• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Shanmugan admits to use of welfarism in S`pore

TopSage

http://forums.fuckwarezone.com.sg/e...ist-than-other-nations-shanmugam-4455579.html

"Foreign and Law Minister K.Shanmugam yesterday issued a challenge for anyone to find a government that is more "welfarist" than Singapore's."

I am strongly opposed to welfarism giving free money to solve social problems. In the first place welfare is never a solution because it does not get to the root of the problem and delay the real solution. Take the Singapore govt,s Workfare scheme as an example touted by the govt as a fix for low wage earners. Instead of Workfare shouldn't the govt be looking at singapore's third world wage structure?

Shanmugan 's claim to being welfarist is also questionable because much of the govt subsidies are computed based on market subsidy...govt can sell you a 4rm flat for several hundred thousand collect a sales proceeds and still claim to have GIVEN you a subsidy.

Subsidies are hazy and if welfare is bad, welfarism based on subsidies worse because it often misallocates govt spending to pple who don't really need it.

What we need are real solutions to problems of poverty, low wages, and rising cost of living. Giving more subsidies usually mean these problems got deeper and remain unsolved....the more subsidy the govt dishes out for HDB flats the more price rise has outstrip income. Subsidy as a solution is often a bad solution.

Workfare is particularly bad because it give govt and its supporters an excuse not to solve the low wage problem. After giving a low wage worker workfare, the worker is still a low wage worker...workfare subsidizes businesses who now don't have to raise wages and benefit to this worker and is done at the expense of taxpayers.

We must understand that nothing in this world is free but things can be made fairer so that we do not have to resort to bad solutions like subsidy and welfare. If a man can work and earn good wages sufficient to take good care for his family, there is no need for welfare. However SMU Lien Center released a report yesterday showing that 1 in 5 families living in poverty despite our low unemployment. This shows a serious problem with our wage structure and a good solution has to address this directly.

You need to give cash and help to those who cannot work. To those who are disabled. Those who are physically and mentally challenged. Those who are disadvantaged and marginalized. There are people who cannot work because of various reasons. It is not that they do not want to work to support themselves, they are disable and unable to function in a society that is fast changing and progressing. So the Government's attitude towards this group of people is laudable . This form of "welfarism" is good and it should be practised by our very benevolent Government.

The rest of us who are able should work hard and improve our productivity. I can see many elderly people are working and getting some form of pay for their efforts. This is not welfarism but helping the citizens. Some of the elderly are paid for cleaning their blocks and sweeping the corridors and void decks. This is very good and also very therapeutic for our people.

I applaud the Government for moving in the right direction as far as "welfarism" is concerned. Those who are in dire straits are given help. Those who can work and are able-bodied should be encouraged to work harder with more productivity. Singapore Rocks!!!

Why so much complaints??? Give also complain. Don't give also complain. We have one of the best governments in the world!!! Majulah Singapura!!!!

YOU make sure your PAP party dont hand out money disguise as something to help the people during election time hor

you fusk up govt and its policies created the problems

and ministers are too stupid to solve the problems they created in the first place
so welfare is the next best thing

or hand out money first while you monkeys solve the problems
until the problems solve then
stop welfare

otherwise how the poor is going to survive RIGHT NOW?

YOU make sure your PAP party dont hand out money disguise as something to help the people during election time hor

any government that gives money and subsidies to its people is a good and benevolent government

majulah singapura!!!

you blind or wat?

giving money at election time is 'bribing' the pple to vote these scum back into power
so they can continue to live their expensive lifestyle

why dont they give the money now when there is no election?
becos it dont benefit them
you call these self serveing people "benevolent"?

as long as the government give it is good

take too much is not so good, but sometimes necessary

we have a very good, benevolent and compassionate government

many poor and needy singaporeans benefit from our welfarism schemes

Hello Shame-mugan,

Obscene pension to retired pappy elites is not welfare ?

ShameMugen is right! Indeed too much welfare has been given out! And it has been given to the wrong people especially when they are producing shit results, exploiting everything for their own gain & still drawing multi millions in cheap salary for themselves & billions more for their cronies!

I also challenge anyone who can name me a country who has the most members of parliament in relative to the size of a country.

We don't need welfare !

Just give us back all OUR hard-earned CPF money at age 55 NOWWW !!!:mad:

I also challenge anyone who can name me a country who has the most members of parliament in relative to the size of a country.

New Zealand has 121 MPs for a smaller population.

you blind or wat?

giving money at election time is 'bribing' the pple to vote these scum back into power
so they can continue to live their expensive lifestyle

why dont they give the money now when there is no election?
becos it dont benefit them
you call these self serveing people "benevolent"?

Only the Sinkified will 为了一粒糖 输掉整间厂

Look ma, no notes, no teleprompter! 改朝换代 告别腐败

Check out his profession here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nga_Kor_Ming

[video=youtube;O43aAwJqqJ0]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O43aAwJqqJ0[/video]

PAP Logic #1: You have $5 dollars, the government takes $3 away from you. The next day, they proclaim to the whole world they will give you $1 in handouts and point out that this is very generous of them. You never see the other $2 ever again. 60.1% is grateful to them for their generosity.

PAP Logic #2: After serving ten years in your company, you pay have only risen from $2.80 to $3. Because you are competing with the rest of the world, right at your doorsteps, you don't dare ask for a pay raise. The government is so nice to sponsor your upgrading course so maybe you can earn $3.20 after you complete it. You think, nah bei so little, but you don't dare voice out, because there are 2 million talented individuals waiting to take your job. 60.1% is fine with that.

