batang (mackerel) that comes with each serving are fresh and firm, and did not leave us feeling unsatiated. We only wish that new grains (fresh grains harvested early in the season which tend to have a higher moisture content and are thus plumper and chewier, with a texture akin to Japanese short-grain rice) were used instead of run-of-the-mill Jasmine rice, so that they can add more texture to the dish. Currently, the rice grains are a little soft and lacking in chew.
  • King Prawn Pao Fan, $11
    9 of 12King Prawn Pao Fan, $11
    The same soup, the same rice, but topped with two halves of a King prawn. Granted the crustacean was super fresh and meaty, and prawns are pricey (on our last check with Ah Hua Kelong, 1kg of their regular fresh frozen prawns cost $30). However, at $11, it just feels a little sad to be eating a bowl of rice with soup and… one prawn. Thankfully each bowl also comes with crispy rice pops, essentially grains deep-fried to a crisp. Plus a good hunk of egg floss made by deep-frying beaten eggs poured through a sieve so that they form a tangled mass of “floss” (which, though a little greasy, is well seasoned and tasty). All these frills add depth and dimension to the simple dish.
  • Add-ons
    10 of 12Add-ons
    You can pile on toppings of prawns ($5 per portion), sliced fish ($3), fried fish ($3) and even egg floss ($1). The not-too-salty Fried Fish Skin ($3), which comes in a little paper bag, also makes a nice side dish to either munch on its own or eat with the soupy rice.
  • Bottom line
    11 of 12Bottom line
    While we wouldn’t call this the best seafood soup we’ve ever had, the broth quite surpassed our expectations. Its punchy-yet-balanced umami flavours makes the pao fan rather addictive, and we can see why it’s popular with the cubicle rats here. It makes a very comforting midday meal when one is stuck in a cold office. Pity Chao Ting doesn't open for dinner, or on weekends.
  • The details
    12 of 12The details
    Chao Ting is at 132 Amoy St, S049961 (located within Far East Square). Open Mon to Fri only at 11.30am – 3pm (last orders at closing, or until sold out). www.chaoting.zui-teochewcuisine.com/en/home

From wikipedia:

Chwee kueh (known also as chwee kwee or chwee kweh) (Chinese: 粿; pinyin: shuǐguǒ; Pe̍h-ōe-jī: chúi-kóe; lit.: 'water rice cake') is a type of steamed rice cake served with preserved radish. Chwee kueh is a popular breakfast item in Singapore, Thailand and Johor. It is a part of Teochew cuisine, eaten in China, Singapore, Thailand, Johor, Malaysia and certain parts of Southeast Asia.

To make chwee kueh, rice flour and water are mixed together to form a slightly viscous mixture. The mixture is then poured into small saucer-like aluminium cups and steamed, forming a characteristic bowl-like shape when cooked. The rice cakes are almost tasteless on their own, but are topped with diced preserved radish and served with chilli sauce.

View attachment 96584
There use to be a Hokkien version of Chwee Kueh

much larger with less ingredients now totally extinct

believe Chwee Kueh , was a breakfast of cheap type developed just to fill the stomaches of coolie folks in earlier times

There use to be a Hokkien version of Chwee Kueh

much larger with less ingredients now totally extinct

believe Chwee Kueh , was a breakfast of cheap type developed just to fill the stomaches of coolie folks in earlier times
all sinkie chinkie food starting in the colonial era were cheap low ses food for peasants and coolies. only now that hdb flats are worth at least $696k and bungalows going for $6.9m, sinkies are glorifying their peasant and coolie origins, including the crap and swill that they feed on when they first arrive at the straits settlements. the rags to riches glorification process inevitably happens when children of peasant and coolie stock becum millionaires in 2 to 3 generations. it happens with tiongs in tiongcock too. money and wealth can glorify crap and swill in one genetation but can’t shake off the uncouth and uncultured behaviors and habits of lowly stock with 6.9k years and 696 generations of petty and small mindedness.