• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Workers' Party

Good to see WP keeping the temperature going. Need to do what matters and keep PAP on its toes

[h=1]14.01.25 Kaki Bukit Division Lunar New Year Visit to 511 Market[/h]<abbr title="January 25, 2014" data-utime="1390622400">January 25</abbr> · · Taken at block 511 bedok north

Mandarin oranges and tangerines are considered traditional symbols of good fortune and prosperity during the most important time of the year in Chinese culture, the Lunar New Year.

A week ahead of the upcoming festivities, Member of Parliament for Aljunied GRC (Kaki Bukit Division) Mr Muhamad Faisal gets into the spirit of the celebrations early on the sunny Saturday morning of January 25.

Personally presenting the hardworking stall owners and loyal patrons of Block 511 Market And Food Centre with a pair of fresh mandarin oranges, he wishes all Singaporeans a fruitful and abundant Year of the Horse ahead.

HUAT AH!
1622792_650102765036050_854002585_n.jpg

1545727_650102771702716_1549061461_n.jpg

1724704_650103778369282_1935420356_n.jpg

[URL="https://www.facebook.com/workersparty"]The Workers' Party

[/URL]"The TC had initiated communications with the National Environment Agency (NEA) over its intention to run the event since 20 December 2013, with the nature of the community fair and the benefit to residents clearly stated." - AHPETC

Media Release - 30 Jan 2014 | AHPETC
[url]www.ahpetc.sg

The Aljunied-Hougang-Punggol East Town Council has today received a summons to attend court in relation to the Lunar New Year Flora and

[/URL]

Daniel PS Goh

I tak boleh tahan false dichotomies. Consensus is not possible without contest (it would be domination with resentment). Contest is not possible without a consensual framework (it would be civil war). Democracy demands both consensus and contest.

But more importantly, Happy New Year everyone! 新年快乐 恭喜发财 身体健康 心想事成 马到功成!

Kishore, Beng Huat verbal duel
theindependent.sg
I didn't see any Opposition presence at the Institute of Policy Studies' Perspectives 2014 conference on Tuesday. They could have picked up a point or two in preparation for the next fight with the PAP. It was the verbal duel between Kishore Mahbubani and Chua…

During Question Time in Parliament on 20 January 2014, several MPs asked the Health Minister what was being done to alleviate the severe bed crunch in public hospitals, which has forced some hospitals to house their patients in tents or on corridors. I asked the Minister if public hospitals had considered converting their higher class (A and B1) wards to C class wards. I also asked if public hospitals were still marketing their international patient services to foreigners residing abroad.

Severe bed crunch in hospitals | geraldgiam.sg
geraldgiam.sg
During Question Time in Parliament on 20 January 2014, several MPs asked the Health Minister what was being done to alleviate the severe bed crunch in public hospitals, which has forced some hospitals to house

Pritam Singh

About 10 years ago, my uncle passed away in a motorcycle accident. The tragedy of the situation aside, what was equally tragic was the fact that he was still servicing his HDB loan in cash and was not covered under the CPF-administered Home Protection Scheme (HPS).

The Home Protection Scheme (HPS) is a mortgage reducing insurance which protects members and families against losing their homes should become physically / mentally incapacitated or pass away before their housing loans are paid up.

While most Singaporeans are covered when service their mortgage through their CPF, some Singaporeans, especially those who are older, make payment for their housing loans in cash, as a result of which they sometimes overlook paying their HPS premiums.

Sometime last year, I had such a case, where HPS premium payments were overlooked. By a stroke of luck, the CPF exercised its discretion after assessing the case carefully and retrospectively extended coverage to the deceased. The late man’s wife had not worked in her life and with school-going children to tend to, putting aside around $1000 a month to service the mortgage was an extremely stressful prospect with in excess of $200,000 still owed to the HDB.

But the HPS system will not work if exceptions are the norm.

For those paying their HDB loan by cash, please make sure you are covered by HPS, and make an effort to do so if not. It really brings peace mind if and when a catastrophic event occurs. If you are in your teens and/or you are a young adult, ask your parents about HPS especially if they are unaware of the scheme. Do see me if you have problems applying for HPS and I will appeal to the appropriate authorities.

http://mycpf.cpf.gov.sg/NR/rdonlyres/5B05BD69-32D7-4145-8FEB-58E579234EAF/0/RequirementsforHPSCover.pdf

Separately, all NSmen, no matter what your rank, do consider the SAF Group Term insurance offered by Aviva for additional/alternative coverage as well.

http://www.aviva.com.sg/life-and-health/for-individuals/SAF/

Home Protection Scheme - Ministry of Manpower
[url]www.mom.gov.sg

Copyright 2014 Government of Singapore Get the latest news and updates on MOM by RSS or email newsletters.

