• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why don't Singapore PROMOTE Teochew, Hokkien, Hakka, Wu, Gan speaking movie and songs

Re: Why don't Singapore PROMOTE Teochew, Hokkien, Hakka, Wu, Gan speaking movie and s

Hokkien is best lah bro. What dialect can fight kan nin nah buay pua chee bye li lanjiao lang hor gao kan LOL

You don't expect 李世民 (Tang dynasty emperor) to say this, right ? Ah Nan and Mark Lee are rare finds. You can't learn your proud language from these riffraff.

Re: Why don't Singapore PROMOTE Teochew, Hokkien, Hakka, Wu, Gan speaking movie and s

we should promote teochew culture man. Then these hokkien barbarians will be more civilized. Cantonese is too common anyway. We don't need another KL or HK.

Mandarin sounds gay and feminine, and was influenced and imposed by invaders
Hakka sounds like an poor village language, or like taking an dump in the toilet
Teochew sounds like an southeast asian language like Thai and Cambodian (ugly)
Wu sounds okay, it sounds a bit like Japanese but nothing special.
Cantonese sounds rude and of lack manners

Our modern Mandarin was standardized by Manchurians. The Japanese received three batches of Chinese loanwords. First, through ancient Korea, then through Tang dynasty Chang'an, then through Ming dynasty Fujian. Also reverse and mutual loanwords become even more common and taken for granted without notice after Japanese colonization of Taiwan. That's why some Japanese words sound like Hokkien and some sound like an assortment of Korean and various Chinese dialects intermingling with original Japanese words. Words like 経済 (economy) and 警察 (police) are actually coined by Japanese and re-exported back to Chinese vocabulary.

wow i didn't know that police was actually created by the japs. I hope you are correct about this.

Modern policing as a concept was invented by the British. I'm talking about Chinese characters used for that. Taiwan, HK, Singapore etc. Chinese all followed the Japanese use of 警察。China prefers to use the term 公安。

Re: B'cos Hongkies Had Der Dough To Make HK Movies & Dramas

goldenshadows.jpg

That is because Hong Kong has been in the Chinese market movie business for a long time even before Bruce Lee appeared on the silver screen. The industry is quite established, but I'm not sure about Bollywood.

Taiwanese movies never seems to catch attention of the Chinese in general (worldwide). Dono what happened to them. The Golden Horse awards keep going to Taiwanese shows that we don't seem to understand which part is the good part.

Hong Kong shows and dramas are boring - we keep seeing the same old pier, bridge, road junction, etc. No place to shoot meh ? So small meh ? The artistes are getting uglier ? Or was it the Koreans are getting prettier. I do remember that I came across a ... (forgot) that it was the Koreans that were watching Hongkies' movies in the past. Must be the Samsung and LG thing.

The sad thing is my cousins and many of my relatives enjoys watching TVB. I'm more into Japanese and Koreans, I'm not into Chinese stuff anymore. HKmovies were not as great as the 80's and 90's eras. And movies from China are getting better, however they promote Chinese nationalism way too much. They made Mao zedong look like an angel in their bullshit bias movies, and their movies are full sadness, terror, violence.

I think HK artist in the 80's to 90's was the best. I wouldn't say HK artists are ugly, is just Koreans are well known for their plastic surgery and extreme make over. Although I must say there are some naturally pretty born Koreans, many are fake.

I mean this generations of HK artist are shit, although there are some accept-ions most HK, Taiwan, China artists are shit and boring. K-pop is the best type of genre in Asia in my opinion. Most of them are-talented at what they do. The only thing I don't like is the appearance of the Korean boy-band, because look like an bunch of feminine gay boys, they have no shame. They dress themselves like girls, put tons of make up, wear pink lipsticks, and uses white powder to lighten their skin.

goldenshadows.jpg

That is because Hong Kong has been in the Chinese market movie business for a long time even before Bruce Lee appeared on the silver screen. The industry is quite established, but I'm not sure about Bollywood.

Taiwanese movies never seems to catch attention of the Chinese in general (worldwide). Dono what happened to them. The Golden Horse awards keep going to Taiwanese shows that we don't seem to understand which part is the good part.

