• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why should I be forced to cut my hair for reservist?

Oh, I got your point shitface.
It's just that I detest vain men who complain about trivia things.

If you think that a person's right to chose how he lives his life without the interference from a government body is a trivial thing, then it just shows how short of a leash you have on your dog collar.

This is a thread for humans, no dogs allowed.

I love the Malay chaps in my company for ICT. They without fail, will turn up with long hair and a big smile. Then go to camp barber which is the cheapest round and then we get on with the show.

This is one funny true story..

When I first reported for ICT in early 2002, a Malay abang in his 30s came to the camp with this Led Zeppelin like rock style haircut..:eek: Really bloody cool.. Enchik shouted this at him.. '' You think you comin for rock concert issit..??? '' Malay abang can't be bothered with the Enchik and went to the reporting table to show his 3 weeks MC from a hospital.. After showing his MC, he then made his way out of the gate and gave the Enchik this Dio hand sign before making his way to the bus stop.. :D

View attachment 5311

I love the Malay chaps in my company for ICT. They without fail, will turn up with long hair and a big smile. Then go to camp barber which is the cheapest round and then we get on with the show.

That's the typicaL happy-go-Lucky Mat for you.The reLax one corner types..;)

If you think that a person's right to chose how he lives his life without the interference from a government body is a trivial thing, then it just shows how short of a leash you have on your dog collar.

Maybe can be excused if one can prove that he is a hair model or something.
The point is if the rest guys follow suite, imagine the image of the NSman in the eyes of public. It's a already rock bottom now. How low can it go further?:D Another thing, personal hygiene.

Does anyone complain about or interfere with your long doggie hair in your daily life?
Seriously vainpot, your FB page would probably be a better place for your musings about long hair.

Certainly not over a hairdo for 9 hrs. I am sure we all will rebel if there was a law that required a state specified hairstyle for being in Singapore. Remeber the Govt jad to throw out its policy of serving long haired individuals last. It was ridiculous. Take into context and put it in perspective.

Nothing to do with ideals. Nobody in his right mind will turn up for reservists voluntarily. We all turn up, do the necessary and get on with our lives. Why should the whole company be bothered with one vain arsehole. Many people like to sport long hair, earrings etc. Some people have to wear a tie in a certain company when they hate to wear ties.

This are silly vain rubbish. Go for the big picture. There is no way in hell will a sane individual who holds a command position put up a paper up the chain of command for a vain prick over a fucking hairstyle. I put up a paper for a corporal who had to run his hawker stall as he had elderly parents and kids to look after.

We fight real battles over oppression, injustice, and for the greater good of mankind.

When I was studying overseas, me and a lot of my Singapore mates were sporting shoulder length hair and its was fun. Great chic magnet. There were photos that bring back good memories of waywardness.

Writing a long essay about an completely irrelevant, unnecssary and uttlerly mundane thing is ridiculous. You have 365 days minus 9hrs to work with.

If you want say that you want to shoot the Minister of Defence because of the long hair policy, now that is action and uou might actually get a lot of support. Writing a long essay ???? Might as well eat the paper after writing it.

And you want to "impose your will" on other for the sake of your petty vanity. Get a life bro - seriously.

You see a starving young homeless girl in the middle of a Singapore street, do you go "why should I care, she is just a trivial matter, there are millions of hungry children in Africa"

I freaking know there are other more important things to worry about, but ignoring a problem will not make it go away. Why I wrote a long essay, coz I love writing a fucking long essay. I am trying to show that this is more than just "just cut your hair, deal with it" issue. Vain prick or not, I am still a human being and I am entitled to my own opinion.

This long hair issue is important to me and I have taken great effort into my looks. And this stupid hair rule for 14 days ruined my 11months effort UNDER THREAT OF IMPRISONMENT IN DB OR MONETARY FINE! I can tie my hair, I can keep it neat as a Temparory arrangement for my 14 days reservist but no, it needs to be cut for to adhere to the MINDEF and MHA's religion.

Again I know there are other things that are more important and I am hoping this issue will be brought up along with other injustice reservist impose upon the Singaporean men instead of just being ignored.

Frankly I can't be bothered about image of NS men as there are countries where reservists are permitted long hair and earringg for short engagement. But this govt is a prick most of the time. What upsets me is some vainpot who has issues with his own identity and his own insecurity turning up on the first day and placing the problem on his seniors. What he expects his seniors to do?

The point is if the rest guys follow suite, imagine the image of the NSman in the eyes of public. It's a already rock bottom now. How low can it go further?:D Another thing, personal hygiene.

Simple lah want to keep long hair then just keng and siam reservist.
If don't Siam then cut your hair.
If you think NS is the problem then vote the govt out when you get the chance and hopefully NS might be abolish.
Other then these options there is nothing else one can do.

Frankly I can't be bothered about image of NS men as there are countries where reservists are permitted long hair and earringg for short engagement. But this govt is a prick most of the time. What upsets me is some vainpot who has issues with his own identity and his own insecurity turning up on the first day and placing the problem on his seniors. What he expects his seniors to do?

My opinion on image of NSman is different from yours. It's time these people do our nation proud since the commoners have been suppressed in many level by foreigners. Maybe doing us "PROUD" sounds too strong a word, perhaps not make us even more LAO KUI. :D
Anyway, with such weather and humidity in Singapore. I don't understand why guys want to keep long hair. Of course having said so, i still respect their rights in how they want to manage their body when they are not wearing army uniform.

Nonono... The issue is why must we give special excuses and jump through loop holes or must be involved with a special career to keep the look we want for ourselves.

I can agree with Temparory arrangements. Got a coloured hair? No problem, there are Temparory black dyes available at guardian and can wash off later. Got piercings? No problem, take them off and can put them back on later after finish.

