• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Army personnel got shot in the right eye in sembawang camp

That is true bro...on a tripod firlmly fixed and properly sighted onto a fixed target, the GPMG is very accurate to a distance of 1000 metres and will not move it's position. A normal rifle has only a bipod which will still jerked and there is a possibility of an accidental injury. The GPMG also has a spare interchangeable barrel as GPMG requires a change of barrels after firing a certain amount of rounds.

The AR15 barrel gets too hot and will trigger off rounds without anyone pulling the trigger and the safety catch is on when it gets very very hot. Even the AR15HB cannot take the strain. In such an exercise, the GPMG is the weapon of choice.
OK, now recall a bit more. For the training, the GPMG gunner is a sergeant (Regular) assisted by another sergeant assistant (also regular). Believe the regular sergeants was trained to handle GPMG. Any bros here from SAFINCO can verify?

ha bro ....the AR15 and me never got along leh. WO WO WO all the time.
What's WO? Should be IA IA right? (Immediate Action)

Singapore too cheapskate to give all reservists their assigned weapon that is properly zeroed. When there is a war, many will be Wowo Kings.:(

Zero weapon for me also no use....my eyesight nearly zero leh. My glasses one side 8500 degrees the other side 12,000. :(

Can only see share prices well. .... so i can punt and lose more $$$$

Honestly, I still don't understand the whole zeroing process. During the range, I just fired at a paper target. Encik (CSM) will see the paper target and make a few 'click' on the rifle. After that, go fire another new paper target, and repeat the whole process until encik say zero already. Anyway, I am a bobo shooter, just agar agar and press the trigger but manage to pass the test.

You are below 36 years old?
Think NW mentioned about CFC and PFC earlier.. Yes, these 2 ranks still exist during my time in early 90s. Think PFC is just one flat strip. And CFC is the regular corporal 2 V shape stripes with a horizonal stripes above the V stripes.

CFC is for those dio condemned Regular who not fit to promote to sergeant and too senior to be corporal or those very on the ball NSF corporal who is going to ROD in few months time.

PFC still don't know it's purpose. Usually Encik's junior runner.

Windsor

OK, now recall a bit more. For the training, the GPMG gunner is a sergeant (Regular) assisted by another sergeant assistant (also regular). Believe the regular sergeants was trained to handle GPMG. Any bros here from SAFINCO can verify?

I was trained in most small arms having done all 2 courses in SAFTI, i.e., recruit, NCO course and OCT.

What's WO? Should be IA IA right? (Immediate Action)

Wo Wo = Wash Out or no holes in the fixed target. (nowadays you call it Bo Bo?)

Honestly, I still don't understand the whole zeroing process. During the range, I just fired at a paper target. Encik (CSM) will see the paper target and make a few 'click' on the rifle. After that, go fire another new paper target, and repeat the whole process until encik say zero already. Anyway, I am a bobo shooter, just agar agar and press the trigger but manage to pass the test.

It is a simple procedure actually. Fire 3 shots at a fixed target aiming at the bullseye at 25 metres. If there are 3 holes draw lines between each hole to make a triangle. Get the centre of the triangle and that will be your MPI (main point of impact). The adjustments to the rifle sights is to bring your MPI towards the bullseye. Therefore you will need to fire another 3 rounds to confirmed or to make minor adjustments again and a final 3 shots to re-confirmed your rifle has been zeroed to your eyesight.

Windsor

I'm not sure about the SAR21 being a clone of the TAR21. They were designed around the same time (1990s) and the SAR21 was deployed earlier - 1998 as opposed to TAR's 2001. The TAR21, however, is ambidextrous.

The SAR21 began earlier, in the 80's if I am not wrong as a friend of mine was in CIS and he showed me the small bolt carrier and telling me what he was doing in CIS at Jln Boon Lay. Cannot be the 90's as I was not in Singapore any longer.

These 2 ranks were briefly included then disused.

Back then only officers and other ranks....no such terms as specialists, MEs all that jazz. Only officers rank on the shoulders and not like now so confusing....now placed on chest even.

Now encik also must address as sir? Only time other ranks can be called sir is inside DB

Think NW mentioned about CFC and PFC earlier.. Yes, these 2 ranks still exist during my time in early 90s. Think PFC is just one flat strip. And CFC is the regular corporal 2 V shape stripes with a horizonal stripes above the V stripes.

CFC is for those dio condemned Regular who not fit to promote to sergeant and too senior to be corporal or those very on the ball NSF corporal who is going to ROD in few months time.

PFC still don't know it's purpose. Usually Encik's junior runner.

SAF is crap. Most boo boo shooters and run until drop dead types are from SAF. SPF is best. When our comrades fall, they fall honorably for a cause in the line of duty defending public, not simply run for fun until drop dead. Cpt. GMS was in Australia shooting kangaroos when my former police colleagues were risking their lives hunting for armed and dangerous criminals and terrorists to keep the streets of Singapore, your friends and relatives, safe. Salute!

That's why only the best of the best are recruited into police. The rest go to army.

vamjok

dad, sure a not, i remember my friend in the police told me this is how they pass their range.

those stand in the middle will surely pass, those at the edge most likely to fail. cos those in the middle shoot 6 bullets end up the target can have 10 bullets holes. HAHAHHAHAHHAHA

u from infantry? only infantry need a sergent to operate a GPMG. i only a trooper kia but i also certify to fire a GPMG.

