• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SAWASDEE KRUP - Welcome to Thailand

I want to massage that girl LOL

Cheeky fella you . . . . this is a very good massage in that after the massage you can fell your skin very tender and nice to the touch I believe this has detoxification properties as it infuses the goodness of the 9 herbs from the pad into your body through the skin and at the same time rubbing the skin of dead cells and toxins.

I thot you win football enough already no need job LOL

This week bleed jialat lah. Haiz :p
Football punting is not a career lah :D
Anyways , Krung Thep everything also good except for the traffic and flooding :p
Lots of Wats for me to visit and pay respect to.
Ayutthaya is about 1 1/2 hours away :p

Anyways , Krung Thep everything also good except for the traffic and flooding :p

Krung Thep means Bangkok in Thai? I usually cheong Hatyai nia. Nearer. Take bus can liao LOL

Karp :)
Krung Thep = Bangkok = City of Angels
Haddyai = Sin City
You old timer cheongster :D
Tiger Airways fly there on alternate days I think.

Karp :)
Krung Thep = Bangkok = City of Angels
Haddyai = Sin City
You old timer cheongster :D
Tiger Airways fly there on alternate days I think.

I went Bangkok two times nia. One time very very long long ago when kid with family tour. One time adult already my old bird friends bring me cheong. But usually we just take bus go Hatyai. Aiyah all we want is eat, drink, smoke and women LOL

Sawasdee Krup everybody. Its a pretty cool morning about 23degC at my garden. Seems like its started to get cold again from today onwards. Nice weather, love it as can have meals sitting outside house and BBQs.

Woke up early to go to the market soon after maid settles the dog's pooing and makan, we will go together. Looking for a big lau-kuay-bu(老鸡母)about 4kg to 5kg and a big pig's leg bone to make fish maw abalone soup today. Will have to add dried scallops of course and boil for 6hrs. Tonight will have soup with mee-sua.

Pii joetys ,

Any job opening in Krung Thep ?
:D

Two weeks ago the government through the ministry of education announced that this year Thailand will be emphasizing on teaching English and developing kids to speak English. Reason is that the world is getting smaller and smaller each day as country to country businesses and relationship becomes closer and closer and English is seen as a binding force for this. Government also announced that they will set aside an entire day in school each week where everyone speaks English. Actually we all know that this won't work well because Thai English language teachers in schools cannot even speak simple English and only can teach A for apple B for boy C for cat. So I believe there will be a sudden demand for English teachers. I guess in this instance Singaporeans can fit in to teach and give tuition in private tuition schools. I believe pay can be not bad. This is a great opportunity for those who one to stay in Thailand and farangs always take advantage of this because of their colour but many are themselves very bad in the language. They just need to pretend and the Thais will bite just because of their skin colour.

Spotter, traffic is never a problem unless you are a taxi driver and or you need to fetch your kid to school or wife to work in downtown everyday. Bangkok is no long like 20 years ago where there is no tollways. For me I always pay for and use tollways and you meet traffic jams only after you get down but by then you are probably near to your destination. Yes traffic is worst than Singapore but not as bad as one thinks. In fact in Bangkok if you don't find heavy traffic its kinda spooky like economic crisis or riots (other than Songkrang and New Year period).

As for flood come on lets be more perspective (a) 2011 faced heavy flooding but first of all when was the last time it flooded like this in Bangkok? and (b) was Bangkok really flooded? NO only the suburbs were flooded. Spotter if you have time over a botle of brandy with me I will tell you how this man made flood started and it could have been prevented simply because its man made and intentional.

So guys Bangkok is a cool place to live in as long as got some and I repeat just some money you will be able to get by comfortably without the fucking knnpcb PAP breathing down your neck.

Shit I got to go market now.

Just got back from Yingchareon market unloaded stuff and heading for Chinatown market in 10mins to buy big flat yellow noodles. Aiya love Sundays going to markets!

i heard title deed fraud is common in thailand, i wonder how true that is that. U can have mltiple owners for that title deed

yes they can. if its not in your system then they test your hair.......dun play play.......sinkieland is police state

It's nothing to do with Singapore but the country you departed from, which is thailand.

Thailand is well known for the ""golden triangle"" sadly, till this day it still is, for better or worse, you decide.

