• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why should I be forced to cut my hair for reservist?

Mikeferdy

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/s...s_hair_for_reservist_duty.html#commentSection

This is an old arguement in 2008 but I want to bring this matter up again.

I recently have to go for reservist PNSF shooting. It was a 9hr long event for us to shoot 60 rounds from a revolver. Inefficiency aside, the matter I want to bring up is I was forced to cut my civilian hair for this 9hr event, if not I am liable for unattendance and be forced to come again or worst case scenerio, imprisonment and fine.

There are some who kena ICT who face the same problem but I don't know much about that. Maybe someone can share his story.

Anyway, 4 years ago when stomper Lionheart complained about this on stomp, the general responses is that this guy is being sissy and blowing the matter out of proportion.

Now is my turn to make the same complaint but I want to add a few things. I keep my hair long is my business and no one else. It is my form of self expression. I do not care if other people think I yandao or not yandao. It is the self image I want to keep for myself and no one else's. Why can't MINDEF and MHA respect our right to chose our own self image? Worse, if we chose not to adhere to their short hair rule, they have the power to throw us in DB and pay a monetary fine. All over the length of hair.

WTF? Singaporean male have no right to keep their hair long?

There are some who say that you need to be like a musican or artist so can have excuse to keep their hair long. That is complete bull crap. Why must I have a special excuse to keep my hair the way I wanted it? Why must a government agency invade my personal space and force me to cut my hair under threat of prosecution? Worse still there are some "special" people who don't need to adhere to the short hair rule.

Another common arguement is that, "your hair will grow back, stop making such a big deal out of it".

Ok, aside from MINDEF and MHA violating my personal space and forcing their ideals on hair fashion on me. It is not as simple as "hair will grow back"

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Human_hair_growth

The average human hair grow at a speed of 1.25cm per month. Keeping long hair is a long term investment. I had to wait 8 months to wait for my hair to grow the perfect shoulder length hair for men and another 3 months for my side burns to match my shoulder length hair. So in total, it was a 11 month investment for my hair to grow to a length which I like. I was proud of my hair and now I had to cut off my 11 month investment for a 9hr event. Where is the justice in that?

Also, though I didn't go for any special treatment, there are others who spent hundreds of dollars on their hair and for them to be cut just for reservist is as equivalent to MINDEF and MHA throwing away your money.

After NS, we are grown adults above 21. We have the right to vote, we have the right to have sex with the opposite sex above 16, we have the right to chose how we lead our life. And we chose a civilian life, away from the stupid knock it down bull crap we don't agree on. Why must MINDEF and MHA enforce their ideals in our civilian life?

I know there are other important thing to think about. Like the stupid RT that waste people's time and money and also interference of serving with your civilian career. But I'm gonna focus on this one first.

What are your experience on this matter and how can we stop all this bull crap?

A true blue Singaporean. Instead of worrying abouy how the country is getting screwed, career path, family future, he wrote a long essay about long hair.

Every now and then you come across someone in the entertainment line such as a singer, DJ etc who has an army cut showing that he had just finished his reservist obligations. The hair mysteriously grows back.

I once fucked a guy who turned up for ICT with a full beard. He told me that he is in Parole Office with MCYS and needed it to project authority. I told him to get rid of it at the camp barber and or else I would project him home as non-attendence.

It's all about creating jobs you see. Why do you think all those barbers outside the in-pro station are happy? And it is not just haircuts, black hair dyes too.

And yeah, that social control 'we'll make you know your place' part of conscription is very real.

NS is one HUGE business racket. Without NS, ST Logistics and SFI would go bankrupt overnight.

For personal hygiene. I hate footballers with long hair too. Mm Ja Gau Lan!

i remember i was charged in camp and paid $50 fine for not attending IPPT.

i had long ponytail hair and was wearing the No.4 and everyone in camp was staring at me as if i was some circus freak!

when it was time to get charged in the CO's room, i hid the ponytail in my beret. The CO noticed the long hair but didn't say anything. LOL.

A true blue Singaporean. Instead of worrying abouy how the country is getting screwed, career path, family future, he wrote a long essay about long hair.

Every now and then you come across someone in the entertainment line such as a singer, DJ etc who has an army cut showing that he had just finished his reservist obligations. The hair mysteriously grows back.

I once fucked a guy who turned up for ICT with a full beard. He told me that he is in Parole Office with MCYS and needed it to project authority. I told him to get rid of it at the camp barber and or else I would project him home as non-attendence.

I see we have someone here who likes to force their ideals on other people. How would you life if I force you to convert to Christianity/jewdaism and force you to wear their traditional clothing?

That is how we feel. People like you prey on people fear of authority. Authority is there to serve the public, not to force their ideals on them. My civilian choice of hair is mine and mine alone. Why must the length of my hair or beard be grounds of punishment? We are freaking adults!

This is one funny true story..

