• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Our Sinkie Food Heritage!

During Malaysia Cup days, after the game, me and my uncles and dad would drive from Kallang stadium to Golden Mile HC for our customary tulang supper washed down with Tiger.

We could have met before, either at old Kallang or Golden Mile HC :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Even the Malaysians marvel at our soup tulang. Last time got one Jiu Hu Kia colleague. Once a week he would buy 3 large packets of tulang takeaway and French loafs and drove back to JB to have a tulang feast with his family back home.
I hungry,,will have it for dinner tonight,,going to buy now

edited:
Just realised you aren’t talking about Golden Mile FC. The You Fu HKM and Hainan HKM still lack the charcoal flavors. Prawn stock wise Hainan edges over You Fu, portion-wise You Fu bigger serving dollar-for-dollar.

That smokey charcoal taste with good prawn stock can only be found at Swee Guan (Geylang Lor 29) or Geylang Lor 29 HKM (396 EastCoast Rd).

Then again, Geylang Lor 29 tastes better when Alex helming the wok, the daughter only inherited about 70% of the flavor, the apprentice... just passable.

PS: will give the HKM at NBR HC near ICA a try.

No, Not the GMFC beside the Army market, along Beach Rd.

This NBR FC is along North Bridge Rd,
between Blk 10 and Southbank Condo.
Yes, across the Rochor Canal , opposite ICA.

mamak mee goreng with that distinct red colouring seemed to be a good contender for locally invented food! I think we can extend it to Tulang Merah too!

It is said that Mee Goreng is a dish that best exemplifies the ethnic mix of Singapore during the colonial times. The yellow noodles are from the Chinese. The mutton and spices from the Indians. It has a Malay name and the bright red colour stems from the Tomato sauce which we have the British to thank for.

But what actually sets one Mee Goreng apart from the other? A few of the Mee Goreng hawkers I spoke to tell me that the power actually lies in the secret sambal which they use to add that special kick to their dish. No one would tell me what was in the sambal, but one thing is for sure, there is a definitely a generous amount of bright red food colouring involved!

Mee-Goreng2.jpg

Reactions: jw5
is chweekieh a uniquely sinkypura food?

From wikipedia:

Chwee kueh (known also as chwee kwee or chwee kweh) (Chinese: 粿; pinyin: shuǐguǒ; Pe̍h-ōe-jī: chúi-kóe; lit.: 'water rice cake') is a type of steamed rice cake served with preserved radish. Chwee kueh is a popular breakfast item in Singapore, Thailand and Johor. It is a part of Teochew cuisine, eaten in China, Singapore, Thailand, Johor, Malaysia and certain parts of Southeast Asia.

To make chwee kueh, rice flour and water are mixed together to form a slightly viscous mixture. The mixture is then poured into small saucer-like aluminium cups and steamed, forming a characteristic bowl-like shape when cooked. The rice cakes are almost tasteless on their own, but are topped with diced preserved radish and served with chilli sauce.

1605973668885.png

Interesting.

Fried carrot cake.
Main ingredient is Radish, not carrot.

Instead, the core ingredients of the cake are rice flour and white radish, which some call white carrot. The mixture is steamed, then cut into cubes and fried with garlic, eggs and preserved radish called 'chai poh'.

From wikipedia:

Chwee kueh (known also as chwee kwee or chwee kweh) (Chinese: 粿; pinyin: shuǐguǒ; Pe̍h-ōe-jī: chúi-kóe; lit.: 'water rice cake') is a type of steamed rice cake served with preserved radish. Chwee kueh is a popular breakfast item in Singapore, Thailand and Johor. It is a part of Teochew cuisine, eaten in China, Singapore, Thailand, Johor, Malaysia and certain parts of Southeast Asia.

To make chwee kueh, rice flour and water are mixed together to form a slightly viscous mixture. The mixture is then poured into small saucer-like aluminium cups and steamed, forming a characteristic bowl-like shape when cooked. The rice cakes are almost tasteless on their own, but are topped with diced preserved radish and served with chilli sauce.

One of the bestest can be found at
Bedok Interchange F.C.

