• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Shanmugan admits to use of welfarism in S`pore

Thank you Asterix.Yes, enjoy your sushi in Melbourne.

I am enjoying mine in beautiful,wonderful and clean Singapore.

I do not have anything outside of Singapore. My heart and soul are here - rooted in the welfare of Singaporeans. I do not divide and rule and I do not wish to see my country fall or be betrayed or even be grounded and stomped by people who have no heart and no interest here. Many have left and they can only talk while those stayers like quite a number here will have to face the consequences of a rogue government. We walk the talk and we don't just talk for the sake of talking. We live and fight the dream - the Singapore Dream. Good or Bad, we are part of this Singapore Dream.

Thank you for sharing your sushi. Cheers!!!

Thank you Kopi for your seemingly cordial reply which as usual carries embedded smears aka PAP. The promptness of your reply is also impressive. If only the ROGUE Lightning Gahbrament will act as swiftly to tackle real problems instead of sweeping them under the carpet or pull wool over the eyes of voters using brigade members like you.

The country has already been betrayed by inter alia Lightning's mass importation of cheap PMETs to dilute Singaporean's votes, failure to fulfill or even try to fulfill election promises time and again, etc.

Your implication that Singaporeans abroad should not participate in SG politics at this critical juncture in the life of our country is insulting not just to me but to all overseas Singaporeans. Many of us who have upgraded still have large amounts standing to our credit in the CPF. In other words, your masters are forcibly holding on to our savings to fund the Sinkie Gahbrament at negative interest rates (taking inflation into account). As lenders we have the right to scrutinise the borrower's use of our hard earned savings.

Further, are your Lightning masters saying that just because we are living abroad now, our past contributions as NSmen, high value PMETs and high taxpayers (counting COE) when we were in Sinkieland can be thrown out the window? If the Lightning is capable of such ungratefulness, PMETs presently in SG should really fear. For when their votes have been sufficiently diluted by the importation of so-called FTs, they too will be treated with the same disdain.

What makes you think overseas Singaporeans do not "walk the talk" or "talk for the sake of talking"?

Lightning Gahbra claims to listen to the people and want constructive criticism. I am giving them constructive criticism and harsh ones too. That is my right as a CITIZEN who happens to be temporarily living abroad. I walk the talk. Get that into your thick skull before I throw the damn Constitution at you!

"Talking for the sake of talking" does not refer to constructive criticisms from brothers here many of whom are Singapore CITIZENS based abroad. However, it 101 % applies to your spam posts like that stewPIG Battlestar Galactica thread.

As you indulge in your Singapore "Dream", remember that the CPF monies of 200,000 overseas Singaporean CITIZENS amounting to billions of dollars are being used to fund it you stewPIG and ungrateful TWIT!

"Waste time sitting in Parliament" - what a fucking stupid statement is that. Shows that you don't understand the entire concept of Parliamentary democracy. I suggest you go to the UK or Australian or Kiwi Parliament website and educate yourself first before spouting any more nonsense.

Troll or no troll, for the proprietor of a site such as this you show incredible ignorance TWIT.

I don't have to go to a UK or OZ parliamentary website to know what goes on. I'm living in a country where I simply cannot avoid watching the circus show that is the NZ parliament.

Endless hours are spent arguing over the most trivial of matters and in the meantime nothing ever gets done. Projects that the PAP parliament would have agreed to and implemented within a couple of years take more than 3 decades to get going in NZ.

Singapore is very lucky to have such an efficient parliament. They should thank their lucky stars that Singapore has not ended up like the UK, OZ or NZ.

include the US and canada among the slothic nations. where i am in california, it takes 12 years to finally agree and start building 3 mass rapid transit stations whereas in sg, the entire circle line was built in 4 years or less. new lines and dozens of stations are being built in sg while i was back in sg the last 2 weeks. meanwhile, the 1 of 3 stations being built near my residence in the bay area will be completed in 2016, barring any delays or budget overspend. thanks to the pap, no cuntry can beat the swiftness and efficiency of sg. :*:

You forgot to mention that the State of California is bankrupt thanks to the efforts of taking care of the "poor".

I don't have to go to a UK or OZ parliamentary website to know what goes on. I'm living in a country where I simply cannot avoid watching the circus show that is the NZ parliament.

Endless hours are spent arguing over the most trivial of matters and in the meantime nothing ever gets done. Projects that the PAP parliament would have agreed to and implemented within a couple of years take more than 3 decades to get going in NZ.

