• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 2 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

edragon

Ya , she is my MP too , but i dislike her leh ....i never see her in our area before and suddenly she is our MP .....
I think all this feedbacks are from the residents la , they have been living in their own world too long untill e last election ....
If not mistaken, a former Malaysian.

contra

No person in the right frame of mind will give up their Spore citizenship and stay in Malaysia. Why? There is simply no need to do so and you still get both sides benefit. You walk around Nusajaya and talk to Sporeans who are living there. Most of them stay in Nusajaya but work in Singapore. They are able to do so because they are holding Spore citizenship. If you give up on SG citizenship and get a Malaysia citizenship, its really difficult to get a job in Spore and travel in and out of Spore without the customs interrogation. Now with the quota for foreigners being tightened further and further, Malaysians will find it really hard to work in Spore.

For those with kids, Singapore education is the best in the region. Why would one give up a Spore citizenship and still allow his Malaysian citizenship kids to enter Spore via backdoor as FT?

Hi Bros and Sis's,

This topic of Singaporean vs Malaysian (EP, social or SPR), was long coming wasn't it? It was the 'elephant in the room', and brewing underneath for too long. Good it comes out because unless we address it, we would never learn to integrate and live in harmony in JB, both sides of the causeway. I feel an important side of the story is lacking and would like to help make the situation of the Malaysian more balanced.

I am piggybacking on bro horizonhills comments because I think he explains well from the Singaporean side, why renounciation of citizenship in order to get a Malaysian one is stupid. Also if you are not ethnic Malay nor Muslim, your chances of obtaining Malaysian citizenship or even PR, are less than 10%, even if marry a Malaysian. Is that bad.

Now, from the view of the Malaysian (contary to hillside's uncalled-for smart-ass views). I am a Malaysian SPR. I will not renounce my Malaysian citizenship because the rule is, if I did, I would never be able to work in Malaysia again ever. This negative is simply too great. Singaporeans can work in Malaysia, contrary to what has been said. I work in an MNC and have employed Singaporeans in Malaysia on employment pass, same as the millions of foreigners working in Malaysia. And I strongly believe that in years to come, it will make it even more so easier for Singaporeans to work in Iskandar which they will make into a Special Economic Zone. So do you see why renounciation of Malaysian citizenship is not an option, for most Malaysians?

Like all the Malaysian SPR friends of mine, we are very grateful for the chance to earn a living in Singapore. Is a privilege that has to be earned. Not a right. We do not take it for granted and we choose to remain low-profile (but unfortunately evidently some do take it for granted and their negativity becomes high-profile). Many Singaporeans probably do not understand , let alone relate to the discrimination we face since young. Even if you did well, you could lose your spot in the top class to a lesser-performing Malay. Forget about securing a space in the local uni in a professional degree course. So Singaporeans should be thankful to the Gov, worts and all, for the superb education system.

I landed in Singapore like a person who have lost more than half his worth. One time, when I was on EP, my job was insecure, yet had to take leave to queue outside school overnight for a P1 space for my kid in Phase 3 for foreigners. It was raining heavily that night. Liquidating Malaysian assets and converting cash to bring over to Singapore to make a start, lost me more than half my accumulated worth because RMs are 2.5 times less than SGD. From relative luxury of owning simple house in KL to renting a small apartment in Singapore is quite a shock to the system. No parents support system. Those with kids can understand the toughness and loneliness of that. But we grit out teeth and do it. When it came time to try buy a HDB, the Gov changed rules etc.... got to deal with that too. Another thing for the Singaporean to be thankful for, ie HDB grants & ownership of a precious asset which is effectively a gift to its married citizens from the Gov.

It was very hard to think of retirement, let alone survival in one of the most expensive cities in the world. Then came Iskandar. It gave a glimmer of hope. I quick saw that it made a whole lot of sense and this time with the new heads in Gov of Malaysia and Singapore, and execution of Iskandar more impressive than what I have ever seen in Malaysia. Plus I have studied the HK-Shenzhen-Guangzhou model that succeeded beyond expectations. Iskandar will be same. Tg Pagar was the most important milestone.

This forum (and can't thank bro wuqi enough) was the catalyst for me to invest in my retirement home that would place me near enough to my kids in the future as likely they will become Singaporeans and contribute to the country, as I am doing now as well, as a Malaysian SPR.