Hong Kong shows and dramas are boring - we keep seeing the same old pier, bridge, road junction, etc. No place to shoot meh ? So small meh ? The artistes are getting uglier ? Or was it the Koreans are getting prettier. I do remember that I came across a ... (forgot) that it was the Koreans that were watching Hongkies' movies in the past. Must be the Samsung and LG thing.

( K-POP boybands, gay and feminine)

suju+super-junior.jpg

2pm2.png

At least I respect the HK male artist for natural and normal looks.

Lmf-members.jpg

Taiwanese boyband ( gay and feminine )
taiwan-fahrenheit-001.jpg

Japanese boy band ( gay and feminine )
arashi.jpg

HOWEVER I REALLY ENJOY ALL THE K-POP AND J-POP FEMALE ARTISTS LIKE SNSD AND AKB48 :D there so pretty and natural, talented and dedicated. HK females artists are UGLY, Taiwanese females artist are good looking but lacks talents. And the ones from China are not worth anyone's time.
snsd+genie+i+just+wanna+wish.jpg

akb-team-a-275534.jpg

电话 Telephone

You forgot an important invention 电话 (telephone).

Denwa for Japanese, Dyen Way for Hokkien, Din Wa for Cantonese and Dyeng Wa for Foochowese.

I am always pissed of that the radio can play Japanese,Korean, African, german, French or any songs as long as it is not dialects. It's really ridiculous.....just stick blindly to the speak mandarin campaign. By listening to dialect song, will it really affect the standard of mandarin?

Last time when Leslie Chung and Anita mui passed away, cant even listen to their song on radio except the mandarin songs by them which are not so popular.

When mr lui was the ex media minister, the answer given by him was if he allow hokkien song, then he must also allow Cantonese, Hakka and hainanese. What a crap answer!

( K-POP boybands, gay and feminine)

suju+super-junior.jpg

2pm2.png

At least I respect the HK male artist for natural and normal looks.

Lmf-members.jpg

Taiwanese boyband ( gay and feminine )
taiwan-fahrenheit-001.jpg

Japanese boy band ( gay and feminine )
arashi.jpg

HOWEVER I REALLY ENJOY ALL THE K-POP AND J-POP FEMALE ARTISTS LIKE SNSD AND AKB48 :D there so pretty and natural, talented and dedicated. HK females artists are UGLY, Taiwanese females artist are good looking but lacks talents. And the ones from China are not worth anyone's time.
snsd+genie+i+just+wanna+wish.jpg

akb-team-a-275534.jpg

fan-bing-bing-pictures.jpg
Fan+Bing+Bing2.jpg

范冰冰 Fan Bing Bing is sexy and pretty ! I like her. And yes, SNSD and KARA will be my choice.

Kara.jpg

Pretty boys is not my forte. I think girls like them because they themselves are ugly ? It's probably like looking in a dreamy mirror. Aunties also like this kind ?

fan_bingbing_01.jpg

Manchu's Pigtails

I am always pissed of that the radio can play Japanese,Korean, African, german, French or any songs as long as it is not dialects. It's really ridiculous.....just stick blindly to the speak mandarin campaign. By listening to dialect song, will it really affect the standard of mandarin?

Last time when Leslie Chung and Anita mui passed away, cant even listen to their song on radio except the mandarin songs by them which are not so popular.

When mr lui was the ex media minister, the answer given by him was if he allow hokkien song, then he must also allow Cantonese, Hakka and hainanese. What a crap answer!

Liu_ManchuMan.jpg

Fascist gramaphone keep repeating the same tune from Lee Hitler's total conquest of the mind. The Teochews are harder to tame, so he lost Aljunied forever. He's a fake Hakka who can't even speak his own language ? Malayu was more endearing to him but he hated the minority. So, he removed "Harry" and stayed beside the PRC dictators instead.

PRC wanted to get rid of the southern languages ? This is ANOTHER Manchus' pig tails policy again !

Modern policing as a concept was invented by the British. I'm talking about Chinese characters used for that. Taiwan, HK, Singapore etc. Chinese all followed the Japanese use of 警察。China prefers to use the term 公安。

yes i know what you mean. I didn't know the chinese words police were created by the japs.

