• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Olympics Disastrous Opening Ceremony

Some randon black kid looking like the 80s michael jackson is constantly in the spot light along with a mixed black gal. It goes to show how multi racial the UK has become.

Also aren't most of these 80s songs they are playing now produced in the US?

This is bullshit. One day before the Olympics they are still discussing about an Ah Neh kena gunned down cold blood by a British white boy.

Yes, I do agree that mass displays are associated with such countries and I understand that N Korea is particularly good for it as told by Madeline Slbright the former US State ec buy it does have its benefits. Beijing was really good as it was a mix of both and they did it at 3 levels - ground, mid ait and high in the air.

The British general public watching from home will certainly understand as well ad anyone from the commonwealth who are aware of the British history. That is why I stated it was more hisyory rather than entertainment.

uncle, u forget that good mass display events are only good in countries that have dictatorship leadership aka one party rule where majority of the population are either brainwashed or fear the authorities. just becasue u got use to seeing it on a local context it do not mean brits general public cannot connect to the opening ceremony.

There is no arguments that the Beijing Olympics ceremony was full of fakery. For a heaven's sake, it the home of counterfeits. The little girl who was the "darling" of the show turned out to have mimed as the real singer had crooked teeth but a great voice. The ethinic partiicpants turned put to be Han Chinese etc. Even the IOC buried the fact that their Gold Medal Gynmadtic sensation was underaged which their own netizens revealed by traching her birth date.

But lets face it it was a spectacular show. It was bathtaking, touched all the senses, opened the mind etc.

Danny Boyle is a very inclusive person and socially aware. He tried to bring in everyone and everthing and it did not gell. In fact ladt week, he had to cut out some performances as it overran in rehersals.

The cake despite a rich set of ingredients did not come out right.

Do agree on the icons.

2008 was terrible. Does the word "fake" mean anything to you?... fake fireworks, fake singers.. you name it, the Chinese will fake it.

When it comes to putting on a great show, you can't beat the Brits... Bean, Mary Poppins, Tim Berners-Lee, Bradley Wiggins. .... all world Icons. Ang Mohs are the best!

In real British history, these nigger children would be toiling in the cotton fields. LOL.

ytkYn.jpg

Niggers in aristocratic garb and wearing top hats? I thought Mr Bean was the joke, but this is must be THE joke of the Olympics village.

3mYZh.jpg

I thought it couldn't get more fake, but this white woman takes the cake! Holding hands with two niggers? C'mon, Danny Boyle stop distorting British slavery history. We not stupid, ok. LOL!

Q0C3q.jpg

Don't thank me. I absolutely enjoyed the tai chi demonstration, which is Shao Lin kungfu martial arts and is apt to show-case
it in all its glory in Beijing 2008, unlike distorting slavery history by having a fakie nigger aristocrat wearing top hat. That is the real joke.

chorut this cruxx is just a butt hurt faggot all because u praise china and refuse to listen to his explaination that somehow the UK is better simply becos it's the UK. It's the dog ass licking its white master mentality a very sinkie trait.

LOL! He's a sad case of the Pinkerton Syndrome.

Now that the opening ceremony is outmof the way, lets knuckle down and watch the greatest show on earth.

2008 was terrible. Does the word "fake" mean anything to you?... fake fireworks, fake singers.. you name it, the Chinese will fake it.

there was a fake queen jumping out from the heli.
there was a fake james bond jumping out from the heli, in fact land outside the stadium
there was a fake speedboat driver, footballer who pretend to control speedboat
there was a fake piano player pretending to play, blackadder.

Ang Moh no money. Really bad compare to Beijing 2008.

i recorded teh opening ceremony and saw it just now, absolutely fantastic! Very creative!

o, ya! ... ah loon shud invite dese fantastic n creatif talens 2 b sinkielan citizens ...

Danny Boyle is a very inclusive person and socially aware. He tried to bring in everyone and everthing and it did not gell. In fact ladt week, he had to cut out some performances as it overran in rehersals.

Scroobal,

Generally I agree with most of your commentary in this forum but I have to maybe disagree with on this one. The ceremony focused on what Britain really excels at, namely Pop culture and music. It also displayed typical Brit humor and quirkiness which is an inherent trait in the British people. It was never Danny Boyle's intention to make the spectacle a benchmark for comparison especially with Beijing which most commentators agree was one of the best Olympic Opening ceremonies.

Bearing in mind the financial cost was less than half that of Beijing, I thought in creative terms, it was more emotionally charged and filled with great music from my childhood.
I will concur with you that he is very much a socially aware film-maker (Slumdog, Shallow Grave, Trainspotting etc) and perhaps he may have over politicized some sequences such as with the NHS and the CND logo but these are embedded into the fabric of Brit culture. I also agree that much of the world-wide audience won't have had a clue what was going on in the "Industrial Revolution" segment but James Bond, Mr Bean, JK Rowling and Brit pop music has universal appeal and is well known to most of the planet. I also thought the lighting up of the Olympic cauldron was quite clever.

In summary, from a spectacle point of view, better than Barcelona, Atlanta and Greece but not Sydney or Beijing.
Let's hope the actual sport we see can better this achievement.

Couldn't bother to stay up to catch it last night....these opening ceremonies all more or less the same.
Now watching on telly....one of the better ones...solid machiam rock concert.
Compared to the Beijing one I remembered it was like the NDP...and Jackie Chan, Andy Lau all acting like calefares on stage.

Scroobal,
Generally I agree with most of your commentary in this forum but I have to maybe disagree with on this one. The ceremony focused on what Britain really excels at, namely Pop culture and music. It also displayed typical Brit humor and quirkiness which is an inherent trait in the British people. It was never Danny Boyle's intention to make the spectacle a benchmark for comparison especially with Beijing which most commentators agree was one of the best Olympic Opening ceremonies.

This is an opening of olympic not MTV music award, so care about british music? It is a stupid idea to put that in an olympic.
All rojak, they cannot even keep a line, when dancing, all in different pose, not synchronise at all.
Mr bean is great for the oscars, but this is not the oscars, this is the olympic.

You might enjoy watching it, that does not mean it is not the worse olympic opening ever.

Do agree on the icons.

it is not a job for movie director, in beijing, the party have to watch it, and veto anything they dislike, i think this case in london, danny given all the power, and it mess up the opening.