• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Malay ashamed of her own race's spending habits (Acceptable?)

One thing that I laughing is those buying OPC car and modifiy it looking like sport car. No money buy can but spent thousand $$$$ add this and that on the car.
Worst I see those pump $5 or $10 to top up petrol. How far can it go?
Many are low IQ or poor in math. Installment 2~3 year to pay for furniture and electric appliance in the end have to pay more than 200% of the actual price.
Many are slave to car and credit card.

Not all. Some are nice. Most of the today malays, they have advance their lifestyle and are more open minded. You can see very obvious, when u go neighboring country. Some of them doing quite well in business. some of them likes to mix with the chinese as well instead of their own colors...

oic btw that malay that ketok you did he ever ketok other malays before or just non malays?

manokie

One thing that I laughing is those buying OPC car and modifiy it looking like sport car. No money buy can but spent thousand $$$$ add this and that on the car.
Worst I see those pump $5 or $10 to top up petrol. How far can it go?
Many are low IQ or poor in math. Installment 2~3 year to pay for furniture and electric appliance in the end have to pay more than 200% of the actual price.
Many are slave to car and credit card.

Well..

As least they are supporting the Sg economy by their expenditure..

As long as they work hard at work and keep working for a low pay, they should be fine!

whoami

Overpriced Malay hawkers don't chop Chinese carrot. They chop everybody including Malays. But Malay customers have the inherent advantage over Chinese customers' psychology weakness. One rice and one meat, even one rice and one veggie, that's all, boleh dan cukup, nothing to be embarrassed about. Chinese customers usually respond to the standard hawker sales question "anything else?" by ordering something more. Malays who order more know the portion and the price and can afford it and finish it, got wallet and appetite big enough for it without complaint.

I second that, Ip Man. :biggrin:

Theres this stall at the new Geylang pasar by the name of "Sinar Pagi" nasi padang. They dont care a damn whether u are a Malay of Chinese. Really cut throat. And theres this nasi brani stall "Brani Express" selling minimum $5 per plate. And theres another brani stall, to top up rice, minimum $1. And remember ppl hor, those prices applicable to all races. Yes including Malays too. So if u ppl think that they cut throat then avoid those stalls and dont come here later and complain like as though they are the only 1 kena short change. :rolleyes:

Talking about foods, not much of a chance for Chinese hawkers to overcharge Malays. They don't even eat Chinese foods to begin with, even if free.

Talking about non-food goods and services, not much of a chance too. These are pretty standard with narrow pluses and minuses even when it comes down to bargaining, whether Malay or Chinese as vendor or customer.

whoami

Talking about foods, not much of a chance for Chinese hawkers to overcharge Malays. They don't even eat Chinese foods to begin with, even if free.

Talking about non-food goods and services, not much of a chance too. These are pretty standard with narrow pluses and minuses even when it comes down to bargaining, whether Malay or Chinese as vendor or customer.

Hmm....I can understand mandarin. So when theres conversation between the Chinese trader and a Chinese/Malay/Indian consumer in the midst of bargaining, I know what is going on, and who get the best price :rolleyes::biggrin:

whoami

Frankly I can give u a long list of items where Malays/Indians can easily kena shortchange. Fm seeking medical treatment at GP or Chinese physician to buying sundry goods. If there are prices stated there, most likely the Non-Chinese would get poor quality one. If there are no prices stated there, lagi worst. :o And tell us which race control most business here? So obviously the minorities kena short change lah.

Anyway its the norm everywhere. Be it here or Msia. Its pretty common that certain race sure favour their own race. How can certain race dont favour their own race and favour the other races???:confused::confused:

Exactly, it's not about Chinese or Malay. It happens everywhere around the world with same races, same languages same cultures, same religions, easier to bargain for a better deal than not of the same.

whoami

Exactly, it's not about Chinese or Malay. It happens everywhere around the world with same races, same languages same cultures, same religions, easier to bargain for a better deal than not of the same.

Yup! Speaking fm the Malay point of view, I do agree with ur above stmt i.e. if its before 9/11. :o

Sigh. I can only advise my Malay and Muslim friends, not to take 9/11 as a psychological baggage. Nobody is blaming the innocents uninvolved. Hostage taking as a matter of national policy was invented in China during the Warring States, some 3,000 years ago. Terrorism as in bombing innocents for political leverage was invented long ago in China more than 100 years ago when ROC tried to overthrow Qing Dynasty, or perhaps somewhere else even longer before.

whoami

Look at the ppl complaining here. Always chinese say mlaay treat them worse.

Btw malays are known to be more united than chinese what.

In what way Malay treat the Chinese worst? Do u know Malays are at the Chinese mercy? :biggrin:

Malays just like any minorities, tends to be united in 1 way or another. But if i tell u I rather have Chinese neighbours, or Christian neighbours (with the exception of ILOVEPORK, TEEKEE), would u believe me? I not 3 leg here hor.

whoami

Sigh. I can only advise my Malay and Muslim friends, not to take 9/11 as a psychological baggage. Nobody is blaming the innocents uninvolved. Hostage taking as a matter of national policy was invented in China during the Warring States, some 3,000 years ago. Terrorism as in bombing innocents for political leverage was invented long ago in China more than 100 years ago when ROC tried to overthrow Qing Dynasty, or perhaps somewhere else even longer before.

