• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why should I be forced to cut my hair for reservist?

I said in earlier post vote out PAP and HOPE NS gets abolish.
With this current govt there is no hope of that.
See who is in charge of mindef and MHA.
Like many things in Sinkieland now, nothing will change till we change the govt.

You accept NS but refuse to accept the rules of NS.
So either you Keng your way out to siam NS or migrate if you want to keep your hair intact.
Ranting here or even if you manage to galvanise bros here to petition your cause and so call fight for rights....nothing will happen.

The thing is, I'm not 100% on abolishing NS. I still think it is important to atleast know the basics of how to defend Singapore. I think the current 2 years is enough for me but I am sure there are others who disagree.

I still agree on the idea of 14 days reservist to do our part to serve though reluctantly. What I cannot agree is when Reservist interfere with civilian life.

Wanting to vote out PAP sounds good if there is someone better to replace them with, but currently opposition just isn't cut out for it to me.

What I believe the problem is our voice is not heard because we do not shout in one voice. 1 guy complaining about hair will not do the trick. You need 100 people complaining about the same thing to see some difference.

What do you expect me to do? Go to MEet the People session solo and talk to MP, "I think NS is a bad idea. Got other people agree with me but they all not here"

Currently the FT issue sounds like the ramblings of xenophobic people. No one wants to set up a group to discuss the matter rationally then submit their findings together to their respective MPs.

I have no idea if my Facebook page will get any support or not but atleast I tried. I was hoping to get people to join, discuss the issues together, create a solid arguement then submit the arguement to the respective heads.

It sounds better than the "vote pap out" idea.

The thing is, I'm not 100% on abolishing NS. I still think it is important to atleast know the basics of how to defend Singapore. I think the current 2 years is enough for me but I am sure there are others who disagree.

I still agree on the idea of 14 days reservist to do our part to serve though reluctantly. What I cannot agree is when Reservist interfere with civilian life.

Wanting to vote out PAP sounds good if there is someone better to replace them with, but currently opposition just isn't cut out for it to me.

What I believe the problem is our voice is not heard because we do not shout in one voice. 1 guy complaining about hair will not do the trick. You need 100 people complaining about the same thing to see some difference.

What do you expect me to do? Go to MEet the People session solo and talk to MP, "I think NS is a bad idea. Got other people agree with me but they all not here"

Currently the FT issue sounds like the ramblings of xenophobic people. No one wants to set up a group to discuss the matter rationally then submit their findings together to their respective MPs.

I have no idea if my Facebook page will get any support or not but atleast I tried. I was hoping to get people to join, discuss the issues together, create a solid arguement then submit the arguement to the respective heads.

Always the better choice. ;):p:D

1 guy complaining about hair will not do the trick. You need 100 people complaining about the same thing to see some difference.

Imo, the numbers hardly matters. It's the person that matters more. So what if 1000 complain about hair? If LHL or TT's son or both complain, kau liao.

Good luck to you on your 'consultative' approach to try and solve problems caused by 50 years of rule.
I should have guessed that you were too preoccupied with your hair to bother about other issues.
You are just like the majority of the 60.1% ....kow peh talk 'reason' alot but does nothing in the end.....your ponytail deserves to be sniped.

Imo, the numbers hardly matters. It's the person that matters more. So what if 1000 complain about hair? If LHL or TT's son or both complain, kau liao.

If LHL and TT son both complain openly complain that they support the violation of someone's civilian lifestyle, then really donno what to say laio... But if never try to complain in the first place is even worse....

Atleast for now I can try and search for short hair wigs for next year's cycle... :-/

If LHL and TT son both complain openly complain that they support the violation of someone's civilian lifestyle, then really donno what to say laio... But if never try to complain in the first place is even worse....

Atleast for now I can try and search for short hair wigs for next year's cycle... :-/

Can transfer to CNB or some plain clothes department or not?

Good luck to you on your 'consultative' approach to try and solve problems caused by 50 years of rule.
I should have guessed that you were too preoccupied with your hair to bother about other issues.
You are just like the majority of the 60.1% ....kow peh talk 'reason' alot but does nothing in the end.....your ponytail deserves to be sniped.

