• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Education System is in need of a revolution.

Recently watched an episode of "The Wonder Years" on Hits Channel. The protagonist Kevin had a new English teacher called Miss Shaw. She had some rather unorthodox methods of teaching which her class enjoyed, but which was frowned upon by a minority of the class (and their parents) and the school board. Some of things she encouraged the class to do was to read and discuss books which were not in the official curriculum reading list, to grade themselves, to write essays on what was on their minds at that moment or what they wanted the world to be like.............. generally things that were not based on curriculum and assessment.

Sad to say, the episode ended with Miss Shaw having a discussion with the principal, and her subsequent resignation. Evidently, she was not going to do things their way. Perhaps American bureaucracy in the 60s and 70s wasn't that much different from PAP in the 21st century. :biggrin:
Oh dear, sounds like moi many many years ago... The system is pretty disgusting...I have to agree. You either follow or you are out. Thankfully, I exited and never look back :biggrin:

UltimaOnline

CNA investigates the class divide in Singapore in "Regardless of Class".

Specifically, from 26 min onwards, the focus is on students from across socioeconomic classes, and how their SocioEconomic Status (SES) affects their academic life, outlook, potential, performance and future.

Students from Normal Technical, Normal Academic, Express and Integrated Program, are brought together by the host, PAP MP Janil Puthucheary.

Janil Puthucheary admits feeling guilty for deliberately engineering bringing them together in the discussion, to highlight the differences between socioeconomic classes.

As the Normal Tech students in the discussion group say (and this is obvious within the group's discussion itself), even the "way we speak is so different" betrays the class divide, as the others (particularly the elite IP students in the group) look on awkwardly in silence as they hear the Normal Tech students say this (26 min into the video).

Watch "Regardless of Class" Episode 1 here :
https://video.toggle.sg/en/series/cna-signature-regardless-of-class/ep1/638901

Another point in the episode to note, at approx. 34 min 50 seconds into the video, is Janil Puthucheary's sharing that the CNA-conducted survey of Singaporeans across socioeconomic classes, reveals that while lower SES Singaporeans believe the most important factor determining success in life is "personal hard work"; In contrast, the higher SES Singaporeans believe that the most important factor determining success in life is "personal connections with rich & powerful people".

CNA investigates the class divide in Singapore in "Regardless of Class".

Specifically, from 26 min onwards, the focus is on students from across socioeconomic classes, and how their SocioEconomic Status (SES) affects their academic life, outlook, potential, performance and future.

Students from Normal Technical, Normal Academic, Express and Integrated Program, are brought together by the host, PAP MP Janil Puthucheary.

Janil Puthucheary admits feeling guilty for deliberately engineering bringing them together in the discussion, to highlight the differences between socioeconomic classes.

As the Normal Tech students in the discussion group say (and this is obvious within the group's discussion itself), even the "way we speak is so different" betrays the class divide, as the others (particularly the elite IP students in the group) look on awkwardly in silence as they hear the Normal Tech students say this (26 min into the video).

Watch "Regardless of Class" Episode 1 here :
https://video.toggle.sg/en/series/cna-signature-regardless-of-class/ep1/638901

Another point in the episode to note, at approx. 34 min 50 seconds into the video, is Janil Puthucheary's sharing that the CNA-conducted survey of Singaporeans across socioeconomic classes, reveals that while lower SES Singaporeans believe the most important factor determining success in life is "personal hard work"; In contrast, the higher SES Singaporeans believe that the most important factor determining success in life is "personal connections with rich & powerful people".
So Janil himself is hard work or connections? Lol :biggrin:

Hard working can get you only so far ...connections get you far away ...but you have to pay the price. Nothing is free.

If you want the good life in sinkapore, you need to sell your soul to the devil, aka PAP. That's never going to be a problem if you are a Conservative.

Hypocrite-The

Recently watched an episode of "The Wonder Years" on Hits Channel. The protagonist Kevin had a new English teacher called Miss Shaw. She had some rather unorthodox methods of teaching which her class enjoyed, but which was frowned upon by a minority of the class (and their parents) and the school board. Some of things she encouraged the class to do was to read and discuss books which were not in the official curriculum reading list, to grade themselves, to write essays on what was on their minds at that moment or what they wanted the world to be like.............. generally things that were not based on curriculum and assessment.

Sad to say, the episode ended with Miss Shaw having a discussion with the principal, and her subsequent resignation. Evidently, she was not going to do things their way. Perhaps American bureaucracy in the 60s and 70s wasn't that much different from PAP in the 21st century. :biggrin:
In singkieland also the same. Must use MOE approved text books etc. But also a lot of rubbish books etc were sold that were badly written etc tat why need regulations to control and eliminate bad stuff. So there is a plus side. However to singkieland.. results count. The teacher teach well n u do well the teacher gets the benefits

Kopi0Kosong

Hard working can get you only so far ...connections get you far away ...but you have to pay the price. Nothing is free.
If you want the good life in sinkapore, you need to sell your soul to the devil, aka PAP. That's never going to be a problem if you are a Conservative.

Agree and when that decision is taken, the MAN becomes more of an animal and less as a human being.

KNN... read between the lines. That fucker served not a single day of NS :mad::mad::mad:
While we wasted 2.5 years of our time doing area cleaning, this Talk Big Chap was studying to get his degree and head start and now Kong Ranjiao Wei.. lol :biggrin:

His lao peh followed Lim Chin Siong to Barisan in the past, same league as OYK lao peh. It can't be their connection they are in pariahment now, can it?

So Janil himself is hard work or connections? Lol :biggrin:

It is the correct spermatozoa fertilising the correct ovum. In the past, they try the perfect ...but it has drastic side effects, for it can backfire & often produces, retards, for example, Down Syndrome or "white" ones. Janil is the correct way, no need to work so hard & automatically connected.

Kopi0Kosong

It's nothing short of the Cambrian explosion that I spoke of previously- to allow public funded schools to really experiment with smaller class sizes, different modes of teaching and learning, and fundamentally re-thinking the need for assessment.

Basic levels of appreciation for the aesthetics, arithmetics, command of langugages, logic and sciences shall remain at the primary school levels; with the addition of humanities at the secondary school levels.

Carry on with the standardised testing at the end of the academic year if you wish but that should really take a back seat or be subjugated as an insignificant figure. Discard the need for placements.

To move ahead, we need to break out of that traditional classroom mode and allowing collaboration across the classes as well as across the levels should be strongly encouraged.

Look at the real world, people from different cultures and age groups are coming together to forge ahead in a system. If Singapore needs to get ahead, take a leaf from the Finnish system, break down the walls of segregation.

Something that's done in the right direction for the current system but not gathering enough momentum- to increase the joy of learning. Go on and get rid of assessment.

After 138 posts, it can be said that the Singapore Education System is in need of a revolution???
Taking a broader stand, it is Singapore, the country that is in need of a revolution???
[Apology for the use of question marks.]