SG's Rump Parliament is indeed "efficient" in implementing things that goes against the will of the people, who put those white Scums there in the first place, and whose taxes pay their salaries. So "efficient" that they can slip millions of FTs in without consulting the people. You should give them the Sammboy TWIT prize in policy blunders for not building enough infrastructure, housing, etc to accommodate the influx causing quite a lot of collateral damage. Yes, blur fucks can screw up quite "efficiently" if given unchecked power.

Those new lines in SG are late. While waiting for those new lines from the Sloths in White, ball-less stayers will have to endure crowded and smelly trains which are breaking down frequently.

Once again you show your laziness and ignorance. Just as many Sinkies can live in SG without bothering to educate themselves on societal issues of the day, Sinkified Kiwis can coast along on a mere NZ 4 million and be blind to MACRO issues. No need to keep harping on the fact that you live in NZ which may not even be true. It does not impress me at all.

Now get your lazy bum off that limping horse of bald and unsubstantiated statements and Google. Suffice to say that if tomorrow you lose your entire fortune and one of your kids has just started school while the other is struck with a chronic illness, you will thank your lucky stars that there is a comprehensive welfare system in NZ.

Given that you can't even be bothered to use the net to learn more about the pros and cons of Parliamentary democracy, me thinks you are the sort of lazy bum who will collect dole permanently if allowed to. So the NZ government must have in place mechanisms to weed out loafers like you.

However, the utility at MACRO level of a welfare system, which is in essence a form of insurance, should not be undermined because occasionally at a micro level there are welfare cheats like yourself. BTW, you still have not told us how you misspent the AUD30K of Aussie welfare money!:rolleyes:

Singapore is very lucky to have such an efficient PAP which specialises in bribery of voters be4 elections.WORLD LUMBER SATU!

Given that you can't even be bothered to use the net to learn more about the pros and cons of Parliamentary democracy, me thinks you are the sort of lazy bum who will collect dole permanently if allowed to. So the NZ government must have in place mechanisms to weed out loafers like you.

I don't have to go on the net to learn about the pros and cons of Parliamentary democracy. I have experienced various systems first hand and my conclusion is that the PAP system is the best precisely because it does not pander to the will of the people but instead harnesses the superior wisdom of the country's leaders to implement what is best for Singapore over the long term.

If decisions are made based on the "will of the people", no bitter pill will ever be swallowed because no electorate will collectively vote for a policy that is going to cause them pain in the short term. It's like taking lollipops away from the kids. It's bad for them but they're not going to give up the sweet stuff. Parents have to make the decision for them for the sake of their dental and long term health.

In NZ, major infrastructure projects which are vital for the nation's progress have been put on hold because the looney Green Party has obtained a court injunction to halt the project because it would affect some rare lizards which have nowhere else to go should their habitat be disturbed. Yes! this is the sort of madness that the country has to contend with.

Thank goodness the PAP, with it's wisdom and foresight, has managed to prevent this sort of lunacy from taking root in Singapore society.

Thank you Kopi for your seemingly cordial reply which as usual carries embedded smears aka PAP. The promptness of your reply is also impressive. If only the ROGUE Lightning Gahbrament will act as swiftly to tackle real problems instead of sweeping them under the carpet or pull wool over the eyes of voters using brigade members like you.

The country has already been betrayed by inter alia Lightning's mass importation of cheap PMETs to dilute Singaporean's votes, failure to fulfill or even try to fulfill election promises time and again, etc.

Your implication that Singaporeans abroad should not participate in SG politics at this critical juncture in the life of our country is insulting not just to me but to all overseas Singaporeans. Many of us who have upgraded still have large amounts standing to our credit in the CPF. In other words, your masters are forcibly holding on to our savings to fund the Sinkie Gahbrament at negative interest rates (taking inflation into account). As lenders we have the right to scrutinise the borrower's use of our hard earned savings.

Further, are your Lightning masters saying that just because we are living abroad now, our past contributions as NSmen, high value PMETs and high taxpayers (counting COE) when we were in Sinkieland can be thrown out the window? If the Lightning is capable of such ungratefulness, PMETs presently in SG should really fear. For when their votes have been sufficiently diluted by the importation of so-called FTs, they too will be treated with the same disdain.

What makes you think overseas Singaporeans do not "walk the talk" or "talk for the sake of talking"?

Lightning Gahbra claims to listen to the people and want constructive criticism. I am giving them constructive criticism and harsh ones too. That is my right as a CITIZEN who happens to be temporarily living abroad. I walk the talk. Get that into your thick skull before I throw the damn Constitution at you!