Backpackers as drug mules from amsterdam transit. ang mos coming from bangkok, they check them, couples included. authorities have 0% tolerance using SG as drug transit into euro places. these travellers are on the HOT list.

It dosen't help that many child pedophiles ,rapist or criminals from others countries escape to thailand to evade capture.
Amsterdam have alfresco dining cafes serving Pots and grass by the tons and it's all legal there.

Here's an excerp from the US travel consulate and the tactics tourists encounter.

Also do watch the show Natgeo <Banged Up abroad>. It features free and easy travellers encountering horrific experiences travelling to certain countries and being jailed there http://natgeotv.com/uk/banged-up-abroad

THREATS TO SAFETY AND SECURITY: The State Department is concerned that there is a continued risk of terrorism in Southeast Asia, including in Thailand. While traveling in Thailand you should exercise caution, especially in locations where Westerners congregate, such as clubs, discos, bars, restaurants, hotels, places of worship, schools, outdoor recreation venues, tourist areas, beach resorts, and other places frequented by foreigners. You should remain vigilant with regard to your personal security and avoid crowds and demonstrations. For more information on terrorist threats against U.S. citizens worldwide and steps to take as a result of these threats, please see the Worldwide Caution.

The political environment in Thailand remains beset by deep political divisions. Protesters hold political rallies frequently to voice their opinions. Between March and May 2010, political protests throughout Thailand resulted in the deaths of at least 91 people and injuries to over 260 people, including two U.S. citizens. Responding to the violent protests in Bangkok, the Royal Thai Government imposed a curfew and temporarily closed several hotels and stores. For a period of several months after the protests ended in May, there were numerous explosive attacks, including several isolated grenade and arson attacks in and around Bangkok and, on occasion, Chiang Mai. Some of the explosive devices were discovered in public places in Bangkok, including near a major shopping center, a school, a bus stop, and government buildings. These incidents appear to have been motivated by domestic politics and have no apparent link to international terrorism.

The Department of State advises all U.S. citizens residing in or traveling to Thailand to monitor events closely, to avoid any large public gatherings, and to exercise discretion when traveling within the country. Political demonstrations are frequent in Thailand. Many are scheduled on the anniversary of political events, and others happen with little warning. Demonstrations can attract tens of thousands of participants and often cause severe traffic disruptions, especially if they include processions from one site to another. If a demonstration is expected to pass near the U.S. Embassy or Consulate facilities, Embassy and Consulate entrances and functions may be restricted. Demonstrations are unpredictable and can turn violent without warning. For this reason, we encourage you to monitor local media for information about possible demonstrations and to avoid the vicinity of demonstrations. The U.S. Embassy in Bangkok and the Consulate General in Chiang Mai post information about particular demonstrations on their websites as well as through Facebook and Twitter. We usually will not send out emergency messages to U.S. citizens about particular demonstrations.

The far south of Thailand has been experiencing almost daily incidents of criminally and politically motivated violence for several years, including incidents attributed to armed local separatist groups. Although the separatist groups have focused primarily on Thai government interests in the southern provinces, some of the recent violence has targeted public and commercial areas, including areas where foreigners may congregate. On September 16, 2011, three coordinated bombs exploded in Narathiwat’s business and entertainment district, killing five people, including four Malaysian tourists, and injuring over 110 others. On April 18, 2011, a car bomb exploded in Yala’s business district, killing one person and injuring 23 others. On February 19, 2011, gunmen fired on a karaoke restaurant in Narathiwat municipality, injuring two; half an hour later, a car bomb went off nearby, injuring more than a dozen people. On February 13, 2011, a car bomb exploded in Yala municipality’s business district injuring at least a dozen people. The U.S. Embassy prohibits its personnel from traveling to the far south of Thailand-- Narathiwat, Pattani, and Yala provinces--without prior mission approval, and Embassy personnel may go there only on mission-essential travel. The Department of State urges you to defer non-emergency travel to these areas. If you must travel to these areas, you should exercise special caution and remain vigilant with regard to your personal security. You should be aware that Thai authorities have on occasion instituted special security measures in affected areas, such as curfews, military patrols, or random searches of train passengers.