Wah Lao.. My blood cool off from the stupid arguement earlier you made it boil again...

Ok I'll bite, explain to me what will happen if pap is voted out...

Wah Lao.. My blood cool off from the stupid arguement earlier you made it boil again...

Ok I'll bite, explain to be what will happen if pap is voted out...

Maybe then the new govt might share the view that NS is a waste of time and debate to abolish it.
Maybe. But hey there's a chance.
Now? No way Jose....grin and bear it....sans ponytail.

......................... explain to me what will happen if pap is voted out...

The Lion City gets to start on a fresh clean slate and this time, hopefully the new authority will not use their powers to service their own needs. Just allow the private sector to operate and govern the state with a heart for the people.

And, hopefully the new leaders will enact legislation to confiscate the wealth of the previous regime and their cronies.

NS Liability. As long as still not free from NS obligation then all must follow the rule. If everytime someone use rights as an excuse then in no time everyone will cho patterns.

If your job need u to long hair then wear a long hair wig lah. Btw, long hair is dangerous in SAF so even women also cannot keep long hair.

Anyway u a mata kia, I dunno polis SOP but can u get a short hair wig to cover your real hair?

Dear Mike:

I think you have forgotten the basics in this situation. When you are a soldier, you are a soldier, you are NOT a civilian. You take orders from your superior and you carry them out. When you are carrying out military operations, long hair gets in the way. It is unhygienic, another bother. It does nothing to assist your profieniency as a soldier. Personal vanity is not something you want to bother about when you give your life to serve your country and fellow citizens.

I know where you're coming from, but as a soldier, snap out of it.

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/s...s_hair_for_reservist_duty.html#commentSection

This is an old arguement in 2008 but I want to bring this matter up again.

I recently have to go for reservist PNSF shooting. It was a 9hr long event for us to shoot 60 rounds from a revolver. Inefficiency aside, the matter I want to bring up is I was forced to cut my civilian hair for this 9hr event, if not I am liable for unattendance and be forced to come again or worst case scenerio, imprisonment and fine.

There are some who kena ICT who face the same problem but I don't know much about that. Maybe someone can share his story.

Anyway, 4 years ago when stomper Lionheart complained about this on stomp, the general responses is that this guy is being sissy and blowing the matter out of proportion.

Now is my turn to make the same complaint but I want to add a few things. I keep my hair long is my business and no one else. It is my form of self expression. I do not care if other people think I yandao or not yandao. It is the self image I want to keep for myself and no one else's. Why can't MINDEF and MHA respect our right to chose our own self image? Worse, if we chose not to adhere to their short hair rule, they have the power to throw us in DB and pay a monetary fine. All over the length of hair.

WTF? Singaporean male have no right to keep their hair long?

There are some who say that you need to be like a musican or artist so can have excuse to keep their hair long. That is complete bull crap. Why must I have a special excuse to keep my hair the way I wanted it? Why must a government agency invade my personal space and force me to cut my hair under threat of prosecution? Worse still there are some "special" people who don't need to adhere to the short hair rule.

Another common arguement is that, "your hair will grow back, stop making such a big deal out of it".

Ok, aside from MINDEF and MHA violating my personal space and forcing their ideals on hair fashion on me. It is not as simple as "hair will grow back"

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Human_hair_growth

The average human hair grow at a speed of 1.25cm per month. Keeping long hair is a long term investment. I had to wait 8 months to wait for my hair to grow the perfect shoulder length hair for men and another 3 months for my side burns to match my shoulder length hair. So in total, it was a 11 month investment for my hair to grow to a length which I like. I was proud of my hair and now I had to cut off my 11 month investment for a 9hr event. Where is the justice in that?

Also, though I didn't go for any special treatment, there are others who spent hundreds of dollars on their hair and for them to be cut just for reservist is as equivalent to MINDEF and MHA throwing away your money.

After NS, we are grown adults above 21. We have the right to vote, we have the right to have sex with the opposite sex above 16, we have the right to chose how we lead our life. And we chose a civilian life, away from the stupid knock it down bull crap we don't agree on. Why must MINDEF and MHA enforce their ideals in our civilian life?

