• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Shanmugan admits to use of welfarism in S`pore

Well maybe let's be objective about it, if they don't build the circle line or whatever lines they have planned with haste, PAP won't be the government in no time. You can only take the sardine tins for so long before tempers fray and you start to find someone to blame. I say the new MRT lines are a byproduct of PAP self-preservation tactics as they realise they fucked up so badly when they put 2 million immigrants over a decade and the existing infrastructure is straining and you learn new terms like ponding, breakdowns, planned mantainance. What's next? Blackouts?

Criticising the PAP has become a national pastime. It's almost like a sport. It may be fun and provide comic relief during times of stress but at some point, you have to take a step back and appreciate all the good that the government has done.

I too used to be like you guys. I hated the PAP to the core and I allowed my hatred to cloud my vision and my judgement.

After living in so called "real democracies", the sort that Singaporeans are clamoring for, I've come to realise that the PAP isn't that bad after all. They have their faults just like any other government but when it comes to the crunch, they deliver in abundance.

I have Singapore friends who arrived in NZ at the same time as I did along with their young children. The children have grown up, graduated and are now looking to make their mark in the world and guess where many of the kids have chosen to make their fortune... good old Singapore.. the land their parents abandoned.

Singapore offers better prospects, a better salary, a more vibrant economy and a more exciting city for the young and the restless and this is the generation that will move the country forward.

I agree that the old fogies may find the pace of life in Singapore daunting and the progress unnerving but it's a small Island and it cannot cater to everyone given the limited space and total lack of natural resources. In making a choice, the government has to plan for the future rather than the past. It's the only prudent option.

I don't believe the PAP is the right government to lead us forward. The good stuff they have done and far and few, and smacks of self-preservation. I feel that now is the time for us to nurture the opposition for the day when there is a dire need for an alternative government. Personally, I feel the PAP way is the road to ruin. We've already sold our souls in the pursuit of monetary wealth under the guidance of LKY, now his son wants us to sell our bodies to defend a nation of foreigners he will be inviting in over the next few decades.

That's an emotional reaction to government policy rather than a rational response.

If I have learned anything about life, it has been about making prudent and rational decisions on all issues while casting aside concepts such as loyalty, nationalism and fairness. They mean nothing in the grand scheme of things.

Loyalty is invariably one way and life is never fair and nationhood exists only on maps. It's a artificial concept that benefits only the leaders and never the subjects.

Unfold a map of the world, plan your life so that it encompasses all the land masses and not just a 695 sqkm Island. Maximise your opportunities to make your mark on the world and then move on to greener pastures when you've achieved what you want so you can get going with the next phase of your life.

You only have one life to live. Make the most of it.

What's next? Blackouts?

well, they're trying, and there are some baby steps involved. for example, while there recently i witnessed the first implementation, albeit a limited trial, of a tidal power generation system between sentosa and the main island. there's a strong current there, and it will prove to be a renewable, sustainable system for electrical power.

also, i surveyed the tops of hdb blocks, and there's a chance that solar panels can be installed all over the island, providing an alternative source of energy. i highly encourage the sg authorities to look into that. one of my pet peeves in sg is the exhaust pollution from cabs, buses and trucks. sg can improve upon that by leveraging lng, cng, hybrid or even full electric vehicles as a replacement of diesel powered soot and gas farters.

although the prostitute press floated a negative article of hk's "troubled" conversion of her taxi fleets to lng/cng sedans, the actual problem was very minor and easily fixable. existing catalytic converter designs were found to be wanting, and massive change and/or upgrade of them although relative expensive, would eliminate the issue. private cars in sg are relative new compared to all other cuntries, and they comprise the latest technology that mitigate exhaust pollution.

nonetheless, sg can go electric and begin installing electric chargers at parking lots if there's political will. if any cuntry that can do it in all paid parking lots, sg will be the one (and only). afterall, the electronic auto payment at parking lots and garages is extremely impressive. the erp is also tied to the same system. the only (small) hitch is the need to use old coupon-style parking at some lots not equipped with the auto-card system. :D

I have Singapore friends who arrived in NZ at the same time as I did along with their young children. The children have grown up, graduated and are now looking to make their mark in the world and guess where many of the kids have chosen to make their fortune... good old Singapore.. the land their parents abandoned.

