• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Today's Scripture Reading

When Confucius was asked about God, he says let's talk about man. So a bright scholar like him can say this, who can now.

Wah!!! Just say like this already a bright scholar!

So, when some one ask, let's talk about man, and he answered: Let's talk about God and the Bible, I think this person is even brighter, hor!

Goodnews: for a sotong Chinese like you who don't know about Chinese history http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Confucius

I believed the rest of born-Chinese Christains who read this forum are ashame of you! and the sermon on the mount (Mat)/ plain (Luke) was Jesus teaching Buddhist Dhamapada scriptures and yet you still don't get it and insist it was Word of God. I give up on you.

Psalm23,

The Fear of the Lord is a topic that gives many spiritual insights. It also keep us on the straight and narrow. Most importantly it brings us to God the Father closer than anything we can ever do. Thank you for bringing up the topic - it refreshes what my earlier intentions.

Goodnews,

it was actually from a recorded conversation between Lao Tse and Confucius. For those who choose to believe in this conversation, the evidence for the Bible is far more rigorous than the evidence for this conversation.

Lao Tse was explaining his concepts to Confucius and the lattar was not able to grasp the esoterics of Lao Tse's ideas. Also, Confucius at that time was more interested in the material world of man - the governance, the rites and the proper relationships amongst the various societal entities. As such, he said those words.

It was often used by agnostics to defend their beliefs that they cannot determine God, though that was not Confucius' intention.

Both Lao Tse and Confucius had and have their place in chinese thoughts. They carry valuable insights into the natural world as well as social order.

Goodnews: for a sotong Chinese like you who don't know about Chinese history http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Confucius

I believed the rest of born-Chinese Christains who read this forum are ashame of you! and the sermon on the mount (Mat)/ plain (Luke) was Jesus teaching Buddhist Dhamapada scriptures and yet you still don't get it and insist it was Word of God. I give up on you.

Is ok! After all I am not the only one. There are 1.4 billion Chinese in China also don't know much about Chinese history. In fact, many young children in China don't even know who Mao Tze Tung is let alone Chinese history! This is a fact.

But as children of God, we can be ashame of anything, of being stupid but we must not be ashame of the Gospel and we must not deny Jesus. If you deny Jesus, He will deny you.

Ok lah....I know nothing about Chinese history....so what!...many people also don't know Chinese history hor. But you still have not told us where is the First Emperor of China now since you know so much about Chinese history. Why, in spite of his great work, he still considered himself not good enough to go to heaven?

A very little knowledge I know about history....history is written by people who won the war...so if you think you know Chinese history well, you are fooling yourself because no one actually knows the truth history. At best, what they know are just intellectual guesswork. My advice is: let's not spend all our time studying the achievements of dead people. Rather, we must spend our time listening to what our Living God tells us by reading God's Word, the Bible because only His Word is the truth, hor!

As we have seen, history can not bring us forward because human beings simply don't learn. If at all, we are repeating the histories of the world all over again and bring nothing but chaos to the world. Frankly, my opinion, it is better not to know to much of history but just move forward with what God has installed for us - the inheritance of His glorious Kingdom! Let's prepare ourselves to enter into our future Kingdom rather than going back in time into history and we can see, the past histories of the world brought nothing but miseries to people. Our living hope of God's Kingdom will bring eternal peace and joy. The histories of the world will be lost forever and forever once we entered into the glorious Kingdom of God...so why spend time studying history when we know it going to turn to ashes, hor. I am sotong, so sotong lor...but we very soon we are going to be the princes and princesses of our Heavenly King! But what about you? You will be worst than sotong.....you will be gnashing your teeth with pains like 'thingtong' for ever and ever in the Lake of Fire hor! So, it's better to be sotong now....for Jesus sake .... sotong, satong, lor....When I go to heaven, I will tell Jesus that you, tanwahtiu called me sotong because of my believe in Him as my Saviour when I was on the earth.

God Bless

Last edited by a moderator:
Goodnews,

it was actually from a recorded conversation between Lao Tse and Confucius. For those who choose to believe in this conversation, the evidence for the Bible is far more rigorous than the evidence for this conversation.