PAP Logic #3: The government is unwilling to pay for your grandfather's education, your father's education, your education and your son's education. But they sure as hell are giving out free university scholarships to the son of poor peasant farmers from Myanmar and Malaysian porn stars. 60.1% like to pay for education that is free to others.

PAP Logic #4: A HDB costs less than $100,000 to build, but because of a deluge in demand, and a lack of supply, the market for second hand HDB has risen to $300,000. The government sell you a 99y leasehold for $250,000, somehow the room is smaller, the hall is also smaller. They tell you bo pian, land is expensive, but they kind enough to give you a $20,000 subsidy. So now you can buy from them for cheap cheap $230,000 nia. They even show you the account books where they lose a shitload of money just to subsidise you. Yet they are charging you market rate for the land, so what if it's public housing. 60.1% is happy that the government is so good at cooking, their books. (HDB loses hundreds of millions a year, while the government had a bumper profit of $30 billion or so)

PAP Logic #5: Singaporeans are going to go extinct before 2050 if we don't raise our population to 6.9million. This is the only way, all the brightest minds in our government and their Paul Lampard think tanks can find no other solution. They even paiseh tell you it's 7 million, which is their conservative estimate, so they offer up the more plateable 6.9 million. It's like eating a meal that costs $6.95 at Mcdonalds. Do I need to add what are the effects we are already encountering of just a 5 million population? But 60.1% views foreigners as their saviours.

PAP Logic #6: You serve NS for 2 years, to protect your nation, what you get in return? $500 or so a month for most. $500 you can even rent a common room in a HDB flat in many places lo. You suay you get Singapore flag lo, good man, die for your country for a pittance, while the Prime Minister earns what $5 million? You come out, you are 2 years behind your female and foreign peers. You go work, you still need to do reservist and IPPT. You complain they put $9,000 into your CPF. $9,000, can probably cover the toilet for your new 4 room flat lo. And the funniest thing is they draw a diagram for 2030, where the smaller Singaporean core which is you and me will protect the larger foreigner population residing here. 60.1% is happy being a minority Singaporean core.

Evidently, this shows PAP is the bestest!

However SMU Lien Center released a report yesterday showing that 1 in 5 families living in poverty despite our low unemployment. This shows a serious problem with our wage structure and a good solution has to address this directly.

I don't know where these stats came from but I can confidently say that there is no poverty in Singapore.

There are people who are earning a low income but that doesn't mean they're facing poverty.

Poverty is when you don't have food on the table or a roof over your head.

Sham is right. Singapore is the welfare state for pappies n foreigners n members of Familee

I don't know where these stats came from but I can confidently say that there is no poverty in Singapore.

There are people who are earning a low income but that doesn't mean they're facing poverty.

Poverty is when you don't have food on the table or a roof over your head.

Taken from wikipedia -
Absolute poverty or destitution refers to the deprivation of basic human needs, which commonly includes food, water, sanitation, clothing, shelter, health care and education. Relative poverty is defined contextually as economic inequality in the location or society in which people live.

Boss you running on PAP ticket in 2016?

New Zealand has 121 MPs for a smaller population.

To the citizens of Pulau Ujong, your country is 704 km2 versus New Zealand’s 268,000 km2! If all goes well the total land area of Pulau Ujong and its surrounding islands will increase to 804 km2 by 2030. That would make it only 333 times smaller than New Zealand and that is not counting the exclusive economic zone at sea!

Bukit Timah Hill is 166m, this also must mention. There are 18 peaks over 3,000 metres (9,800 ft) on the South Island of New Zealand, the highest of which is Aoraki / Mount Cook at 3,754 metres (12,316 ft).

Terima kasih!

Cut-and-paste from Wiki:

New Zealand is long (over 1,600 kilometres (990 mi) along its north-north-east axis) and narrow (a maximum width of 400 kilometres (250 mi)), with approximately 15,000 km (9,300 mi) of coastline and a total land area of 268,000 square kilometres (103,500 sq mi). Because of its far-flung outlying islands and long coastline, the country has extensive marine resources. Its Exclusive Economic Zone, one of the largest in the world, covers more than 15 times its land area.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_Zealand

Singapore consists of 63 islands, including the main island, widely known as Singapore Island but also as Pulau Ujong. There are two man-made connections to Johor, Malaysia: the Johor–Singapore Causeway in the north, and the Tuas Second Link in the west. Jurong Island, Pulau Tekong, Pulau Ubin and Sentosa are the largest of Singapore's smaller islands. The highest natural point is Bukit Timah Hill at 166 m (545 ft).

There are ongoing land reclamation projects, which have increased Singapore's land area from 581.5 km2 (224.5 sq mi) in the 1960s to 704 km2 (272 sq mi) today; it may grow by another 100 km2 (40 sq mi) by 2030.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Singapore

we have one of the best managed government in the world
and we should be grateful and happy...there is no poverty here in singapore
singaporeans are among the richest people in the world
any singaporean who asks for money will be given in abundance
our own people will donate generously to any tragic singaporean
we are a very generous, kind-hearted and compassionate people
many of my friends are in thailand north helping the poor, the needy and the impoverished there
there is no need to help any "poor" in singapore - simply because there are no poor people here...thank you.
the so called poor are those who want to have MORE to spend , MORE to buy things and MORE to live on...they are not impoverished and underprivileged.