But cutting someone's hair is not a Temparory compromise. Especially if or someone who have shoulder length hair that is neat and in no way will obstruct training or field work.

And personal hygene is crap. If personal hygene is such a big issue, why don't they inspect our penises and see if we have appropriate length pubic hair. Or make us bend over and check if we wash our asses after going to the toilet?

Personal hygene is just an excuse for them to impose their religion on us.

walau dont need complain lah, I teach you....next time just bring along with you a monk wig la.

Simple lah want to keep long hair then just keng and siam reservist.
If don't Siam then cut your hair.
If you think NS is the problem then vote the govt out when you get the chance and hopefully NS might be abolish.
Other then these options there is nothing else one can do.

I believe the mental doctors are able to come up with something to excuse "Long Hair". No need to siam, go ahead with long hair during ICT. :D

Nonono... The issue is why must we give special excuses and jump through loop holes or must be involved with a special career to keep the look we want for ourselves.

I can agree with Temparory arrangements. Got a coloured hair? No problem, there are Temparory black dyes available at guardian and can wash off later. Got piercings? No problem, take them off and can put them back on later after finish.

But cutting someone's hair is not a Temparory compromise. Especially if or someone who have shoulder length hair that is neat and in no way will obstruct training or field work.

And personal hygene is crap. If personal hygene is such a big issue, why don't they inspect our penises and see if we have appropriate length pubic hair. Or make us bend over and check if we wash our asses after going to the toilet?

Personal hygene is just an excuse for them to impose their religion on us.

They do that :D, i remember in BMT you supposed to powder bath your kkj during out field training. Anyway, when i mentioned Personal Hygiene, i do mean Personal. Honestly, i would prefer not to have outfield buddy who has long hair. Imagine at night when he unties his hair :eek: Pontianak! :D

Why don't you write a letter to Mindef and state your reasons. There are good examples from other countries where short engagement reservists do not have to cut their hair or take out their earrings. Would suggest citing individual morale. Most bureaucrats are lazy and have no intention to makes changes but you might grab the attention of one who might see a PR story and trend to depict a modern fighting reserve force.

You see a starving young homeless girl in the middle of a Singapore street, do you go "why should I care, she is just a trivial matter, there are millions of hungry children in Africa"

I freaking know there are other more important things to worry about, but ignoring a problem will not make it go away. Why I wrote a long essay, coz I love writing a fucking long essay. I am trying to show that this is more than just "just cut your hair, deal with it" issue. Vain prick or not, I am still a human being and I am entitled to my own opinion.

This long hair issue is important to me and I have taken great effort into my looks. And this stupid hair rule for 14 days ruined my 11months effort UNDER THREAT OF IMPRISONMENT IN DB OR MONETARY FINE! I can tie my hair, I can keep it neat as a Temparory arrangement for my 14 days reservist but no, it needs to be cut for to adhere to the MINDEF and MHA's religion.

Again I know there are other things that are more important and I am hoping this issue will be brought up along with other injustice reservist impose upon the Singaporean men instead of just being ignored.

Why don't you write a letter to Mindef and state your reasons. There are good examples from other countries where short engagement reservists do not have to cut their hair or take out their earrings. Would suggest citing individual morale. Most bureaucrats are lazy and have no intention to makes changes but you might grab the attention of one who might see a PR story and trend to depict a modern fighting reserve force.

First, he must gather the other long hair NSman kakis and write in together. A single letter from him will not have any effect at all.

They do that :D, i remember in BMT you supposed to powder bath your kkj during out field training. Anyway, when i mentioned Personal Hygiene, i do mean Personal. Honestly, i would prefer not to have outfield buddy who has long hair. Imagine at night when he unties his hair :eek: Pontianak! :D

Isn't that good... In combat will scare enemy at night and report back the area is haunted and retreat...:D

Anyway, for me is more PNSF side under MHA. We don't do outfield, we mostly sit in patrol car doing nothing for 12hrs. Our hair length shouldn't be an issue coz women officers get to have long hairs too...

Anyway, thanks to the guy for the bald wig suggestion.

But it is still a violation of a person's right to chose his own image to force someone to cut their hair under threat of prosecution.

Isn't that good... In combat will scare enemy at night and report back the area is haunted and retreat...:D

Anyway, for me is more PNSF side under MHA. We don't do outfield, we mostly sit in patrol car doing nothing for 12hrs. Our hair length shouldn't be an issue coz women officers get to have long hairs too...

Anyway, thanks to the guy for the bald wig suggestion.

But it is still a violation of a person's right to chose his own image to force someone to cut their hair under threat of prosecution.

Bro, i suggest you go gather more similar voices before facing off with MINDEF. If not, you really have to choose between your swee swee long hair and ICT. No point going in to fight those people in their turf, win the battle before you even engage them. :D

http://www.facebook.com/SingaporeReservistRightsAct

I'm trying to get people involved but Singaporeans are really noob about standing up for their rights. All people do is complain and when people want to do something, all supporters Siam....

Anyway, like I said earlier, the hair thing is one of many issues reservist is bringing to the average sinkie.

The other two things I can think of is
1) RT. you fail ippt then forced to attend 20 RT cycles... In the end achieve absolutely nothing. It is a waste of people's time, a waste of people's money and a waste of government resources which could be put to use somewhere else.

2) interference with civilian career. I heard from someone whom is currently in promotion season in his coy and is working hard to get his promotion. Then come reservist letter. He deferred but MINDEF go and kacau his promotion plan by asking his company if he is available for reservist and his coy say yes.

After reservist, someone else got the promotion and he missed his chance for promotion for an entire year.

Also, I donno about this but has anyone been called for reservist on a personally important day like an anniversary or a birthday? After 2 years of NS, the last thing I want is to spend my birthday in uniform.