• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Today's Scripture Reading

That's where you are dead wrong. The evilness of techology cannot be denied and I fully agree all that Psalm23 wrote. The intention of technology started good, but overtime man will abuse and misuse it completely and in turn it causes alot of problems. In fact, anything that is invented by man will find it's way to destruction. Just go to google and search for "the problems of internet" you will see alot of very negative reports - not from Christians but from secular organizations. Bible has predicted all these before hand. I hope Psalm23 can write something on this.

As I have mentioned, I read very closely what Psalm23 wrote and each time he uses the name of God, they are scriptural and relevant to what is in taught in the Bible. I don't see him using the name of God in vain, not even once!

Message to Psalm23 - Kindly continue your message. I believe many Christians (like IR123) have been blessed by your messages. Please continue and don't let others affect your posting in the Today's Scripture Reading. God is very clear on this because God has declared: The fool has said in his heart that there is no God. If people want to be fools (we dindn't say this but God has said so in Psalm 14 and Psalm 53), so let them be.

God Bless.

Bible written by 36 authors!

We wish that every book of the Bible was a model of correct grammar, punctuation, syntax and high literary style. However, the Bible is a very ancient collection of small books and letters written by at least thirty-six authors over a span of 1,600 years. The writers include prophets, fishermen, kings, ministers, lawyers, priests, a doctor and even a tax collector.
In addition to the wide variety of the language skills of the authors there are missing letters and words in many of the old manuscripts. These missing parts are referred to as "lacuna," which is the Latin word for a space where something has been omitted or left out. As you can see from the picture of the facsimile, many old manuscripts are the worse for the wear having numerous holes and missing parts. It then becomes the challenge of Bible scholars to literally fill in the blanks while staying as true to the original text as possible. Of course, it would be ideal if we had beautiful copies of the original books and letters that were somehow miraculously preserved, but such is not the case. Instead we have, in whole or in part, over 4000 Greek manuscripts of the New Testament which date back to around 350 A.D. In addition there are thousands of fragments of copies of the books of the New Testament that may date back much earlier. By comparing these fragments, scholars have been able to assemble the Holy Scriptures as we know them today.

courtesy: http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20090406181040AA8XYvd

in view of using God's name or words in vain, we are not simply talking about quoting the bible only, but quoting bible out of context or trying to fit into the scenario of his fancies,,,,,,

what has God basically talking about the mexican gulf oil spill.........

it is a human mistake, and the inability to control the spill,,,, why make a hew and cry and claiming the end is near. the end is near regardless the spill,,,,,

was god the father care about the spill when he even create a flood to kill all human save Noah and family? or when he destroyed sodom and gomorrah, imagine ALL in the cities,,, children included?

today's scripture question,

Now here is my problem which i cannot fathom of Christianity no matter how well meaning they may be.
If Jesus worshipped God and did all the humanly things that people do and told His people to "FOLLOW ME" (i believe this is what was said in the bible?) why dont His followers follow Him instead of worshipping Him? Why dont the Christians worship the very same God that Jesus worshipped ?

Interestingly, there was a survey done i may be able to find the source but that was done abt the Anglican Church in Britain, Now they polled the Pastors and found 20% of them did not believe in the bodily resurrection of Christ and a mere 60% believed in the Virgin birth!! how strange is that 60% ?? thats even lower than the attendees of the church!(62%)

in view of using God's name or words in vain, we are not simply talking about quoting the bible only, but quoting bible out of context or trying to fit into the scenario of his fancies,,,,,,

what has God basically talking about the mexican gulf oil spill.........

it is a human mistake, and the inability to control the spill,,,, why make a hew and cry and claiming the end is near. the end is near regardless the spill,,,,,

was god the father care about the spill when he even create a flood to kill all human save Noah and family? or when he destroyed sodom and gomorrah, imagine ALL in the cities,,, children included?