SAR21 like all singapore "made" weapon were design without any consideration to the end-users. Once it accept by the general as pet project, there no feedback solicited from the end user aka riflemen. i dun like the SAR21, too heavy and i feel the IA drills more problematic than the M16, unloading and loading of magazine need to involve the right hand (maybe it just me but i have problem using my left hand which is no problem with M16). the pistol grip and hand grip of the M16 are much superior than the sar21. i think the laser is inpractical as it just another thing to go wrong. how long can the AA energizer batteries last? so once batteries run out, sar21 user will have to count on the stupid iron sight to aim at night? those bigwigs never think it through, a weapon system must be as simple as possible, easily replace. can any sar21 expert tell me whether sar21 parts are interchangeable?

SAF is crap. Most boo boo shooters and run until drop dead types are from SAF. SPF is best. When our comrades fall, they fall honorably for a cause in the line of duty defending public, not simply run for fun until drop dead. Cpt. GMS was in Australia shooting kangaroos when my former police colleagues were risking their lives hunting for armed and dangerous criminals and terrorists to keep the streets of Singapore, your friends and relatives, safe. Salute!

That's why only the best of the best are recruited into police. The rest go to army.

there is no spf reservist died at running because spf do not require reservists to pass ippt. that will change this year as i heard frim a spf reservist the the home team now want to be on par with saf so spf reservists who fail their ippt will be require to attend remadial training.

dad, sure a not, i remember my friend in the police told me this is how they pass their range.

those stand in the middle will surely pass, those at the edge most likely to fail. cos those in the middle shoot 6 bullets end up the target can have 10 bullets holes. HAHAHHAHAHHAHA

Son, police shooting not that simple. Run and clear obstacle course first before shooting, by the time already panting and sweating. Stand and shoot, kneel and shoot, hide behind wall and shoot etc. before closing and shoot at close range. The whole process took about from 500 meters to 5 meters for the last round, practically point blank shooting. That's for revolver combat shoot. Then there's night shoot. Lights off, one hand revolver and one hand torchlight. Flash torchlight to find target and shoot.

All regular police and some NS police are required go through rifle training too. It was just a simple 300 meters aim, ready and shoot.

But you're right son, sometimes we laughed when how come 50 rounds (max 100 points) could end up with 120 points. Police scoring system is 0 point for miss, 1 point for hit (arm or leg) or 2 points for kill (head or chest). I'm not sure about army scoring system but I heard it's just 0 point for miss or 1 point for hit.

there is no spf reservist died at running because spf do not require reservists to pass ippt. that will change this year as i heard frim a spf reservist the the home team now want to be on par with saf so spf reservists who fail their ippt will be require to attend remadial training.

RT already started for the Police reservist chaps... One of my service technician a Malay chap who is Police NSF kena RT so I allowed him to leave the office bit early... Funny thing is that he kena go Civil Defence Academy for his evening RTs... He told me that when he was there, SCDF and SPF reservists did their RT together since both organizations are from the Home Team..

Police reservist IPPT requirements and standards are the same as army. But I don't know much about police RT, since I was only after the S$400 gold monetary award when I went for it. Free money, don't take, wait for what? I don't really know what happened to those who failed IPPT. However, I'm aware that police is more lenient since it's a smaller force and closer knit. A good connecton, a good wink and a good nod could get those fatties to just action through, record a pass and forget it until next year. Fuck, now when I'm broke need some extra cash, go volunteer for IPPT, they say no more for me, go home. :(

Ah Ram what was your best timing for 2.4km test ? :biggrin:

8:30 at my prime. When in sec. sch. I was selected for national trial to determine how IPPT standards should be set. I finished 22nd in that nationwide trial, out of about 400.

Raiders

8:30 at my prime. When in sec. sch. I was selected for national trial to determine how IPPT standards should be set. I finished 22nd in that nationwide trial, out of about 400.

Mine was 9.10 at my prime. Now I cannot even clear with 18 minutes :biggrin:

moolightaffairs

Son, police shooting not that simple. Run and clear obstacle course first before shooting, by the time already panting and sweating. Stand and shoot, kneel and shoot, hide behind wall and shoot etc. before closing and shoot at close range. The whole process took about from 500 meters to 5 meters for the last round, practically point blank shooting. That's for revolver combat shoot. Then there's night shoot. Lights off, one hand revolver and one hand torchlight. Flash torchlight to find target and shoot.

All regular police and some NS police are required go through rifle training too. It was just a simple 300 meters aim, ready and shoot.

But you're right son, sometimes we laughed when how come 50 rounds (max 100 points) could end up with 120 points. Police scoring system is 0 point for miss, 1 point for hit (arm or leg) or 2 points for kill (head or chest). I'm not sure about army scoring system but I heard it's just 0 point for miss or 1 point for hit.

knn! 长毛!read about all these make me wanna cry! so nostalgic!!! i remember run all the way and then start shooting in the run down range!!! u really same era as me!!! but i think long time ago already never ask them to run liao!!! just stand and shoot. really miss the old PA, went back recently to jalan jalan. must change pass and certain place cannot go. all under cisco or aetos.

i know a lot of fellow Singaporean bro here serve their NS in the army or armed forces. no disrespectful intent, but police are facing real and life threatening incidents on the street. its REAL THREAT and not exercise. during my time in the force, got 2 or more officers fall in the line of duty.

brocoli

this comming from a man who sign on SPF to siam army.... what a joke