• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

"Stop Abuse of NSFs" - Possible HLP Protest Topic?

Both you and your employer have no sense of loyalty and obviously do not understand the concept of nationhood. A refresher NEC is in order.

My employer is not local, they are never locals, what sense of Loyalty are you talking about? I stood for the first time they erected the flag You now see familiar with & sang "majullah SINgapura" and said the pledge, after they took down the Malaysian Flag...don't preach me on Loyalty. It is my country that had sold out my loyalty; but I will still defend it, it is my home & my land, for I am beholden to the land of my birth, not to the party that runs it...I am not a satellite like you.

"Duty, Honor' Country".

i sympathise with NSFs because they hv been abused..let's speak up for them

if you ask them, they'll tell you to f*ck off and don't spoil their chance of being part of the f1 in person and having some of the best vantage points watching the race.

auntie tan, u want to go tok cock at HLP, by all mean just go lah. nobody stopping u, why use gilbert as an excuse?

National Service just mean defend singapore? what logic is that?

NS mean doing whatever services that the nation aka govt want u to do period.

many uncles here in their 50s liao, surely heard to "catch rat" dept/gang during the early days of NS. these ppl didnt don temasek green, carry AR15 but put on labourer gear and do public works, ie... dig drain, build road.. Also serving the nation rite? then what wrong with helping out F1? can watch F1 and chorbus free of charge while spectators had to pay a limb for a ticket. be grateful lor. i want also dont have.

as for reservist, saf certaintly can shorten the duration as actual outfield training only 3-4days for the whole ICT last 20days. so much time that pengkias had more sleep in reservist than they normally have at home.

need to prepare for the outfield. army do things very slow. that's why 20 days.

why other countries' reservist. go back a few days. some weapons trainings. that is it. why singapore reservist 2-3 weeks long, have this and that outfield exercises and trainings. for what purposes ?

Those who have not been impaled by one of these have no right to comment about NS matters...

DSCF0522.jpg

I have not been impaled by one of these catus, but I will still comment about NS matters....

Hopefully, the forgoing debate on the abuses done on NS boys are being read by the powers that be.

Now that these issues have been brought out in the open and that the use of NS boys for F1 races is viewed as an overtly abusive use of NS manpower for a profit seeking, commercial entity, whichever NS review committee ought to look into these issues. More importantly, the fact that NS boys who go for reservist duties are being frown upon and/or taken advantage by certain quarters, is of major concern to many. Years ago, when the issue of NS boys going off for reservist duties and disrupting workflow was brought up by some foreign employers, one minister (if I remember it correctly, correct me if I am wrong) said that these duties are national service and that employers, by and large, OUGHT not to discriminate against them or put their careers at a disadvantage. They should be viewed as providing for the security and stability of Singapore so that employers, MNCs or whoever, have security of their investments.

Now?? I am not so sure...even statutory boards, government departments and GLCs seem to leap on the bandwagon (initiated by MNCs and foreign entities) of favouring workers who don't need to disrupt their workflow because of reservist duties. WTF?

Now these are the abuses that need to be seriously looked into!!!

PS - I have served my 2.5 years, my 13 year ICT cycles, got my 5 & 10 year medals and all, so let no one say I cannot comment on NS.

I have not been impaled by one of these catus, but I will still comment about NS matters....

they are not cacti. they are members of the hemp family. cactus has a softer wet core, which in many cases is edible. the core can also be squeezed into juice to produce sugar or alcohol, tequila to mexicans. hemp has a fibrous core, and the material can be used to make rope or strings.

Thanks, (wo)man!!! for the clarification. Duly noted.

In next life, when Singapore got so crowded that we have to live in the forest or more likely, in the open, we can make use of your knowledge on these plants to make juice or produce ropes for lassoing any runaway horses. The good thing is that no one would object to eating horse meat then!!!:D

Wonderful!!!

My employer is not local, they are never locals, what sense of Loyalty are you talking about? I stood for the first time they erected the flag You now see familiar with & sang "majullah SINgapura" and said the pledge, after they took down the Malaysian Flag...don't preach me on Loyalty. It is my country that had sold out my loyalty; but I will still defend it, it is my home & my land, for I am beholden to the land of my birth, not to the party that runs it...I am not a satellite like you.

"Duty, Honor' Country".

the pap has abused Singaporeans for its own agenda. If the pap is honourable with good intentions, AIMsgate will not have happened

if you ask them, they'll tell you to f*ck off and don't spoil their chance of being part of the f1 in person and having some of the best vantage points watching the race.

they are unlike you. so far those i hv spoken with know they have been abused and are thankful that I know their predicaments

NS mean doing whatever services that the nation aka govt want u to do period.

no...........the pap cant get NSFs to do F1 duties..that's abuse. singaporeans must speak up against such blatant abuse of SG sons who are enlisted and consripted to defend and protect SG. Do not let the PAP and SAF get away with such abuse

Hopefully, the forgoing debate on the abuses done on NS boys are being read by the powers that be.

Now that these issues have been brought out in the open and that the use of NS boys for F1 races is viewed as an overtly abusive use of NS manpower for a profit seeking, commercial entity, whichever NS review committee ought to look into these issues. More importantly, the fact that NS boys who go for reservist duties are being frown upon and/or taken advantage by certain quarters, is of major concern to many. Years ago, when the issue of NS boys going off for reservist duties and disrupting workflow was brought up by some foreign employers, one minister (if I remember it correctly, correct me if I am wrong) said that these duties are national service and that employers, by and large, OUGHT not to discriminate against them or put their careers at a disadvantage. They should be viewed as providing for the security and stability of Singapore so that employers, MNCs or whoever, have security of their investments.

Now?? I am not so sure...even statutory boards, government departments and GLCs seem to leap on the bandwagon (initiated by MNCs and foreign entities) of favouring workers who don't need to disrupt their workflow because of reservist duties. WTF?

PS - I have served my 2.5 years, my 13 year ICT cycles, got my 5 & 10 year medals and all, so let no one say I cannot comment on NS.

looks like you agree with me abt NSFs being abused.

I started this thread to highlight this problem and I hope NEH and his committe know the abuses which NSFs suffer

another abuse of NSmen by the SAF because they are almost free labour?

such inefficient reservist training programme must be corrected.

NSmen, when called up for reservist, must be gainfully used..

SAF and Mindef, stop the abuse!!

then what wrong with helping out F1? can watch F1 and chorbus free of charge while spectators had to pay a limb for a ticket. be grateful lor. i want also dont have.

you see nothing wrong abt using NSFs to do F1 duties and letting OBS make commercial profits?

you dont think F1 shd employ civilian logistics personnel and commercial security for F1?

You dont see the abuse that I hv mentioned?

need to prepare for the outfield. army do things very slow. that's why 20 days.

why other countries' reservist. go back a few days. some weapons trainings. that is it. why singapore reservist 2-3 weeks long, have this and that outfield exercises and trainings. for what purposes ?

SAF does things very slow? is it because NSmen's time is free..so can abuse?

If more Singaporeans are like you and me and are willing to challenge and speak up against the pap when they abuse their authority, such blatant abuses against Singaporeans will definitely lessen.

That will make for a better Singapore.

We must not let the pap think that it can do what it wants and still get away with abuses

SAF does things very slow? is it because NSmen's time is free..so can abuse?

lianbeng says it is abusive to say SAF does things very slow. there's no war so why must hurry? :rolleyes: besides, so many people to report to: recruit reporting to cpl > cpl to sgt > sgt to ssg > ssg to encik > etc...