• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

changi village nasi lemak

HedgeTrader - Alamaking hates the mods. He's picking up "fun" with the mods whenever opportunity arises. Fortunately or unfortunately, Windsor started this one with you. Alamaking's alright nice guy, but he just hates the mods. Have a little "fun" is alright, but don't dig too deep out of control.

Roger thanks.

I dun hate Singveld nor JW5 leh, I just dun like smartass mods and abuse its power, LOL

JW5 and Equalisation like going aroung own business not working as mods leh.

As a matter of preference, I like my nasi lemak simply with sambal of course, ikan bilis, a sunny side up, deep fried ikan kuning where you can even eat the bones and all. Chicken wings or not doesn't matter for me. So this is the reason why I very seldom like to eat Chinese nasi lemak stores like Punggol etc

Wah this 1 is steam, especially when the mango is cold, the rice is hot!!!!! aw!!! aw!!! aw!!!

Yes and also with a light sprinkle of the roasted daosuan (dhall) beans, add some crispiness to the rice. Now it become a little pang too.

That, i never try before, next time will try, LOL

sticky-rice-with-mango.jpg

This is it buddy (but where is the coconut milk? Sigh)

That, i never try before, next time will try, LOL

I'm not too much of a big fan of nasi lemak though I eat once in a while for the sake of the tastes of old times. There's still a traditional Malay stall in myself neighborhood cooking and selling it the traditional way, simple small packet S$1.20 only and during breakfast hours only, sure to sell out everyday by lunch time.

You mean those prepacked nasi lemak in banana leaf, wah lau, that 1 taste awful leh.....

That one you buy from pasar malam and most stalls are factory distributed. The one I'm talking about is a single lone stall cook there, wrap there and sell there. Not even banana leaf wrapping, that's bluffing people nowadays. The so-called banana leaves are also factory processed. That's why they look so shiny and neat but add no taste at all. They just use brown paper wrapping and it tastes much matter already, traditional old times' taste.

there is another tasty one,chinese nasi, at tanjong pagar market.

I will put my 2 cents here as I think everybody has lost sight of what is really Nasi Lemak. Lets preface this by saying I have been eating Nasi Lemak for over 40 years, and I have eaten many if not all the versions. When I was a kid and eating nasi lemak, it was meant as a cheap lunch or breakfast for locals, construction workers and kampung kids like me. I recall that a packet would cost 20 cents, and it used to be as cheap as 10 cents. And it always had the following ingredients, no deviations.

1) The coconut rice (flavoured according to individual maker, but always tasting more or less the same).
2) 1 piece Ikan tamban fish, fried. ( the small fish with very tasty firm flesh). Not Ikan bilis, which was substituted later when Ikan tamban became more expensive and harder to find.
3) 1 sq. shape peice of egg done omelette style. Not fried telor style.
4) 1 piece cucumber, slice.
5) And the most important part, the sambal chilli.
6) All this wrapped in banana leaf.

This simple dish has now developed into the monstrosity that it is and bears no resemblance in original objective, price, or ingredients of the original. because the hawkers cannot make a lot of money from selling such a simple dish as I described, they have to upsell by adding the fried chicken, sometimes beef rendang, or curry chicken, sambal sotong, etc. To me, even the addition of a small quantity of acar already detracts from the original dish that I described above in step 1 thru 6.

The main thing to remember for Nasi Lemak is the sambal chilli. This is the deal breaker here. If the rice is great, and the other ingredients is good, but the chilli is average or below average, it will ruin the whole nasi lemak. Conversely, a good chilli can be so great that u can just eat it with the rice, ignoring all the other ingredients. A good chilli will elevate the whole nasi lemak to great heights that the other ingredients cannot do. Nowadays, they tend to make the chilli too sweet. If you get a good chilli, and its wrapped such a way that the Ikan Tamban, is totally soak and inpregnated with the chilli, so much the better. I find that the Indian muslim version (hard to find in singapore now) holds truest to the original version. I get that a lot of people add fried chicken and all that stuff to the nasi lemak, but than you might as well eat nasi padang if you are going to do that. Having said all this, the best chilli I ever had was made by a chinese hawker. The old style white tshirt with pajama pants guy. And he has passed away long since. Sigh.

There is one small stall in a coffee shop next to a big drain at Siglap complex. This stall operated by an aunty selling home made pre packed nasi lemak peranakan style with good fresh chilli paste.

Nasi lemak is actually a very simple dish. It's actually not very filling. That's why i don't mind the chinese version with fish cake, chicken wings and so on.

who say it's not filling? i just had mine wtih ikan,wing,fish cake and kor lei chai.

Nasi lemak is actually a very simple dish. It's actually not very filling. That's why i don't mind the chinese version with fish cake, chicken wings and so on.

Lol, who eat Nasi lemak with kor lei chai 1? Hahahaa, at most sayur lodeh?