That is the reason why I have to rebut Psalm23. All the did was whinging about the environment and pointing fingers everywhere and drag God's name in vain (refer to Bible as word of god) and for the problem and that was his spirtual message here. What a load of carp!

Perhaps Sam was right when he says "post your religious crap here'.

Psalms 23 is probably the kind of person who cry for the environment, pray for the birds and fishes, and looking forward to armageddon,,,, in the meantime, cannot see the suffering of fellow humans in china, and india and other parts suffering from the hand of God in having freak weather,,,, no financial help and simply pray to his Father in heaven to deliver those victims from evil while sipping his latte and looking sad on mexican gulf,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, seen too many this kinda people

Probably he was a retired pastor, or castout pastor, who still preached out of OB markers. Goodnews seems to do better than Psalm23 message.

I take your comments as a compliment but frankly, I don't need any compliment. All glory and praises are His and all men deserve nothing but eternal punishment. Mercifully, God has not given us up and is waiting for us to be reconciled to Him.

We believe in the Bible because the Bible is about human history - past, present and future. So, let me tell you that Psalm23 seems to be one of the very few who are so fearless in telling people about the current development in relation to what is mentioned in the Bible. We just cannot separate the two. In fact, almost the whole Bible - OT and NT - is about human wickedness, sinfulness, cruelty and this can only be understood by looking at the current affair of the world, of humanity.

Just go and google for the topic on 'the infuence of internet' you will see there are many research studies that tell us the influence of internet is anything but satanic. They are secular writers, not Christian writers. The research institutions are secular organizations, not related to churches.

So, sorry to re-butt you....I think what Psalm23 is writing so far is completely scriptural and biblical. But for people whose soul 'are dead', those writings certainly do not make sense to them!

God Bless

Last edited by a moderator:
I take your comments as a compliment but frankly, I don't need any compliment. All glory and praises are His and all men deserve nothing but eternal punishment. Mercifully, God has not given us up and is waiting for us to be reconciled to Him.

We believe in the Bible because the Bible is about human history - past, present and future. So, let me tell you that Psalm23 seems to be one of the very few who are so fearless in telling people about the current development in relation to what is mentioned in the Bible. We just cannot separate the two. In fact, almost the whole Bible - OT and NT - is about human wickedness, sinfulness, cruelty and this can only be understood by looking at the current affair of the world, of humanity.

God Bless

36 writers...how about u become the 37th???

if you are so strong in your faith...go gather right in front of the public and drink a bottle of soap and poison.....see if u are still alive without any help from the doctors

When reading the Bible, pay attention to the differences in the storyline between those of "the Lord" and "the LORD". You might have noticed some differences if you start to read Genesis.

Just go and google for the topic on 'the infuence of internet' you will see there are many research studies that tell us the influence of internet is anything but satanic. They are secular writers, not Christian writers. The research institutions are secular organizations, not related to churches.

So, sorry to re-butt you....I think what Psalm23 is writing so far is completely scriptural and biblical. But for people whose soul 'are dead', those writings certainly do not make sense to them!

God Bless

Psalm23 = Goodnews - like father and the son is one, with a holy spirit.

God Bless

Psalm = Goodnews. Like father is God is Son and same Holy sipirt.

[Please use the message here as the Lord leads, but nothing on the message must be used for profit!]​

Today’s Scripture Reading [August 15, 2010]

Come and hear, all ye that fear God, and I will declare what he hath done for my soul. [Psalms 66:16. KJV]

Today, again we are going to examine a topic that once was considered to be a very basic part of our spiritual life. It was discussed quite often even to the extent that it was part of common conversation back in the days of our great-grandparents when one of the highest compliments you could give an individual was to say that they were a God-fearing person. Today, to say that an individual is a God-fearing person brings derision or scorn. This topic is now not only just shunned by society, it is even hated by many people who just couldn’t stand to hear these few words: The fear of the Lord. You don’t need to go further to verify this statement, just watch the comments and feedback of this post following this message and you will notice how true this can be! Their negative violent reactions of hatred in respond to this message simply tell us that they want to be completely left alone. This attitude of arrogancy to reject God’s sovereignty and authority simply points to the corrupt, sinful and lawlessness nature of human race. It is a fact that people know and fully accept that without effective governmental authority, there will be chaos and anarchy in the society, yet, many people cannot accept similar fact that when we live a godless life, we will also end up in a state of “personal chaos and anarchy.” But, why is it so?