I pay my taxes to IRAS religously, my kids will do NS, I shop at the local markets & malls, I let go of an expensive useless ang moh at work and in the process freed up enough budget to hire three Singaporeans. Also am Management guiding my company to better success here and hiring even more Singaporeans in our expansion drive. Whether I am FT or not, I pay my dues. A life for a Malaysian SPR and Malaysian Chinese is tough. Singaporeans have it easier. Then again, grass is always greener on the other side. I hope Singaporeans can understand better now the majority silent part of the Malaysian SPR story.

And when I stay in JB in the future, for sure I will make the effort to help someone like sis crystal to find her way around JB, and become the bridge to integrate easier into the Malaysia way of life. IN many ways this forum is helping that as well. I am dedicated to this forum because I would like to help people discover this gem and make the informed decision to invest, as I myself have benefited from it. Not forgetting I am still a Malaysian and thankful to the Malaysian Gov as is where I grew up.

In the end of the day whether Malaysian or Singaporean, lets just be glad that our common ancestors ran away from Southern China and went thru hardship so we can be better off than if remained in China.

DREAMorACTION

Oh I see. Understand it better now. I normally take cold shower so never gave it a thought. But I don't quite understand about the air con. On the brochure, it says one air con point. So that means for all the rooms, additional power air con point and pipings are needed?

Not to worry, central heater would also mean you have to install copper pipes anyway. Just do the cheap and easy way, which is slightly unslightly as you will see white trunking but it will still work well. An average heater point costs about 80-120 RM depending on how rich your contractor thinks you are. :wink:

In some developments, they only give you a heater point for your master bedroom. The heater point is basically a faceplate (white) and looks like a light switch except that most of them have a red pilot light. These are also used for some aircon units as well. Its basically an additional power point that needs to be done in your bathroom to power a single unit water heater. The heater point is the power switch to it basically.

DREAMorACTION

Wow, really adventurous but the rewards will be an unlimited one, I bet.

My low imagination only suggested:-

1) sun deck table and chair
2) colorful creepers and flower baskets on the full wall
3) a small water feature with fishes to create a better sound ambience while sitting out there

There is a terrace at the back and a patio at the front. Bamboo and some trees shall be at the front. Terrace will be potting plants.

That said a lot about my monotoned creativity :s haha

You voiced out exactly what a fellow bro of mine and what a Dr said when he went in. They were really impressed with the courtyard as he can either do a very high waterfall type of water feature, keep koi in the middle or do rockclimbing, etc. The skylight blinds though are separate and you can even get mechanism to draw or open the blinds. Same goes for their large windows where they even have mechanised curtains which raise or lower at the flick of a switch. Again, these are extras though.

DREAMorACTION

Wow bro, great idea. Have u seen those standalone sauna room that can fit into a bathroom? U can consider that too. Sauna follow by a jacuzzi dip. So is life! Mind the electricity cost tho :smile:

Bro, take it easy, for me, i am still in phase 2 of my house reno. Bathtub/jacuzzi and all around awning will come later. Its a freehold house after all, just do its slowly and complete one by one in modular stages. That way, easy on the pocket plus your needs/requirements may change later on. The tiles and toilet bowl probably not much of a choice but others can wait a bit. How come you have hidden taxes, what type of fees after the stamp duty and levy? There are the cukai harta and cukai tanah that was discussed much earlier but did you encounter anything else other than these?

DREAMorACTION

If the lady thinks like that, it's a beauty really. She thinks for her other half but I think these worries are unnecessary. For guys, we dont quite care the appearance right? I'll just go dye and bleach my hair silver and some years to my age :wink:

Because some girls age more than guys after a number of years, some would be worried that their spouses will mind in the future.
Speaking of age, suddenly remember one parent at the school who is 9 years older than her husband but the husband look a bit older so they
still look good together.

DREAMorACTION

They have one last semi-d that we foreigner can buy. Go grab it. Or else, wait until their last launch (which I understand will be soon) of which they will release some more international (foreign) lots for the terraces.

Bro DOA,

Your Taman Laguna looks very nice. I am very impress with the courtyard. If you are the adventurous type, I think you can build rock-climbing facility in there.

winners

Hi Bros and Sis's,

This topic of Singaporean vs Malaysian (EP, social or SPR), was long coming wasn't it? It was the 'elephant in the room', and brewing underneath for too long. Good it comes out because unless we address it, we would never learn to integrate and live in harmony in JB, both sides of the causeway. I feel an important side of the story is lacking and would like to help make the situation of the Malaysian more balanced.

