• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Khaw said 70-years old HDB can appreciate in value!

Lol lol lol as I hv said papies will bs their way thru, buying time. When ever did papies bullshit n sillyporeans don't buy? He already started his bs at the pm rally. He even can promised u old flat change new flat no need pay single cent. When is grandson take over, his grandson can say can't be done lol lol lol

The PM rally did not go down well with many people. To many, it raises more questions. People are more wary and suspicious now. Hence the need to have more walkabouts and sharing sessions. Intensify efforts to nullify PAP's attempts to rectify and salvage. Make PAP to keep on digging. This black hole will only get bigger and deeper, and hopefully shall be big enough to bury most of them on Judgement Day.

I hope so but I seriously doubt. Sinkies are easily "psycho-ed" and best known to be balless at the polling booth...
Keeping this sort of mentality is good. Everyone tot papies will get it so vote the oppies. It's the reversed psycho papies used to win the previous GE lol

It good to be prepared for the worst. Lesson from our neighbour is "Don't be surprised when the unlikeLEE actualises. Don't surprise your audience by expressing surprise when a surprise is no more a surprise. I sincerely look forward to THE SURPRISE. Confidence my friend. Positivity - Negate the LEE.

Wow bro Yr Ang Mo chim ar..u PhD ar?

By then he would have been dead and buried.

Better believe in the words of a man who claims operation cost $8.

Wow bro Yr Ang Mo chim ar..u PhD ar?

My time where got money to go school or university...kampong boy...catching fish along Seletar River, stealing rambutans at Mandai, and fighting with Indians from Canberra and Chinese from Kampong San Teng.
Apology, me centenarian old man likes to joke. Kamsiah.
真真假假, 假假真真

Sunk costs or not, rent is is something you have to pay. It's not an option. You would have paid easily $750,000 in rentals over 30 years. Cheaper to just buy a 30 year lease flat for $400,000. But PAP is good. PAP lets you have a 99 year lease flat for $400,000.

You forgot the other costs that come with ownership. What about renovations?

most Sinkies I know opted for 30 years loan, using HDB loan. 2.6% per annum, an initial 300K loan for a 4-RM HDB will set you back 534K in total. Sinkies are slaves to the housing loan, if you'd asked me.

20 years of payments and the loan amount is effectively doubled. Singaporean HDB dwellers are slaves to their housing loans. Right on and this is the instruction from the Chief Gangster LKY. This is one way to ensure that Singaporeans cannot move away. The saint and the devil.

During lky hands 4 rm at only 25k, my parents time.

That is genuine public housing. The intention and the actualisation = Affordable housing for the public in a country. Public housing WAS an initiative which was not created and started by LKY and his PAP. The then PAP Government merely expanded on the initiative and utilised it to foolLEE benefit a seLEEcted and LEElated few.
In today's Singapore, private developers are involved in the building of HDB flats. These private developers are required to bid and PUT A PRICE ON THE PLOTs OF LAND. Why did the PAP Government purposeLEE relinquish the control of the pricing of state land for public housing? Money...GREED, NEED or a combination of BOTH? The DEVIL monetises to create monsters. In Singapore today, HDB flats are trueLEE money and life sucking prison cells touted by the Devil as 'pubLEEc houSINg'.