We recommend that you defer travel near the Thai-Cambodian border in the area of the Preah Vihear temple and farther west in the Phanom Dong Rak district of Surin province because of border disputes between Thailand and Cambodia. Since July 2008, soldiers from the two countries have exchanged gunfire on several occasions. Some artillery fire has struck several kilometers away from the border. Fighting has also extended some distance along the border in both locations. Until these situations have been resolved, you should exercise extreme caution if you must travel to areas along the Thai-Cambodian border where troop activities are reported. Pay special attention to local conditions elsewhere along this border, since military activity might expand with little warning.

The Thai/Burma border is the site of on-going conflicts between the Burmese Army and armed opposition groups as well as clashes between Thai security forces and armed drug traffickers. Pirates, bandits, and drug traffickers operate in these border areas. It is possible that significant flare-ups of military activity on the Burmese side of the border could spill over into adjacent areas of northern Thailand. You should travel off-road in undeveloped areas only with local guides who are familiar with the area. Border closings and re-openings occur frequently, and if you are considering traveling into Burma from Thailand, you should be aware that in the event of a border closure you may not be able to re-enter Thailand. In light of the continuing unsettled situation along the Thai border with Burma and the possibility of frequent closings to all traffic, the Department of State recommends that you exercise caution when traveling in remote or rural areas of Thailand adjacent to the Burma border.

Stay up to date by:

Bookmarking our Bureau of Consular Affairs website, which contains the current Travel Warnings and Travel Alerts as well as the Worldwide Caution.
Following us on Twitter and the Bureau of Consular Affairs page on Face book as well.
Downloading our free Smart Traveler IPhone App to have travel information at your fingertips.
Calling 1-888-407-4747 toll-free within the U.S. and Canada, or by calling a regular toll line, 1-202-501-4444, from other countries.
Taking time before you travel to improve your personal security. Here are some useful tips for traveling safely abroad.

CRIME: Although the crime threat in Bangkok and other Thai cities remains lower than that in many U.S. cities, crimes of opportunity such as pick-pocketing, purse-snatching, and burglary are not unusual. You should be especially wary when walking in crowded markets, tourist sites, and bus or train stations. Many U.S. citizens have reported having passports, wallets, and other valuables stolen in Bangkok's Chatuchak Weekend Market, usually by pickpockets and thieves who cut into purses or bags with a razor and remove items surreptitiously. Police at the Market usually refuse to issue police reports for foreign victims of theft, requiring them instead to travel several miles to the central Tourist Police office.

Violent crimes against foreigners are relatively rare. However, there has been a recent upsurge in violent crime against tourists, including the murder of several independent travelers on the southern islands of Phuket and Koh Samui. If you are traveling alone, you should exercise caution and stay in the vicinity of other travelers, especially in the beach areas of these islands.

Serious crimes involving taxis or "tuk-tuks" (three-wheeled taxis) are relatively rare. However, every year foreign passengers are involved in taxi-related incidents in Thailand. You should not hesitate to ask to be let out of a taxi immediately if the driver is acting suspiciously or driving erratically. Drivers often attempt to charge excessive fares. If possible, require the driver to use the meter. Police will seldom intervene in incidents involving taxi drivers. In Phuket, threats of violence may accompany excessive charges. Tuk-tuk and taxi drivers there have been described in media reports as being a “mafia.” They have organized against attempts to provide alternative services. For instance, they have blockaded van and bus services during U.S. Navy ship visits. (See also the Special Circumstances and Safety and Road Conditions sections.)

When arriving at a Thai airport, you should use only taxis from the airport's official taxi stand, cars from the airport limousine counters, or airport buses. Major hotels also arrange to have a car and driver meet incoming flights. It is uncommon for Thai taxis to pick up additional passengers. You should be wary of drivers seeking to do so, and you should never enter a cab that has someone besides the driver in it.

Scams involving gems, city tours, entertainment venues, and credit cards are common, especially in areas heavily visited by tourists. Taxi drivers and others commonly tout gem stores or entertainment venues. These touts receive kickbacks or commissions that drive up the prices of the goods or services, and you should not accept tours or other offers from them. You should use credit cards only in reputable, established businesses, and you should check the amount you have been charged for accuracy.

