• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Malay ashamed of her own race's spending habits (Acceptable?)

Don't confuse talking bad with talking fact. I won't talk anything bad about Chinese maliciously, only factually. We Chinese (and Koreans) are accusing Japanese no facing up to facts of history. Where's our moral grounds if we avoid facts unflattering to ourselves and the past of our ancestors?

Suppressing unflattering facts in the name of glory and unity is CCP and PAP specialty, not mine.

totally out of context. The examples you gave are an implication that somehow chinese invented hostage taking and terrorism.

You always skirt the real issues when i call you out on it.

cooleo

Why Courts publish 2 different newspaper ads leh - installment prices for Malay paper and full price for Straits Times.

3.jpg

All ads taken from Berita Harian and Straits Times, 2nd March 2008

Examine the prices on these ads carefully. One set is taken from a Malay paper while the exact same ads, with exactly the same products, are taken from an English paper.

cooleo

Don't confuse talking bad with talking fact. I won't talk anything bad about Chinese maliciously, only factually. We Chinese (and Koreans) are accusing Japanese no facing up to facts of history. Where's our moral grounds if we avoid facts unflattering to ourselves and the past of our ancestors?

Suppressing unflattering facts in the name of glory and unity is CCP and PAP specialty, not mine.

I tot u were an ex-Poodle?

MBT himself say if you pay 30% of your income for up to 30 years,its affordable.
So the Papaya themselves say its OK.

There is nothing wrong in liking cars and needing to look good-after all what is life all about?

Easy credit is available wherever you go because the government allow it so.

I do not know the background of the original writer but she sounds very much like a Chinese and I suspect she is not a pure Malay.

OMG!!!

You are a gem indeed. OK so anytime a malay speaks bad on his race it cannot be a malay or he/she is a traitor to their race. That's why you're one of those ppl whom somehow think that a malay should support you whom i am assuming is a malay regardless of whether you're right or wrong. Btw how would you like it if a chinese did that to you? A chinese person and you get into a quarrel, u're in the right but cos the other person is a chinese and you're not therefore the judge who's chinese says you're in the wrong. You see my pt?

You simply don't even get the pt of this article. No shit whom doesn't like cars, jewellery, nice houses etc. The pt is it's not worth spending on them if you don't have the means to live a normal life which means able to afford the basic neccessities of life and actually able to pay off the loans. It was cos of all the credit the american ppl owed that led to the recent bubble burst in the us economy.

Didn't you read other forummers accounts of malays working as cleaners or security guards with low income actually driving cars and owning expensive jewellery and nice renovations? Malays actually ending up paying much much more for goods they pruchased from courts cos of the installments. Doesn't really make much economic sense and it shows bad financial management but hey all that's not important cos temporary fulfilment is the name of the game.

Yes obviously malays are not the only ones whom behave that way but then again the writer is writing on her own community. Why would she care about what happens to others? Let the filippinos and thais write about their own communities.

KNNBCCB

Why Courts publish 2 different newspaper ads leh - installment prices for Malay paper and full price for Straits Times.

u really do your homework well.
you can find alot of this catalogue at msia giant, courts, and many...

no_faith

Talk about overspending, there was once a contest on Class 95 seeking callers to call in and give a justifiable reasons why and what they intend to do if given a $10K loan. This mat called in and guess what he wanted to do with the money "To repay all his loans":eek:. Talk about money management. Even the DJ from their reaction you could sense their amusement at this Mat.
tis is amazing and amusing.
take loan to pay loan. nice one.:biggrin:

LonewolfAlfa

aiyah, let them spend all they want and keep them, their kids, grandkids chained in debts lah.

we still need some locals to jagar our condos, deliver parcels and pizzas, and to wash our cars.

totally out of context. The examples you gave are an implication that somehow chinese invented hostage taking and terrorism.

You always skirt the real issues when i call you out on it.

China invented gunpowder but the first recorded attempt of use of gunpowder as a means of terrorism was in 1600s England when Guy Fawkes attempted to blow up Parliament with gunpowder; he failed.

