• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What SO GOOD About Workers Party???

So you would rather have complete PAP dominance of parliament forever? By your logic we may as well have all 100% arrogant, greedy, heartless PAP MPs because the opposition will be no better? We tried that path for 30 years and it brought misery.

Coward like you only know how to preserve the status quo and smear others. We need a balance of power in parliament precisely because human nature is very fallible and untrustworthy.

You rather keep the status quo of failed PAP policies? That's what I call short sighted coward.

Cowards are for those who only know how to curse n swear without even using their brains.

Before this thread, if you've open your eyes to read my previous threads or post. I've mentioned that I'm not against a govt change but the current opposition parties simply ain't good enough.

A sensible person would want a change to be better and not for the worst. Like what Sideswipe took an example of Taiwan, GREAT... What happen to Taiwan when Chen Shui-bian n his party ended KMT 50 years of ruling??? Tell everyone!!!

If you are residing in a HDB, ask yourself is that done by the current govt or your beloved WPs...

If you're a person of vision, you wouldn't be asking a party that has no experience to rule a developed nation. SG is no longer a baby, mind you.

If you have the vision and is a "LONG SIGHTED HERO", you can make sensible comparisons of SG to other countries. So many foreigners like to migrate to SG even Ang Mohs is not without a reason.

So I'm wondering how "long-sighted" are you or how "HERO" are you!!!

Fair enough... Let's not dwell on a confusing sentence.
I take your sentence and word for it. But may i ask you what did Chen Shui-bian did to Taiwan when he ended a 50 years ruling of the KMT for Taiwan???
Chen Shui-bian and his Democratic Progressive Party was put to try but during 8 years of his tenure, he embezzled, corrupted and launder all in US$15 millions dollars.
Is this the "TRY" that you're talking about???

the political and social conditions in Taiwan and Singapore are different. i can't replicate Taiwan 2000-2008 and put it into relevant contexts to the imagined scenario of a WP government in Singapore.

i said already. nobody knows if the WP government would be better or worse than the PAP government today. if the WP government is no good. vote against the WP at the next general election and bring back the PAP into power. anyway, the WP can't be so useless to rule the country to the point of impending collapse in just one 5 years term. and the PAP is not going to dissolve itself after it loses the election. party A and party B taking turns to rule the country happens everywhere. yes. Try out the WP..... there is a saying - don't put all your eggs in one basket. so we shouldn't make the PAP our only political choice for our own interests obviously.

the political and social conditions in Taiwan and Singapore are different. i can't replicate Taiwan 2000-2008 and put it into relevant contexts to the imagined scenario of a WP government in Singapore.

i said already. nobody knows if the WP government would be better or worse than the PAP government today. if the WP government is no good. vote against the WP at the next general election and bring back the PAP into power. anyway, the WP can't be so useless to rule the country to the point of impending collapse in just one 5 years term. and the PAP is not going to dissolve itself after it loses the election. party A and party B taking turns to rule the country happens everywhere. yes. Try out the WP..... there is a saying - don't put all your eggs in one basket. so we shouldn't make the PAP our only political choice for our own interests obviously.

Sorry, you was the one who quoted Taiwan as an example and now you are claiming that Taiwan 2000-2008 cannot be put into relevant context to a imagined scenario. If so, then why are you using Taiwan as an example in the first place? I didn't quote Taiwan as an example.

So who's the one making himself a fool in this forum??? Thank you!!!

I don't understand why ppl like you like to slap your own mouth. Why do you have to complaint about PAP, change it, then if its no good then go back to PAP after all the swearing n cursing. It's just like a man giving up his wife for a whore and later when he knows that a whore is still a whore, then he goes back to his wife.... If i'm the wife, i wouldn't want such a husband AT ALL!!! Simply a person without principles.

Sorry, you was the one who quoted Taiwan as an example and now you are claiming that Taiwan 2000-2008 cannot be put into relevant context to a imagined scenario. If so, then why are you using Taiwan as an example in the first place? I didn't quote Taiwan as an example.

So who's the one making himself a fool in this forum??? Thank you!!!

I don't understand why ppl like you like to slap your own mouth. Why do you have to complaint about PAP, change it, then if its no good then go back to PAP after all the swearing n cursing. It's just like a man giving up his wife for a whore and later when he knows that a whore is still a whore, then he goes back to his wife.... If i'm the wife, i wouldn't want such a husband AT ALL!!! Simply a person without principles.

this is because you are talking about DPP's rule of Taiwan in the latest post that is irrelevant to the conditions in Singapore. previously i just used the Taiwanese and Japanese examples to show that it is possible for the peoples to remove long-governing parties from power and their new governments would run the country smoothly as ever. Taiwan and Japan are surviving well as nations. this is the difference.