I am piggybacking on bro horizonhills comments because I think he explains well from the Singaporean side, why renounciation of citizenship in order to get a Malaysian one is stupid. Also if you are not ethnic Malay nor Muslim, your chances of obtaining Malaysian citizenship or even PR, are less than 10%, even if marry a Malaysian. Is that bad.

Now, from the view of the Malaysian (contary to hillside's uncalled-for smart-ass views). I am a Malaysian SPR. I will not renounce my Malaysian citizenship because the rule is, if I did, I would never be able to work in Malaysia again ever. This negative is simply too great. Singaporeans can work in Malaysia, contrary to what has been said. I work in an MNC and have employed Singaporeans in Malaysia on employment pass, same as the millions of foreigners working in Malaysia. And I strongly believe that in years to come, it will make it even more so easier for Singaporeans to work in Iskandar which they will make into a Special Economic Zone. So do you see why renounciation of Malaysian citizenship is not an option, for most Malaysians?

Like all the Malaysian SPR friends of mine, we are very grateful for the chance to earn a living in Singapore. Is a privilege that has to be earned. Not a right. We do not take it for granted and we choose to remain low-profile (but unfortunately evidently some do take it for granted and their negativity becomes high-profile). Many Singaporeans probably do not understand , let alone relate to the discrimination we face since young. Even if you did well, you could lose your spot in the top class to a lesser-performing Malay. Forget about securing a space in the local uni in a professional degree course. So Singaporeans should be thankful to the Gov, worts and all, for the superb education system.

I landed in Singapore like a person who have lost more than half his worth. One time, when I was on EP, my job was insecure, yet had to take leave to queue outside school overnight for a P1 space for my kid in Phase 3 for foreigners. It was raining heavily that night. Liquidating Malaysian assets and converting cash to bring over to Singapore to make a start, lost me more than half my accumulated worth because RMs are 2.5 times less than SGD. From relative luxury of owning simple house in KL to renting a small apartment in Singapore is quite a shock to the system. No parents support system. Those with kids can understand the toughness and loneliness of that. But we grit out teeth and do it. When it came time to try buy a HDB, the Gov changed rules etc.... got to deal with that too. Another thing for the Singaporean to be thankful for, ie HDB grants & ownership of a precious asset which is effectively a gift to its married citizens from the Gov.

It was very hard to think of retirement, let alone survival in one of the most expensive cities in the world. Then came Iskandar. It gave a glimmer of hope. I quick saw that it made a whole lot of sense and this time with the new heads in Gov of Malaysia and Singapore, and execution of Iskandar more impressive than what I have ever seen in Malaysia. Plus I have studied the HK-Shenzhen-Guangzhou model that succeeded beyond expectations. Iskandar will be same. Tg Pagar was the most important milestone.

This forum (and can't thank bro wuqi enough) was the catalyst for me to invest in my retirement home that would place me near enough to my kids in the future as likely they will become Singaporeans and contribute to the country, as I am doing now as well, as a Malaysian SPR.

I pay my taxes to IRAS religously, my kids will do NS, I shop at the local markets & malls, I let go of an expensive useless ang moh at work and in the process freed up enough budget to hire three Singaporeans. Also am Management guiding my company to better success here and hiring even more Singaporeans in our expansion drive. Whether I am FT or not, I pay my dues. A life for a Malaysian SPR and Malaysian Chinese is tough. Singaporeans have it easier. Then again, grass is always greener on the other side. I hope Singaporeans can understand better now the majority silent part of the Malaysian SPR story.

And when I stay in JB in the future, for sure I will make the effort to help someone like sis crystal to find her way around JB, and become the bridge to integrate easier into the Malaysia way of life. IN many ways this forum is helping that as well. I am dedicated to this forum because I would like to help people discover this gem and make the informed decision to invest, as I myself have benefited from it. Not forgetting I am still a Malaysian and thankful to the Malaysian Gov as is where I grew up.

In the end of the day whether Malaysian or Singaporean, lets just be glad that our common ancestors ran away from Southern China and went thru hardship so we can be better off than if remained in China.