Before we continue to answer this question, let us first examine the meaning of ‘the fear of God’ from the Holy Scripture. In Psalm 33:8 it reads: “Let all the earth fear the Lord; Let all the inhabitants of the world stand in awe of Him”. Here, the Psalmist defines fearing the Lord as standing in awe of Him, having awesome reverence of Him due to His being the glorious and majestic Person that He is. There is no way for any fallen and carnal mind to fully comprehend His greatness and His supremacy but by the Holy Spirit we are overwhelmed when we think about His infinite knowledge and His power, His complete sovereignty, His high holiness and justice and His benevolent goodness. He is an awesome God and being aware of that fact produces awe and reverence for Him. This is a fundamental part of fearing God.

In Malachi 1:6, it is mentioned: “A son honors his father, and a servant his master. Then if I am a Father, where is My honor? And if I am a Master, where is My respect (literally, it could mean fear) says the LORD of hosts”. Here, the Lord teaches us what it is to fear Him by using two earthly examples. A child is to honor their father. A servant is to respect their master. Honor and respect come from recognizing authority. Children and their fathers are not equals. They can never be. Children humble themselves and seek to please and obey their father who has higher authority over them. But time has changed. Children are getting more disobedient towards authority both at home and outside the home. The end result of obedient children brings chaos not just to the home but also to the society. We see this in schools where teachers simply have given up disciplining their students leaving them instead to social counselors. Try talking with these social counselors and they will tell you all the challenges of managing and counseling today’s students. Having social counselors in our schools is a recent development. There wasn’t such thing during my school years. All we had was a school teacher doubled up as disciplinary master and I remembered that in my school days, we often had to run to ‘take cover’ when we saw the disciplinary master coming towards us. We simply feared him because of the extra authority that he had as a disciplinary master. The students back then were much more respectful of authority.

We must acknowledge that God is both our Father and Master and until we recognize this, we will not respect Him let alone fear Him. But once we recognize this, we will come to honor, respect and fear Him due to His rightful authority over us. With humility, we seek to please Him and take every effort to please Him. The fear of God is an extremely important integral part of our worship and service to our God. Unlike our earthly parents who, frankly, sometimes fail to demonstrate their love because often their own examples have fallen far short of what is demanded from God or even from society. Our God is, nonetheless, totally different. Jesus has demonstrated His love and the greatest love that He has demonstrated to us was His willingness to travel all the way to Calvary, stretched out both His Hands and said: “This much I love you” and gave up His life for us!

In Luke 12:4-5 we read: “And I say to you, My friends, do not be afraid of those who kill the body, and after that have no more that they can do. But I will warn you whom to fear: fear the One who after He has killed has authority to cast into hell; yes, I tell you, fear Him.” Who then do we fear? Man or God?

If someone were to confront you with a loaded gun or some other deadly weapon, it would be quite natural for us to experience fear. It is common for us to want to avoid or run-away from what we are afraid of especially when we are confronted with a life-threatening situation. With our fear of God, it is quite the opposite. Our fear of God will draw us more closely to Him because He is the only One Who can save us from eternal death. He provides the only way for our salvation. On the other hand, the fear of man brings a snare but the one who trusts the Lord will be safe (Proverbs 29:25).

