• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Online users express anger towards Chan Chun Sing over his remarks of calling people “idiots” and “disgraceful”

Keechiu visits Northland Secondary School.

Chan Chun Sing added 4 new photos to the album Visit to Northland Secondary School.​

7 hrs·

Had a standing invitation from the Principal Mdm Jennifer Tan, so I dropped by Northland Secondary School early this morning as I was in the Yishun vicinity.
Streamed in with the students and teachers before 7am, and went around the school to observe the morning activities. Some of them were having breakfast, provided by the school in partnership with the canteen operators for higher needs students. Kudos to all of you!
Like many other schools, Northland Secondary encourages students to cultivate a lifelong reading habit. Walked into several classrooms and saw the students reading before morning assembly. Most of them like fiction.
Also chanced upon a prize presentation ceremony for a sustainability-related school activity. Happy to give out the prizes to all the deserving winners!
Before leaving, caught up with a few teachers who were not conducting lessons. We discussed how we can better motivate and help students who may have higher needs, such as keeping schools open as far as possible, and furthering outreach to vulnerable families.
Thank you everyone, for the hard work! CCS

1626356244646.png

from straitstimes.com:

Build strong ties with people, private sector, the world to keep S'pore ahead: Chan Chun Sing to public servants​

1626452418717.png

SINGAPORE - Singapore's global connections have benefited the country in times of crisis, enabling it to keep its supply chains resilient amid the Covid-19 pandemic and attract major investors despite stiff global competition, said Education Minister Chan Chun Sing on Friday (July 9).

While others "play defensive and try to catch up", Singapore has also managed to break new ground with its free trade and digital economy agreements, he added, urging public servants to be aware of what is happening beyond the public service.

"We will have to stay up to date with the latest trends, see opportunities before others do, and connect ideas, people, and capital to create value," said Mr Chan, who is also Minister-in-charge of the Public Service.

"To do so, we must build stronger connections - with the private sector, with our people and with the world."

He gave the example of how the Economic Development Board and Enterprise Singapore tapped their private sector and international networks to ensure that the country's supply chains remained resilient.

Without these, Singapore would not have essential supplies such as food and vaccines, he said.

It would also not have been able to attract top multinational firms such as Exxon, GlaxoSmithKline and BioNTech to invest and grow their presence in Singapore.

These examples underscore the importance of having public sector officers work with the private and people sectors, Mr Chan added.

Since last year, more than 60 officers have gone on work attachments in these sectors, gaining fresh insights and learning new skills.

"These insights make us better public service officers and policymakers," he said. "This is even more important now than ever before."

The minister was speaking at the One Public Service Observance Ceremony, held virtually for the second year in a row.

The event is part of the annual Public Service Week, which has been held since 2008 to celebrate and recognise the work of government officers.

In a Facebook post, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong thanked public servants for rising to the challenge when Covid-19 hit, adding that the pandemic “stretched the service to the limit and put us to a searching test”.

Mr Chan, in his address, also stressed the need for change in the “brave new world” brought about by the pandemic, and added that opportunities will go to those able to adapt more quickly and move faster.

"In the post-Covid-19 world, there is no guarantee that our previous assumptions will still hold true, or that our old formulas will continue to work," Mr Chan said.

He also called on public servants to do away with less important tasks to make room for work that truly matters, adding that leaders must focus their teams on the most important tasks and create the culture and systems that enable this to take place.

Meanwhile, regular officers can contribute by identifying unproductive activities that should be done away with and work that can be reprioritised, he added.

"This is not easy. To achieve this, we will need to critically review the way we work and question our assumptions," said Mr Chan.

"It takes courage, and I believe many of you have good ideas."

He pledged that the public service will also pay more attention to building leadership teams with "diverse and complementary strengths", rather than simply selecting individuals with the best skill sets.

This is required for resilience in a dynamic world, he said.

"Every public officer must therefore have the mental agility to learn, unlearn and relearn to take on new and more diverse skill sets throughout our careers."

In particular, potential leaders must be exposed to work across different domains - such as policy, operations and communications - as well as work beyond the public sector.