When I first reported for ICT in early 2002, a Malay abang in his 30s came to the camp with this Led Zeppelin like rock style haircut..:eek: Really bloody cool.. Enchik shouted this at him.. '' You think you comin for rock concert issit..??? '' Malay abang can't be bothered with the Enchik and went to the reporting table to show his 3 weeks MC from a hospital.. After showing his MC, he then made his way out of the gate and gave the Enchik this Dio hand sign before making his way to the bus stop.. :D

2822496746_38790e1a78.jpg

The average human hair grow at a speed of 1.25cm per month. Keeping long hair is a long term investment. I had to wait 8 months to wait for my hair to grow the perfect shoulder length hair for men and another 3 months for my side burns to match my shoulder length hair. So in total, it was a 11 month investment for my hair to grow to a length which I like. I was proud of my hair and now I had to cut off my 11 month investment for a 9hr event. Where is the justice in that?

I'm guessing that you don't understand why people are not allowed to eat and drink on the mrt either. Am I right?

Enchik shouted this at him.. '' You think you comin for rock concert issit..??? '' Malay abang can't be bothered with the Enchik and went to the reporting table to show his 3 weeks MC from a hospital..

me pity that Encik, wondering how he's nursing his bruised ego :p:p:p

Bro when others saw that act i guess all laugh till peng :D cool guy :D

When I first reported for ICT in early 2002, a Malay abang in his 30s came to the camp with this Led Zeppelin like rock style haircut..:eek: Really bloody cool.. Enchik shouted this at him.. '' You think you comin for rock concert issit..??? '' Malay abang can't be bothered with the Enchik and went to the reporting table to show his 3 weeks MC from a hospital.. After showing his MC, he then made his way out of the gate and gave the Enchik this Dio hand sign before making his way to the bus stop.. :D

View attachment 5311

Awesome story. But not the point.

Like I mentioned earlier. We are adult, we chose the life we want to live, we chose not to work in a government agency and chose a civilian life.

Why must we jump through all these stupid hoops, go get MC, get special permission, make a big hoo haa to keep the hair we want? Why must MINDEF and MHA force their religion on us?

I'm guessing that you don't understand why people are not allowed to eat and drink on the mrt either. Am I right?

I guess you are the type who are fucked in the head and miss the point entirely.

me pity that Encik, wondering how he's nursing his bruised ego :p:p:p

Bro when others saw that act i guess all laugh till peng :D cool guy :D

Many other chaps laughed sheepishly.. I can't remember the name of the malay Enchik.. I remembered him walking back to the reporting table and muttered to himself '' Kepala Butoh ''.. :D Think they transferred that abang to SCDF after that..

Awesome story. But not the point.

Like I mentioned earlier. We are adult, we chose the life we want to live, we chose not to work in a government agency and chose a civilian life.

Why must we jump through all these stupid hoops, go get MC, get special permission, make a big hoo haa to keep the hair we want? Why must MINDEF and MHA force their religion on us?

OnLy if the Likes of Steven TyLer's heLming MINDEF or MHA, you may stand a chance..:)

I guess you are the type who are fucked in the head and miss the point entirely.

Oh, I got your point shitface.
It's just that I detest vain men who complain about trivia things.

Nothing to do with ideals. Nobody in his right mind will turn up for reservists voluntarily. We all turn up, do the necessary and get on with our lives. Why should the whole company be bothered with one vain arsehole. Many people like to sport long hair, earrings etc. Some people have to wear a tie in a certain company when they hate to wear ties.

This are silly vain rubbish. Go for the big picture. There is no way in hell will a sane individual who holds a command position put up a paper up the chain of command for a vain prick over a fucking hairstyle. I put up a paper for a corporal who had to run his hawker stall as he had elderly parents and kids to look after.

We fight real battles over oppression, injustice, and for the greater good of mankind.

When I was studying overseas, me and a lot of my Singapore mates were sporting shoulder length hair and its was fun. Great chic magnet. There were photos that bring back good memories of waywardness.

Writing a long essay about an completely irrelevant, unnecssary and uttlerly mundane thing is ridiculous. You have 365 days minus 9hrs to work with.

If you want say that you want to shoot the Minister of Defence because of the long hair policy, now that is action and uou might actually get a lot of support. Writing a long essay ???? Might as well eat the paper after writing it.

And you want to "impose your will" on other for the sake of your petty vanity. Get a life bro - seriously.

I see we have someone here who likes to force their ideals on other people. How would you life if I force you to convert to Christianity/jewdaism and force you to wear their traditional clothing?

That is how we feel. People like you prey on people fear of authority. Authority is there to serve the public, not to force their ideals on them. My civilian choice of hair is mine and mine alone. Why must the length of my hair or beard be grounds of punishment? We are freaking adults!

Talking about pwning Encik, i remember an incident many years ago during one of my ICT debrief in a hall. As usual, my platoon mates are all excited about the out-pro thus can't stop being rowdy before the entrance of CO for the crap and bulls. This KNNBCCB irritating RSM not happy seeing my platoon mates enjoying themselves after a 3 weeks long exercise. Kept on asking us to shut up and behave. Just before he opens his fucking mouth to warn us a final time, i shouted NABEH CHEEBYE, DIAM LAH! My whole platoon immediately went into silent mode. He was so stunned that for a few seconds he was standing there with a Blur Fuck Chui Tart Lan look. My whole platoon burst into laughter immediately after he turns his back and walk off. Wahahaha!