When a comparison is made, it must be made in whole context and not just on some part and don't compare on the negatives. Such is not comparisons.

If you only wanna use the positives of other countries or WP to do comparison, then use PAP positives as well.

When you throw out Taiwan as an example that the Democratic Progressive Party ended the KMT 50 years ruling of Taiwan, there's also a result in the 8 years of DPP reign. And the result show us the negatives more than positives. If you show the example of Taiwan DPP ended the KMT ruling and it did well, then i accept your comparison but not a comparison of partial only.

1. I'm replying to post that mentioned WP is cheap in salary. What is cheap??? For example, LHL drawing 200k a month and LTK is willing to draw only 20k a month if he's PM which i doubt so.

Some opposition parties have made their stand very clear during the last salary debate. WP's formula works out to $90K per month for PM. It's simple to conclude that this will be the salary they will draw. Not low to the unbelievable populist extent but not as high as the PAP's $200K.

Like another forummer has mentioned, WP has ask for ministerial salary to be lowered but ask for higher salary for MPs. So ask yourself.

I commend you for taking on many pro-opposition members at the same time but I hope you don't think that is an excuse to pass through inventions. WP has not asked for higher salary for MPs.

2. If the parliament can do the check, it has been done in the 90s. I remember your issues was raised by Chee Soo Juan as well if i'm not wrong.

I don't know if this is related but Dr Chee has never been in parliament. By getting elected WP has exposed some things like AIMS and I think that helped check better than if they had no seat.

So without any own members in the cabinet, how to check??

By your same argument, having only a few posts in the cabinet may not be effective since they will be a minority.

Ain't your statement contradicting when such actions have not been done in the parliament before even when questions are being raised by the govt.

Friend, that is not the meaning of "contradiction". "Contradiction" is when you make a claim and another claim that is opposite from the first claim.

3. If you open your eyes to read my sentence, i didn't say Tung Chee Wah was a "GOOD" busineesman. I only say he's a businessman.

Yes you didn't literally, word-by-word say "Tung is a good businessman". What you said was good businessmen don't necessarily make good politicians and cited Tung Chee Wah as an example. Do you think it makes sense if I say apples are not necessarily sweet and cite the durian as an example?

When a comparison is made, it must be made in whole context and not just on some part and don't compare on the negatives. Such is not comparisons.

If you only wanna use the positives of other countries or WP to do comparison, then use PAP positives as well.

When you throw out Taiwan as an example that the Democratic Progressive Party ended the KMT 50 years ruling of Taiwan, there's also a result in the 8 years of DPP reign. And the result show us the negatives more than positives. If you show the example of Taiwan DPP ended the KMT ruling and it did well, then i accept your comparison but not a comparison of partial only.

We are seasoned to pappies' selective comparison of many things...
>> Compared low taxi fares in sinkie land against high one in other countries, and then hike the fares. They did not compare other good things in that countries.
>> Compared low personal income tax, but they did not compare other good things in that countries having high personal income tax.
>> Compared MRT fare and its efficiency, but ... ...
>> Compared low unemployment rate (always less than 3% in reports), but ... ...
>> etc etc.

Who can be sure WP is not the next Taiwan Democratic Progressive Party.

Who can be sure Low Thia Kiang is not the next Chen Shui-bian.

We, the citizens using our votes, can make sure WP should not become like Taiwan DPP.
We, the citizens using our votes, can make sure LTK should not become like CSB.

Why should WP play by the set of rules define by you and the PAP? The PAP has played by its own rules through the decades ...when it feels threatened, it calls in the ISD to go after the opposition politicians and thrown them in the slammer without trial.
The WP will write its own rules in this competition for the right to govern.

Why should WP play by the set of rules define by you and the PAP? The PAP has played by its own rules through the decades ...when it feels threatened, it calls in the ISD to go after the opposition politicians and thrown them in the slammer without trial.
The WP will write its own rules in this competition for the right to govern.

I beg to differ.
The rules are set by the Constitution for the fairness to people regardless of races, colours, etc.
WP gov. could not set their own rules, but to adjust and remove the unfair rules (BTW there are many by-laws).

I beg to differ. The rules are set by the Constitution for the fairness to people regardless of races, colours, etc.

me like to differ too! look at how the Constitution had been easily amended over the years since we became independent. all you need is over two-thirds majority in the Parliament. good policies or bad, anything goes.

