• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Speak Dialects, you feel tribal ! Speak mandarin, it will break unity!

char_jig_kar

thanks for accepting that we have different versions. whether you recite in mandarin or english does not matter but original meaning would have been lost thanks to use of mandarin, if not for accidental archaeological find, the old chinese version would be lost and unknown. all of use would be reading the wrong thing.

thats why it is important to know abt old chinese and impt to connect to our old chinese roots and the best way is to remember your dialects

are u disputing the fact that both version could be recite in mandarin? no right? so case close. mandarin could be use to recite both version.

let me repeat:

mandarin could connect to chinese roots thousand of years ago. case close.

lnchwmn4

are u disputing the fact that both version could be recite in mandarin? no right? so case close. mandarin could be use to recite both version.

let me repeat:

mandarin could connect to chinese roots thousand of years ago. case close.

mandarin created two versions ..... we would have lost the correct verison if we did not have a lucky archeological find and knowledge of old chinese

char_jig_kar

yes you can recite them in english, malay and tamil too

no. don't be silly. one cant recite the dao de jing into english, malay, and tamil without translation.

put it in another way. are u saying that dialect language could be use to recite the dao de jing directly, and mandarin cant do that?

lnchwmn4

no. don't be silly. one cant recite the dao de jing into english, malay, and tamil without translation.

put it in another way. are u saying that dialect language could be use to recite the dao de jing directly, and mandarin cant do that?

one cannot translate tao te ching without a mandarin translation too.... and mandarin translation does not sound like correct old chinese version.... uncle dun answer stupid questions from stupid ppl....thats the difference between genius and fools, the latter tries to be like genius but are quickly exposed:biggrin:

char_jig_kar

one cannot translate tao te ching without a mandarin translation too.... and mandarin translation does not sound like correct old chinese version.... uncle dun answer stupid questions from stupid ppl....thats the difference between genius and fools, the latter tries to be like genius but are quickly exposed:biggrin:

here u go again. uncle this uncle that. mandarin does not sound correct blah blah.

bs lah. okay. both version could be recite in mandarin. u just don't wanna admit it.

char_jig_kar

really a waste of time.

its a simple question. could the different version of dao de jing be recite in mandarin? yes or no? lanjiaoman cant give me a straight answer.

lnchwmn4

here u go again. uncle this uncle that. mandarin does not sound correct blah blah.

bs lah. okay. both version could be recite in mandarin. u just don't wanna admit it.

funny leh when did i say both versions cannot recite in mandarin? just as you can recite this in malay and english, both version can be recited in mandarin if you have a translation....the version we have thought was the tao te ching was in fact a mandarin translation and is inaccurate...if everybody turns only to mandarin, we would have thought that there were no other old chinese versions around but because we kept in touch with dialects, we can reconstruct the sounds of old chinese and understand the original and correct tao te ching

lnchwmn4

really a waste of time.

its a simple question. could the different version of dao de jing be recite in mandarin? yes or no? lanjiaoman cant give me a straight answer.

simple question like whether you can read mandarin anot, some people oso cannot answer leh....

char_jig_kar

simple question like whether you can read mandarin anot, some people oso cannot answer leh....

i could. but u didn't ask me straight away. instead u throw me some test. play some game with me. and i tell u straight, i could read and understand dao de jing.

now, i ask u a straight question, whether dao de jing could be recite in mandarin, and u keep coming up with reference to malay and english.

simple question and you cant answer it straight?

lnchwmn4

i could. but u didn't ask me straight away. instead u throw me some test. play some game with me. and i tell u straight, i could read and understand dao de jing.

now, i ask u a straight question, whether dao de jing could be recite in mandarin, and u keep coming up with reference to malay and english.

then how come you cannot read the chinese from shijing? cos you only found english translation of tao de jing issit?

lnchwmn4

your simple question does not have a simple answer, of course you are too simple-minded to realise that, uncle has to teach you and answer slowly for you so that u can understand and digest properly rather than jump to conclusion and quicky ask uncke for case closed......anyway, i am still waiting for you to tell uncle hwta you have learnt....now you oso admit i am your uncle liao:biggrin:

lnchwmn4

请问我是否能够看懂华文和我的问题有什么关联?

pls dun use translator la....LOL who writes chinese like this in singapore?

tell uncle what this means and how it reads if you know chinese....dun tell me it rhymes again in mandarin hor....

關關雎鳩 在河之洲 窈窕淑女 君子好逑
參差荇菜 左右流之 窈窕淑女 寤寐求之
求之不得 寤寐思服 悠哉悠哉 輾轉反側
參差荇菜 左右采之 窈窕淑女 琴瑟友之
參差荇菜 左右芼之 窈窕淑女 鐘鼓樂之

char_jig_kar

your simple question does not have a simple answer, of course you are too simple-minded to realise that, uncle has to teach you and answer slowly for you so that u can understand and digest properly rather than jump to conclusion and quicky ask uncke for case closed......anyway, i am still waiting for you to tell uncle hwta you have learnt....now you oso admit i am your uncle liao:biggrin:

when did i admit you are my uncle?

lnchwmn4

funny leh when did i say both versions cannot recite in mandarin? just as you can recite this in malay and english, both version can be recited in mandarin if you have a translation....the version we have thought was the tao te ching was in fact a mandarin translation and is inaccurate...if everybody turns only to mandarin, we would have thought that there were no other old chinese versions around but because we kept in touch with dialects, we can reconstruct the sounds of old chinese and understand the original and correct tao te ching

i waiting for your reply to this hor....pls dun pretend pretend and siam this one again

lnchwmn4

this one too
「有物混成,先天地生,惟象無形,窈窈冥冥,寂寥淡漠,不聞其聲,吾強為之名,字之曰道。」