From cover to cover, the Bible is full of verses concerning ‘the Fear of the Lord'. Just take the Book of Proverbs which has only 31 Proverbs and ‘the Fear of the Lord’ is mentioned 18 times. What could be more obvious to us then this revelation that the fear of God must so essential to our Christian living that God has to remind us 18 times just in the Book of Proverbs. Besides the Book of Proverbs, there are many verses in the Bible that also tell us the positive results that we are going to experience when we fear God and give complete reverence to Him. For today I like to share with you all some of the positive results that we will experience when we all live as God-fearing Christians as told in the Book of Proverbs:

• The fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge and the fear of the Lord will give us the wisdom to obey His instruction (Proverbs 1:7; 9:10).

• Without the fear of the Lord, not only we don’t fully comprehend His knowledge, we even hate it (Proverbs 1:29). This is the reason why people who have no fear in God will keep blaspheming and mocking God.

• Unless we fear God, we will not be able to find His knowledge (Proverbs 2:5).

• The fear of God will give us the wisdom to be wise, not in our own eyes but through His eyes, and the fear of God we help us to stay from the evil way (Proverbs 3:7; 16:6).

• When we fear God, we will hate evil like pride and arrogancy (Proverbs 8:13).

• The fear of the Lord will prolong our life but the wicked, those who have no fear in God will have their years shortened (Proverbs 10:27).

• The fear of the Lord will give us the Spirit of Christ to walk upright but those who despised Him will walk in perversion (Proverbs 14:2).

• The fear of the Lord will protect the children of those who fear Him and He will be the source of their refuge (Proverbs 14:26).

• The fear of the Lord is a fountain of life (Proverbs 14:27) upon which we can drink the living water of Jesus which we will never thirst.

• It is better to have even a little when we truly live in the fear of the Lord because the fear of the Lord is greater than great treasure (Proverbs 15:16).

• The fear of the Lord will be our strong force that we can use to conqueror evil and stay away from it (Proverbs 19:23).

• We can be rich, we can have honour and we can have life without envy as long as we live a God-fearing live (Proverbs 22:4; 23-17).

• A God-fearing woman is to be praised (Proverbs 31:30).

In this satanic age when abnormal things have become all too normal, we now all are in danger of being insenstivized by these ‘abnormal normal’ things that may give us enjoyment and pleasure for only a short season but we will soon find ourselves craving for more to a point of addiction. In fact, many are already so insensitivized by these ‘abnormal normal’ things that we see people walking like zombies and digital addicts on the streets listening to music on their mobile phones, iPods, watching movies, playing video games on their handheld video devices or mobile-phones, sending SMSs and they unaware what’s going around them. Many of us have lost the sense of our true identity and life purpose that indeed we are God’s children and that our basic life purpose is to give reverence and respect His authority, to fear God and to serve and worship God with our whole heart.

The saddest thing is that there is no longer such a thing as the innocence of childhood because kids are exposed to unrighteousness at a younger and younger age, thanks to the digital world! Parents are now fighting a losing battle to exercise their authority over their children. It is urgent for us therefore as adults to fear God right away and thereby hate evil in all of its forms in order that we too can bring our kids to fear God. The sooner the better it is. We need to stop making excuses! Just as a father has compassion on his children, so the LORD, our Heavenly Father, has compassion on those who fear Him (Psalms 103:13).

Vulgate Bible, beleive from Germany or Swiss.

Actually I was waiting for TS to tell me whats the original language of the gospel. Anyway it was Aramaic. So all the multi version of the bible supposed to be translated from the "original" Aramaic gospel. Now where is the Aramaic version? :D

The OT was written in Hebrew Language and the NT was written in Greek (with small portions written in Aramaic, one of the Jewish dialects). The Dead Sea Scrolls preserved the writings of the OT and for the NT, there are many (in thousands) of Greek manuscripts preserved. Like all writing materials, it deteriorated over time and the 'original of the originals' - or the very, very first copies have deteriorated, likely to be destroyed through wear and tear. But the copies of copies have proven to be very accurate as confirmed by the Dead Sea Scrolls. Copies of OT manuscripts written many, many hundred years apart but they were over 95% similar. The 5% differences were just simple spelling differences and there wasn't any contextual errors. Again, for the NT, thousands of Greek manuscripts have not shown any contextual differences among them.