Lao Tse was explaining his concepts to Confucius and the lattar was not able to grasp the esoterics of Lao Tse's ideas. Also, Confucius at that time was more interested in the material world of man - the governance, the rites and the proper relationships amongst the various societal entities. As such, he said those words.

It was often used by agnostics to defend their beliefs that they cannot determine God, though that was not Confucius' intention.

Both Lao Tse and Confucius had and have their place in chinese thoughts. They carry valuable insights into the natural world as well as social order.

IR123,

Great enlightenment!

God Bless

[Please use the message here as the Lord leads, but nothing on the message must be used for profit!]​
Reposted because of a minor typo-error - apologies!

Today’s Scripture Reading [August 15, 2010]

Come and hear, all ye that fear God, and I will declare what he hath done for my soul. [Psalms 66:16. KJV]

Today, again we are going to examine a topic that once was considered to be a very basic part of our spiritual life. It was discussed quite often even to the extent that it was part of common conversation back in the days of our great-grandparents when one of the highest compliments you could give an individual was to say that they were a God-fearing person. Today, to say that an individual is a God-fearing person brings derision or scorn. This topic is now not only just shunned by society, it is even hated by many people who just couldn’t stand to hear these few words: The fear of the Lord. You don’t need to go further to verify this statement, just watch the comments and feedback of this post following this message and you will notice how true this can be! Their negative violent reactions of hatred in respond to this message simply tell us that they want to be completely left alone. This attitude of arrogancy to reject God’s sovereignty and authority simply points to the corrupt, sinful and lawlessness nature of human race. It is a fact that people know and fully accept that without effective governmental authority, there will be chaos and anarchy in the society, yet, many people cannot accept similar fact that when we live a godless life, we will also end up in a state of “personal chaos and anarchy.” But, why is it so?

Before we continue to answer this question, let us first examine the meaning of ‘the fear of God’ from the Holy Scripture. In Psalm 33:8 it reads: “Let all the earth fear the Lord; Let all the inhabitants of the world stand in awe of Him”. Here, the Psalmist defines fearing the Lord as standing in awe of Him, having awesome reverence of Him due to His being the glorious and majestic Person that He is. There is no way for any fallen and carnal mind to fully comprehend His greatness and His supremacy but by the Holy Spirit we are overwhelmed when we think about His infinite knowledge and His power, His complete sovereignty, His high holiness and justice and His benevolent goodness. He is an awesome God and being aware of that fact produces awe and reverence for Him. This is a fundamental part of fearing God.

In Malachi 1:6, it is mentioned: “A son honors his father, and a servant his master. Then if I am a Father, where is My honor? And if I am a Master, where is My respect (literally, it could mean fear) says the LORD of hosts”. Here, the Lord teaches us what it is to fear Him by using two earthly examples. A child is to honor their father. A servant is to respect their master. Honor and respect come from recognizing authority. Children and their fathers are not equals. They can never be. Children must humble themselves and seek to please and obey their father who has higher authority over them. But time has changed. Children are getting more disobedient towards authority both at home and outside the home. The end result of disobedient children brings chaos not just to the home but also to the society. We see this in schools where teachers simply have given up disciplining their students leaving them instead to social counselors. Try talking with these social counselors and they will tell you all the challenges of managing and counseling today’s students. Having social counselors in our schools is a recent development. There wasn’t such thing during my school years. All we had was a school teacher doubled up as disciplinary master and I remembered that in my school days, we often had to run to ‘take cover’ when we saw the disciplinary master coming towards us. We simply feared him because of the extra authority that he had as a disciplinary master. The students back then were much more respectful of authority.

We must acknowledge that God is both our Father and Master and until we recognize this, we will not respect Him let alone fear Him. But once we recognize this, we will come to honor, respect and fear Him due to His rightful authority over us. With humility, we seek to please Him and take every effort to please Him. The fear of God is an extremely important integral part of our worship and service to our God. Unlike our earthly parents who, frankly, sometimes fail to demonstrate their love because often their own examples have fallen far short of what is demanded from God or even from society. Our God is, nonetheless, totally different. Jesus has demonstrated His love and the greatest love that He has demonstrated to us was His willingness to travel all the way to Calvary, stretched out both His Hands and said: “This much I love you” and gave up His life for us!

