• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Our Sinkie Food Heritage!

but my entire 80s were overseas in godfotsaken lands far far away so I really donch noe

I remembered the mamak stall around Geylang Serai selling mee goreng using some kicap manis and tomato paste only, no red colouring yet in the 70s.

For me mamak mee goreng in my youth was from a pushcart ah neh , think it was less than 30 cents ...but those mee goreng had a distinct smell and all our recent does not have that aroma , I notice

in any respect the best I ever had was in Malusia , think Kedah ,while stopping for a break on our wheels , cooked over charcoal

For me mamak mee goreng in my youth was from a pushcart ah neh , think it was less than 30 cents ...but those mee goreng had a distinct smell and all our recent does not have that aroma , I notice

My haunt was around Langsat Road in the 70s, hence familiar with the mamak who peddle his food around Geylang Serai area :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

The Teh-Gu were rampantly chasing down the “illegal hawkers” peddling their wares in the early 80s... I helped a number of them to “kua chwee” also... when the plain clothes appear around the corner, we just alert those poor chaps who would hurriedly pack their gears...

I strongly believed it’s that charcoal stove produced that wok hei aroma... gas stoves even with the jet flames cannot replicate the smokey flavour.

23a957d611c8923aaaa1858864_original.jpeg

can’t find great fried hokkien mee anywhere in the world sexcept in sg. i think it’s unique to sg. also, i can find mee pok among viet teochew noodle eateries in sillycon valley, but it’s never as good as the sinkie version.

Try the North Bridge Rd hawker ctr.

Very friendly and service oriented.
$3/4, and with lard.:thumbsup:.

This looks good,,,its Nip food

Noodles topped with a towering flame: Sneak peek at Menbaka Fire Ramen
BY MAY SEAH

20 NOV 2020

The Kyoto ramen shop famous for setting its ramen ablaze is now in Singapore. We got a face full of flames and lived to tell the tale.

menbaka-fire-ramen-singapore.jpg

This ramen is lit. (Photo: Joyee Koo)
How much do I love my eyebrows?” I asked myself, as I sat down at the brand new Menbaka Fire Ramen counter. I mean, did I really need them? Eyebrows are pretty much just decorative, aren’t they?
If you’ve been to the original Menbaka in Kyoto or seen pictures or videos of the famous dish, in which your bowl of ramen is anointed with flaming green onion oil and a towering column of fire blazes up in front of your face, the same last-minute thought might pop into your head.

Fancy Japanese food with a sideshow of scorching hot flames? The famous Menbaka Fire Ramen from Japan is now in Singapore and we had a sneak peek at what you can expect when it opens to the public on Nov 24 at Cineleisure Orchard.

By this time, however, it’s too late to back out, as the chef will have given you a very specific set of instructions including, “Don’t leave your seat”, “Don’t scream” and “Don’t run away”.
Of course, if you’re here in the first place, you’re clearly a thrill-seeker. Or a pyromaniac.
Menbaka’s founder, ramen master Masamichi Miyazawa, is neither of those. He just really, really loves green onions.
When he conceptualised the dish 36 years ago, he wasn’t looking for theatrics or even a fire element, he told me. He simply wanted to find the best way to bring out the flavour of Kyoto’s famous “kujo negi” green onions.
Adding flaming negi oil to the green onion-topped ramen gives the already-flavourful broth an intense smokiness that makes the vegetable taste even sweeter and fresher.

Menbaka Fire Ramen founder Masamichi Miyazawa

Masamichi Miyazawa opened the first Menbaka ramen restaurant in Kyoto in 1984. (Photo: Menbaka)

It took him half a year to perfect the dish, and in the process, he singed off his hair and collected burn marks all over his arms, he said with a laugh.
Eating the ramen, though, actually comes with an extremely low element of danger, even if the fire looks dramatic, he said.
In the 36 years that Menbaka has been operating in Kyoto, there hasn’t been a single mishap. In fact, “The most dangerous thing that could happen is diners falling off their chairs in surprise,” he quipped.
Here in the Singapore restaurant, the first outside of Kyoto, extensive safety measures are in place. There’s a state-of-the-art exhaust that whisks the flames away after a couple of seconds. The counter is wide so that diners are at least one metre away from the fire. And the use of phones for recording purposes isn’t allowed at the counter, just in case people reach too close to the fire in their eagerness to capture the perfect shot.

Fire Ramen coming to SG 1

Diners will have to wear a protective apron while eating here. (Photo: Menbaka Fire Ramen)

Of course, the staff know that you came here to get that video, so they’re happy to get footage for you – there’s a row of selfie sticks behind the counter, where they’ll position your phone.
It was Master Miyazawa’s son, Shin Miyazawa, who came up with this idea. Formerly working in luxury real estate in Tokyo, he entered his father’s business and moved the restaurant into the social media age.
His dad wasn’t quite taken with the idea at first, Shin said, so he seized his chance when his father was in the hospital for a minor procedure, and installed the selfie sticks. That was when tourists began to propel the ramen-ya to international fame.
The father-and-son duo managed to travel to Singapore for the launch of their first overseas outlet.

Fire Ramen coming to SG 2

The signature Shoyu Fire Ramen. (Photo: Menbaka Fire Ramen)

So, what’s the fire ramen experience really like?
First, they set the stage with some jaunty music. Then, Master Miyazawa poured a small amount of flaming negi oil into my bowl, setting it alight. A bright, roaring plume immediately blazed to life. It was hot – my eyes teared up a little – and, for that brief moment in time, hypnotically mesmerising.
When the flame died down, I snapped back into my body as all the staff members applauded, closing the curtains on that little bit of theatre.
Were they applauding the chef’s prowess or my bravery? I’d like to think it was both.
So, I’ll never get to tell my grandkids how I lost my eyebrows in the great battle of Fire Ramen – but I did get to slurp up a hot, dirty, smoky bowl of ramen and an intense green onion experience like no other.
Menbaka opens on Nov 24 at 3.40pm at Cineleisure Orchard #05-03.

Try the North Bridge Rd hawker ctr.

edited:
Just realised you aren’t talking about Golden Mile FC. The You Fu HKM and Hainan HKM still lack the charcoal flavors. Prawn stock wise Hainan edges over You Fu, portion-wise You Fu bigger serving dollar-for-dollar.

That smokey charcoal taste with good prawn stock can only be found at Swee Guan (Geylang Lor 29) or Geylang Lor 29 HKM (396 EastCoast Rd).

Then again, Geylang Lor 29 tastes better when Alex helming the wok, the daughter only inherited about 70% of the flavor, the apprentice... just passable.

PS: will give the HKM at NBR HC near ICA a try.

mamak mee goreng with that distinct red colouring seemed to be a good contender for locally invented food! I think we can extend it to Tulang Merah too!
I believe those 2 dishes were invented by our local Mama hawkers. Every races love the tulangs including yours truly. During Malaysia Cup days, after the game, me and my uncles and dad would drive from Kallang stadium to Golden Mile HC for our customary tulang supper washed down with Tiger.

I spoke to a SHITCA and in general,,,ah nehs from Ah neh land do not like Tulang,,,they claim sexpensive and not value for money

Even the Malaysians marvel at our soup tulang. Last time got one Jiu Hu Kia colleague. Once a week he would buy 3 large packets of tulang takeaway and French loafs and drove back to JB to have a tulang feast with his family back home.

Just shows the type of ppl ah nehs are,,they even discriminate against their own,,just like Fuckeins...