Hi Contra,

It is a known fact that other than the Malay ethnic, there will be disadvantages to live in Malaysia. That is why it had been called Malaya from history. This is part and parcel of living in Malaysia. However, do note that there are also many successful businessmen from the other ethnics in Malaysia, whom I'm sure I don't need to mention. Why can there be so then? These people are smart and they also have connections with the Bumis. They are also able to obtain big projects from the government through the Bumi "middle-man".

I would agree that it may be a struggle for an ordinary Chinese living in Malaysia, both in terms of his child's education and progress in his/her later years. However, those who had made it, will make it big. Just like those ethnic Chinese in Indonesia.

Coming back to Singapore, our government in the 70's and 80's had been caring. I don't doubt that. Unfortunately, due greatly to its greed and fame, it began to run the country like a business corporate from the 90's, lured only by ever more profits, aka GDP. This has resulted in an uncaring government towards its own citizens. There is practically not much tangible benefit to be derived for a citizen against a foreigner. Many of the concessions they give to its citizens are indirectly taken back in more ways than necessary. Cost increases are the norm of the day for their governance, regardless of whether you are a citizen or not. At least in Malaysia, they have subsidies and price control for daily essential items, both applicable to the Malays and non-Malays. All ethnic groups benefit from this and mind you, there's a great difference towards the cost of living and survival. And in most circumstances where payments are required, the Malaysian government usually provides an alternative. Just like if you can't afford a TOYOTA, then buy a PROTON. If you don't want to pay for the NSH, then use the trunk roads, whose road conditions are now also much better than in those old days. There is no such choice in Singapore. You either pay for the exorbitant COE or you take public transport. No second choice for its people. You try to drive into the CBD during the day and see if you have alternate roads to avoid paying the ERP. Practically no. Our HDB may be a great appreciative asset in your eyes, but where are we going to stay if we sell it away one day? We'll still have to pay for an ever increasing housing cost to get another roof. So, where's the net gain eventually?

At the end of the day, I'll still say that even for the non-Malays in Malaysia, there are still some decent provisions by the government. Whereas, the Singapore government is only concern towards ever higher GDP (to boost their own remunerations) at the expense of its own citizens. To me, by allowing cheap imported labor to artificially depress its own average citizens' wages is not an efficient nor good government at all. Forcing its old age to work to eternity is definitely not what we had bargained for to be Singapore citizens. There is a time for work and also a time to reap the fruits of our labor, don't you agree?

The above are just my views and opinions. Nobody is obligated to fully agree with me.

crystal_tiong

Bro, I have no issue leh ... It's the other party, very sceptical haha ...

Btw, reveal a bit more, our age gap is less than 4!

Actually, thinking about it, if I don't mind, why would she mind ar? **scratch head**

haha , lets all be gd bros and sis la , dun get involve in BGR , purely friendship la .....
I got another NI neighbour , she is single and around your age , next time i recommend her to u ok ?

crystal_tiong

To stretch my S$ into my remaining years. What to do, I am not a rich man. With love there must still be bread to fill the tummy.

By the way, NI had open-house on last Sunday. 22 units from 7A and 8B were sold.

so when u not a rich man in yr country , is it the country or your prob ? does the country indirectly affected u in someway not able to retire in sg ?
Our country now are flooded with FWs and FTS , we are soon going to be the minorites.

crystal_tiong

Can... Any good biz is worth evaluating ... I'll wait for your proposal :wink:

thinking to buy a small private condo in SG as rental collection in SGD is much better , but lets wait a few more mths to see price gg to drop or not....
dun wan to waste my cpf money for them to misuse it!

crystal_tiong

Thank you so much for your kind words but I am not even worth a speck of dust on the soles of his feet. I am not better in any way, i just do what i feel is right for the person as i know in that situation, i would wished to be helped too. Many have helped me along the way, taxi drivers, strangers, van drivers. I am just paying society back anyway i can.

Goodness is inborn in every single one of us just that as time goes by dust and events cloud what we think. Do what you think is right and reflect daily, we are all fellow travellers trying to find our own way in life. Realisation of ones nature is already a first step forward.

I always shared with my family, never be worried about making mistakes, only be worried about not admitting it. What you do not realise, you do not correct, what you do not correct, you will be doomed to making it in an endless circle. Break that circle, life can actually be easier and better than we thought possible. I am still working hard on achieving this goal.

As humans, we are the so called custodians of the earth but we are also the ones who suffer the most. Humans are animals too. Please be kind to your fellow humans.