I know there are other important thing to think about. Like the stupid RT that waste people's time and money and also interference of serving with your civilian career. But I'm gonna focus on this one first.

What are your experience on this matter and how can we stop all this bull crap?

The thing is: we hope the SAF cuts some slack on reservists. Reservists are no longer full-time NS conscript boys.

Unless the hairstyle is overly outrageous, there is zero need to be obsessing over haircuts: how many inches of sideburn, whether the rear fringe touches the collar, whether the bangs are too long, is the hair the 'right' color etc. Reservists are CIVILIANS, they go for their annual ICT lasting 1-3 weeks, go through the brain-dead motions and then return to their own lives.

You SAF regulars, please stop trying to score cheap promotion-inducing points with your senior commanders by implementing silly and inane policies. Some reservists out there make more in a month than you make in goddam years. The least you could do is be a tad more accommodating. Make life less difficult for reservists, and reservists will surely make life less difficult for you. Quid pro quo.

If you want real improvement, how about improving efficiency and trying your best to eliminate the 'plan to wait, wait to plan' BS in the SAF? No wonder you regulars are in the SAF. You'll get fucked over in the private sector with that kind of slow work rate.

Completely agree. Its like buying a house. Everyone likes to have a garage, stables for horses and 10 rooms and a swimming pool. But can everyone do it.

Migration would be an option and its within one's means.

Simple lah want to keep long hair then just keng and siam reservist.
If don't Siam then cut your hair.
If you think NS is the problem then vote the govt out when you get the chance and hopefully NS might be abolish.
Other then these options there is nothing else one can do.

You are absolutely right. Thanks

Bro

Honestly speaking, I dun know why any of us are wasting our time to repond to an ass who is mixing all the facts and points togather, nevermind if they are right or wrong or logical, but just mixing up all the facts to argue and to win. Just to win an argument which itself made no sense at all.

Seriously, we have more important issues to be concern abt then hair.

A true blue Singaporean. Instead of worrying abouy how the country is getting screwed, career path, family future, he wrote a long essay about long hair.

Every now and then you come across someone in the entertainment line such as a singer, DJ etc who has an army cut showing that he had just finished his reservist obligations. The hair mysteriously grows back.

I once fucked a guy who turned up for ICT with a full beard. He told me that he is in Parole Office with MCYS and needed it to project authority. I told him to get rid of it at the camp barber and or else I would project him home as non-attendence.

It shows that this person is too engrossed with petty issues to care about the larger issues like discrimination of employers against NS Men, or simply too blind (self-absorbed??) to see what's happening around him. I am also sure a person who mixes widely with definitely encounter many folk who are struggling. Bet you he will be voting PAP.

Beard to project authority is hogwash. Is he still living in colonial times?

For me, I got this wimpy lame complaints all the time when I was Bn S1. My answer is this:

You get fucking called up for reservist trg so you fall under the SAF or PNS Act or whatever. It is a uniformed org supposed to project a serious official authority law-enforcing image. Getting yr hair trimmed is firstly to demonstrate personal discipline. Next, you are now part of a regimented org subject to its laws and regs. So wake up soldier or PNS reservist. If the law requires you to cut yr hair, to project a clean cut well groomed professional image, then get with it.

Not happy, take the govt to court. Or, simply refuse to cut and go to jail or get fined and prove that you will stadn up for yr rights to have long hair. If cannot, just shut the fuck up, stop whining and bear with it. Otw, you are just a wimp.

As a senior citizen of this beloved country, I want it to be guarded by people who take our lives and properties seriously, not moan abt hair loss.

Awesome story. But not the point.

Like I mentioned earlier. We are adult, we chose the life we want to live, we chose not to work in a government agency and chose a civilian life.

Why must we jump through all these stupid hoops, go get MC, get special permission, make a big hoo haa to keep the hair we want? Why must MINDEF and MHA force their religion on us?

Because at least 70% of Sinkies believe in conscription. If there were no NS, Malaysia would invade Singapore one day. You'll never put Singapore together again. Humpty Dumpty cannot be put together again. And your asset values will disappear, your apartment will be worth a fraction of what it is, your jobs will be in peril, your security will be at risk and our women will become maids in other people's countries, foreign workers. :)