It is said that Mee Goreng is a dish that best exemplifies the ethnic mix of Singapore during the colonial times. The yellow noodles are from the Chinese. The mutton and spices from the Indians. It has a Malay name and the bright red colour stems from the Tomato sauce which we have the British to thank for.

But what actually sets one Mee Goreng apart from the other? A few of the Mee Goreng hawkers I spoke to tell me that the power actually lies in the secret sambal which they use to add that special kick to their dish. No one would tell me what was in the sambal, but one thing is for sure, there is a definitely a generous amount of bright red food colouring involved!

View attachment 96582
the jiuhu version of mee goreng is more bagus, almost similar to the sinkie version. thus it’s not unique to sg. however, you cannot find sinkie version of fried hokkien mee in jiuhu. jiuhu’s hokkien mee is darkish, starchy, and yucky. too watery and too much black sauce.

edited:
Just realised you aren’t talking about Golden Mile FC. The You Fu HKM and Hainan HKM still lack the charcoal flavors. Prawn stock wise Hainan edges over You Fu, portion-wise You Fu bigger serving dollar-for-dollar.

That smokey charcoal taste with good prawn stock can only be found at Swee Guan (Geylang Lor 29) or Geylang Lor 29 HKM (396 EastCoast Rd).

Then again, Geylang Lor 29 tastes better when Alex helming the wok, the daughter only inherited about 70% of the flavor, the apprentice... just passable.

PS: will give the HKM at NBR HC near ICA a try.

A stall with killer fried Hokkien mee, no media attention and no long queues? This is a real hidden gem.
This stall quietly opened in late 2016 at North Bridge Road Market and Food Centre and has slowly gained a modest following for having a killer soupy-style fried Hokkien mee.

Read related: Best Fried Hokkien Mee in Singapore!

That said, this review comes with a fair warning: it is only for those who love very soupy-style fried Hokkien mee. If you like it dry or only with a little bit of gravy, you can click away now.

hmee.jpeg

the jiuhu version of mee goreng is more bagus, almost similar to the sinkie version. thus it’s not unique to sg. however, you cannot find sinkie version of fried hokkien mee in jiuhu. jiuhu’s hokkien mee is darkish, starchy, and yucky. too watery and too much black sauce.

Few versions.

Indonesian :

Indonesian Mie Goreng is incredibly flavorful and versatile, featuring noodles stir-fried in a delicious sweet and savory sauce. ... Kecap Manis, a sweet and savory soy sauce is the star of this dish. It is one of my favorite sauces and I look for every excuse to put it on everything.

indomee.jpg

sinkie style laksa is also unique. penang laksa adds tamarind in the gravy. and viet version (bun ho hue) has beef and bone broth without the coconut flavor. all others without the chor bee hoon are simply curry mee.

Few versions.

Indonesian :

Indonesian Mie Goreng is incredibly flavorful and versatile, featuring noodles stir-fried in a delicious sweet and savory sauce. ... Kecap Manis, a sweet and savory soy sauce is the star of this dish. It is one of my favorite sauces and I look for every excuse to put it on everything.

View attachment 96586
yes, i like the indon version too. better than sinkie version.

View attachment 96582
Helooo, stop your illusion lah

The kick in the mee goreng lies in adding a kind of mutton soup quite similar to Tulang kind of thingy

How I know ? In my free time I am quite Kaypoh , and actually stood next to the guy in the very kitchen lah

If donch believe ask the next time you buy mee goreng got add mutton or not ?if don’t just walk away

Few versions.

Indonesian :

View attachment 96586

I been to every nook of Indonesia for decades

And let me tell they don’t have fresh mee at all , they only use instant mee

Anything else you get in sinkiland is ain’t Indonesian

Even the Malaysians marvel at our soup tulang. Last time got one Jiu Hu Kia colleague. Once a week he would buy 3 large packets of tulang takeaway and French loafs and drove back to JB to have a tulang feast with his family back home.
I hate to tell you this

Tulang were originally rejects after all meat stripped away

So it was fucking cheap just to add flavour to soups

Than the fucking mamaks just figured a way to sell it

Just as they did with fish head , FYI no such thing as fish head in the entire india , been to every nook of South Asia