The Tourism Authority of Thailand (TAT) receives over a thousand complaints each year from visitors who have been cheated on gem purchases. Scams usually follow a predictable pattern. Someone approaches you outside of a well-known tourist attraction such as the Grand Palace and says that the attraction is closed. The friendly stranger gains your confidence and suggests a visit to a temple that is supposedly open only one day per year; the stranger then mentions in passing that a special once-a-year government-sponsored gem sale is going on and directs you to a waiting tuk-tuk. At the temple, another stranger -- sometimes a foreigner-- engages you in conversation and also mentions the "special" gem sale. You agree to go look at the gem shop and are soon convinced to buy thousands of dollars worth of jewels that you can supposedly sell in the United States for a 100 percent profit. In fact, the gems turn out to be of much less value than you paid for them, and the shop does not honor its money-back guarantee. No matter what a tout may say, no jewelry stores are owned, operated, or sponsored by the Thai government or by the Thai royal family. You can find the list of gem dealers who have promised to abide by TAT guidelines online at the Buying Gems and Jewellery in Thailand section of the Tourism Authority of Thailand's website.You can find detailed information on gem scams on numerous websites. If you fall victim to a gem scam, you should contact the local branch of the Tourist Police or call their toll-free number: 1155.

Although most bars and entertainment venues operate honestly, some, especially in tourist areas such as Bangkok’s Patpong area, try to charge exorbitant prices for drinks or unadvertised cover charges and then threaten violence if the charges are not paid. If you are victimized in this fashion, you should not attempt to resolve the problem yourself but should instead pay the price demanded and then seek out a nearby Tourist Police officer for help in getting restitution. If no officer is nearby, you can phone the Tourist Police at 1155.

There have been occasional reports of prostitutes or bar workers drugging people with the powerful sedative scopolamine in order to rob them. Tourists have also been victimized by drugged food and drink, usually offered by a friendly stranger who is sometimes posing as a fellow traveler on an overnight bus or train. In addition, casual acquaintances you meet in a bar or on the street may pose a threat. You should not leave drinks or food unattended and should avoid going alone to unfamiliar venues.

Criminals have victimized some foreigners by presenting themselves as police, sometimes wearing police uniforms. After a conspirator lures the foreigner into doing something illegal, the “police officer” appears and threatens to arrest the foreigner unless he or she pays a “bribe” -- which the conspirator helps to negotiate. To protect yourself from such scams, do not engage in activities that would put you in a vulnerable position, such as soliciting sex or purchasing or using illegal drugs. If someone claiming to be a police officer demands money from you, request to pay at the police station.

Don’t buy counterfeit and pirated goods, even if they are widely available (as they are in Thailand). The manufacture and sale of pirated goods, including music, movies, software, and counterfeit luxury goods and apparel, is a crime in Thailand and is frequently controlled by organized crime networks. In addition, if you bring these goods back to the United States, you may be fined or have to forfeit the goods. More information on this serious problem is available in the intellectual property section of the U.S. Department of Justice website.

Joetys, your early sun outing sounds interesting -good payoff for this evening's arhan.

On angrit, khun thais know which side of global toast is buttered with emphasis on tuition etc. Yo, many farang cheap charlie overstayers masquerade as teachers. Can't help if notion is that whites are native speakers! Knew 1 Swiss who was onto a CNX chabor, but sought out teaching job to hang on.

Pii joetys ,

Any job opening in Krung Thep ?
:D

Two weeks ago the government through the ministry of education announced that this year Thailand will be emphasizing on teaching English and developing kids to speak English. Reason is that the world is getting smaller and smaller each day as country to country businesses and relationship becomes closer and closer and English is seen as a binding force for this. Government also announced that they will set aside an entire day in school each week where everyone speaks English. Actually we all know that this won't work well because Thai English language teachers in schools cannot even speak simple English and only can teach A for apple B for boy C for cat. So I believe there will be a sudden demand for English teachers. I guess in this instance Singaporeans can fit in to teach and give tuition in private tuition schools. I believe pay can be not bad. This is a great opportunity for those who one to stay in Thailand and farangs always take advantage of this because of their colour but many are themselves very bad in the language. They just need to pretend and the Thais will bite just because of their skin colour.