National Service?

That's an emotional reaction to government policy rather than a rational response.

If I have learned anything about life, it has been about making prudent and rational decisions on all issues while casting aside concepts such as loyalty, nationalism and fairness. They mean nothing in the grand scheme of things.

Loyalty is invariably one way and life is never fair and nationhood exists only on maps. It's a artificial concept that benefits only the leaders and never the subjects.

Unfold a map of the world, plan your life so that it encompasses all the land masses and not just a 695 sqkm Island. Maximise your opportunities to make your mark on the world and then move on to greener pastures when you've achieved what you want so you can get going with the next phase of your life.

You only have one life to live. Make the most of it.

I agree it's an emotional reaction, and I do exaggerate a lil, but even thinking rationally, you will probably agree that they are dickering around with us.

I'll keep your advice in mind.

Singapore offers better prospects, a better salary, a more vibrant economy and a more exciting city for the young and the restless and this is the generation that will move the country forward.

It simply shows that New Zealand is not the right place to migrate to if one takes into account the children's future and career prospects as well as one's desire for a cozy retirement.

If their parents had the foresight to migrate to say New York City or London or Sydney, then this problem would never have arisen. The children would be mad to want to return to SG unless they were taught Singlish at home which completely supplanted the proper English which they were taught in school. :rolleyes:

Criticising the PAP has become a national pastime. It's almost like a sport. It may be fun and provide comic relief during times of stress but at some point, you have to take a step back and appreciate all the good that the government has done.

I too used to be like you guys. I hated the PAP to the core and I allowed my hatred to cloud my vision and my judgement.

After living in so called "real democracies", the sort that Singaporeans are clamoring for, I've come to realise that the PAP isn't that bad after all. They have their faults just like any other government but when it comes to the crunch, they deliver in abundance.

I agree that the old fogies may find the pace of life in Singapore daunting and the progress unnerving but it's a small Island and it cannot cater to everyone given the limited space and total lack of natural resources. In making a choice, the government has to plan for the future rather than the past. It's the only prudent option.

Totally agree. Brilliantly articulated. Many of my Quitter Friends have their children here as ex-patriates!!!! Earning big bucks and contributing immensely to our economy. Many have even chosen to marry local Singaporean girls and they are STAYING ON!!!!! RIGHT HERE in wonderful and beautiful Singapore!!! Singapore is the place to be!!!

Many of the children born overseas are RETURNING here to make a fortune!!! Believe it or not, Singapore is the best place to make BIG BUCKS!!!

Bullocks. It simply shows that New Zealand is not the right place to migrate to if one takes into account the children's future and career prospects as well as one's desire for a cozy retirement. In fact one look at the map of the world will already tell you that NZ is not a happening place and never will be!

If their parents had the foresight to migrate to say New York City or London or Sydney, then this problem would never have arisen. The children would be mad to want to return to SG unless they were taught Singlish at home which completely supplanted the proper English which they were taught in school. :rolleyes:

Totally agree. Brilliantly articulated. Many of my Quitter Friends have their children here as ex-patriates!!!! Earning big bucks and contributing immensely to our economy. Many have even chosen to marry local Singaporean girls and they are STAYING ON!!!!! RIGHT HERE in wonderful and beautiful Singapore!!! Singapore is the place to be!!!

Many of the children born overseas are RETURNING here to make a fortune!!! Believe it or not, Singapore is the best place to make BIG BUCKS!!!

Bullocks. It simply shows that New Zealand is not the right place to migrate to if one takes into account the children's future and career prospects as well as one's desire for a cozy retirement.

haha! I just met two families who had returned from The Big Apple. They sweared they will NEVER EVER return to New York!!! They are replanting their roots here in Singapore - the best, the safest and the richest country in the world!!! And they want their children to do NS right here in Singapore. No bullocks sir!!! Bite the Big Apple...just got my latest Apple ipad!!! wauhahhaaa!!!!!

I agree it's an emotional reaction, and I do exaggerate a lil, but even thinking rationally, you will probably agree that they are dickering around with us..

I assure you that all governments do that. While there may be the odd politician that really does want to serve, they seldom survive the hustle and bustle of politics. In the end, you're left with the crooks and crooks know how to look after themselves.