From gunpowder, Alfred Nobel of Sweden invented dynamite leading to bomb. The 1900s ROC movement to overthrow the Qing Dynasty was the first recorded use of hand-thrown bombs and bomb-strapped suicide bombers in public squares to cause terror and chaos, especially during public events like festivals officiated by Qing GOHs and VIPs. However, to be objective, the ROC activists were more focused and less indiscriminate than the random violence of modern Islamic radicals. They tried to target their Qing enemies as far as possible. Nevertheless, innocent collateral casualties are unavoidable with such operations.

The practice of hostage taking among the Warring States' royal families to extract political concessions out of each other was well documented. That was more than 3,000 years ago. Any example earlier than that? Anyway, the Warring States' practice of interstate hostage taking and counter hostage taking did contribute a measure of peace during era, as hostages were usually princes and princesses that couldn't be lightly risked for war. King of Qin state (later Emperor Qin Shihuang) got tired of all these, invaded and conquered all the states for an united imperial China.

The Chinese word for hostage 人质 (literally meaning a person of value) was widely in use 3,000 years ago, long before the word hostage was coined, even long before the English language was invented.

borom

.......so anytime a malay speaks bad on his race it cannot be a malay or he/she is a traitor to their race........you whom i am assuming is a malay ..... it was cos of all the credit the american ppl owed that led to the recent bubble burst ........Malays actually ending up paying much much more for goods they pruchased from courts cos of the installments..........temporary fulfilment is the name of the game........writing on her own community. Why would she care about what happens to others......

No, I am not a Malay (neither is my wife) but I have worked extensively in many countries in the region .

I did not say that anyone who speak bad on his/her own race is a traitor.Example is Dr Mahathir, (father is mamak?) and even dared to take on the Sultans.

As you said it yourself, the Americans have been living on credit for a long time.So my point is that its not a Malay trait alone .There are many other ethnic groups that exhibit similar behavior.

How about the many non-Malays who have been rushing in to buy properties at sky high prices. Today's ST (pg B21), reports that
"The Greenwich in the Seletar Hills ...nearly half of the units sold have been one-bedroom units of 603 sq ft to 721 sq ft ,priced from $657,000 to $850,000".
Imagine paying $850,000 for a one bedroom unit in Seletar area-where will the kids and maid sleep?. Rent to expats?-how many stay in Seletar area?

Now compare the greed of these speculators to the need of the malays for cars, nice clothes and furniture-who is right or wrong?

What the original writer failed to see is that cars are expensive because of government policies.. Take away the ARF,PARF,road tax,COE,ERP ect2 and you will see the real price.So its the government policies that are as much to blame. Just look at our neighbors,(eg Malaysia,Brunei) where a clerk can easily afford a small car (eg Honda Civic)-because there is no ARF,COE, ERP ect2.

whoami

Woah woah firstly no need to get defensive.

No lah. Just find it strange that u never been to a Chinese Physician when u are so defensive over ur own race.

Yeah talking about chinese ppl's postitive side rather than the negative side. That's right. Do you notice you are probably the only minority here that talks about the positive side of the chinese rather than the negative? Doesnt that make u feel happy? Rather than passing negative remarks or criticism?

I mean you have to look at the complaints objectively and more often that not they are very minor like aunty didn't smile at him in a shop or a small kid called him a name. :rolleyes: yet ignore facts like there are no chinese racist gangs like the kkk that will insult them or even assault them simply for not being chinese. yet don't you find it ironic that you rather have chinese neighbours cos their hard working attitude would rub off on your children and *shudder* you want them to learn mandarin when it's considered uncool, yet most of the time when ppl post here they would prefer malay neighbours instead? I dont know abt others. But I feel ok with Chinese neighbours. When come 7th mth, burning hell money, they know what they should not do especially when his neighbours are not Chinese. Oh ya. I dont on my radio loudly during prayers call ya.