In Luke 12:4-5 we read: “And I say to you, My friends, do not be afraid of those who kill the body, and after that have no more that they can do. But I will warn you whom to fear: fear the One who after He has killed has authority to cast into hell; yes, I tell you, fear Him.” Who then do we fear? Man or God?

If someone were to confront you with a loaded gun or some other deadly weapon, it would be quite natural for us to experience fear. It is common for us to want to avoid or run-away from what we are afraid of especially when we are confronted with a life-threatening situation. With our fear of God, it is quite the opposite. Our fear of God will draw us more closely to Him because He is the only One Who can save us from eternal death. He provides the only way for our salvation. On the other hand, the fear of man brings a snare but the one who trusts the Lord will be safe (Proverbs 29:25).

From cover to cover, the Bible is full of verses concerning ‘the Fear of the Lord'. Just take the Book of Proverbs which has only 31 Proverbs and ‘the Fear of the Lord’ is mentioned 18 times. What could be more obvious to us then this revelation that the fear of God must so essential to our Christian living that God has to remind us 18 times just in the Book of Proverbs. Besides the Book of Proverbs, there are many verses in the Bible that also tell us the positive results that we are going to experience when we fear God and give complete reverence to Him. For today I like to share with you all some of the positive results that we will experience when we all live as God-fearing Christians as told in the Book of Proverbs:

• The fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge and the fear of the Lord will give us the wisdom to obey His instruction (Proverbs 1:7; 9:10).

• Without the fear of the Lord, not only we don’t fully comprehend His knowledge, we even hate it (Proverbs 1:29). This is the reason why people who have no fear in God will keep blaspheming and mocking God.

• Unless we fear God, we will not be able to find His knowledge (Proverbs 2:5).

• The fear of God will give us the wisdom to be wise, not in our own eyes but through His eyes, and the fear of God we help us to stay from the evil way (Proverbs 3:7; 16:6).

• When we fear God, we will hate evil like pride and arrogancy (Proverbs 8:13).

• The fear of the Lord will prolong our life but the wicked, those who have no fear in God will have their years shortened (Proverbs 10:27).

• The fear of the Lord will give us the Spirit of Christ to walk upright but those who despised Him will walk in perversion (Proverbs 14:2).

• The fear of the Lord will protect the children of those who fear Him and He will be the source of their refuge (Proverbs 14:26).

• The fear of the Lord is a fountain of life (Proverbs 14:27) upon which we can drink the living water of Jesus which we will never thirst.

• It is better to have even a little when we truly live in the fear of the Lord because the fear of the Lord is greater than great treasure (Proverbs 15:16).

• The fear of the Lord will be our strong force that we can use to conqueror evil and stay away from it (Proverbs 19:23).

• We can be rich, we can have honour and we can have life without envy as long as we live a God-fearing live (Proverbs 22:4; 23-17).

• A God-fearing woman is to be praised (Proverbs 31:30).

In this satanic age when abnormal things have become all too normal, we now all are in danger of being insenstivized by these ‘abnormal normal’ things that may give us enjoyment and pleasure for only a short season but we will soon find ourselves craving for more to a point of addiction. In fact, many are already so insensitivized by these ‘abnormal normal’ things that we see people walking like zombies and digital addicts on the streets listening to music on their mobile phones, iPods, watching movies, playing video games on their handheld video devices or mobile-phones, sending SMSs and they unaware what’s going around them. Many of us have lost the sense of our true identity and life purpose that indeed we are God’s children and that our basic life purpose is to give reverence and respect His authority, to fear God and to serve and worship God with our whole heart.

The saddest thing is that there is no longer such a thing as the innocence of childhood because kids are exposed to unrighteousness at a younger and younger age, thanks to the digital world! Parents are now fighting a losing battle to exercise their authority over their children. It is urgent for us therefore as adults to fear God right away and thereby hate evil in all of its forms in order that we too can bring our kids to fear God. The sooner the better it is. We need to stop making excuses! Just as a father has compassion on his children, so the LORD, our Heavenly Father, has compassion on those who fear Him (Psalms 103:13).

