• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why don't Singapore PROMOTE Teochew, Hokkien, Hakka, Wu, Gan speaking movie and songs

Re: Why don't Singapore PROMOTE Teochew, Hokkien, Hakka, Wu, Gan speaking movie and s

HOKKIEN SOUNDS THE BEST, IT HAS AN MELODY SOUND TO IT.

Mandarin sounds gay and feminine, and was influenced and imposed by invaders
Hakka sounds like an poor village language, or like taking an dump in the toilet
Teochew sounds like an southeast asian language like Thai and Cambodian (ugly)
Wu sounds okay, it sounds a bit like Japanese but nothing special.
Cantonese sounds rude and of lack manners

teochew so similar to hokkien so if you say it sounds like thai or cambodian then it's the same for hokkien.

Re: Why don't Singapore PROMOTE Teochew, Hokkien, Hakka, Wu, Gan speaking movie and s

singapore is diverse enough with 4 races + various FTs.

if we chinese are further diversified by the dialects...it will be a big mess-pot.

you have hokkien peng, canto-peng, hakka-peng....

like that how to control? Imagine in MRT, the announcements in like 8 different language? It will take forever to finish one announcement.

teochew so similar to hokkien so if you say it sounds like thai or cambodian then it's the same for hokkien.

That is exaggeration, I would say there is 20% of intelligibility, but overall there's an large difference. Their accent, their grammars and verbs differs greatly from Hokkien. When ever I listen to an Teochew I could only grasp 20% of there saying, but 80% of the time I have no idea.

Hakka sounds like an poor village language, or like taking an dump in the toilet

Hokkein is rude, crude and lack of manners and I realise to speak Hokkein,,,must really talk loudly and close to shouting to get the point across....

that is the way Hokkein Language is,,,

That is exaggeration, I would say there is 20% of intelligibility, but overall there's an large difference. Their accent, their grammars and verbs differs greatly from Hokkien. When ever I listen to an Teochew I could only grasp 20% of there saying, but 80% of the time I have no idea.

ppl say your language is crude sia.

Hokkein is worse....

Personally, I prefer Minnan(Hokkien) more than Cantonese. Minnan was the official language of the Tang & Song dynasties and when Minnan is used to read Tang & Song poems, it sounds better.

Correct me if I'm wrong, I do find that in Spore, the Cantonese tend to look down on Hokkien people. I feel that Spore Cantonese are very arrogant towards Hokkien people. I'm a Hokkien (Quanzhou Hui'an) btw.

Hokkein is rude, crude and lack of manners and I realise to speak Hokkein,,,must really talk loudly and close to shouting to get the point across....

that is the way Hokkein Language is,,,

Have u ever been to Kwangchou city in Kwangtung province? The Cantonese there also talk & swear loudly. Come on, don't have too high opinion of your Cantonese. You got no right to look down on Hokkien!

Personally, I prefer Minnan(Hokkien) more than Cantonese. Minnan was the official language of the Tang & Song dynasties and when Minnan is used to read Tang & Song poems, it sounds better.

Correct me if I'm wrong, I do find that in Spore, the Cantonese tend to look down on Hokkien people. I feel that Spore Cantonese are very arrogant towards Hokkien people. I'm a Hokkien (Quanzhou Hui'an) btw.

I dont think so...the Southern Chinese in Singapore,,or rather the 4 main dialect groups are more weary of the Khek..they are the gypsies of China.. and LKY is one of them,,,damn 'Kan'(sly) one...I am speaking as a Half Breed Hokkein..and I do avoid my Hokkein relatives. I find them stingy, crude, demanding....my family from the non hokkein side is very different...maybe becos the 'kum Cheng' side is stronger.

Have u ever been to Kwangchou city in Kwangtung province? The Cantonese there also talk & swear loudly. Come on, don't have too high opinion of your Cantonese. You got no right to look down on Hokkien!

I am just stating the facts. I have HK frens and when we speak cantonese its not like that. Speaking properly in Cantonese is not as crude sounding as hokkein. One point I find in terms of songs. I find canto songs more refined and easy to listen too( in general) compared to Hokkein songs,,

Hokkein if spoken properly is definately more crude sounding than properly spoken Cantonese.