[/URL]

Would it not be more straightforward to just set high enough standards and then penalise the PTOs for failing to meet those standards? Because this can certainly spur improvements at the backend as well, and the PTOs’ reward really is in more satisfied customers and bigger ridership.

Bus Service Reliability Framework | geraldgiam.sg
geraldgiam.sg
This is a Parliament Question I asked the Transport Minister on 20 January 2014 regarding the new Bus Service Reliability Framework, which includes incentives for public bus operators for exceeding service

Gerald Giam

"With a greater plurality of voices making themselves heard in Singapore, our local organisations should evolve in tandem with the democratic norms of a society where every voice has an equal right to be heard. Your local representatives, be they CCC Chairmen or RC Chairmen should be residents and ought to be elected by residents, and not appointed by the Grassroots Adviser. Local elections would determine what issues truly affect the people to bring these up to the elected MP." - Pritam Singh

Young Guns Forum 2014
singapore2025.wordpress.com
Dear friends, Firstly, thank you to the NUS student’s union for the kind invitation. I have been asked to speak on the topic - how has Singapore progressed as a nation and the direction Singapore s...

Daniel PS Goh

What are your thoughts on this? I am ambivalent.

The cuts may not have material effect on the six independent schools, which are already brimming with resources. But the symbolic gesture is clear. With the frowning on non-essential facilities, it sends a clear message to the schools, the alumni, the parents and the students to be more aware and concerned about social disparities.

On the other hand, this may just be cosmetic egalitarianism, if no concrete material measures are taken to address educational inequalities. It is like asking the rich not to consume lavishly and conspicuously, while not addressing the widening wealth gap between rich and poor. Hope we see material measures to address inequalities soon.

Funding cuts for top independent schools in Singapore
[url]www.straitstimes.com

Six top independent schools in Singapore have had their funding cut and, along with other mission schools, have been told to moderate fund-raising activities for campus upgrading.

[/URL]

Daniel PS Goh

Looks like there is some kind of campaign against this excellent HPB website for the FAQs on homosexuality. ST journalists must have gotten wind of it and asked me several questions in my professional capacity as a sociologist through email on Tuesday afternoon.

This was my reply, with ST journalist questions abbreviated and paraphrased (warning: long post).

1) What do you think of the FAQs?

I think the FAQs are very factual and reflect the current social scientific and scientific understanding of homosexuality. I don't find it surprising at all and not progressive, but objective.

2) What do you make of the timing of this?

I am wondering what took so long. I believe government agencies should operate on the basis of facts and not the prejudices of society whichever way they bend. I think it would be speculation to interpret the timing of the FAQs as linked to society's views and prejudices.

If anything, I think society has become quite pluralistic when it comes to sexuality and a whole range of views exist. If government agencies adopt the point of view of a particular segment, it will just produce or exacerbate conflicts and misunderstandings. Agencies should go by facts, which is what HPB is doing.

3) Do you think the FAQs reflect or contradict the government's pro-family policy?

I don't see any contradiction. Informing people about concerns and facts about homosexuality is to acknowledge the incontrovertible reality of homosexuality. It doesn't undermine healthy relationships between married heterosexual couples at all. If it offends someone's individual sensibility, then it is just that, offending an individual, not hurting a relationship between two heterosexual partners.

In fact, I think informing people about homosexuals actually helps promote the family as a basic building block of society, as it helps parents and other family members understand and accept homosexuality as a fact. This reduces discord and strengthens family bonds, making for a stronger society where homosexuals do not feel ostracized and alienated through no fault of their own.

4) Do you think the FAQs achieve the goal of STD education?

I think it does, because it helps clarifies misperception that AIDS is a homosexual disease, and directs our understanding of STDs as linked to risky sexual behavior of having unprotected sex with multiple partners regardless of sexual orientation.

The only criticism I have is the factoid on the increase in homosexuals being tested positive for HIV. The increase was only in 2011 and HPB should be more circumspect and not appear to frame it as a trend -- we don't know yet until more data is available. Overall, I like the FAQs very much and am very impressed by HPB's clarity and balanced objectivity.

FAQs on Sexuality
[url]www.hpb.gov.sg

Homosexuality is the emotional, romantic and sexual attraction to someone of the same sex. ‘Gay’ is commonly used to describe men who are attracted to men, and ‘lesbian’ for women who are attracted to women. Bisexuality is the attraction to both sexes. Many people think that homosexuality and hetero...