"Talking for the sake of talking" does not refer to constructive criticisms from brothers here many of whom are Singapore CITIZENS based abroad. However, it 101 % applies to your spam posts like that stewPIG Battlestar Galactica thread.

As you indulge in your Singapore "Dream", remember that the CPF monies of 200,000 overseas Singaporean CITIZENS amounting to billions of dollars are being used to fund it you stewPIG and ungrateful TWIT!

I would respect you more if you could very kindly remove the lightning analogy and attachment with Kopi. Thank you. Please do not be obsessed with forummers who are true blue Singaporeans. They are attached to Singapore and not attached to any symbol. Thank you.

Like I've repeatedly said before, your contributions are valued comments here. Thank you.

Will do. Good morning Leongsam. :rolleyes:

I would respect you more if you could very kindly remove the lightning analogy and attachment with Kopi. Thank you. Please do not be obsessed with forummers who are true blue Singaporeans. They are attached to Singapore and not attached to any symbol. Thank you.

Like I've repeatedly said before, your contributions are valued comments here. Thank you.

You forgot to mention that the State of California is bankrupt thanks to the efforts of taking care of the "poor".

thank you for that very relevant reminder. i like to reiterate to all sinkies and forum readers that "good" intentions such as welfare for the "poor" lose their meaning and purpose if in the process of helping the poor and downtrodden, they bring everyone and everything down with them including bankruptcy of a rich, rewarding and resourceful state. :*:

sillypoore is extremely easy to govern , rule , control。
1- it is fucking tiny cunty。 what you called a river ,other countries called it a shallow canal。
a city in other country is many times larger than sillypoore。
2- it shittizens are timid , docile , selfish。
they even believed myth that only scholars are capable to be ministar。

people said if a banker don't make money he is an idiot。
same here, anyone running sillypoore with such advantages and failed
to get things done must also be an idiot.

If decisions are made based on the "will of the people", no bitter pill will ever be swallowed because no electorate will collectively vote for a policy that is going to cause them pain in the short term. It's like taking lollipops away from the kids. It's bad for them but they're not going to give up the sweet stuff. Parents have to make the decision for them for the sake of their dental and long term health.

Nonsense. A society is made up of many different types of people. Some indeed are infected with the disease of "short-termism". It is the lollipop loving 60.1% Sinkies who expressed their will in voting for "free" lift upgrading and sacrificed all else and now they are paying the price.

The solution is not dictatorship but to have an EDUCATED electorate as opposed to one that is merely trained. All citizens must be allowed to express their opinions freely on how the country should be run and persuade others to their point of view. This means a free press and freedom of association (read political parties, think thanks, interest groups, etc).

Parents make wrong decisions all the time. When children are old enough to distinguish right from wrong, decisions with regards to their lives should not be made without their input. Once they are past 18 or 21 in ancient SG, they can and should decide for themselves everything. Parents' input come into the picture only when funding is required. If those children succumb to short-termism, one possible reason is that they have not been properly brought up by their parents.

In NZ, major infrastructure projects which are vital for the nation's progress have been put on hold because the looney Green Party has obtained a court injunction to halt the project because it would affect some rare lizards which have nowhere else to go should their habitat be disturbed. Yes! this is the sort of madness that the country has to contend with.

Politics is all about compromise. Don't think I forgot you used that word before. A diversion of a few miles will save the rare lizards and allow the road to constructed. Besides, running a country is a multi-dimensional affair. Some sacrifices are made here in order to get gains tangible as well as intangible there. This is democracy. Only a TWIT will say that it's madness.

Will do. Good morning Leongsam. :rolleyes:

You are very cute sir.
Your elevation of Kopi to SAM is unwarranted.
You're putting a brilliant man SAM down by associating him with Kopisism.

SAM is the best moderator and the best owner of one of the best forums in cyberspace. He is uniquely SAM. There in no comparison.

Kopi is just a kopishit - a down-trodden , useless and silly troll - a target for everyone here in SBF. Pangsai!!!

Have a nice day in wonderful, peaceful and great Melbourne.

Politics is all about compromise. Don't think I forgot you used that word before. A diversion of a few miles will save the rare lizards and allow the road to constructed. Besides, running a country is a multi-dimensional affair. Some sacrifices are made here in order to get gains tangible as well as intangible there. This is democracy. Only a TWIT will say that it's madness.

Compromise never results in excellence. To be on top of the game, what is required is hard nosed determination and an iron will to achieve nothing but the best.