Don't fight lah. We are all chinese, let's embrace our cultural diversity.

I used to like Indian girls, now I like Japanese.

Enjoy:

<object style="height: 390px; width: 640px"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/_hUMhdx9rOU?version=3&feature=player_detailpage"><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/_hUMhdx9rOU?version=3&feature=player_detailpage" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="640" height="360"></object>

Don't fight lah. We are all chinese, let's embrace our cultural diversity.

I used to like Indian girls, now I like Japanese.

Enjoy:

<object style="height: 390px; width: 640px"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/_hUMhdx9rOU?version=3&feature=player_detailpage"><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/_hUMhdx9rOU?version=3&feature=player_detailpage" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="640" height="360"></object>

OK lah Brudder, I not fight lah..

here is my peace offering to all in this thread..its a famous Cantonese song sung by a famous Taiwan Singer who I BELIEVE is Hokkein...enjoy...

[video=youtube;53Pm4kLCo0E]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=53Pm4kLCo0E[/video]

singapore is diverse enough with 4 races + various FTs.

if we chinese are further diversified by the dialects...it will be a big mess-pot.

you have hokkien peng, canto-peng, hakka-peng....

like that how to control? Imagine in MRT, the announcements in like 8 different language? It will take forever to finish one announcement.

Simple. The National Language of Peesai is Bahasa.

Singapore isn't as ethnically diverse as other countries eg. USA, Canada. Yet these countries' military do not have a language problem. If Sg has a problem in this area - it is because of the poor and negative attitude of her soldiers for not taking their duties seriously.

I actually don't agree with this, it's more like Cantonese is closer to the official language of Tang dynasty and Hokkien is the official of Song dynasty. The only person who thinks Hokkien was the official language of Tang dynasty was that Taiwanese linguist, but his theory is generally not accepted. However many other linguists, both Chinese and Europeans claim Yue Chinese as closest ( not, exactly the Cantonese used Hong Kong although it's kind of close)

" The Yue dialect of Taishan is best used to study Tang history"

" Yue pronunciation and vocabulary are quite similar to the official language of the Tang dynasty and preserved many elements from the Middle Chinese that was spoken during the Tang dynasty.[8] Dialectologists believe that migrants and exiled officials from the heart of the Tang brought their dialect to Guangdong. Remoteness and inefficient transport to Guangdong created an environment in which the language remained largely intact after it arrived. "

" Cantonese retains a flavor of these archaic and ancient languages, and it has been used to help with linguistic reconstruction"

" compared with the dialects of many other provinces, Cantonese came closer to Sui and Tang dynasty pronunciation, "

" Cantonese is possibly the closest dialect to the official language of Tang dynasty"

South China Morning Post. [2009] (2009). 11, October. "Linguistic heritage in peril". By Chloe Lai.
Unity and diversity: local cultures and identities in China - Tao Tao Liu, David Faure

Official Language of Han? Possibly Hakka or Teochew
Official language of Tang? Most likely Cantonese
Official language of Song? Hokkien
Official language of Yuan? mandarin
Official language of Ming? Mandarin from Nanjing
Official language of Qing? mandarin

it's more like Cantonese is closer to the official language of Tang dynasty and Hokkien is the official of Song dynasty. The only person who thinks Hokkien was the official language of Tang dynasty was that Taiwanese linguist, but his theory is generally not accepted.

that guy believes Hakka was the official language of Tang.

think is
Han - Hokkien
Tang - Cantonese
Song - Cantonese
Ming - Nanjing dialect then Mandarin

how about cantonese towards teochews?

Singapore Hokkien has very different rhythm and vocabulary from Minnan Hokkien and Taiwan Hokkien which are very soft pitched and smooth edged with a conversational vocabulary of lots of pleasantries. Singapore Hokkien has become hard pitched, blunt edged and incorporating lots of expletives probably because the early Hokkien speakers were all coolies and gangsters ghettoing together most of the times, unlike in Taiwan where the cultured speakers have always been in majority and keep major influence on how the way the dialect should be spoken. Singapore Hokkien along the way also discarded many native Hokkien terms for English and Malay loanwords. When my Taiwanese ex-GF first visited Singapore, she was shocked by the Singapore Hokkien she heard.