True. But u know..its so difficult to change those stereotype, mindset ya... I totally given up on them. Just imagine, in the middle of acupunture, the acupunturist already badmouth my race and religion to another Chinese customer. :rolleyes: My advise to my Chinese frds here. Some Malays do understand Mandarin. So please be more discreet when badmouth other races/religion ya.:rolleyes:

eh pls lah why u give chinese examples? You're implying that the chinese were the ones that invented hostage taking and bombing innocents. :rolleyes: Just say it's a part of human nature.

Basket man seriously you and screwball are one of the reasons why many ppl including me feel chinese are the most disunited race. Nothing wrong with that but u're contributing to the reasons why so many chinese here feel they are short changed by malay stall owners for eg. I for the life of me and i am sure many chinese here could never imagine a malay talking bad about his/her race like this.

In what way Malay treat the Chinese worst? Do u know Malays are at the Chinese mercy? :biggrin:

Malays just like any minorities, tends to be united in 1 way or another. But if i tell u I rather have Chinese neighbours, or Christian neighbours (with the exception of ILOVEPORK, TEEKEE), would u believe me? I not 3 leg here hor.

Why would you rather have chinese neighbours rather than malay neighbours?

You need to give reasons and open the eyes of ppl whom don't know.

True. But u know..its so difficult to change those stereotype, mindset ya... I totally given up on them. Just imagine, in the middle of acupunture, the acupunturist already badmouth my race and religion to another Chinese customer. :rolleyes: My advise to my Chinese frds here. Some Malays do understand Mandarin. So please be more discreet when badmouth other races/religion ya.:rolleyes:

Can share the story what happened?

I imagine u were going there for accpuncture inside the dr's office so how could he be talking to another customer?

Anyway you know chinese medicine is one of the most cheena among the chinese community. Unlike the baba or english speaking community. They are of course extreme chinese and you being a non chinese would really stick out like a sore thumb.

It's the same as a chinese studying in a madrahsah i guess. The malays in there are obviously pretty religious even more so than other malays and they would promote their own culture and speak malay rather than english.

eh pls lah why u give chinese examples? You're implying that the chinese were the ones that invented hostage taking and bombing innocents. :rolleyes: Just say it's a part of human nature.

Basket man seriously you and screwball are one of the reasons why many ppl including me feel chinese are the most disunited race. Nothing wrong with that but u're contributing to the reasons why so many chinese here feel they are short changed by malay stall owners for eg. I for the life of me and i am sure many chinese here could never imagine a malay talking bad about his/her race like this.

Don't confuse talking bad with talking fact. I won't talk anything bad about Chinese maliciously, only factually. We Chinese (and Koreans) are accusing Japanese no facing up to facts of history. Where's our moral grounds if we avoid facts unflattering to ourselves and the past of our ancestors?

Suppressing unflattering facts in the name of glory and unity is CCP and PAP specialty, not mine.

guy-uninterrupted

talkin abt malay stall shortchanging other races i beg to differ with one example of a stall in t payoh blk 70somthing.

A plate of Nasi Lemak comes with two sometimes three mackeral(selar kuning), lots of ikan bilis( and not the three litle ones you get at changi village)a whole fried egg(not a triangular little omelette) cucumber and a nice dollop of sambal chilli.

To my Chinese friend she charges $2/- as this customer is quite a regular.
I thought if i be a regular customer i should be given the same price. But no..even with my Malay looks i get charged 2.50 same as others.(btw they use good quality rice not the fat starchy type.)

So lets not generalise and accuse all of them because you may have had your unhappy experience.

Talking Donkey

Alfrescian (S)
I do agree tat the quite a number of malays family here are living beyond their means,just go to any pawnshop near my place in geyland serai and you can see many malay ladies pawning their gold at the 4 pawnshop,
From 1990 to 2002 there were many malays from spore and msia under my supervision and during hari raya always got invited to their house makan longtong and kueh and i observe tat their hdb renovation is quite impressive,

no wonder my reno contractor friend told me making money from the malays is as easy as abc,their biggest client..even their renovation is on loan from bank.
also their are one hell of a big families from spore to penang.
just the other day i went for a walk along changi beach and i saw big group of about 50 malays kids and aldults playing in the water and i saw a friend in there and he told me all are relative..wow...they hve very high sex drive..the gov should educate them on family planning and should give them free 24hrs supply of condom.
most malay dun know mandrain or hokkien,they are too plain lazy(no offence intend) to try and pick up another langauge..
even the gangster malays i know of speak to their chinese boss(i was once at redhill hawker centre at night with their boss eating and when these few golden hair monkeys with tatoo speak to him both the ah beng bosss and the monkeys in half past six english.:wink:
be more careful of the indians some do know hokkiens especially those in penang and klang.

rodent2005

I second that, Ip Man. :biggrin:

Theres this stall at the new Geylang pasar by the name of "Sinar Pagi" nasi padang. They dont care a damn whether u are a Malay of Chinese. Really cut throat. And theres this nasi brani stall "Brani Express" selling minimum $5 per plate. And theres another brani stall, to top up rice, minimum $1. And remember ppl hor, those prices applicable to all races. Yes including Malays too. So if u ppl think that they cut throat then avoid those stalls and dont come here later and complain like as though they are the only 1 kena short change. :rolleyes:

Hello friend, "cut throat" usually means low prices leh.