• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 2 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

denjong

Thanks to Wuqi. I finally take up the courage to get a unit at Horizon Hill. Property in JB is very hot and it will get hotter. My wife friend's who is a malaysian PR has bought a few units in Nusajaya area. I believe he and his buddy have also bought a few units at Nusa Duta. It seams some of my Singaporean friend's are still worried about the safety issue in JB. I read this year will be the "turning point" but wait till 2018 when the MRT is ready. I am buying now because I'm afraid I will not be able to afford one when I retire. It seems shop houses at even 1.3-1.4mil are even in greater demand. Thanks everybody for sharing. I will hunting for loan deal soon.

DREAMorACTION

There will be a home expo and decoration fair at Sutera mall from 30 mar - 1 apr. bro Yong lip and teck, good timing!! Happy sourcing ...

I did not get any scholarship, any official tuition or much help from any relatives since young. ....

My family and the government basically left me to fend for myself as i am already a "man" even at a young age. ....

Yeah many foreigners think that Singaporeans are very well sheltered by govt. Actually we have to fend for ourselves, infact foreigners are more well sheltered and basically fed with free education, food and lodging. Like the PRC scholar who called Singaporean dogs are fed from Secondary 3 onwards to finish university - 8 years.

Narmi

Singapore already have a very good social network and lots of subsidies for them. Yes, I would agree that investing in them is like Nigerian scams. Because I have notice that some of this so called poor people are really like that inordered to qualify for everything. Those that they actually earn are not declared for tax at all.

I would say that the most squeezed are the middle income group. I think most of us here falls into this group including me. We pay for everything in cash which the really poor ones got it for free and even more. Then after
having paid for everything through our nose, we are expected to take care of ourself during old age. Thats the
main problem.

Sis I totally agree and 100% Like!

Diaspora

Needless to say, I still love my country, but definitely not the government and also most of its people. Don't you find that many Singaporeans nowadays are too self-centered and snobbish? Probably the trend is being incarnated due to the pressurized living lifestyle.

Like they say, home is where the heart is. However, as I've told my wife before, if my next few years will be peaceful and meet with no mishaps here in Malaysia, I might even consider trying for a PR, although it will be difficult. After all, that was what I had in mind when I applied for my MM2H 3 years ago. That was also the time when I had given up all hopes for the PAP.

And eventually, if the PAP will still remain as adamant with their dictatorship ruling, I'll even consider to change my citizenship if my host country will accept me. Afterall, I don't have too much to lose, except for a HDB. In return, I get to retrieve all my CPF savings and coupled with my own savings, we should be able to comfortably live my remaining 20 odd more years before saying my sayonara.

Bro,

Applying for Malaysia PR is not so easy especially if you dont have the 'kulit-fication' (kulit is skin in Malay).

One of my friend's ang moh husband, who is a PHd holder just got his MPR after more than 12years teaching in a government linked uni as a Associate Prof.

Can you believe that? And my friend is a PHd herself too...

Malaysia will give you a 'home' (MM2H) but definitely not PR or even citizenship so easily...unless you have the kulit-fication... :smile:

DREAMorACTION

Tough ...

Bro, what if the husband is a Malaysian, will his foreign wife get a MPR easier?

Bro,

Applying for Malaysia PR is not so easy especially if you dont have the 'kulit-fication' (kulit is skin in Malay).

One of my friend's ang moh husband, who is a PHd holder just got his MPR after more than 12years teaching in a government related uni as a Associate Prof.

Can you believe that? And my friend is a PHd herself too...

Malaysia will give you a 'home' (MM2H) but definitely not PR or even citizenship so easily...unless you have the kulit-fication... :smile:

abugumgum

Hi Bros and Sis's,

This topic of Singaporean vs Malaysian (EP, social or SPR), was long coming wasn't it? It was the 'elephant in the room', and brewing underneath for too long. Good it comes out because unless we address it, we would never learn to integrate and live in harmony in JB, both sides of the causeway. I feel an important side of the story is lacking and would like to help make the situation of the Malaysian more balanced.

I am piggybacking on bro horizonhills comments because I think he explains well from the Singaporean side, why renounciation of citizenship in order to get a Malaysian one is stupid. Also if you are not ethnic Malay nor Muslim, your chances of obtaining Malaysian citizenship or even PR, are less than 10%, even if marry a Malaysian. Is that bad.

Now, from the view of the Malaysian (contary to hillside's uncalled-for smart-ass views). I am a Malaysian SPR. I will not renounce my Malaysian citizenship because the rule is, if I did, I would never be able to work in Malaysia again ever. This negative is simply too great. Singaporeans can work in Malaysia, contrary to what has been said. I work in an MNC and have employed Singaporeans in Malaysia on employment pass, same as the millions of foreigners working in Malaysia. And I strongly believe that in years to come, it will make it even more so easier for Singaporeans to work in Iskandar which they will make into a Special Economic Zone. So do you see why renounciation of Malaysian citizenship is not an option, for most Malaysians?

In the end of the day whether Malaysian or Singaporean, lets just be glad that our common ancestors ran away from Southern China and went thru hardship so we can be better off than if remained in China.

I agree with horizon hills and understand contra's views.
There is emotion attached to places we have lived and people we live around. We will feel for the country we grew up in.
JB and Sgp can give one best of both worlds (since they are same yet quite different in ways) if one has the flexibility, determination (to commute, integrate into the local living conditions) and of suitable age (young adults to retirees), some $$.

Nothing is permanent or cast in stone. The living conditions are what they are today because of govt policies being put in place, some older than some of us, some very recent. We just have to continue to adapt to the changes that come. Just like our ancestors did.

Enjoy! :smile:

Status
Not open for further replies.