Btw just for the record are you a pure malay, mixed chinese-malay or a chinese pretending to be a malay? Pure Malay lah. My mandarin also so so. I cant write or read but can roughly understand coloquial mandarin.

Someone in here was actually thinking it's impossible for a pure malay to write such an article and you mentioned you wanted your children to learn mandarin and you can understand mandarin and in some ppl's minds that's like impossible. :rolleyes: Impossible? Try me. Throw me some Malay words and I will interprete for u in English. Me or my children learning Mandarin is all about survival. Ming pai mah? :rolleyes:

Nope never been to a chinese physician before even though i am pure chinese. Jiak kang tang i guess. Ya..sure..:rolleyes:

Well a chinese studying in a madrasah might be a muslim, i am sure you know some chinese are muslims. OK.

OK i gave you that example of malay visiting chinese physician vs chinese studying in madrasah as an example of a race that's in a setting that's totally foreign to him for lack of a better word. You do know that although sg is multi racial there are some places where it's very unusual or unlikely to have another race in there. Something like a chinese, malay or even indian in a sikh temple for eg. Gosh! I didnt know going to a Chinese Physician was a weird thing to do. I mean I am going there for treatment. Physician can also speak English. So what so unusual? I suggest u should move around in ur neighbourhood more often. Dont spent too much time at the PC ya. :biggrin:

Obviously in such a setting well i would say ppl wouldn't be so sensitive compared to if it was another setting. Hence a chinese studying in a madrasah should expect malays to make fun of his race correct? Children are children I suppose. But I cant speak on behalf of any Chinese or Indian Muslim cos I am not.

Okay i rephrase it since he's in real real malay territory well he shouldn't expect to be so sensitive correct? In a Muslim territory lah....especially Madrasah.

Just like in new york for eg ppl are more sensitive to black or african ppl compared to singapore. Racism are everywhere. Including little red dot and at this forum too.

Like I said, spent more time outside ur home. Oh ya. Dont tell me u havent seen malay practising Tai Chi at void deck? Dont tell me u never seen malay at Free Chinese hospital seeking free medical treatment? Oh ya. I bet u never seen Chinese queuing for free porridge at the Mosque during fasting mth? :biggrin: I bet u will say they are Chinese Muslims. :rolleyes:

No, I am not a Malay (neither is my wife) but I have worked extensively in many countries in the region .

You see you didn't get my pt.

How come anyone that speaks bad of the malay race cannot be malay? What made you come to that conclusion?

She's not talking bad about her race but saying how they spend is simply bad finanical management that will be their down fall in future. There's no need to bring in examples from other countries becos even if others do it doesn't make you less guilty or make it more acceptable.

It's like saying since ang mohs take drugs it's okay for us to take drugs too. Doesn't cut it at all.

No lah. Just find it strange that u never been to a Chinese Physician when u are so defensive over ur own race.

I never been to a chinese physician so what's your point again?

Doesnt that make u feel happy? Rather than passing negative remarks or criticism?

It doesn't it just confirms to me that there are tons and tons of minority whiners around here and you are the only exception. So care to tell me why do you choose not to focus on chinese shortcomings? I mean everywhere and in this forum every minority loves to talk about racism this and that without ever mentioning the good things

I dont know abt others. But I feel ok with Chinese neighbours. When come 7th mth, burning hell money, they know what they should not do especially when his neighbours are not Chinese. Oh ya. I dont on my radio loudly during prayers call ya.

Ok done deal

Pure Malay lah. My mandarin also so so. I cant write or read but can roughly understand coloquial mandarin.

Impossible? Try me. Throw me some Malay words and I will interprete for u in English. Me or my children learning Mandarin is all about survival. Ming pai mah?

Hey don't shoot the messenger. I'm just merely stating how come ppl react like the guy i replied to before this post. He couldn't believe a malay would write such an article criticizing her own race. I bet he's the sort of person that thinks why would a malay learn mandarin. In another thread i was saying have malays learn mandarin since they are a minority here and it's better for them to communicate with the majority race but screwball the ex mod wouldn't hear of it cos singapore is considered malay land (implying that all non malay singaporeans are not true singaporeans) and why should the malays learn chinese despite being the minority. Glad that you can see the situation.

