• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 2 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Grago

aiyo , why u make man sounds/look so bad ? Ya lor , I am the ah soh type , maybe thats y he dun help me , luckily another lady is helpful ....
U see, Bro Wuqi , regardless young , old , pretty or ugly woman , he will also try to help. I think this type of gd hearted ppl extinct liao ....

I agree Sis Crystal Bo Wuqi is a rare find, but his kind not extinct, just have to be at the right place and the right time!!! You yourself, is like BroWuqi, willing to help, as the previous posts will show. There are also a couple of forummers here, past and present and occasionally present( NOT suggesting myself...... :biggrin:) who are being helpful though it's in this forum that I know of. They on the"outside" would not be too far different:smile:

crystal_tiong

I agree Sis Crystal Bo Wuqi is a rare find, but his kind not extinct, just have to be at the right place and the right time!!! You yourself, is like BroWuqi, willing to help, as the previous posts will show. There are also a couple of forummers here, past and present and occasionally present( NOT suggesting myself...... :biggrin:) who are being helpful though it's in this forum that I know of. They on the"outside" would not be too far different:smile:

hehehe , not la , i think i sometimes quite evil , i voiced out and said nasty things to some forummers here ....

Grago

Same thing a learned local Dr and his learned wife said to me:

So many crooks and the Chinese here are almost always in some kind of crooked business.

I turned to this learned Dr and asked him so both of us are either bad people
or we are damned poor.

There are still other ways to suceed without succumbing to the "dark" side, even pointed
other bros to other money making ventures without going into dark or even grey
areas.

Bro Dreamoraction(manofaction)
I am sure you are both good and rich. :P
Btw, the learned Dr told me that those who could buy from the developer the past couple of weeks are all locals only.
Did you get Laguna subsale?

AGREE with You TOTALLY. Making money "off the Misery" off other people be they Rich or Poor, is something I find despicable and I believe an insult to a person's upbringing.
Many ways to make money BUT not going over to "DARK-Side"

Grago

hehehe , not la , i think i sometimes quite evil , i voiced out and said nasty things to some forummers here ....

No lah, Sis Crystal not evil, straight forward and no nonsense but have compassion, that is You. I think those you 'pluck' also know it, reason why no glib comeback from them. In fact some also NO come back at all:biggrin:

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section

Of course they have a choice to buy resale at half million or private at one million or more, just that they don't have the BIG advantage of profit from sale of HDB and stay in JB like a king that you said Singaporeans have lor.

Actually without profit from sale of HDB to start off, an income of $10k earned by two persons is stretched to buy private. Downpayment already need $200k? and installment would be how many thousand?[/QUOTE]

Some see only the advantages of being a Singaporean without the disadvantages.

Just like an ex local staff, lets call him Andrew, he said if he was born in Singapore, he would be the one who has a company now rather than me. Yet he has been to many countries and educated but continues to have a chip on his shoulder. He didn't know that i have an esteemed uncle in law who was one of those left behind when the government changed its method of teaching from Mandarin to English. He became one of those Chinese educated who were left behind? Did he bemoan his fate or gave up?

Today he is semi-retired, has his own firm and travels extensively to all countries. Before that he was even director and GM of several large firms.

Sometimes their statements are kind of self defeating, oh because i am Malaysian, i will always lag behind. Because i am a Malaysian, i go into Singapore and get spot checked. I will never succeed as i am a Malaysian.

Being Singaporean is not a guarantee of anything except perharps a sound education, even that is debatable these days as many foreigners are blissfully unaware of the many changes that took place in the education system as they tweaked and tweaked everytime somebody takes the seat.

Thats about it, i am not even going to go into the many obligations that one has to fulfil and the many stringent rules that made it impossible for many to downgrade. Many keep harping on the fact that you can sell your place but where do they stay? Not everyone wants to leave their own country if they have a choice. Why would they need to leave their own country in the first place? Only Singaporeans have it good? I certainly beg to differ here. Majority of Malaysians who leave Malaysia, leave for work, Singaporeans who leaves Singapore, leave to to live.

Many forget that the guys who are the owners of Shangrila hotel are Malaysians and yes they have moved parts of their businesses out but they still have vested interests in the country.

Few actually knows that there are poor people in Singapore and there are also many rich people in Malaysia who despite all the challenges and many claims of biased treatments did well enough. I even had wild claims from some forummers recently and yes i never moderated.

If one can succeed in Indonesia despite all the even more staggering challenges and real riots then what more excuses does one have? I have many many relatives, many friends and peers who are not doing as well as some of my local friends in Malaysia.

