• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Official Euro 2012 Thread

Greece needs to win to go thru.
Regardless of the other match's result.

If Greece beats Russia by a small margin, say 1 goal and there is a victor in the other match,
Greece will fail to qualify behind Russia on goal difference.

Merl Haggard

Throwing a match in the EPL, WC or Euros is definitely a lot harder. Don't recall it ever happening in the Premier League.
The penalty for getting caught is a hefty jail sentence in additional to public humiliation and disgust.

Not sure which match my friend was referring to and I didn't ask. I was in the SPF then! Wouldn't be wise of me to probe coz if he suay suay teok arrested, I would be lumber 1 suspect.

In the 90's and early 2000 when bets were made via the telephones, there was this group of Angmohs (two Aussies, one American, one Dutchman
& one Englishman) based in HK and London who were super chun when they laid their bets.

I remember my bookie/runner friend helping them bet about $1/2m on Holland and Yugoslavia in world cup match when Holland thrashed Yugo 6-0.

Then there were a number of matches in Korea/Japan world cup when I made a bundle following my friend's Angmoh tips.

They were also specialists in EPL and Serie A matches until the emergence of big PRC punters and the punting became so huge, syndicates are able
to fix with club owners and this Angmoh group had to fizzle out.

wat if all oso same-same, sama-sama? ... wud dey toss a coin? ...

They probably wud if all sama-sama, but this championships don't think that wud happen.
It wud likely happen only if every game had the same scoreline like 1-1...............

Merl Haggard

I believe that the criteria for qualification is in this order:
goal difference, goals scored then head-to-head.

So it not only matters what is the margin, but what is the scoreline.

Let's say if Holland beats Portugal 1-0 and Germany beats Denmark 1-0,
Germany will qualify first, Portugal will qualify second ahead of Holland on goals scored and ahead of Denmark on head-to-head, since all 3 will have 3 points and the same goal difference.

Wah like that tmr Portugal purposely loses 1 goal margin can still qualify.

Portugal won't "purposely" lose 1 goal margin because Denmark may get a draw and Holland want to win by more than 1 goal.
They can only "purposely" lose 1 goal margin if the other team is happy to win by 1 goal margin. :biggrin:

no_faith

This is suicide. Only solution is to win it, depend on themselves rather than under mercy of other result.

possible scenario...

Germany and Denmark draw
Germany 7 pts
Denmakr 4 pts
Portugal 3 pts OUT!

Germany beat Denmark, Portugal draw
Germany 9 pts
Portugal 4 pts
Denmark 3 pts OUT!

no_faith

imho, Group B will be good to watch.
No need take Oranje into consideration. Don't play like a team, personal glory, selfish, internal conflicts.
It is better to go home early.

Another team could be the Azzurri.:eek:

Sweden, Ireland, Netherland, Italy. bye bye.:biggrin:

This is suicide. Only solution is to win it, depend on themselves rather than under mercy of other result.

Yes, and the matches are taking place at the same time.
So cannot yayapayaya lose 1-0 and think that Germany beating Denmark 1-0, then suddenly Denmark score in the 95th minute!!!!

In the 90's and early 2000 when bets were made via the telephones, there was this group of Angmohs (two Aussies, one American, one Dutchman
& one Englishman) based in HK and London who were super chun when they laid their bets.

I remember my bookie/runner friend helping them bet about $1/2m on Holland and Yugoslavia in world cup match when Holland thrashed Yugo 6-0.

Then there were a number of matches in Korea/Japan world cup when I made a bundle following my friend's Angmoh tips.

They were also specialists in EPL and Serie A matches until the emergence of big PRC punters and the punting became so huge, syndicates are able
to fix with club owners and this Angmoh group had to fizzle out.

On numerous occasions, I heard the name 'ang mo' being mentioned. Was told there are several in the betting scene. One of the 'ang mo' is reputed to be an expert in evaluating soccer teams - players available, formation, past trend etc. The other 'ang moh' bets big based on 'connections' and matches deemed to be kelonged. Some friends told me they followed whoever their 'ang mo' was but emerged blue black.

Euro uses different system.

The first is a) higher number of points obtained in the matches among the teams in question.

I believe that the criteria for qualification is in this order:
goal difference, goals scored then head-to-head.

So it not only matters what is the margin, but what is the scoreline.

Let's say if Holland beats Portugal 1-0 and Germany beats Denmark 1-0,
Germany will qualify first, Portugal will qualify second ahead of Holland on goals scored and ahead of Denmark on head-to-head, since all 3 will have 3 points and the same goal difference.

If Greece beats Russia by a small margin, say 1 goal and there is a victor in the other match,
Greece will fail to qualify behind Russia on goal difference.

If Greece beat Russia by small margin, Russia will only go thru if the other game is drawn.

Euro uses different system.

The first is a) higher number of points obtained in the matches among the teams in question.

Huh? u means points obtained?
Of course lah, goal difference and the others only come in if points are equal.............................

If Greece beat Russia by small margin, Russia will only go thru if the other game is drawn.

If Greece beat Russia by a small margin, say 1 goal, Russia will go through first if the other game is drawn and second if there is a victor in the
other match.
It is Greece that will be affected by the other scoreline, not Russia.
Russia's goal difference is superior to the rest.

Huh? u means points obtained?
Of course lah, goal difference and the others only come in if points are equal.............................

Points obtained for the head to head amongst the teams in question.
Next then comes goal difference...also among the teams in question only not overall goal difference.

Points obtained fir the head to head amongst the team in question.
Next then comes goal difference...also among the teams in question only not overall goal difference.

bro, u are correct, if teams are level on points, they will look at the goal difference among the teams tied on points.
That means if Greece beats Russia and there is a winner in the other match, Russia will fail to qualify.

Sorry for my mistake. :o

bro, u are correct, if teams are level on points, they will look at the goal difference among the teams tied on points.
That means if Greece beats Russia and there is a winner in the other match, Russia will fail to qualify.

Sorry for my mistake. :o

It's very confusing this system only euro uses.
Apparently sportscasters at ESPN also got it wrong.