Even Malaysian and Indonesian Hokkien speakers don't speak so crudely as Singapore Hokkien speakers, even though they've also deviated somewhat from the original Minnan Hokkien. In any case, Hokkien was supposed to be a tough language originally. Most of Minan was what used to be the State of Yue, with King Gou Jian and his story of tasting gall before he slept. After the defeat of Yue and unification of China then it gradually became Minnan, then Fujian.

The rulers of Yue were all of the warrior class and the commoners were all of the fighter class. Considered Chinese cultural outcastes (just a little ahead of non-Chinese barbarians) they were not conferred fiefdom and lordship titles by the King of Zhou. Fustrated, they declared kingdom statehood for themselves. The other two neighboring southern states that did the same were Wu and Chu. That was the beginning of the great northern and southern divide.

The Chinese of Minnan inherited a crude dialect and was described by northerners as nanman, meaning southern barbaric. It was toned down by northern influence and by the time of Tang dynasty, it should sound halfway between modern Minnanese and Cantonese, hence contributing to counter claims that Minnanese or Cantonese was the official language of the Tang dynasty. Also noting, both Minnanese and Cantonese call themselves Tang people.

The way Singapore Hokkien is spoken now is probably more like the original Yue dialect, i.e. sounding like everyone is looking for a fight anytime. It's lingua franca of the triads in Singapore and contributing more than half of the vocabulary in the Singlish dictionary. A phenomenon is that kids of all dialects and even races start learning Singapore Hokkien expletives from kindergarten ages. Expletives can be used from aggressive challenges, cursings to friendly greetings.

B'cos Hongkies Had Der Dough To Make HK Movies & Dramas

goldenshadows.jpg

Isn't it about time that we have our own complete versions of movies and songs that are based on our dialects? I think Singapore should promote this for us. I'm Hokkien and I prefer speaking Hokkien at home. I really hope that countries like Singapore and Taiwan would make an better effort to promote hokkien language movies, I mean if you look at Cantonese, they have their own versions of songs, movies, dramas even animation dubbed in Cantonese since the 1960's. Their Cantonese movies and songs are just as top quality and high budget as the mandarin one's. While Singapore is an country, should promote movies and songs based on the population of the nations. Singaporeans who are not even of Mandarin speaking origin are promoting Mandarin way too much.

It's rare finding Hokkien movies, but I did try on a few Taiwanese Hokkien movie, but sadly though, they tend to be of low budget and cheap quality, and 30% of time you would hear Mandarin mixing in with the Hokkien in the Taiwanese movies which annoys the hell out out of me. I wouldn't waste my time on Singaporean films, because they crap in my opinion. If you go to youtube you would find both mandarin and Cantonese having their own versions of everything with millions of views. Other dialects just sucks so bad on youtube or in any video website, and all they have is an few hundred to few thousand videos. I want to be entertained by my beloved Hokkien.

That is because Hong Kong has been in the Chinese market movie business for a long time even before Bruce Lee appeared on the silver screen. The industry is quite established, but I'm not sure about Bollywood.

Taiwanese movies never seems to catch attention of the Chinese in general (worldwide). Dono what happened to them. The Golden Horse awards keep going to Taiwanese shows that we don't seem to understand which part is the good part.

Hong Kong shows and dramas are boring - we keep seeing the same old pier, bridge, road junction, etc. No place to shoot meh ? So small meh ? The artistes are getting uglier ? Or was it the Koreans are getting prettier. I do remember that I came across a ... (forgot) that it was the Koreans that were watching Hongkies' movies in the past. Must be the Samsung and LG thing.

how about cantonese towards teochews?

Teochew sounds like Hokkien except for the pitch and tone because it's actually southern Minnanese. Teochew city was in Hokkien province until it was gerrymandered into Canton province which it belongs even now. They don't bother the Cantonese too much and the Cantonese don't bother them too much too.

Nobody says Hokkien sounds like French.