Even the top earning cousin who is the proudest/rudest, government scholarship/president scholarship recipient and doesn't have the courtesy to address my aunties or my mum earns a maximum of S$12k which of course she and her mum broadcasts to all of us.

Its all in the mind at the end of the day.

I did not get any scholarship, any official tuition or much help from any relatives since young. (The only 3 persons who really did helped is one of my aunts (bless her) who helped me for a period with maths and a cousin (my mom side) with science. The last one has passed on, a stranger who helped me out of the blue. Auntie Hong, bless your soul. Especially these 3 i will never forget them. Wuqi repays his debts.)

My family and the government basically left me to fend for myself as i am already a "man" even at a young age. I was left out of the education "system" as i was deemed not good enough. Holding 2 jobs supporting the family, sometimes sleeping at staircases as i did 2 shifts at once to support the family.

Still, i never gave up despite so many asking me to. NS also made sure that i cannot support my family for 2.5 years and during that time it was really bad. Still i never gave up and took up many different courses, upgrading, studying, etc. For everything that someone said i cannot do, i went all out to learn it and become stronger everytime.

To summarize, again every country has its faults, no one country is 100% good and lets not forget the global "ranking" of our papers. If you can succeed, you will succeed wherever you go. If you can't succeed, you will turn back at the first dead leaf that blows across your path while leaving your own main gate. Its all in your mind.

I believe its all up to you, no matter how badly you were treated. If i can succeed, there is really no excuse you can't. Even a paralysed person, through his determination can overcome the odds and publish papers and be successful. Are you any worse than a paralyzed person? Look beyond your disadvantages for the world is bigger than that.

To those who thinks they can never make it(Singaporeans or Malaysians heck, anyone), i am not better than any of you, i just tried harder and never gave up.

A learned man once said of the 3 changes:

1. Change what you can when you are unhappy
2. Change yourself and live with what you thought you cannot
3. Change the location, leave when you cannot do 1-2

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section

I am definitely not a rare find, i am as common as can be. Just went through a lot of "muo lian" before i got where i am today. I always believe in the goodness of people, its just that they were discouraged to help or too afraid to help. Fearing rejection.

Many are helpful here, supporters or detractors and at the end of the day, i would like to think everyone meant well so never really moderate or delete posts unless severely warranted (my tolerance for even 100% pure BS is very high)

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section

Self protection/cocooning mechanism at work? Don't go breaking hearts as you are definitely still not yet an auntie. My prof always said 35 is the new youth :wink:

Seriously though yesterday got one auntie at Jusco, first she stepped out without looking and luckily i was driving slowly at that time. My car already stopped but she was still walking and luckily she saw me or else she would have banged into the car.

Then somehow while i was going back the other way, this auntie again tried to cross(this time from the other side) Again, i let her pass (my Singaporean trait) but she hesitated for like 8-9 seconds. I gave up and started to drive, then she tried to cross. I paused, gestured with my hands to let her pass and again she took a few seconds to decide. In the end as i was moving she tried crossing again. Its as if she is attempting to hit my car. In the end, i gave up and drove further up to pick up my wife.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Hi Aunty and Bro DOA, the ancients have a wise saying

When man becomes rich, they become bad.
When woman becomes bad, they become rich.

Something to ponder about after your hearty lunches. haha.

cheers.

Wise saying,

Nan ren you qian jiu bian huai (Not really 100% true!)
Nu ren bian huai jiu you qian (Also not 100% applicable)

yonglip

Standing Ovation for my MP.

Copied from Asiaone:

MP for Nee Soon GRC, Lee Bee Wah, said in Parliament on Thursday that while the government's move to increase productivity of the workforce is the right move, she criticised government agencies for their drive to cut costs, which in turn has upped SMEs' dependency on foreign labour to keep their overheads down, reported The Straits Times.

Ms Lee pointed out how the Land Transport Authority (LTA) and the Housing Development Board (HDB) have relied too much on foreign labour to build rail networks and for consultancy expertise.

She said: 'LTA has been too occupied to build the rail networks at the cheapest possible cost, and in the process, they brought in a lot of foreign contractors and consultants. Our local guys felt sidelined in their own country.'

This led to local contractors and consultants not being able to build up their capability and experience, which in turn did not allow them to compete for overseas jobs with ease.

She also said that such a scenario will have an adverse long-term effect on the construction industry.

Ms Lee also wanted better working conditions for bus drivers, but called on the government to ask public transport operators to keep bus fares from being raised for the next decade at least.