Psalm23,

The Fear of the Lord is a topic that gives many spiritual insights. It also keep us on the straight and narrow. Most importantly it brings us to God the Father closer than anything we can ever do. Thank you for bringing up the topic - it refreshes what my earlier intentions.

IR123-In-Christ,

Thanks for the encouragement.

The Fear of the Lord is one of the topics that seldom discussed even though verses upon verses on the Fear of the Lord are found in the Bible. It is my hope and my prayer that churches deliver more messages on this topic.

Have a great and blessed week ahead.

Psalm23

Is ok! After all I am not the only one. There are 1.4 billion Chinese in China also don't know much about Chinese history. In fact, many young children in China don't even know who Mao Tze Tung is let alone Chinese history! This is a fact.

But as children of God, we can be ashame of anything, of being stupid but we must not be ashame of the Gospel and we must not deny Jesus. If you deny Jesus, He will deny you.

Ok lah....I know nothing about Chinese history....so what!...many people also don't know Chinese history hor. But you still have not told us where is the First Emperor of China now since you know so much about Chinese history. Why, in spite of his great work, he still considered himself not good enough to go to heaven?

A very little knowledge I know about history....history is written by people who won the war...so if you think you know Chinese history well, you are fooling yourself because no one actually knows the truth history. At best, what they know are just intellectual guesswork. My advice is: let's not spend all our time studying the achievements of dead people. Rather, we must spend our time listening to what our Living God tells us by reading God's Word, the Bible because only His Word is the truth, hor!

As we have seen, history can not bring us forward because human beings simply don't learn. If at all, we are repeating the histories of the world all over again and bring nothing but chaos to the world. Frankly, my opinion, it is better not to know to much of history but just move forward with what God has installed for us - the inheritance of His glorious Kingdom! Let's prepare ourselves to enter into our future Kingdom rather than going back in time into history and we can see, the past histories of the world brought nothing but miseries to people. Our living hope of God's Kingdom will bring eternal peace and joy. The histories of the world will be lost forever and forever once we entered into the glorious Kingdom of God...so why spend time studying history when we know it going to turn to ashes, hor. I am sotong, so sotong lor...but we very soon we are going to be the princes and princesses of our Heavenly King! But what about you? You will be worst than sotong.....you will be gnashing your teeth with pains like 'thingtong' for ever and ever in the Lake of Fire hor! So, it's better to be sotong now....for Jesus sake .... sotong, satong, lor....When I go to heaven, I will tell Jesus that you, tanwahtiu called me sotong because of my believe in Him as my Saviour when I was on the earth.

God Bless

GoodNews,

You have quite a good sense of humour!

An average Chinese in China will really say you are 'thingtong' when you said you are studying Confucius now! They don't even care about who Mao Tze Tung is (as mentioned by you) let alone study all these confusing Analects written by Confucius.

If you have noticed, in the CCTV channels, you can hardly see any programs on China past histories and at most the channels give an air-time of 15 minutes. I used to be a ardent fan watching a program in the CCTV channels on China past histories. The program only lasted 10 minutes and often they have to continue on another day. Who can be bothered to remember and follow up on the program - may be some 'thingtongs' will.

Let's us be sotong for Jesus' sake...nothing wrong..in fact God should be very pleased as all believers of His Word are supposed to be peculiar people (or even sotong)...but just don't be 'thingtong' and spend endless hours studying 'the achievements of dead people' as what you have said.

Psalm23

GoodNews,

An average Chinese in China will really say you are 'thingtong' when you said you are studying Confucius now! They don't even care about who Mao Tze Tung is (as mentioned by you) let alone study all these confusing Analects written by Confucius.

If you have noticed, in the CCTV channels, you can hardly see any programs on China past histories and at most the channels give an air-time of 15 minutes. I used to be a ardent fan watching a program in the CCTV channels on China past histories. The program only lasted 10 minutes and often they have to continue on another day. Who can be bothered to remember and follow up on the program - may be some 'thingtongs' will.

Let's us be sotong for Jesus' sake...nothing wrong..in fact God should be very pleased as all believers of His Word are supposed to be peculiar people (or even sotong)...but just don't be 'thingtong' and spend endless hours studying 'the achievements of dead people' as what you have said.