If all of us can try to PAY IT FORWARD , the world will be super nice to live in ........

DREAMorACTION

Chill sis ... Was Just winding down by injecting some fun and laughters ... Even bro wuqi joined in :smile:

haha , lets all be gd bros and sis la , dun get involve in BGR , purely friendship la .....
I got another NI neighbour , she is single and around your age , next time i recommend her to u ok ?

crystal_tiong

If the lady thinks like that, it's a beauty really. She thinks for her other half but I think these worries are unnecessary. For guys, we dont quite care the appearance right? I'll just go dye and bleach my hair silver and some years to my age :wink:

u are wrong , out of 10 guys , 9 will care abt the lady's appearance . Bro Yonglip is 1 of them , hahaha

DREAMorACTION

Wah, shouldn't it be the other way round? Buy condo first mah ... I dare not think I can even afford one ...

Actually, Australia gives interest rate of about 6% for their fixed deposit right? I wanna explore that soon, don't know how to go about opening account etc. will find out more.

thinking to buy a small private condo in SG as rental collection in SGD is much better , but lets wait a few more mths to see price gg to drop or not....
dun wan to waste my cpf money for them to misuse it!

crystal_tiong

Hi Contra,

It is a known fact that other than the Malay ethnic, there will be disadvantages to live in Malaysia. That is why it had been called Malaya from history. This is part and parcel of living in Malaysia. However, do note that there are also many successful businessmen from the other ethnics in Malaysia, whom I'm sure I don't need to mention. Why can there be so then? These people are smart and they also have connections with the Bumis. They are also able to obtain big projects from the government through the Bumi "middle-man".

I would agree that it may be a struggle for an ordinary Chinese living in Malaysia, both in terms of his child's education and progress in his/her later years. However, those who had made it, will make it big. Just like those ethnic Chinese in Indonesia.

Coming back to Singapore, our government in the 70's and 80's had been caring. I don't doubt that. Unfortunately, due greatly to its greed and fame, it began to run the country like a business corporate from the 90's, lured only by ever more profits, aka GDP. This has resulted in an uncaring government towards its own citizens. There is practically not much tangible benefit to be derived for a citizen against a foreigner. Many of the concessions they give to its citizens are indirectly taken back in more ways than necessary. Cost increases are the norm of the day for their governance, regardless of whether you are a citizen or not. At least in Malaysia, they have subsidies and price control for daily essential items, both applicable to the Malays and non-Malays. All ethnic groups benefit from this and mind you, there's a great difference towards the cost of living and survival. And in most circumstances where payments are required, the Malaysian government usually provides an alternative. Just like if you can't afford a TOYOTA, then buy a PROTON. If you don't want to pay for the NSH, then use the trunk roads, whose road conditions are now also much better than in those old days. There is no such choice in Singapore. You either pay for the exorbitant COE or you take public transport. No second choice for its people. You try to drive into the CBD during the day and see if you have alternate roads to avoid paying the ERP. Practically no. Our HDB may be a great appreciative asset in your eyes, but where are we going to stay if we sell it away one day? We'll still have to pay for an ever increasing housing cost to get another roof. So, where's the net gain eventually?

At the end of the day, I'll still say that even for the non-Malays in Malaysia, there are still some decent provisions by the government. Whereas, the Singapore government is only concern towards ever higher GDP (to boost their own remunerations) at the expense of its own citizens. To me, by allowing cheap imported labor to artificially depress its own average citizens' wages is not an efficient nor good government at all. Forcing its old age to work to eternity is definitely not what we had bargained for to be Singapore citizens. There is a time for work and also a time to reap the fruits of our labor, don't you agree?

The above are just my views and opinions. Nobody is obligated to fully agree with me.

I AGREE with u totally!

crystal_tiong

Wah, shouldn't it be the other way round? Buy condo first mah ... I dare not think I can even afford one ...

Actually, Australia gives interest rate of about 6% for their fixed deposit right? I wanna explore that soon, don't know how to go about opening account etc. will find out more.

alone cant afford but 2 incomes maybe can , dun buy those millions condo la ...humble a bit , buy a smaller place n no need be town areas ma ....
How much can you put in FD leh ? the 6 % can cover inflation nia ....we have to think ways to maximise our cpf else i doubt we can ever see the money in our rest of life ....

Status
Not open for further replies.