That is genuine public housing. The intention and the actualisation = Affordable housing for the public in a country. Public housing WAS an initiative which was not created and started by LKY and his PAP. The then PAP Government merely expanded on the initiative and utilised it to foolLEE benefit a seLEEcted and LEElated few.
In today's Singapore, private developers are involved in the building of HDB flats. These private developers are required to bid and PUT A PRICE ON THE PLOTs OF LAND. Why did the PAP Government purposeLEE relinquish the control of the pricing of state land for public housing? Money...GREED, NEED or a combination of BOTH? The DEVIL monetises to create monsters. In Singapore today, HDB flats are trueLEE money and life sucking prison cells touted by the Devil as 'pubLEEc houSINg'.
As sillyporeans, sg land supposed to belongs to every1 of us. Far knowing that sg is a samll country we do not expect a famliy to own a plot of land. However staying in flats, if we were to divide them into the # of stories, per family doesn't even gets 3sq m, subtract the structure cost, this 3sq m is costing us few 100k! I don't mean every location selling the same price, i.e for those desire to stay in prime location with convenience to town/mrt known as the prime area, yes we got to pay more in order to be fair for those willing to live in far off town. But lowest price for HDB in sg starting from few 100k for 4 rm is fxxking too much!
The papies always compare sg land price with London, NY cities etc, we are much cheaper citing that all are famous cities and was comparing Apple with Apple.
However for those uk or usa citizens they are still given the choice to stay off expensive cities: staying in kampong... we lei?? Stay in pungol or tip of sg also need to pay at least few 100k...
Papies govt no longer regards us as citizens but as residents, giving us a feeling same as foreigners staying in sg as residents..(why like that? They scare foreigners don't feel themselves at home for dividing btw resident and citizens???) Now it seem the word "citizens" only appear in our nation pledge.

The delusion of 'investment grade' leasehold public housing in Singapore.

princessreiko(HWZ) said:
https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...preciate-over-the-next-10-years-khaw-boon-wan

Price of 50-year-old HDB flat can appreciate over the next 10 years: Khaw Boon Wan
(From left) MP Lim Wee Kiak, Senior Parliamentary Secretary for Home Affairs Amrin Amin, Minister for Transport Khaw Boon Wan, Minister for Education Ong Ye Kung and MP Vikram Nair at a dialogue session on Sept 2, 2018.
(From left) MP Lim Wee Kiak, Senior Parliamentary Secretary for Home Affairs Amrin Amin, Minister for Transport Khaw Boon Wan, Minister for Education Ong Ye Kung and MP Vikram Nair at a dialogue session on Sept 2, 2018.ST PHOTO: KELVIN CHNG
PUBLISHEDSEP 2, 2018, 11:44 PM SGT

Grace Leong
SINGAPORE - Those who buy a 50-year-old Housing Board (HDB) flat today can expect prices to continue to appreciate over the next 10 years, Minister for Transport Khaw Boon Wan said at a dialogue with young people on Sunday (Sept 2).

Mr Khaw debunked claims that HDB flats are not assets just because the lease is for a limited 99-year period. He was speaking to more than 200 young people from Sembawang GRC on topics such as housing, healthcare and cost of living, which were raised at the National Day Rally speech last month.

"If you buy a 70-year-old flat, there is still appreciation potential especially because this Government is prepared to continue to invest in it through Home Improvement Programme (HIP) II and the Voluntary Early Redevelopment Scheme (Vers)," Mr Khaw said.

These are among the new schemes announced by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong in his National Day Rally speech last month to help older flats retain their value for a longer period of time.

Mr Lee had said that HIP will be expanded to cover more HDB flats, and each flat can expect to be upgraded twice during its 99-year lease, under the new HIP II scheme. The second round of upgrading will take place when the flats are about 60 to 70 years old. Vers gives owners of older HDB flats a chance to vote for the Government to buy back their flats before their leases run out.

Mr Khaw, who was Minister for National Development from 2011 to 2015, added: "The significance of this is that we actually prop up the value of your old flat... As long as we are in Government, this is what we will do."

Among questions raised was what the compensation terms would be like under Vers, since PM Lee had said that it would be less generous than that for Selective En bloc Redevelopment Scheme (Sers).

Housing Board flats are set to be upgraded twice in their 99-year lifespans.
Related Story
National Day Rally 2018: Every HDB flat to be upgraded twice
Related Story
National Day Rally 2018: A novel solution that keeps HDB flat as both home and asset
Related Story
Leaseholds confer ownership rights for finite term: HDB
Sembawang grassroots leader Geraldine Yong, 22, asked how the valuation of the flat would be done when it came to Vers.

Mr Khaw pointed out that while a flat is an appreciating asset for as long as the economy continues to grow, at some stage it would begin to depreciate. "When will that turning point be? Year 80? Year 70? Year 90? I don't know," he said. "There are no market statistics for it."