Too many Western Nations have gone down the "compromise" route and look at the results... nations which are shadow of their former selves, mired in debt and harboring a population with no morals, no direction and no work ethic.

Whether it is about running a country or a corporation, without strong and decisive leadership, it is doomed to fail.

Compromise never results in excellence. To be on top of the game, what is required is hard nosed determination and an iron will to achieve nothing but the best.

It is not a game. The Kim family sure has an iron will and look what they did to North Korea. The result is not just far from excellent but a total failure.

Excellence means different things in different contexts. In sprinting, it means getting to the end of the line in the shortest possible time and leaving all your opponents in the dust. When it comes to governing a country, there are many indicators to look at, some of which pull in different directions.

Too many Western Nations have gone down the "compromise" route and look at the results... nations which are shadow of their former selves, mired in debt and harboring a population with no morals, no direction and no work ethic.

Many but not all. Quite a few have managed to attain excellence in spite of making compromises. Don’t slavishly follow and don’t slavishly disregard their achievements just because some are temporarily in difficulties. Germany is in good shape while Greece is not. Learn from the Germans and not the Greeks. Working smart is just as if not more important than working hard.

Whether it is about running a country or a corporation, without strong and decisive leadership, it is doomed to fail.

The present Sinkie leadership is neither strong nor decisive. More like a bunch of headless chickens if you ask me.

A country is different from a corporation.

Hitler was strong and decisive but still made many policy mistakes for Germany and his countrymen suffered as a result of his bad decisions. Germany now is a democracy and the better for it. One need only look at the difference in prosperity levels between the Western and Eastern parts of Germany before unification to know that democracy is better than dictatorship, other things being equal. Closer to home, just look at the difference between North and South Korea.

A country is different from a corporation.

Hitler was strong and decisive but still made many policy mistakes for Germany and his countrymen suffered as a result of his bad decisions. Germany now is a democracy and the better for it. One need only look at the difference in prosperity levels between the Western and Eastern parts of Germany before unification to know that democracy is better than dictatorship, other things being equal. Closer to home, just look at the difference between North and South Korea.

If you want the best example of how leadership is far more important than democratic principles, just compare China with India.

And when you compare European nations, you'll see the importance of good leadership vs bad leadership.

Using North Korea and the former Eastern Block countries as negative examples isn't appropriate either as these countries did not allow a free market economy to function.

If you want the best example of how leadership is far more important than democratic principles, just compare China with India.

China is not a good example. The GDP numbers look good but yet there are thousands of “mass incidents” every year where the people vent their pent up frustrations. Pollution is getting from bad to worse and healthcare is good only if you are wealthy. The first thing that most Chinese entrepreneurs do when they strike it rich with an IPO or the like is to get a foreign citizenship or PR for themselves and their children. By the way, China is not a free market economy. It is more like Sinkieland, where the Gahbrament controls 70% of the economy through GLCs. Just that in China, they are called SOEs (state-owned enterprises).

And when you compare European nations, you'll see the importance of good leadership vs bad leadership.

Nobody is denying that good leadership is important. Just as if not more important is how that leadership is chosen, how its performance is monitored, how bad leaders are gotten ridden of peacefully, how bad leaders are not allowed to make disastrous screw ups before their term expires as there are built in institutional checks and balances on their powers, et cetera. Like I said, running a country is a MULTI-DIMENSIONAL affair. As usual you focused on the wrong word.

Using North Korea and the former Eastern Block countries as negative examples isn't appropriate either as these countries did not allow a free market economy to function.

These countries did not have free market economies because their Communist dictators thought that such free markets are a threat to their monopoly on political power. By the way, Sinkieland does not have a free market economy. Not when the Gahbrament controls 70% of the economy through GLCs, stat boards and the like. Entrepreneurs who owe nothing to the Scums in White are dangerous from Lightning's point of view. Sir Run Run Shaw understood that and took his talents elsewhere and Singapore's potential to be the entertainment hub of Southeast Asia went kaput. :*:

Well maybe let's be objective about it, if they don't build the circle line or whatever lines they have planned with haste, PAP won't be the government in no time. You can only take the sardine tins for so long before tempers fray and you start to find someone to blame. I say the new MRT lines are a byproduct of PAP self-preservation tactics as they realise they fucked up so badly when they put 2 million immigrants over a decade and the existing infrastructure is straining and you learn new terms like ponding, breakdowns, planned mantainance. What's next? Blackouts?