• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

I am the only person who speaks in English whenever I walk around my neighbourhood

Forvendet

Re: I am the only person who speaks in English whenever I walk around my neighbourhoo

The Parliament may debate laws in all four languages, but when finalised, laws are written in English only, unlike in Malaysia where laws are written in both Malay and English.

Latin is still in use in literature as well as religion, i.e. RC churches.

Thick Face Black Heart

Re: I am the only person who speaks in English whenever I walk around my neighbourhoo

to that clown that insist English is our native language that all our laws are written, where the fuck did you learn that from. Malay is the native language here and all the laws here beside being written in English, has to be written in Malay. One simple fact, every morning go to a sec/pri school, go listen what is the language of that stupid song they sing early in the morning at 730am.

btw really got people speak latin in daily context? i thought its only a literature language now.

That guy is royally uneducated and I've given up talking to him.

He cannot even distinguish between working language and native language. Working language in SG is English because that is a common language for all races as well as the most internationally used language of communication. But English is not culturally indigent to SG. Its use has to be cultivated and nurtured by whoever is the Government.

Now this troll takes English as our native language and expects everyone including the poor old hawker uncles & aunties to speak in the same lingo & vocabulary. How unrealistic is that? In the 1st place many of them don't have the opportunity or financial ability to experience the kind of education necessary.

Since that guy feels it a royal pain in the rectum to speak anything other than his English, he can feel free to migrate to another country where English is genuinely the native language. Over THERE, I bet you all my life savings the native people will LAUGH at his Asian accent and say he is speaking a 2nd rate English. THEN this troll will learn the real value of the kind of English he is truly speaking and which he is currently so proud of.

I've very seldom seen a person of such arrogance and haughtiness.

vamjok

The Parliament may debate laws in all four languages, but when finalised, laws are written in English only, unlike in Malaysia where laws are written in both Malay and English.

Latin is still in use in literature as well as religion, i.e. RC churches.

only in english? cause the law still define malay as the national language, thus they still carry on this practice. that was what i was told by an ex-lawyer turn GP teacher, donkey of years back.

i myself is not a lawyer so i trust her on this

Don Muthuswamy

oh. so you are another sifu clone.. wahhahahah!!!!! All right, let me go past 500 point mark and i will deal with you.

Wah. CB kia. 1 2 cum & ban me ah? I damn scared leh. :oIo::oIo::oIo:

annexa

I am the only Singaporean Chinese who speaks in English whenever I walk around my neighbourhood. At the coffeeshop ordering food, at the retail outlets buying stuff, I am always the only guy using English.

I spend most of my days wondering if I am living in Chinatown. But I guess it surely is too much to expect Singaporeans to be literate to the level of a five year old. Or to speak their country's working language or the language their constitution is written in to a five year old level.

Just look at the threads in this forum and many others Singaporean forums written in that delightful Engrish that would make a brick wall vomit.

Coffeeshop/ any retail outlet:

Me -> iced tea pls
Old hawker donkey -> what is tea?
Me -> iced tea
Old hawker donkey -> huh? + mumbles in hokkien
Me -> forget it old man

If you cannot speak our NATIONAL LANGUAGE, then you have no national pride enough to ask the rest of us to speak the what business language.

for those who said money cannot buy everything , obviously dont know where to shop .

They think that by speaking solid 'england', employers will all come running to them. They feel that since their 'england' got power, they deserve more pay than what they are getting today. They look down on ah bengs who are $$$ better off than both of their salaries combined.

These are parasite customers you want to avoid even if you are boss of a service industry. Better not toeran their money coz they give you headaches.

When out with friends, assuming they have some, they will never pay for their meals or drinks. They drink beer at kpts and will try and get fresh with the auntie beer promoters. Sometimes, they will ask that poor auntie to 'blanjah'.

For sure they will dress smartly and behave like an elite. They will seize any opportunity to criticise another for bad English, spending more money than themselves, having meimeis beside us etc. In a capsule, inferiority complex.