This will make for more well-rounded senior leaders with the ability to appreciate diversity of talents and skills in their teams, Mr Chan said.

Keechiu worries for stallholders.

Chan Chun Sing

7 hrs·

“家里好料不吃,跑外头去偷吃!” Common refrain from some of our stallholders and residents this morning. Several expressed disappointment and frustration with the growing “KTV cluster”.
Stallholders were worried that business will be affected with further tightening of measures. Some also expressed concerns that the whole market and food centre will be shuttered if infections were to be found, as with other food centres elsewhere.
The latest episodes are important reminders to all of us, to exercise personal responsibility and maintain collective vigilance. Let’s continue to look after ourselves and each other. CCS

1626526770557.png

Keechiu worries for stallholders.

Chan Chun Sing

7 hrs·

“家里好料不吃,跑外头去偷吃!” Common refrain from some of our stallholders and residents this morning. Several expressed disappointment and frustration with the growing “KTV cluster”.
Stallholders were worried that business will be affected with further tightening of measures. Some also expressed concerns that the whole market and food centre will be shuttered if infections were to be found, as with other food centres elsewhere.
The latest episodes are important reminders to all of us, to exercise personal responsibility and maintain collective vigilance. Let’s continue to look after ourselves and each other. CCS

View attachment 116504
He should also ask why angmoh no such ktv outbreak? Both ccb sinkies and pap at fault.

Keechiu gets encouragement from youngsters.

Chan Chun Sing

10 hrs·

Received this encouraging card from our young residents Neve and Yong Zhi. The cute siblings really made my day! CCS

1626612787187.png

from straitstimes.com:

3 ways for Asean and China to achieve even closer economic cooperation: Chan Chun Sing​

SINGAPORE - Adopting a long view, building an open and inclusive architecture, and fostering greater interoperability are some possible ways for Asean and China to achieve even tighter economic linkages, said Education Minister Chan Chun Sing on Monday (July 12).

He was delivering the closing address for the FutureChina Global Forum, a two-day event bringing together government and business leaders on a range of China-related issues.

The former minister for trade and industry noted that China, as a key engine of global economic growth today, is looking to secure its global supply and value chains and networks, as well as boost resilience through its dual circulation strategy.

The plan, highlighted by President Xi Jinping in May last year, aims to spur both domestic self-sufficiency and foreign investment.

Asean, on the other hand, is also working on diversifying its sources of growth, markets and supply chains.

In order to capitalise on such an environment where both parties are looking for new growth areas, and deepen integration, the first consideration is to think long-term, said Mr Chan.

"Countries will look towards trusted partners, in a world of flux and uncertainty, to secure their intellectual property (IP) and supply chains," he added.

"They will look for partners who can invest in them for the long term and have a vested interest in mutual success.

"These will be partners who adopt a 'prosper thy neighbour' policy, rather than those who extract or exact the maximum short-term interest for themselves."

Next, countries - including Asean member states - will want a diverse portfolio of partnerships to be more competitive, as the competition is not local and not regional, but global.

"To this end, Singapore looks forward to the timely ratification and entry into force of the Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership," said Mr Chan, referring to the trade pact signed in November last year.

The agreement brings together the 10 Asean countries, as well as Australia, China, Japan, New Zealand and South Korea, to form the world's largest trade bloc, covering around 30 per cent of the world's population and gross domestic product.

Third, countries need to be able to work with one another easily, efficiently and effectively - not just in terms of "hardware" but in rules, regulations, and data flows, said Mr Chan.

This means that going forward, digital economy agreements and common standards in the likes of IP protection will be key enablers.

In a complex world where linear trajectories of growth are no longer a given, bilateral and multilateral partnerships will have to be underpinned by consistent efforts to find new areas of growth, said the minister.

"Therein lies our collective work as a region. I am confident that Asean and China will be able to find common ground in our priorities - both current and new - and to forge a fruitful and mutually beneficial partnership going forward."

Keechiu enjoys playing snakes and ladders.