He also explained why flat prices are appreciating at a slower rate now, compared with the past.

"In your parents' and grandparents' generation, we were lucky because we were transforming from third world to first world, so our economic growth was very strong... That's why you hear of your grandparents buying a flat for $30,000 to $35,000, and can now sell for about $400,000. So, it's an asset that appreciated significantly.

"Your generation is less likely to enjoy that same sharp rate of growth because the economy is now growing at 2-3 per cent, which is very good for a matured economy... We can expect appreciation but not as fast as the one experienced by your parents and grandparents," Mr Khaw said.

Penang Cow (Khaw Boon Wan) is a very cunning forked tongue salesman... Even dead cat bounce situation, he will hype up and repackage and sell to u as investment grade/ "appreciation potential" situation.

What Penang Cow didn't say is that the price will logically, expectantly and continually trend downwards as the remaining leasehold status approaches zero. However, a small price blip (increase) will understandably occur during HIP2, when the toilets are scheduled to be renovated and thus look spanking new (any junk, scrap metal car with brand new tyres will sell for more $ than the exact same junk scrap metal car without).

Basically a dead cat bounce situation or lipstick on a pig situation mis-represented as an "appreciation potential" situation ...

IMHO, the only talent the Penang Cow actually has is as a forked tongue salesman ... He should better apply his forked tongue salesman talent in the private insurance business / used car sector/ to sell combs to bald men and refrigerators to the Eskimos. He isn't a statesman by any measure and the longer that this type of forked tongue con man reside in Parliament, I think the worse off it is for the entire Singapore.

Penang Cow is a very cunning man... Even dead cat bounce also he will define as "appreciation potential".

What Penang Cow didn't say is that the price will continually trend downwards as the lease approaches zero. However, a price blip will occur when during HIP2, the toilets are renovated and thus look spanking new.

Basically a dead cat bounce situation or lipstick on a pig...

IMHO, the only talent the Penang Cow actually has is as a smooth tongue salesman ... He should better apply his smooth tongue salesman talent in the private insurance/ used car sector/ to sell combs to bald men and refrigerators to the Eskimos. He isn't a statesman by any measure and the longer that this con man resides in Singapore Parliament, I think the worse off it is for the entire Singapore.
Pardon me for the differs, this is the calibre thats essentially neceesary for lhl kinda Parliment :D

I also knew a few sinkies went down to HDB to make lump sum payment to reduce their repayment period thus saving a little on cheap interests :thumbsup:

As sillyporeans, sg land supposed to belongs to every1 of us. Far knowing that sg is a samll country we do not expect a famliy to own a plot of land. However staying in flats, if we were to divide them into the # of stories, per family doesn't even gets 3sq m, subtract the structure cost, this 3sq m is costing us few 100k! I don't mean every location selling the same price, i.e for those desire to stay in prime location with convenience to town/mrt known as the prime area, yes we got to pay more in order to be fair for those willing to live in far off town. But lowest price for HDB in sg starting from few 100k for 4 rm is fxxking too much!
The papies always compare sg land price with London, NY cities etc, we are much cheaper citing that all are famous cities and was comparing Apple with Apple.
However for those uk or usa citizens they are still given the choice to stay off expensive cities: staying in kampong... we lei?? Stay in pungol or tip of sg also need to pay at least few 100k...
Papies govt no longer regards us as citizens but as residents, giving us a feeling same as foreigners staying in sg as residents..(why like that? They scare foreigners don't feel themselves at home for dividing btw resident and citizens???) Now it seem the word "citizens" only appear in our nation pledge.

Yes, when a person starts providing comparison data information to rationalise and account, others should put on the 'WHY' thinking cap and be wary of the hidden agenda behind the act. The situation of public housing in Singapore today is the result of much behind-the-scene manipulations to enrich a seLEEcted and LEElated few. Singaporeans are enticed, entraped and made to endure and suffer. How long more is this going to go on? Is this just the beginning of what is 'worst to come'? Do Singaporeans have a choice? Only the concerted effort of individuals can unlock the answers. Singularity ... the Big Bang.