• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SAWASDEE KRUP - Welcome to Thailand

wah why like this? It isn't even in japan. To be a jap is really good.

To be Jap is really quite an advantage. I had to fight tooth and nail over a Taiwanese GF because the competitor was a Jap guy. We were all in Canada at that time. In the end, I won and brought her back to US with me. Fighting a Jap for GF was tougher than fighting a White. But that particular Jap guy was quite gentlemanly and courteous when he conceded and backed off, he even wished us well and gave us his blessings.

The taiwanese gf really liked the jap guy simply cos he's jap? That's the impression you're giving me or you're saying he behaves very gentlemanly and courteously cos he's a jap?

Hi guys, today a little busy here in Kaohsiung la. First its the hotspring spent about an hour to rejuvenate myself in the hot pools and also cold pools. Then I went shopping for hokkien songs and also Japanese CDs, bought total of 14 CDs. This is my routine when I am here. Hey, I really wonder how Taiwanese girls keep themselves so fair and pinkish they all look damn cute and delicious. Sigh.

The taiwanese gf really liked the jap guy simply cos he's jap? That's the impression you're giving me or you're saying he behaves very gentlemanly and courteously cos he's a jap?

The impression you're giving me is that you're not very good at English comprehension. The fight over her was tooth and nail. It was only when he lost that he gentlemanly and courteously conceded. He had an early advantage because he's Japanese, yes. Japanese treated Taiwanese damn well when it was colonized by Japanese after JiaWu War, if you know your history. Many Taiwanese even fought on the Japanese side during WW2.

Sex sells, not decor. Just con some desparado coffeeshop uncles with lines like girls are easy to get and they'll buy you drinks. You don't know that?

of course sex sell ..but who wants to go in a rundown pros den ? have you been to " the lord " ?

The impression you're giving me is that you're not very good at English comprehension. The fight over her was tooth and nail. It was only when he lost that he gentlemanly and courteously conceded. He had an early advantage because he's Japanese, yes. Japanese treated Taiwanese damn well when it was colonized by Japanese after JiaWu War, if you know your history. Many Taiwanese even fought on the Japanese side during WW2.

Nope it's YOU that has a problem explaining things. Firstly you said he was japanese hence he had a good chance of winning her without even explaining why. Obviously ppl would be curious and to give WWII as an example.:rolleyes: Based on your silly example you have given i suppose chinese sinkies have to start beating up japanese ppl right now cos they were treated the worst during ww2 yet you'll find a chinese sinkie learning jap culture and vice versa rather than an indian learning jap culture for eg.

another happening gentleman club in bangkok is " the bank " .

Sawadeekarp !!!

Krup Sawasdee Krup Khun Krup. Sabaidee mai Pi Spotter?

I am watching a very interesting program in my hotel room now TVBS 2100 Talk Show, they are discussing corruption case of the current presidential candidate Tsai In-Wen. Its a very long program but I cant get my eyes of TV. Shit this is democracy mate.

Thaniya is not across Patpong, it's the parallel soi to Patpong 1 and Patpong 2, sometimes it's known as Patpong 3. Thaniya is the place where I got hooked into a blackshop and extorted if you've read my other posting on it. I reported to the Patpong police post and the police helped me recovered my money.
LOS = Land Of Smiles :)
Just a convenient neighborhood call, think next stretch is Suriwongse (?) -as me bit poor sense of direction or was it the sights or alcohol??

My version LOS was a rib, maybe for some also Lots of SINs.

Missed your scam episode, but you got lucky as the men in brown tights are themselves far from linen white themselves (maybe an instituition in their own right)

Here's my 2 Baht on long term residence in LOS.

Student Visa versus Retirement Visa versus Work Permit versus Marriage Visa
Student Visa or ED Visa is the most easy way to stay in LOS but it comes with a price. You need to pay your school that supports your ED visa annually.
Retirement Visa (age 50 and above to qualify) is cheaper if you have enough funds to prove you have sufficient savings or external income. You need to provide proof you have at least THB 800,000 in a Thai bank for at least 3 months prior to your application for ED VISA. Take note this is a one time process. It does not mean you need to deposit THB 800,000 for every extension.
Work Permit (Non-B Business VISA) is another way to go. You only need to find a company that sponsor your application or you can set up your own company with a Thai partner(s).
NW pointed out Marriage Visa. Such visa itself can be a topic for discussion so I won't comment much. Do take note that for all type of visas other than Non-B (Business) with a valid work permit, you are not allowed to work in LOS. Even foreign monks or NGO volunteers in LOS need work permit.