Yes, the solution for them both is to get richer. In order to do so, they must change their brains first. Always be humble. Be flexible and speak like a common man to assimilate with others around. it is not an easy task though and knowing what they are like, their future is not ahead but behind them.

totally agreed with you ...when i was doing business in singapore , it is always those trying very hard to dress to impress kpkb about me selling expensive things . those wear short ah beng is the best customers ...they like something from my shop buy and go ...somemore pay in cold hard cash ( im not talking about few hundreds ) .

for those who said money cannot buy everything , obviously dont know where to shop .

i am sure there is no place which sell a thernonuclear bomb.

if you are rich enough , maybe you can try north korea for the H-bomb . :wink:

That guy is royally uneducated and I've given up talking to him.

I've very seldom seen a person of such arrogance and haughtiness.

TFBH: Many bros here write well but they never look down on those whose command of the English language is inferior. If the Ah Peks and Ah Sohs in the hawker centres or markets can speak decent English, they may not end up as hawkers. Being hawkers and market stall holders without basic English is no disgrace. They are likely to earn more than mehmeh and marcelos (what a nick!).

Our expert on "Living in JB" Wuqi apprised us he has 4 houses in JB. That might sound like a boast to many. But observe the language and tone. He came acorss as a humble man with 4 houses. His command of the English language is excellent and yet I have yet to detect arrogance on his part.

In some cases, money prolongs your expiry date. I know a surgeon, kena cancer, had monthly jabs that cost 5k per jab. Jabbed for 10 yrs then finally expired. That's 600k not including other related treatment. This surgeon's next door neighbour happens to be Tony Tan.

middaydog

This surgeon's next door neighbour happens to be Tony Tan.

Tony Tan is my left hand neighbour. Is this surgeon Tony Tan's left hand neighbour?

Wait, are we talking about same Tony Tan ? :biggrin:

totally agreed with you ...when i was doing business in singapore , it is always those trying very hard to dress to impress kpkb about me selling expensive things . those wear short ah beng is the best customers ...they like something from my shop buy and go ...somemore pay in cold hard cash ( im not talking about few hundreds ) .

Same for nightclub customers. The more ah beng - t-shirt and shorts with slippers and hokkien speaking, the more 'charitable' when come to tipping for gals and service staff.

Those in the calibre of mehmeh and marcelos, sure headache for everyone. They pay Mustaffa prices and expects LV service. They pay Hotel 81 rates and expects Shangri-La service. They go Dalu dirty bar and think they are in Lido Palace.

Speaking good English is wonderful. Can lead to greater heights in one's career. But must always be humble and not look down on others who speak basic or no English.

Mehmeh has MIAed. Now, marcelos appear. Both play number hor. One is 55 the other 46. Hope it is not their age or year of birth. Coz only naive kids would behave the way they did.

Forvendet

Tony Tan is my left hand neighbour. Is this surgeon Tony Tan's left hand neighbour?

I think he's talking about the Tony Tan who's certainly got more hair than you, and chromed in Shanghai Bund style. :biggrin:

middaydog

I think he's talking about the Tony Tan who's certainly got more hair than you, and chromed in Shanghai Bund style. :biggrin:

:biggrin: but seriously, Tony Tan's uncle was my naybor before he passed on and his house became big condo :biggrin:

Yes sir. That means 2 houses away from yours - left side. Tony Tan kena sandwiched!

Yes sir, that Tony Tan you described. Bukit Timah area - I think it is Hillcrest. I used to be sentry there!

But surely no match for the Ramseth-Patrick Tse style, chromed with a ponytail at the back. :cool: :biggrin:

NoelVermillion

But surely no match for the Ramseth-Patrick Tse style, chromed with a ponytail at the back. :cool: :biggrin:
Patrick Tse is still a playboy even at 75. Doubt you can outlast him.