Ya..sure..

what ya sure? I have never visited a chinese physician what's your problem?

Gosh! I didnt know going to a Chinese Physician was a weird thing to do. I mean I am going there for treatment. Physician can also speak English. So what so unusual? I suggest u should move around in ur neighbourhood more often. Dont spent too much time at the PC ya.

My neighbourhood don't have chinese physican leh. :rolleyes: What type of neighbourhood has that? Whampo? Btw you don't see i'm using an example like there are some places where it's solely or mostly caters to a particular race. That's only an eg. :rolleyes:

Children are children I suppose. But I cant speak on behalf of any Chinese or Indian Muslim cos I am not.

In a Muslim territory lah....especially Madrasah.

so u see you also agree that if a non malay especially a chinese is inside malay territory he shouldn't be so sensitive correct?

Including little red dot and at this forum too.

Yeah no shit sherlock but there's differences in the degree of racism and sensitivity.

Like I said, spent more time outside ur home. Oh ya. Dont tell me u havent seen malay practising Tai Chi at void deck? Dont tell me u never seen malay at Free Chinese hospital seeking free medical treatment? Oh ya. I bet u never seen Chinese queuing for free porridge at the Mosque during fasting mth? :biggrin: I bet u will say they are Chinese Muslims. :rolleyes:

Nope never seen malay practising tai chi. Only know old ppl do it at the park.

Oic so mosque also welcome non muslims to go there to get free food? Okay we learn something new. What's your point again?

Malay neighbours giving and sharing kueh-kueh during Ramadan evenings, especially on Aidilfitri day, that's common (though getting less and less common with pace of modern living, less and less homecooking). Malay porridge at mosques? That's news to me; didn't know Malay cook porridge.

Velma

There used to be an old joke that some of them Malays will always buy all the cantik furnitures from Courts, show them off during Hari Raya and then let Courts repossess the furniture after Hari Raya.

cooleo

There used to be an old joke that some of them Malays will always buy all the cantik furnitures from Courts, show them off during Hari Raya and then let Courts repossess the furniture after Hari Raya.

The joke keep recurring, so it gets less funny. Lol

Velma

It was a common joke among the older generation. I heard this joke from my parents, who do not fancy the Malays because of the shit they face in Mudland just because you are Chinese and always seen as 'pentatang'. That was my first information about the Malays when I was a kid.

My Malay friend was kind of a unique case, when he was young and rebellious teenager, spent lots of money on cigarettes and all those branded teenage stuff. After NS, he matured and started working, then slowly venturing into playing music (can't deny Malays are talented in music) and then even setting up own business. Funny thing is, despite being from a younger generation, he does not desire to own a car cause he recognize its liability. Have to admit again, he is not common among Malays.

Traditionally, Malay homes are the neatest and cleanest in Singapore, regardless of how humble or how expensive the furniture. Comparable to Japanese home standards. Chinese and westerner homes usually accumulate stuffs that inadvertently become junks but kept for keepsake.

Traditionally, my Malay friends' homes are the neatest and cleanest in my block and i cannot speak for all the malays in singapore as i do not know all of them , regardless of how humble or how expensive the furniture. Comparable to Japanese home standards. Only a Chinese like me and westerner homes usually accumulate stuffs that inadvertently become junks but kept for keepsake cos since i am a chinese and my house is like that therefore i love to generalize all chinese homes like this. Take note i only generalize bad things when it comes to chinese ppl and generalize good things on non chinese ppls.

There i fixed it for you.

It was a common joke among the older generation. I heard this joke from my parents, who do not fancy the Malays because of the shit they face in Mudland just because you are Chinese and always seen as 'pentatang'. That was my first information about the Malays when I was a kid.

it's understandable since in mudland the malays are really really racist and there is a case against that sort of racism unlike singapore. Yet i notice you don't seem to harbor that sort of hatred simply cos your parents suffered it.