[/URL]

[h=1]14.01.25 Paya Lebar Division Spring Cleaning @ Blk 23[/h]Updated <abbr title="Sunday, February 2, 2014 at 11:35pm" data-utime="1391355358" class="timestamp">last Sunday</abbr>

Photo Credit: Cedric Yong

1599802_643698975691320_928672969_o.jpg

1795987_643699269024624_150454361_o.jpg

1026110_643699122357972_149915086_o.jpg

[h=1]14-02-09: CNY Orange distribution[/h]Updated <abbr title="Sunday, February 9, 2014 at 10:07pm" data-utime="1391954826" class="timestamp">about an hour ago</abbr>

The 10th day of the Lunar New Year is an occasion for the spread of goodwill and cheer through well wishes of prosperity and good health. That is exactly what MP Lee Li Lian set out to do on Sunday morning in Punggol East. Appropriately decked in red, Li Lian visited shopkeepers and residents in Rivervale Plaza as well as a coffeeshop at Block 182 near Rivervale Delta, handing out pairs of oranges to them as a form of ‘bài nián’ (拜年). Along with volunteers from the PECC who traded our usual blue t-shirts to auspicious red ones in the spirit of the New Year, Li Lian also invited residents to the upcoming inaugural PE Chinese New Year Dinner as well as other events such as the Lo Hei event and Kuantan Durian trip that PECC will be organising with much anticipation. We hope that 2014 will be a year full of joy, luck and good tidings for all residents and local businesses in Punggol East!

Reported by: Yudhishthra Nathan
Photo credit: Jacky Koh Chee Koon

1618490_693690000689158_95000448_n.jpg

1618563_693690030689155_412519917_n.jpg

1618440_693690060689152_1796160914_n.jpg

[h=1]CNY Dinner 2014 @ Blk 710 Resident Corner[/h]Updated <abbr title="Saturday, February 8, 2014 at 9:07pm" data-utime="1391864872" class="timestamp">on Saturday</abbr>

MP Png Eng Huat attended his second Lunar New Year celebration today, this time round accompanied by MP for Aljunied GRC, Mr Low Thia Khiang and NCMP Gerald Giam. Thank you Blk 710 Resident Corner for the invite. It was yet another awesome Saturday evening for MP Png who gets to interact with his residents amidst a grand lion dance performance, a sumptuous dinner and great company.

1601202_801611439855467_2070720604_n.jpg

1800421_801614806521797_1306738093_n.jpg

1891006_801610533188891_620415773_n.jpg

Yee Jenn Jong, JJ (余振忠)

Sharing an original school project done by my daughter and her friends as a way to look at children with ADHD. It is estimated that 3-10% of the global population may have ADHD, and it is 3 times more common in boys than girls.

Roy, The Very Special Boy
yeejj.wordpress.com

Roy, The Very Special Boy Authors R. Aarathi, Y. Faith, S. Sarah Suen, A. Saleha, Illustrator A. Saleha This engaging book depicts the story of little Roy, who is with Attention Deficit Hyperactivi...

[h=5]Yee Jenn Jong, JJ (余振忠)[/h]
I like to support MOE’s broad direction to make resources more equitable across schools, except that there are not much details put out on what the new funding formula is and how it will improve resources in neighbourhood schools. More than just physical resources, what I feel is important is how learning programmes in neighbourhood schools can improve. Years of PRIME upgrading have already put our public schools’ infrastructure way above that of many other countries.

Improvement can come in many other ways, such as smaller class sizes which Gifted Education children now enjoy. It can also be in the way teachers are deployed to schools. Independent schools have a lot of autonomy in the selection of teachers which other schools do not have. I like to see the discussion moving on to how we can resource neighbourhood schools to improve the learning experience rather than about physical infrastructure.

The storm over adjustments to funding in schools
yeejj.wordpress.com

Much have been said about funding to schools since the Straits Times reported about funding cuts for top independent schools last week. It turned out that the report had inaccuracies that MOE corre...

Come and join us for the 'Kopi with Show Mao' sessions in February. All are welcome!

1556450_648713605189857_1057208875_o.jpg

[h=5]The Workers' Party

"In its media statement, MND highlighted the auditors’ inability to verify certain figures. We do understand the auditors’ plight, as there were information gaps that existed at the handover after the General Election 2011 which to date are still not filled. At FY 2011, the auditors had tried to request information from former auditors, unsuccessfully. Repeated attempts by the Town Council (TC) to obtain information from the former Managing Agent (MA) and government authorities, such as asking MND / the Housing and Development Board regarding $1.12 million which the PAP-run Aljunied TC had recorded as receivables from the Citizens Consultative Committees (CCCs) for Town Improvement Projects, did not yield answers.

Attempts in FY 2012 to get the information were also unsuccessful. Unless those agencies with the required information furnish them to the TC, it is likely that information gaps will remain and the accounts will continue to be qualified every year. In this regard, we note that MND could well be the best party to assist the TC to resolve some of the key information gaps."

http://www.ahpetc.sg/media-release-14-feb-2014/

www.ahpetc.sg

http://www.ahpetc.sg/media-release-14-feb-2014/

[/h]