If every winning party is to change the rules of laws to their own advantages, then we could end up fighting ourselves, and disunity be set upon among us.
We should not follow steps on what pappies have done in the past.
Fairness, transparency, accountability and morality are for the future Singapore leadership quality.
Pappies have lost almost all of that quality, and end up recruiting many yes-men and self-serving people on board in the past 10 yrs.

We, the citizens using our votes, can make sure WP should not become like Taiwan DPP.

Ha..ha..ha... you are really a joker!!!

CSB was voted to be the President of Taiwan???

Almost all the corrupted Presidents or leaders are voted by the peoples... Since when our vote can make sure that they don't be corrupted??? What type of vote you are having???:D

If we have this type of vote like what you say... Why not we use your type of vote to make sure the current ruling party to do according to what you want???

We are seasoned to pappies' selective comparison of many things...
>> Compared low taxi fares in sinkie land against high one in other countries, and then hike the fares. They did not compare other good things in that countries.
>> Compared low personal income tax, but they did not compare other good things in that countries having high personal income tax.
>> Compared MRT fare and its efficiency, but ... ...
>> Compared low unemployment rate (always less than 3% in reports), but ... ...
>> etc etc.

One thing they dun dare or want to compare is their salaries.

Some opposition parties have made their stand very clear during the last salary debate. WP's formula works out to $90K per month for PM. It's simple to conclude that this will be the salary they will draw. Not low to the unbelievable populist extent but not as high as the PAP's $200K.

I commend you for taking on many pro-opposition members at the same time but I hope you don't think that is an excuse to pass through inventions. WP has not asked for higher salary for MPs.

I don't know if this is related but Dr Chee has never been in parliament. By getting elected WP has exposed some things like AIMS and I think that helped check better than if they had no seat.

By your same argument, having only a few posts in the cabinet may not be effective since they will be a minority.

Friend, that is not the meaning of "contradiction". "Contradiction" is when you make a claim and another claim that is opposite from the first claim.

Yes you didn't literally, word-by-word say "Tung is a good businessman". What you said was good businessmen don't necessarily make good politicians and cited Tung Chee Wah as an example. Do you think it makes sense if I say apples are not necessarily sweet and cite the durian as an example?

Thank you for your point by point rebuttal of this fucktard.
I wouldn't have the patience.
This proves the dumbfuck was talking thru his arse again.
Upz for awareness....

Ha..ha..ha... you are really a joker!!!

CSB was voted to be the President of Taiwan???

Almost all the corrupted Presidents or leaders are voted by the peoples... Since when our vote can make sure that they don't be corrupted??? What type of vote you are having???:D

If we have this type of vote like what you say... Why not we use your type of vote to make sure the current ruling party to do according to what you want???

In this very open on-line media, and with more educated and thinking sinkies, should we not trust in ourselves voting for the right candidates?
If an elected or chosen candidate was someone corrupted, we dig out the shit and ask him to go without waiting for the next election.
To have this kind of voter right and media freedom, we should be brave and ensure the WP gov. not set dragonian rules.
That is why I say in thread #130, #132 that every winning party should not change the rules of laws to their own advantages.
It is the dangerous route.

i dun understand why you all talked so much about white scums, wp, sdp, etc, etc.

as if by now we still have not learned that a party will change with time (eg white scums), absolute power corrupts absolutely (eg white scums) and monopoly serves only itself (eg white scums)

so what are we left with?

simple.
a) vote in more competition that always, always benefits the consumers. nature will take care of eliminating the weak, insane, self serving parties/individuals
b) let the government fears true pink singaporeans, knowing that no mistake is too small to cost it the majority in the the next election

1. 90k per month or maybe when the time comes, it'll be at 100k per month which ends up almost 1.2 mil per annum is not call cheap minister.

2. Sorry, maybe it's my mistake on WP but in the pass i did really read something about raising salary by WP. But nevertheless maybe it's my mistake n i admit it.

3. When i mentioned Chee Soo Juan, non of my words claimed that he's an MP before. When i said that the issue was raised by him was during a GE back then and he also brought up the issue of our govt lending money to Indonesia if you still could remember. So you have to understand before jumping into a conclusion.

4. If a person raise a question wanting to do a certain action. Knowing he or she do not have the ability but just keep dwelling on it. If it's not contradiction, you mean is confusing or what?

5. Sorry, I dun think it make sense because many forummers here like to cite compare apple to apple. So don't assumed. Thank you

So if you can make sure of so many things, then you should be the leader of SG cause you're sure of so many things.