The best example of a good guy who wanted to make a difference is David Shearer. He lasted less than 2 years. He has an impressive resume when it comes to serving humanity. Politics is a different ballgame altogether.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/David_Shearer

Hahaha! For every two families who returned from The Big Apple or London or Sydney there are probably twenty or two hundred families who sweared they will NEVER EVER return to Singapore. Besides, if they don't like New York City, they can always go to Chicago, San Francisco, Houston, Miami, or even Little Rock in Arkansas, all without the need for a passport!

That is something quite difficult for a Rice Wasting Sinkie holed up in Pulau Ujong to comprehend yah! :oIo::kma:

haha! I just met two families who had returned from The Big Apple. They sweared they will NEVER EVER return to New York!!! They are replanting their roots here in Singapore - the best, the safest and the richest country in the world!!! And they want their children to do NS right here in Singapore. No bullocks sir!!! Bite the Big Apple...just got my latest Apple ipad!!! wauhahhaaa!!!!!

Hahaha! For every two families who returned from The Big Apple or London or Sydney there are probably twenty or two hundred families who sweared they will NEVER EVER return to Singapore. Besides, if they don't like New York City, they can always go to Chicago, San Francisco, Houston, Miami, or even Little Rock in Arkansas, all without the need for a passport!

That is something quite difficult for a Rice Wasting Sinkie to comprehend yah! :oIo::kma:

your points are well taken.
the fact that some had returned and kissed the ground of Singapore speaks volumes!!!

many others who are too arrogant and too proud to return despite their adversities have disappeared into oblivion into the bitter cold of the wilderness....but some are humble enough to write back and beg for some financial cheques to be sent to them in their hide-outs...all is not so rosy out there. Singapore is still the best place to be . simply because it is MY HOME!!! MAJULAH SINGAPURA!!!!

............ And they want their children to do NS right here in Singapore. No bullocks sir!!! Bite the Big Apple...just got my latest Apple ipad!!! wauhahhaaa!!!!!

Wahahahaha! You might as well say that they want to contribute 40% of their income to CPF and hope not to see it until after they die and the minimum sum can be whatever the Gahbrament decide they don't mind.

Apple, the tech company is based in California and The Big Apple is the nickname for New York City (as opposed to New York State), you StewPIG TWIT!

:oIo::kma:

Wahahahaha! You might as well say that they want to contribute 40% of their income to CPF and hope not to see it until after they die and the minimum sum can be whatever the Gahbrament decide they don't mind.

Apple, the tech company is based in California and The Big Apple is the nickname for New York City (as opposed to New York State), you StewPIG TWIT!

:oIo::kma:

you are so cleber!! I salute your big big apple!! hooray!!! these guys who earn big bucks do not have to depend on their miserable cpf lah!!!
they are rich and filthy rich right here in Singapore. earning massive bucks!!! the envy of many....and when they marry our local girls, they give a big blast!!!! ..the in thing is now The Capella in Sentosa. Min 50K for a wedding!!! Usually $100K for a party of 30 tables!!! HUAT!!!!

your points are well taken.
the fact that some had returned and kissed the ground of Singapore speaks volumes!!!

The fact that those of the same feathers as you have been forced to return speaks volumes and is proof of that you can take the Sinkie out of Singapore but you can't take the Sinkie out of him.

Just like some Hongkies who have been forced to return from Canada because their English is crap, they expect everything to be same as in HK, etc.

many others who are too arrogant and too proud to return despite their adversities have disappeared into oblivion into the bitter cold of the wilderness....but some are humble enough to write back and beg for some financial cheques to be sent to them in their hide-outs...all is not so rosy out there. Singapore is still the best place to be . simply because it is MY HOME!!! MAJULAH SINGAPURA!!!!

The fact that you return to your smearing ways again shows that if you are not a PAP IB then you are a person of bad character that I and many ordinary, humble and hard working Singaporeans wouldn't want to associate with. What adversity is there to speak of when one's net worth is in the seven figures and growing.

If you can make it in New York, you can make it anywhere!

[video=youtube;-YNBfIYy3-k]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-YNBfIYy3-k[/video]