The Japanese are better in Chinese characters than the Chinese are. Nothing racial nor inferiority complex, it's the way it is and I face up to it. The Japanese word for police means deter and detect, exactly police roles. The Japanese word for economy means management of supply, exactly what an economy is. There're many other examples, too many to mention through the history of Japanese borrowing Chinese characters and re-exporting compound terms.

Japanese calligraphy, at least in middle class and common level, beats Chinese calligraphy by miles. Look at all those uglily written Chinese characters that Chinese shops dare to have the face to put up as signages or labels. No Japanese would do that. Look at the Chinese characters on your Japanese products.

The Japanese are better in Chinese characters than the Chinese are. Nothing racial nor inferiority complex, it's the way it is and I face up to it. The Japanese word for police means deter and detect, exactly police roles. The Japanese word for economy means management of supply, exactly what an economy is. There're many other examples, too many to mention through the history of Japanese borrowing Chinese characters and re-exporting compound terms.

Japanese calligraphy, at least in middle class and common level, beats Chinese calligraphy by miles. Look at all those uglily written Chinese characters that Chinese shops dare to have the face to put up as signages or labels. No Japanese would do that. Look at the Chinese characters on your Japanese products.

Oh so those chinese shop signs have ugly chinese characters while the jap ones are nice? FYI those are printed chinese words.

Chinese and Japanese signages and labels are mostly crafted or imprinted out of straightforth handwritings of the the bosses or those appointed by the bosses. Yes, both Chinese and Japanese are in Chinese characters. Look at the quality of the calligraphy. Sad but frank for me to say, Japanese beat Chinese by miles. I'd rather half-past-six Chinese bosses or calligraphers to forget about it and use standard fixed fonts or to go hone their calligraphic skills before disgracing Chinese any further. Yes, I'm Chinese. Yes, I feel embarrassed when it's obvious that Japanese can write Chinese better. What I won't do is insisting Chinese can write Chinese better just because I'm Chinese for the pride. The Japanese can learn and improve, why can't Chinese? Why must insist on token pride?

Well that's your personal opinion not fact. FYI do you know the japs call those chinese characters japanese characters. At least that's what i think they do.

In Japanese pronunciation, they call it Kanji, i.e. Han characters, 漢字。The set of hiragana and katakana (those あいうえお and カキクケコ) to facilitate Japanese grammar, collectively known as Kana is also character to character matched from Kanji. That Japanese calligraphy is better than Chinese is a generally matter of fact for any Chinese who knows calligraphy. Self denial and misplaced pride is hindrance to progress and improvement. When you come to terms that someone else is better, and you try to be even better, than can you improve. If you keep believeing you're the best, that the rest of the world moves ahead leaving you behind.

In Japanese pronunciation, they call it Kanji, i.e. Han characters, 漢字。The set of hiragana and katakana (those あいうえお and カキクケコ) to facilitate Japanese grammar, collectively known as kana is also character to character matched to kanji. That Japanese calligraphy is better than Chinese is a generally matter of fact for any Chinese who knows calligraphy. Self denial and misplaced pride is hindrance to progress and improvement.

simi self denial? The way you put it's like no chinese can improve his written skills. You're starting to write nonsense and you're just trying your best to get at me but you don't even make any sense.

I'm just suggesting that we Chinese should improve. My calligraphic rating is good enough to be top ten even in any Japanese or PRC or ROC town. Why? Because I admitted I was not good enough and learnt. Just because they're Japanese and we're Chinese, we insist whatever we're better, that way we'll never learn.

Its call Delusion

How can a sound be more feminine than another sound ? How can Hokkien be more sissy than Teochew or the other way round or any other dialects for that matter.
Its the person and how u put it across not the word or the dialect.

One nation or one Chinese, one Indians, one Malay etc.. One Voice is always good.
Keeping Dialects or races values should be for retaining certain good core and ancient values, mannerlsim, cookings, food & style etc.. of that race or dialects.

Amen lol

edit spelling famine - feminine :P