It's true most foreigners qualify for long term residence in LOS due to student visa.

I read in the Sunday Times yesterday that someone bought a sea view apartment for SGD100k in Phuket for retirement. Is Phuket a good place for retirement?

Just curious why retirement visa not as popular as student visa since cheaper? How much does it cost to get a ED visa vs retirement visa? A retirement visa is valid for how long?

Sawasdee Krup. So many talks about the SMRT in their forum I guess there's nothing Singaporeans can do with such dictatorship in power. Anyway coming back to Thailand, I will be spending Christmas to 27th in the mountains of Khao Yai National Park about 1hr 30mins drive from Bangkok. I'll be going alone to chill out in a resort.

I read in the Sunday Times yesterday that someone bought a sea view apartment for SGD100k in Phuket for retirement. Is Phuket a good place for retirement?

Just curious why retirement visa not as popular as student visa since cheaper? How much does it cost to get a ED visa vs retirement visa? A retirement visa is valid for how long?

Hi Grinfreely, Here's some differences between ED VISA and Retirement VISA. For ED-VISA, you need to pay the school fees for subsequent yearly renewal. There is also a limit for for ED VISA (maximum of 10 years). And most important, for ED VISA, you are required to attend lessons at the school that sponsor your ED VISA application.

For retirement VISA, you need to be 50 and above and proof of THB 800,000 in your bank account 3 months prior to application. This is a one time process. Subsequent years are just yearly extension and there's no limit to the number of years you can stay in LOS with such retirement VISA. So in short, you save on the annual 'school fee'. The yearly extension is cheaper compared to the school fee. As with any other VISA, you are not allowed to work with any type of VISA without a valid work permit.

The reason why most go for ED-VISA is because it is the fastest and easiest to obtain.

Not too familiar with Phuket. Maybe bro difter can comment on Phuket. For Pattaya, a good sea view apartment (50-90 sqm) condo unit can cost anything from THB 1.2 million to THB 5 million. Have lots of brochures and catalog for Pattaya properties, will post some pics soon.

As for retirement location, my preference is the upcountry. :D As I am more keen on gardening and farming stuff.

The good thing about retiring in Phuket or Pattaya is you will never be a stranger as the foreigners:Thai ratios is high in these places. On the negative part, retirement in these places can get expensive depending on your hobbies and lifestyle.

Here's some advertisement from latest Pattaya's Real Estate Magazine.

P1200923.JPGP1200914.JPGP1200925.JPGP1200917.JPGP1200918.JPG

Back to LOS.....
Today no horse racing.....brought forward to yesterday....
Lottery day I kena number 21
Heng Heng. :) Gf also tuk 21 but only THB 200 underground.

Sawasdee Krup. So many talks about the SMRT in their forum I guess there's nothing Singaporeans can do with such dictatorship in power. Anyway coming back to Thailand, I will be spending Christmas to 27th in the mountains of Khao Yai National Park about 1hr 30mins drive from Bangkok. I'll be going alone to chill out in a resort.
Are you going to Park Chong at Khao Yai?

If Park Chong, better find companion, because the place really nothing to do at night. :D The nearest town with some entertainment is about 10 km away.
But the scenery and cool weather is worth it if you are looking for a place to recharge yourself. Past by Khao Yai on my way back from Surin last weekend, the whole place is very misty now.

Advice for those looking for properties in Pattaya (also applicable to LOS)

It's true that foreigners can own condo in LOS but for every condo project, there is quota on the number of foreigner own units in the condo. If I remember correctly, it is less than 50%. You can always see a listing that mentioned "In foreigner name or farang name", this mean the property can be transfer to another foreigner name and so the price will be slightly expensive than those unit own by Thai names. Most farangs will use their Thai wife or gf to get around this. But in the event of a dispute, eg. divorce, the unit legally belong to the Thai wife/gf.

There are many property agents in Pattaya so take your time to shop around. Factors you might want to consider is parking lot and your neighbors nationality. Most condo only allow 1 vehicle per unit. Motorcycles are OK. Do not rush to convert your local funds to THB as you also need to proof the funds for the purchase is not derived locally but TT from outside LOS.