• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Khaw said 70-years old HDB can appreciate in value!

Yes, when a person starts providing comparison data information to rationalise and account, others should put on the 'WHY' thinking cap and be wary of the hidden agenda behind the act. The situation of public housing in Singapore today is the result of much behind-the-scene manipulations to enrich a seLEEcted and LEElated few. Singaporeans are enticed, entraped and made to endure and suffer. How long more is this going to go on? Is this just the beginning of what is 'worst to come'? Do Singaporeans have a choice? Only the concerted effort of individuals can unlock the answers. Singularity ... the Big Bang.
Everything goes up will come down. I did better sell off my 700k+ flat b4 this bubble got blown off. Who knows what will happen after GE? I may be able to get similiar flat way down below this price lol

The prices of HDB flats will come down regardless of who wins at the next GE. HDB, regardless of the ruling party, will have to try and prop up the property market in Singapore. It's for the good of the people and the country. There is no two ways about it. The house/flat is the average Singaporean's biggest visible commitment in his/her life. This is and could also be the ruLEEr's Waterloo.

HDB issues has always been a vote winning ticket.

Last time they even said if your constituency is opposition, your HDB flat will lose value and lose priority when come to upgrading.

And now almost all upgraded ppl will think nothing could threat them fr voting oppies.
We spoke too soon, they came up with HIP!
Lai lei, who vote my party will be given priority HIP. The threat story nv ends...

You forgot the other costs that come with ownership. What about renovations?

When my wife and I got our BTO many years ago, we spent about $15000 on renovations and furniture. We didn't have much money then. For renovation, we simply ordered decent tiling, installed grills, had the walls painted and installed basic kitchen cabinets. We left the toilet tiles as they were.

There's no need for sinkies to spend $50,000 on renovations. If they choose to, they can't fault the PAP for that.

Yes., This time, it will involve all HDB residents and all constituencies. It's no more just only my or your issue. It's now a national issue of OUR concern.

When my wife and I got our BTO many years ago, we spent about $15000 on renovations and furniture. We didn't have much money then. For renovation, we simply ordered decent tiling, installed grills, had the walls painted and installed basic kitchen cabinets. We left the toilet tiles as they were.

There's no need for sinkies to spend $50,000 on renovations. If they choose to, they can't fault the PAP for that.

You so rich and such a man of mean...you can qualify for a BTO ????

Khaw can jolly well go and eat shit jiak sai! Based on my simple layman's common sense and commercial logic, a 70 year old HDB flat can only continue to depreciate in value! Selling koyok and snake oil like his merry band of brothers. Even Laulan Wong claims that HDB flats are legally and truly not glorified tenancies! So are they saying that the experts like Architect Tay are wrong and PAP is always right?

You so rich and such a man of mean...you can qualify for a BTO ????

I got rich some years later when the business I set up did well. I wasn't a born towkay nor did I inherit a family business.

Even though my family and I have been staying in a Bukit Timah bungalow for years, we still have a HDB flat that we rent out for income. It's every sinkie's birthright to own a subsidized HDB flat and I don't see why the Tan family should be deprived of it even though we are now rich.

While currently owning a pty residental pro, what's the reason behind for not allowing to buy HDB? Bcoz govt claimed that it's highly subsidised n should leave them to sporean who can't afford pty. But law is funny can buy pty after owning hdb for 5yrs...n many ppl took advantage of this...what will happen when there is shortage and if due to err...though not high percentage but still....
.I shallnt say more..

Same theory...$8 cow bypass $8 though is his so call ",birthright" / entitlement as a sporean but fking rich..depriving those who needs it more. 有權那麼做,但良心方面又如何?
Human are different from animal bcoz we hv a conscious if not no difference

Khaw is a dumbfuck nitwitted ex-mudlander who managed to suck the right sinkie cocks to be where he is today.

now he will sell out the country,,,,like the way the taiwanese will surrender to ah tiong land
賣國賊 sell nation thief??? In Song times will be dealt with by 楊家將lol guess I watch too much Chinese patriotic serial.

song dynasty collapse due to its own incompetence and the lack of trust in the capable officials,,,only the sycophants were trusted and in power,,,,singkieland is abit like that,,,but the 70% is happy. The worse thing about singkieland is there is no Yang Family and no justice Bao to hold the fort and stem the tide,,when war comes,,,the scholar generals will lead us to disaster..

Yo bro didn't expect to find a kakis here lol...most 70% sporeans is hoping that the existing govt can change for the better rather than vote for a complete change of govt which they think will be risky.
Just like the topper of qing dynasty, many hope the qing could reform instead of taking a risk of changing to kmt. But qing is too corrupted n rotting to the roots already..

Malaysian Khaw trying to smoke sinkies and buying time before he retires to his freehold properties in Malaysia.

most Sinkies I know opted for 30 years loan, using HDB loan. 2.6% per annum, an initial 300K loan for a 4-RM HDB will set you back 534K in total. Sinkies are slaves to the housing loan, if you'd asked me.
Sunk costs or not, rent is is something you have to pay. It's not an option. You would have paid easily $750,000 in rentals over 30 years. Cheaper to just buy a 30 year lease flat for $400,000.

Assuming 300k 30 yr hdb loan + 100k downpayment, the $400k flat effectively costs $634k in total over 30 years.

30 years of rental would be around $720k. The savings aren't that much, only around $2.8k per year annualized, or merely $240/month.

A $240 per month savings over 30 years isn't that great if you have a 300k loan commitment.

And to Sam's point that renting frees up money for investment, you can't pay for rent using CPF money and there are limited investment options for CPF funds; you can't start a business with money in your Ordinary account and you have to pay rent in cash.

So Singaporeans are stuck in a bad deal. Take on a large and long term financial commitment to lease for at least 30 years, for minimal long term savings over rent.

A small step forward will be to allow banks to accept HDB flats as collateral for cash out loans, like other 99 year lease hold condos.

Assuming 300k 30 yr hdb loan + 100k downpayment, the $400k flat effectively costs $634k in total over 30 years.

Vast majority of sinkies do not take 30 years to clear their loans. Under old HDB rules, sinkies have to empty their CPF OAs before they qualify for the loan. So, most sinkies would take about 15 years to clear their loan. My wife and I cleared our HDB loan within 12 years.

30 years of rental would be around $720k. The savings aren't that much, only around $2.8k per year annualized, or merely $240/month.

So you do agree that there are savings. Not bad for a party that has been unfairly labelled as 'Pay-and-Pay'.

A small step forward will be to allow banks to accept HDB flats as collateral for cash out loans, like other 99 year lease hold condos.

By not allowing sinkies to use HDB flats as collateral, HDB owners can never be kicked out of their homes and be made homeless when they go bust. That's why I still keep my HDB flat even though I've moved to a bungalow years ago.