Chan Chun Sing

3 hrs·

Do you recall the last time you played the game of snakes and ladders? Recently chanced upon Bukit Panjang Primary School students learning more about values and character-building as they navigate the “ups and downs” of this life-sized board game during their playtime! What better way to learn than while having fun? All made possible through gamification
At the School-Based Student Care Centre (SCC), students were learning about the Mongolian Nadaam festival through arts and craft – the close partnership between the school and the SCC helps to ensure the holistic development of students, even after school hours.
The strong spirit of “gotong royong” amongst staff could be felt through their generous sharing of anecdotes and thoughts on improving students’ learning experiences. Was heartened by their ideas on how we can continue to do more for students who require support, beyond the examinations. CCS
#OurSchoolStories

1626673291596.png

Keechiu is shocked to hear of tragic incident.

Chan Chun Sing

4 hrs·

We are all shocked to receive news of the tragic incident at River Valley High School this morning.
Our thoughts are with the families of the students concerned. Ministry of Education, Singapore is rendering all possible support to them, and the students and staff at the school.
We are working closely with Singapore Police Force on the investigations, and they will be sharing more details on the case in due course.
The safety and well-being of our students and staff are of paramount importance to us.
We are determined to work with parents and students to keep our schools safe and have our children grow up and learn together in a trusted environment.
To all our students:
We will take care of you as always. If you need to talk to anyone, or know someone who needs help, please reach out to an adult, your teachers or school counsellors. You are never alone, and we will always stand ready to help you. CCS

1626700113691.png

Keechiu should remind all principals and teachers to watch out for signs of mental illness or extreme stress in students.

1626708264173.png

Keechiu explains what MOE are doing in the aftermath of the tragedy.

Chan Chun Sing

2 hrs·

We lost one of our students yesterday, in a tragic turn of events that has left our nation in grief.
As we mourn this loss, Ministry of Education, Singapore’s immediate priority is to ensure the welfare and well-being of our school community, especially the students and teachers, and their families.
— We have set up a CARE post in River Valley High School, Singapore (Official) for the next few days, which will be manned by MOE and School Counsellors trained in trauma management to provide psychological support for staff and students.
— We are proactively reaching out to staff and students affected by the incident.
— Should parents feel that their child may need additional support, they can alert the teachers. Schools have also provided helplines for the staff,
students and their parents.

— For the longer term, we will continue to keep a close eye on students and staff who are still traumatised or show prolonged distress symptoms, and will refer them to professional help as necessary. We will work closely with the relevant healthcare agencies and hospitals to render further support.

As shown by the courage and resilience of the staff and students at River Valley High School, we will continue to stand strong, on this journey to recovery.

This is a difficult time for our community as we grapple with what had happened. I urge everyone to refrain from speculation, and to respect the privacy of the affected families, students and staff. Let us remain calm and get through this together by showing solidarity, compassion and care for one another. CCS

1626785457524.png

Keechiu explains additional safe management measures in schools.

Chan Chun Sing is
puMD9N1i40Q.png
sharing a COVID-19 update.​

18 mins ·

With the recent spike in local #COVID19 cases, many parents have been asking how we will continue to keep our students safe in schools.
In line with the Phase 2 (Heightened Alert) national stance from 22 July 2021 to 18 August 2021, Ministry of Education, Singapore will be tightening safe management measures (SMMs) in MOE Kindergartens, primary and secondary schools, Special Education schools, junior colleges, Millennia Institute and the Institutes of Higher Learning.
As the pandemic situation continues to evolve, we will remain focused on minimising the impact on our students’ overall educational experience, and working with parents to enable continued learning by adapting our approaches.
Find out more about the tightened SMMs below:
https://www.moe.gov.sg/…/20210720-arrangements-for-schools-…

We have set up a CARE post in River Valley High School, Singapore (Official) for the next few days, which will be manned by MOE and School Counsellors trained in trauma management to provide psychological support for staff and students.
— We are proactively reaching out to staff and students affected by the incident.
KNN my uncle just curious will anyone turn up to this post and if any what will they say? KNN eg I can't sleep thinking of this incident and the counsellor to leeply don't scare or I scare of ghost in the toilet etc ? KNN

KNN even if nobody turns up they still have to set this up as a sign of "support" KNN