Psalm23

Psalm,

Jesus did not die as it was siad in the Bible. He died in London in front of ST peter Catheral. He died at age of 66. Jesus of Canobeline was Jesus that you worship and call God. J Canobilne was King of England and Prince Charles can tell you if he is honest with you.

I don't have to tell you where to find this info, just search in Google will find it.

Jesus was not God. He was a Rabbi or re-incarnate of Buddha if you want to call it that way.

If you want to be call a Christian, add a prefix in front - Paul-Christian. It was Paul (Italain) that made Jesus God among all Gods that they pray to. If Jesus is God the Jews will tell you so. Until now the Jews are wating for the trure messiah to come. just be patient with th Jews and together you wait with them.

Until now you didn't tell us which denomination you belong to.

http://www.joshuabooks.com/biblefraud/internalgif/sample.htm

http://www.thedevineevidence.com/the_bible_fraud_review_9-14.html

Psalm,

Jesus did not die as it was siad in the Bible. He died in London in front of ST peter Catheral. He died at age of 66. Jesus of Canobeline was Jesus that you worship and call God. J Canobilne was King of England and Prince Charles can tell you if he is honest with you.

I don't have to tell you where to find this info, just search in Google will find it.

Jesus was not God. He was a Rabbi or re-incarnate of Buddha if you want to call it that way.

If you want to be call a Christian, add a prefix in front - Paul-Christian. It was Paul (Italain) that made Jesus God among all Gods that they pray to. If Jesus is God the Jews will tell you so. Until now the Jews are wating for the trure messiah to come. just be patient with th Jews and together you wait with them.

Until now you didn't tell us which denomination you belong to.

http://www.joshuabooks.com/biblefraud/internalgif/sample.htm

http://www.thedevineevidence.com/the_bible_fraud_review_9-14.html

till now i dont think they ever know which denomination they belong to...most asian xtians just believe as they are told and brain washed...

Goodnews,

Your time writing this few lines above must be expensive.

Since you say your time is costly to the company you must be holding high executive position. And you are wasting time in this forum which you must be either not doing much in the company and browsing internet most of the time. Oh! I forget, at the top is often lonely and since no one to check on your productivity, you must be spending most of your time browsing internet than working hard for shareholders.

GoodNews,

Don't mind if i butt in? Actually years of Mao Tse Tung and Mao's thoughts have led to depleted chinese who understand only the morals of money. That is a shame. The chinese are sitting on a great heritage and all they know is Mao and money.

And that is not good because the ideas of the great chinese philosophers live on after them. The Bible talks about salvation. Confucius talked about the governance of a society. Once I thought it was boring stuff, something espoused by the old old generation. But as I read his thoughts as well as that of the other philosophers (chinese, indians) I realize that there is a great wealth of knowledge that if we were to avoid and degrade them, it will be a loss to us as human beings.

My two cents.

Don't mind if i butt in? Actually years of Mao Tse Tung and Mao's thoughts have led to depleted chinese who understand only the morals of money. That is a shame. The chinese are sitting on a great heritage and all they know is Mao and money.

And that is not good because the ideas of the great chinese philosophers live on after them. The Bible talks about salvation. Confucius talked about the governance of a society. Once I thought it was boring stuff, something espoused by the old old generation. But as I read his thoughts as well as that of the other philosophers (chinese, indians) I realize that there is a great wealth of knowledge that if we were to avoid and degrade them, it will be a loss to us as human beings.

My two cents.

Dear IR123-In-Christ,

I agree what you have said. As I have mentioned, I used to be an ardent fan of the CCTV channel 47 and 97 which have featured Chinese history programs. But the sad part is that the program is not frequently telecasted something like once or twice a week and each time is about 15 to 30 minutes. It's quite interesting to know some the history of the world but again as mentioned in the blog here, history is written by people who won the war and we can't really known whether they are really accurate.

Closer to us, we can notice that each time we see something written about the history of Spore-Malaya-Malaysia by senior politicians between Spore and Malaysia, we can see alot of disagreements among them. Even the memoire written by one of our founding fathers were being challenged for it's accuracy. I remembered that a daughter of a former finance ministers of Malaysia had to come and to try to clarify something she thought was not accurately written about her father in that memoire. So, even with such a short history of Malaya-Singapore-Malaysia we can see there are disagreements.