As for flood come on lets be more perspective (a) 2011 faced heavy flooding but first of all when was the last time it flooded like this in Bangkok? and (b) was Bangkok really flooded? NO only the suburbs were flooded. Spotter if you have time over a botle of brandy with me I will tell you how this man made flood started and it could have been prevented simply because its man made and intentional.

So guys Bangkok is a cool place to live in as long as got some and I repeat just some money you will be able to get by comfortably without the fucking knnpcb PAP breathing down your neck.
Spotter/Joe,

The pay for a English language teacher is not impressive at all (THB 150-300 per hour). Those farangs became a teacher in LOS because they want to stay permanently in LOS. All farang teachers I know do not depend on their teaching salary. Their main income are derived elsewhere. However, it is a good starting point for those who want to stay in LOS to look for opportunities. If you are keen to teach English in Thailand, you can google information on TEFL (Teaching English as a Foreign Lanague). For Pattaya, there is only centre that is authorise to conduct TEFL course.

Biggest problem for me driving in BKK is getting lost once I am out of the expressway/motorway. However, problem can be easily solve by getting a taxi to lead the way. :D Very common to hear even BKK residents getting lost themselves.

Yes, will probably take one or two brandy/whiskly to talk about the flooding. Do take note there are severe floodings in the southern part now but there are not much media coverage. Why the big difference?

CRIME: Although the crime threat in Bangkok and other Thai cities remains lower than that in many U.S. cities, crimes of opportunity such as pick-pocketing, purse-snatching, and burglary are not unusual. You should be especially wary when walking in crowded markets, tourist sites, and bus or train stations. Many U.S. citizens have reported having passports, wallets, and other valuables stolen in Bangkok's Chatuchak Weekend Market, usually by pickpockets and thieves who cut into purses or bags with a razor and remove items surreptitiously. Police at the Market usually refuse to issue police reports for foreign victims of theft, requiring them instead to travel several miles to the central Tourist Police office.

Violent crimes against foreigners are relatively rare. However, there has been a recent upsurge in violent crime against tourists, including the murder of several independent travelers on the southern islands of Phuket and Koh Samui. If you are traveling alone, you should exercise caution and stay in the vicinity of other travelers, especially in the beach areas of these islands.
Most tourist became crime target simply because they are wearing a invisible shirt with the label "Rob Me!" or "Knock my Carrot Head!". When travelling to LOS or any countries, common sense applies. When it is too good to be true, then it's not.

Joetys, your early sun outing sounds interesting -good payoff for this evening's arhan.

On angrit, khun thais know which side of global toast is buttered with emphasis on tuition etc. Yo, many farang cheap charlie overstayers masquerade as teachers. Can't help if notion is that whites are native speakers! Knew 1 Swiss who was onto a CNX chabor, but sought out teaching job to hang on.
Yes, you will see many of them in Pattaya. The latest one that approach me to help find lobang for a English teacher job is an Israeli and I hardly understand his English. Maybe, my English is no good.

Good afternoon Yingyang, you're right evening arhan will be delicious, here's giving you a sneak preview what's brewing in the pot right now.

Soup2.jpg

As you can see the top is mainly grapokpra (fish maw), mae-gai (old mother chicken 4.5kg), grapokmoo (pig stomach). What you cannot see are ipun-hoi-shell-haeng (Japanese dried scallops), button mushrooms, pig's leg bone

Leftover will be cook with meesua tomorrow morning breakfast.

i heard title deed fraud is common in thailand, i wonder how true that is that. U can have mltiple owners for that title deed

It happens here and most 3rd world country. I don't think its common but I can only say that it is possible to happen.

Good afternoon Yingyang, you're right evening arhan will be delicious, here's giving you a sneak preview what's brewing in the pot right now.

View attachment 3384

As you can see the top is mainly grapokpra (fish maw), mae-gai (old mother chicken 4.5kg), grapokmoo (pig stomach). What you cannot see are ipun-hoi-shell-haeng (Japanese dried scallops), button mushrooms, pig's leg bone

Leftover will be cook with meesua tomorrow morning breakfast.

One of my favourite soup. The other being hot and sour soup. Both need to add vinegar.

Yes like both type of soup. Also like it with lots of white pepper.

Think it is more expensive to cook than eating outside. :)