She said: 'We have been building MRT projects for the last 20 to 30 years. Besides spending money on building the infrastructure, did we put in deliberate efforts to build up the local expertise? How many local constructors have gained experience and is there anyone who can go out to compete for jobs overseas? I would say there's none.'

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
aiyo , why u make man sounds/look so bad ? Ya lor , I am the ah soh type , maybe thats y he dun help me , luckily another lady is helpful ....
U see, Bro Wuqi , regardless young , old , pretty or ugly woman , he will also try to help. I think this type of gd hearted ppl extinct liao ....

Sorry to hear about your experiences, please don't say that. I am glad someone else helped you out. I will help but i am sure many many others will help too.
For every one of me, there are hundreds of thousands in Singapore and the rest of the world (For that matter, i find that the average Malaysian is more helpful, kind of reminds me of the way Singaporeans were back in the 80s, i sincerely missed those Singaporeans)

Everyone is a diamond, just need to be given time to polish. I am only a quartz pebble by comparison seriously.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section

Copied from Asiaone:

MP for Nee Soon GRC, Lee Bee Wah, said in Parliament on Thursday that while the government's move to increase productivity of the workforce is the right move, she criticised government agencies for their drive to cut costs, which in turn has upped SMEs' dependency on foreign labour to keep their overheads down, reported The Straits Times.

Ms Lee pointed out how the Land Transport Authority (LTA) and the Housing Development Board (HDB) have relied too much on foreign labour to build rail networks and for consultancy expertise.

She said: 'LTA has been too occupied to build the rail networks at the cheapest possible cost, and in the process, they brought in a lot of foreign contractors and consultants. Our local guys felt sidelined in their own country.'

This led to local contractors and consultants not being able to build up their capability and experience, which in turn did not allow them to compete for overseas jobs with ease.

She also said that such a scenario will have an adverse long-term effect on the construction industry.

Ms Lee also wanted better working conditions for bus drivers, but called on the government to ask public transport operators to keep bus fares from being raised for the next decade at least.

She said: 'We have been building MRT projects for the last 20 to 30 years. Besides spending money on building the infrastructure, did we put in deliberate efforts to build up the local expertise? How many local constructors have gained experience and is there anyone who can go out to compete for jobs overseas? I would say there's none.'

Never thought i would see this in my life time.
-Stood up and applaused

crystal_tiong

Copied from Asiaone:

Ya , she is my MP too , but i dislike her leh ....i never see her in our area before and suddenly she is our MP .....
I think all this feedbacks are from the residents la , they have been living in their own world too long untill e last election ....

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Hi Aunty and Bro DOA, the ancients have a wise saying

When man becomes rich, they become bad.
When woman becomes bad, they become rich.

Something to ponder about after your hearty lunches. haha.

cheers.

Wise saying,

Nan ren you qian jiu bian huai (Not really 100% true!)
Nu ren bian huai jiu you qian (Also not 100% applicable)

ShawnLow

Besides the lynas factory, another poison factory going to be built in jb pasir gudang!!! Die liao jb pol how sad stupid government!!!

Grago

"............ Its all in the mind at the end of the day. ................."

"....I believe its all up to you, no matter how badly you were treated.........." "........... Even a paralysed person, through his determination can overcome the odds and publish papers and be successful. Are you any worse than a paralyzed person? Look beyond your disadvantages for the world is bigger than that.

To those who thinks they can never make it(Singaporeans or Malaysians heck, anyone), i am not better than any of you, i just tried harder and never gave up.

A learned man once said of the 3 changes:

1. Change what you can when you are unhappy
2. Change yourself and live with what you thought you cannot
3. Change the location, leave when you cannot do 1-2.........."

No truer words spoken................. (Thumbs - Up)

Last edited by a moderator:

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Besides the lynas factory, another poison factory going to be built in jb pasir gudang!!! Die liao jb pol how sad stupid government!!!

The lynas one is in Pahang, always told my learned friends including Dr years back that there is rare earth in MY but nobody believed me.

Yes factories like that aplenty in Malaysia, oil refining off the islands off Singapore and hazardous factories in the western part of Singapore. No matter where you go, always get this. Worse if one day SG, MY or Indonesia really decided to go ahead and do nuclear power. Then we can all go "Fukushima" and switch off all the lights at night as we will be glowing in the dark.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
also another saying , nan ren bu huai , nu ren bu ai ......

No wonder no other girls would ever look at me except my wife. I am the guy that women would least likely cast a second look at, except if i accidentally coughed or sneezed then probably they may.

Status
Not open for further replies.