Another point is that - I agree that we should not degrade the philosohers whether they are Indians, Chinese, English because these are people with great mind. But what I am trying to say that in China, because of economic reasons (and also the rest of the world as well), now nobody cares about liberal arts which includes history, philosophy, religion.

To support my point, I have many Chinese friends from China (because I took up lessons on a chinese musical instrument and through this I came to know quite a few Chinese friends from China). I am not bragging because I have nothing to brag but I was very surprised that with my very limited knowledge of Chinese history and heritage, I realized that China people who are below age 30 just don't know much about Chinese history, at least not more than I know which is already very very little. They simply not interested at it.

Psalm23

Psalm,

Really meh? Jesus went to London…by camel or by airplane huh?

So, besides London, can you tell us where did Jesus also go?

Actually, I also heard from some 'tingtongs' who said Jesus also went to China, India and South America!

But as far as we sotongs are concerned, Jesus' last journey was to the Calvary. He walked all the way there carrying a huge wooden cross, shed every drop of His blood and finally laid His life for all sinners including all the sotongs (like us) and all the tingtongs (like you, tanwahtui).

Believers of Christ are known as children of God...in God, there is only one kingdom, the Kingdom of God. In Jesus, there is no denomination...all denominations, sects, etc are made-man and not God-inspired. But many tingtongs just keep harping on this like a broken tingtong musical instrument and use this to misinform and confuse Christians. They are Satan’s tingtong armies and want to split the church which is the Body of Christ. So, my fellow sotongs-in-Christ, don’t let the tingtongs to confuse you...yes you may be attending a Methodist Church, an Angelican Church, or a Lutheran Church...these names are necessary because in many countries churches (and other institutions) must be registered with the government and a name has to be given for the registration. Some names, needless to say have good historical background to it such as Methodist which was started by John Wesley. Many church member are very proud (in Godly sense) of founders whose names are used to identify the church.

So, tingtongs can now put to rest and stop asking this question to the Christian sotongs!

Note: I know the questions are addressed to Psalm23 and he seems to just concentrate on his weekly message in the Today's Scripture Reading. So, I am taking the liberty to reply because as Christians, we are in one accord. There should be no denomination nor divison among us! Glory to Jesus!

God Bless

God Bless you all for the reading of the thread here!

Psalm,

Note: I know the questions are addressed to Psalm23 and he seems to just concentrate on his weekly message in the Today's Scripture Reading. So, I am taking the liberty to reply because as Christians, we are in one accord. There should be no denomination nor divison among us! Glory to Jesus!

God Bless

Hahaha, sure enough you don't know what 'denomination' means? Most Sinkies Christians are so sotong?

Is ok lor...most sotong-Christians don't know anyway...We will leave it to the tingtongs to figure it out. So, if you are one those tingtongs (and I think you are) and want to do your tingtong research about Christian denomination, please go ahead. In fact, those truly born-again Christians really couldn't careless about denomination. We care alot on our relationship with our dear Lord Jesus who has paid His life as ransom for us! We care more about sharing His work of salvation and to keep His commandments. We care more about sinners (including all the tingtongs) and how to share with them about the Kingdom of God. We care more about the lost souls because without Christ, their final destination is to suffer eternal pain and sorrows like tingtong in the Lake of Fire. We care and we cry before our Lord Jesus, why! why! Why people don't just repent so that they can be saved. We care, we care of the lost souls.....but not about what denomination of this religion, or that religion....because everything is irrelevant - only Jesus! Jesus! Jesus! God Bless.

Psalm23;536984]GoodNews,

China banned the Bible and Christianity and you still believe Jesus is God. The Jews says Jesus is not the Messiah and you still believe what was written in the Bible.

Jesus did not die for your sin, fat hope! What is there to die for your sin when you are not born with one!

Scientists cannot find anything in the human body that have sin cells or sin genes. If you have sin God will plants something in your body and say 'nah! this is sin'.

Just pray to your ancestors will do just fine. Jesus is not God.