Psalm23,

Your message is simply carnal and not spirtual. Confucius already taught the same 500BC before Christ. Many proverbs and Psalms in the Bible came from Buddha Dhamapada, Hindus and Chinese 'chen yi'.

Jesus sermons on the mount (Mat) and sermons on the plain (Luke) were teaching from the Buddha Dhamapada. NT was not inspired by God or/and Word of God and Jesus was simply a Jewish rabbi (teacher) or buddhist monk ( a Hindu teacher).

Jesus is not God or son of God.

There are some theories floating around that 21st May 2011 is Judgement Day. It happens to be the day after Walt Disney Pictures' On Stranger Tides is to be released.

Jack (Sparrow) = Grace of God
Angelica = of the angels
Hector (Barbossa) = steadfast. Holding fast.

Some Googling will net you the definitions of the names William and Elizabeth from the previous 3 movies. Can't say more. There are some rules which I have to obey.

Hope you see the light.

When Confucius was asked about God, he says let's talk about man. So a bright scholar like him can say this, who can now.

Confucius (or Confusion)? Who is he? Who was he? Just ask any person on the street, or even the 1.4 billion Chinese in China...I don't think to many people know about this Confucius (or Confusion). 'Bright man', 'Wiseman', 'Batman' or 'Badman', all their words will become ashes and their writings can only last for a season. But the Word of God, the Bible is from everlasting to everlasting.

Go to the remotest part of the world and you will inevitably find some primitive tribes who literally living in the caves but know about Jesus and somehow, they have the Bible translated into their languages or dialects. You all may want to know that there are also Chinese dialect Bible. I have a copy of the Hokkien Bible (the New Testament) written in Romanized alphabets!

The Word of God, the Bible is not just teaching people about God, of God and who He is. The Bible, being the inspired-Word of God has the power to transform lives. This makes all the difference to any other books. Why - all because the power is in the Blood of Jesus.

I respect your every right to read anything that you like such as Confucius' writing - but if those billion of Chinese in China couldn't be bother to read or for that matter many don't even know who Confucius is, it's quite mind-boggling why you bother. If according to some unrepented souls here who claim that many of the teachings of Jesus are from Confucius and were incorporated into the Bible, so just read the Bible, lor - and you can get both benefits - know about Confucius and at the same time about Jesus...and more importantly, you can save from eternal destruction. May be that's the reason why people don't bother about the writings by Confucius hor and prefer to read Bible....Just a joke lah! Don't take it so seriously, hor.

But let's get serious now. Bible is the Word of God and although written by about 40 authors, God is the Editor-In-Chief. He is the One who finally decides what to be included in these 66 Books! From the very first book of the Bible, Genesis to the very last book, the Revelation and all those 64 in between, there is only one and one message: God is calling us; God is searching for us; He wants to be reconciled to us. (I wonder whether this is written in the Confucius analect (apologies if my spelling is wrong). Did Confucius ever said he wanted to reconcile with man...and to begin with, I wonder you would really want with reconcile and live with him throughout eternality. Be careful hor...he is going to ask you to recite all his writings just like some old Chinese movie we see. Ancient students were strictly disciplined if they couldn't recite Confucius teachings by hard. One more thing, hor...you have to recite with your head spining from left to right throughout eternality hor. May be the unrepented soul wants to practice reciting in this manner spining the head from left to right and right to left like ancient Chinese scholars did so that he could get used to it when he meets with Confucius, hor.)

Any writing however good, or smart, or intelligent will finally become ashes. Only the Bible can endure and last forever. God has told us that the foolishness of God is wiser than man; and the weakness of God is stronger than man (1 Corinthians 1:25).

God Bless